DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6058032 (Yamanaka) in view of US 2021/040889 (Zhu).
Regarding claim 1, Yamanaka teaches a vehicle (Fig. 2 shows power conversion devices for electric vehicles) [Col 1 lines 10-20] comprising: a motor including a plurality of motor windings (Fig. 2 shows a motor 1 with a plurality of motor windings) [Col 2 lines 11-21]; and
a plurality of single-phase battery module systems (Fig. 2 shows a plurality of single-phase battery module systems 1211-1233) connected to each of the plurality of motor windings (Fig. 2 shows plurality of motor windings of motor 1 connected to batteries 1211-1233) [Col 5 lines 40-50] and including a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 2 shows plurality of battery modules 1211-1233), wherein each of the plurality of battery modules includes a battery and a power conversion module (Fig. 2 shows each of the plurality of batteries 1211-1233 and PWM inverters 1311-1333) [Col 5 lines 40-67], and each power conversion module includes an inverter converting a DC voltage stored in the battery into an AC voltage to control the motor (Fig. 2 shows PWM inverters 1311-1333 converting a DC voltage stored in batteries 1211-1233 into an AC voltage to drive the motor 1) [Col 6 lines 1-5], wherein each inverter is configured to receive an AC voltage from an AC power source (Fig. 2 shows charging power supply 2 sends power to batteries through PWM inverters 1311-1333) [Col 7 lines 4-12) through the plurality of motor windings during charging (Fig. 2 shows plurality of motor windings of motor 1), and to charge the battery (charging power supply 2 connects to motor 1 during charging of batteries 1211-1233)[Col 6 lines 9-14].
However, Yamanaka does not teach at least one DC/DC converter configured to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage.
However, Zhu teaches at least one DC/DC converter configured to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage (Fig. 12 shows DC-DC converter to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery 1280 into a DC module voltage) [0114].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one DC/DC converter configured to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage as taught by Zhu in order to regulate the DC bus voltage to be within a desirable range [0005].
Regarding claim 2, Yamanaka teaches wherein the battery and an input end of the inverter are connected to each other in parallel (Fig. 2 shows the battery and an input end of the inverter are connected to each other in parallel), and an output end of the inverter is connected in series to an output end of an inverter included in an adjacent battery module (Fig. 2 shows an output end of the inverter is connected in series to an output end of an inverter included in an adjacent battery module).
Regarding claim 3, Yamanaka teaches wherein one end of each of the plurality of motor windings is interconnected with each other and connected to the AC power source (Fig. 2 shows each of the plurality of motor windings is interconnected with each other and connected to charging power supply 2), and another end of each of the plurality of motor windings is connected to the plurality of single-phase battery module systems (Fig. 2 shows another end of each of the plurality of motor windings connected to the plurality of batteries 1211-1233).
Regarding claim 4, Yamanaka teaches wherein the other end of each of the plurality of motor windings is connected to one output end of output ends of an inverter included in one of the plurality of battery modules included in each of the plurality of single-phase battery module systems (Fig. 2 shows other end of each of the plurality of motor windings is connected to one output end of an inverter included in one of the plurality of batteries included in the battery system).
Regarding claim 5, Yamanaka teaches wherein the other output end of the output ends of the inverter included in one of the plurality of battery modules included in one single-phase battery module system, among the plurality of single-phase battery module systems, is interconnected with the other end of output ends of an inverter included in one of a plurality of battery modules included in another single-phase battery module system, among the plurality of single-phase battery module systems, and is connected to the AC power source (Fig. 2 shows the other output end of the output ends of the inverter included in one of the plurality of battery modules included in one single-phase battery module system, among the plurality of single-phase battery module systems, is interconnected with the other end of the output ends of an inverter included in one of a plurality of battery modules included in another single-phase battery module system and is connected to the charging power supply 2).
Regarding claim 6, Yamanaka teaches wherein each inverter includes: a first upper switch and a first lower switch provided in a first leg and connected in series (Fig. 2 shows each inverter having a first upper switch and a first lower switch provided in a first leg and connected in series); and a second upper switch and a second lower switch provided in a second leg and connected in series (Fig. 2 shows inverter having a second upper switch and a second lower switch provided in a second leg connected in series); wherein one output end of the output ends of the inverter is positioned between the first upper switch and the first lower switch (Fig. 2 shows one output end of the output ends of the inverter is positioned between the first upper switch and a first lower switch); and the other output end of the output ends of the inverter is positioned between the second upper switch and the second lower switch (Fig. 2 shows the other output end of the output ends of the inverter is positioned between the second upper switch and the second lower switch).
Regarding claim 7, Yamanaka teaches wherein a number of the plurality of battery modules included in a first of the plurality of single-phase battery module systems is the same as a number of the plurality of battery modules included in a second single-phase battery module system, among the plurality of single-phase battery module systems (Fig. 2 shows a number of the plurality of battery modules included in a first of the plurality of single-phase battery module systems is the same as a number of the plurality of battery modules included in a second single-phase module system) [Col 5 lines 40-45].
Regarding claim 8, Yamanaka teaches wherein each inverter includes an H-bridge single-phase inverter provided with a plurality of power semiconductor elements (Fig. 2 shows each inverter includes an H-bridge single-phase inverter provided with a plurality of power semiconductor elements).
Regarding claim 9, Yamanaka teaches wherein when a polarity of the AC power source is positive (+), the first upper switch and the second lower switch are turned on, and when the polarity of the AC power source is negative (-), the first lower switch and the second upper switch are turned on to charge the battery (switching elements of PWM inverters are polarity matched to the charging power supply 2 to charge batteries as shown in Fig. 2) [Col 7 lines 15-25].
Regarding claim 10, Yamanaka teaches wherein an amount of charge charged to the battery is controlled based on an amount of a current flowing through the plurality of motor windings according to a duty ratio of a turned-on switch (amount of charge to the battery is controlled based on an amount of current flowing through the plurality of motor windings of motor 1 according to duty ratio of transformer 25 i.e. turned-on switch) [Col 10 lines 5-20].
Regarding claim 11, Yamanaka teaches wherein a plurality of switches included in the inverter are switched according to a frequency and a phase of the AC power source (Fig. 3 shows plurality of switches 211-214 are included in the inverters are switched according to a frequency and phase of charging power supply 2 as shown in Fig. 2) [Col 7 lines 5-15].
Regarding claim 12, Yamanaka teaches a charging control method of a vehicle (Fig. 2 shows a charging control method of a vehicle) [Col 1 lines 10-20] comprising a motor including a plurality of motor windings (Fig. 2 shows motor 1 including a plurality of motor windings) and a plurality of single-phase battery module systems (Fig. 2 shows a plurality of single-phase battery module systems 1211-1233) connected to each of the plurality of motor windings (Fig. 2 shows plurality of motor windings of motor 1 connected to batteries 1211-1233) [Col 5 lines 40-50], and including a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 2 shows plurality of battery modules 1211-1233), wherein each of the plurality of battery modules includes a battery and a power conversion module (Fig. 2 shows each of the plurality of batteries 1211-1233 and PWM inverters 1311-1333) [Col 5 lines 40-67], and each power conversion module includes an inverter converting a DC voltage stored in the battery into an AC voltage to control the motor (Fig. 2 shows PWM inverters 1311-1333 converting a DC voltage stored in batteries 1211-1233 into an AC voltage to drive the motor 1) [Col 6 lines 1-5], the method comprising: a receiving operation of receiving a charging signal for AC charging from a charger (Fig. 2 shows control circuits 1411-1433 sending charging signal for AC charging from a charger); and when the charging signal is received, a control operation of receiving an AC voltage from an AC power source (Fig. 2 shows charging power supply 2 sends power to batteries through PWM inverters 1311-1333) [Col 7 lines 4-12) through the plurality of motor windings (Fig. 2 shows plurality of motor windings of motor 1) and controlling the inverter to charge the battery (charging power supply 2 connects to motor 1 during charging of batteries 1211-1233)[Col 6 lines 9-14].
However, Yamanaka does not teach at least one DC/DC converter configured to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage.
However, Zhu teaches at least one DC/DC converter configured to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage (Fig. 12 shows DC-DC converter to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery 1280 into a DC module voltage) [0114].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one DC/DC converter configured to convert a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage as taught by Zhu in order to regulate the DC bus voltage to be within a desirable range [0005].
Regarding claim 13, Yamanaka teaches wherein each inverter includes a first upper switch and a first lower switch provided in a first leg and connected in series (Fig. 2 shows each inverter having a first upper switch and a first lower switch provided in a first leg and connected in series); and a second upper switch and a second lower switch provided in a second leg and connected in series (Fig. 2 shows inverter having a second upper switch and a second lower switch provided in a second leg connected in series), and in the control operation, when a polarity of the AC power source is positive (+), the first upper switch and the second lower switch are turned on, and when the polarity of the AC power source is negative (-), the first lower switch and the second upper switch are turned on (switching elements of PWM inverters are polarity matched to the charging power supply 2 to charge batteries as shown in Fig. 2) [Col 7 lines 15-25].
Regarding claim 14, Yamanaka teaches wherein in the control operation, an amount of charge charged to the battery is controlled based on an amount of a current flowing through the plurality of motor windings according to a duty ratio of a turned-on switch (amount of charge to the battery is controlled based on an amount of current flowing through the plurality of motor windings of motor 1 according to duty ratio of transformer 25 i.e. turned-on switch) [Col 10 lines 5-20].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant presents the argument that the amended portion: “at least one DC/DC converter converting a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage” is not disclosed by Yamanaka.
However, the Examiner is in agreement with the Applicant, thereby the Examiner relies on the Zhu reference Fig. 12 to teach the limitation: “at least one DC/DC converter converting a DC voltage stored in the battery into a DC module voltage” in paragraph [0114].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836