DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (FR 2849649) in view of Brannan et al. (PCT/US95/02714).
With respect to claim 1, Simon et al. teaches a method for cutting, creasing and/or embossing a cardboard in a cardboard processing machine comprising a rotary die cutting machine (Paragraph 0001), the rotary die cutting machine comprising
a first rotating cylinder (3) and a second rotating cylinder (3’),
wherein each of the first rotating cylinder (3) and the second rotating cylinder (3’) has a cutting, creasing and/or embossing area (Paragraphs 0032, 0033) and a compensation area (3b) that extends along a circumference of the respective cylinder (3, 3’ and Figures 1, 2a, 2b), the method comprising:
wherein a continuous cardboard web (2, Paragraphs 00001, 0031) being printed with a plurality of repetitive printed sections is run between the two cylinders (3, 3’) in a processing direction in order to be cut and/or creased (Paragraph 0020, Figure 1), wherein a printing length of a printed section is shorter than a circumference of the first and second rotating cylinders (3, 3’),
wherein upon running between the first and second rotating cylinders (3, 3’), the cutting, creasing and/or embossing area of the first rotating cylinder and the second rotating cylinder (3, 3’) rolls over a first printed section of the continuous cardboard web (2) and cuts and/or creases the cardboard web (2) along the first printed section (Paragraph 0047), and
afterwards the cardboard web (2) is pulled back in a direction opposite to the processing direction to such an extent that after a full rotation of the first and second rotating cylinders (3, 3’) the cutting, creasing and/or embossing area of the first rotating and second rotating cylinders (3, 3’) meets a beginning of a second printed section (Paragraphs 0047, 0048, Figures 2a, 2b), such that the cutting, creasing and/or embossing area (Paragraphs 0032, 0033) of the first rotating cylinder and the second rotating cylinder rolls (3, 3’) over the second printed section of the continuous cardboard web (2) and cuts and/or creases the cardboard web (2) along the second printed section (Paragraphs 0047, 0048, Figures 4b-4d).
However, Simon et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein during a single synchronization process, the cardboard web is moved back and forth in an oscillating manner. Brannon et al. teaches during a single a single synchronization process, the cardboard web is moved back and forth in an oscillating manner (Page 22, Line 27-Page 23, Line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Simon et al. to provide a step of moving a medium back and forth in an oscillating manner as taught by Brannon et al. for the purpose of ensuring a smooth continuous conveyance of the medium.
With respect to claim 2, Simon et al. teaches after cutting, creasing and/or embossing the cardboard web (2) along the first printed section, the rotating cylinders (3, 3’) roll over the second printed section with the compensation area (3b) and the cardboard web (2) is pulled back before the cutting, creasing and/or embossing area of the rotation cylinders (3, 3’) meets the second printed section (Paragraph 0048).
With respect to claim 6, Simon et al. teaches a rotation speed of the rotating cylinders (3, 3’) is constant (Vc in Figure 4a).
With respect to claim 7, Simon et al. teaches a feeding speed with which the continuous cardboard web (2) is fed into the cardboard processing machine (1) is slower than a rotation speed of the first rotating and second cylinders (3, 3’, Figure 4a, Ve≤Vc).
With respect to claim 9, Simon et al. teaches a cardboard processing machine (1) for cutting, creasing and/or embossing a cardboard, the cardboard processing machine (1, Paragraph 0001) comprising:
a rotary die cutting machine, the rotary die cutting machine comprising a first rotating cylinder (3) and a second rotating cylinder (3’), wherein each of the first rotating cylinder and the second rotating cylinder (3, 3’) has a cutting, creasing and/or embossing area (Paragraph 0033) and a compensation area (3b) that extends along a circumference of the respective cylinder (3, 3’, Figures 1, 2a, 2b),
a feeding station (5) in which a continuous cardboard web (2) fed into the cardboard processing machine (1), and
an acceleration device which is configured to pull the cardboard web (2) in a direction opposite to a processing direction (Paragraph 0048).
However, Simon et al. does not explicitly disclose an oscillating manner during a single synchronization process. Brannon et al. teaches an oscillating manner during a single synchronization process (Page 22, Line 27-Page 23, Line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Simon et al. to provide an oscillating manner during a single synchronization process as taught by Brannon et al. for the purpose of ensuring a smooth continuous conveyance of the medium.
With respect to claim 10, Simon et al. teaches the acceleration device [[ (20)]] comprises at least two deflection rollers (9) over which the cardboard web (2) is guided, wherein one of the deflection rollers (9) is moveable in order to pull back the cardboard web (2) in the direction opposite to the processing direction (1, Paragraph 0036).
Claims 3, 4, 8, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (FR 2849649) in view of in view of Brannan et al. (PCT/US95/02714) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Prittie (EP 1026111).
With respect to claim 3, Simon et al., as modified, teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a continuous transverse cut is made between the first printed section and the subsequent, second printed section, wherein the second printed section is subsequent to the first printed section. Prittie teaches a continuous transverse cut is made between the first printed section and the subsequent, second printed section, wherein the second printed section is subsequent to the first printed section. (Paragraph 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the invention taught by Simon et al., as modified, to provide a transverse cut as taught by Prittie for the purpose of reducing stress on the medium.
With respect to claim 4, Simon et al. teaches the printed continuous cardboard web (2) is unrolled from a cardboard roll by means of an unwinding unit or is fed into the cardboard processing machine directly after exiting a printing machine (Figure 3).
With respect to claim 8, Simon et al. teaches the cardboard web (2) is separated into blanks (Figures 6A, 6B) along an outline of the printed sections (Figures 6A, 6B).
With respect to claim 12, Simon et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the cardboard processing machine comprises a waste ejection station which is arranged subsequent to the rotary die cutting machine with respect to the processing direction.
Prittie teaches cardboard processing machine comprises a waste ejection station which is arranged subsequent to the rotary die cutting machine with respect to the processing direction (Paragraphs 0013, 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Simon et al. to provide a waste ejection as taught by Prittie for the purpose of properly disposing waste from the machine.
With respect claim 13, Prittie teaches the waste ejection station comprises at least one deflection device (paragraphs 0013, 0044), including an ejection disk that rolls over the cut cardboard web.
With respect to claim 14, Prittie teaches the waste ejection station comprises a matrix rewinder to continuously wind up the matrix (Paragraph 0039, 0044).
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (FR 2849649) in view of Brannan et al. (PCT/US95/02714) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of KR 1002955260.
With respect to claim 11, Simon et al., as modified, teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the acceleration device comprises a vacuum belt.
KR1002955260 teaches an acceleration device comprises a vacuum belt (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the invention taught by Simon et al., as modified, to provide a vacuum belt as taught by KR 1002955260 for the purpose of properly maintaining and orienting the medium.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852