Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 16 and19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US 20200267838; “An” hereinafter) in view of Kwon et al. (US 20120170244; “Kwon” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, An discloses a display device comprising: a display panel (413) including a display area (413), wherein the display panel has a first side (upper side of the device 400, fig. 8) and a second side (lower side of the electronic device 400, fig. 8) opposite to the first side (fig. 8); a first printed circuit board (422) disposed on the first side of the display panel (fig. 8); a second printed circuit board (421) disposed on the second side of the display panel (fig. 8); and a ground flexible printed circuit board (FPCB 4131) having a first side (top side of the FPCB 4131, fig. 8) and a second side opposite to the first side (bottom side of the FPCB 4131), wherein the first side of the ground flexible printed circuit board is electrically connected to the display panel (“the display 410 may include a first FPCB 4131 having a conductive region (e.g., a ground region) that is electrically connected to an end of the bendable portion 4134”, par. [0091]), and the second side of the ground flexible printed circuit board is connected to the second printed circuit board (“the display panel 413 may be electrically connected to the first PCB 421 through a first electrical connection member 4211 connected from the first FPCB 4131 to the first PCB 421”, par. [0092], fig. 8), wherein the ground flexible printed circuit board is connected to a ground (“the first conductive member 415 may have a ground structure that is electrically connected to a ground of the first PCB 421 through the conductive tape 4133, the first FPCB 4131 connected to the display panel 413, and the first electrical connection member 4211”, par. [0092]).
An does not explicitly disclose the display panel including a plurality of pixels in the display area.
Kwon teaches a display device comprising a display panel (150) including a plurality of pixels in a display area (par. [0127]; fig. 25-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ann to incorporate a plurality of pixels in the display area of the display panel as taught by Kwon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (display device) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, An in view of Kwon (relied on Ann) discloses wherein the display panel includes: a folding area (B1, fig. 8) configured to fold around a central folding axis (A) of the display panel (figs. 2A, 8; par. [0086]); a first non-folding area located on a first side of the folding area (figs 2A, 8); and a second non-folding area located on a second side of the folding area opposite to the first side of the folding area (figs 2A, 8), wherein the folding area is configured to fold such that the display area of the first non-folding area and the display area of the second non-folding area face each other (fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 16, An discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel (413) including a display area (front side of the display panel 413, fig. 8); a printed circuit board (421) disposed on the display panel (fig. 8); a ground flexible printed circuit board (FPCB 4131) having a first side (top side of the FPCB 4131, fig. 8) and a second side opposite to the first side (bottom side of the FPCB 4131) opposite to the first side (fig. 8), wherein the first side of the ground flexible printed circuit board is electrically connected to the display panel (“the display 410 may include a first FPCB 4131 having a conductive region (e.g., a ground region) that is electrically connected to an end of the bendable portion 4134”, par. [0091]), and the second side of the ground flexible printed circuit board is connected to the printed circuit board (“the display panel 413 may be electrically connected to the first PCB 421 through a first electrical connection member 4211 connected from the first FPCB 4131 to the first PCB 421”, par. [0092], fig. 8), wherein the ground flexible printed circuit board is connected to a ground (“the first conductive member 415 may have a ground structure that is electrically connected to a ground of the first PCB 421 through the conductive tape 4133, the first FPCB 4131 connected to the display panel 413, and the first electrical connection member 4211”, par. [0092]).
An does not explicitly disclose the display panel including a plurality of pixels in the display area.
Kwon teaches a display device comprising a display panel (150) including a plurality of pixels in a display area (par. [0127]; fig. 25-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ann to incorporate a plurality of pixels in the display area of the display panel as taught by Kwon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (display device) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, An in view of Kwon (relied on Ann) discloses wherein the display panel (413) is a foldable display panel configured to fold around a folding axis (A) of the foldable display panel (figs. 2A, 2B, 8).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Kanda et al. (US 20190098757; “Kanda” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, An discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel (413) including a first side (upper side of the device 400, fig. 8) and a second side (lower side of the electronic device 400, fig. 8) opposite to the first side (fig. 8); a first printed circuit board (422) disposed on the first side of the display panel (fig. 8); a second printed circuit board (421) disposed on the second side of the display panel (fig. 8); wherein the second printed circuit board further includes a connector assembly (“the second electrical connection member 4221 may be an FPCB containing a connector”, par. [0108]), and a ground flexible printed circuit board (FPCB 4131), the ground flexible printed circuit board having a first side (top side of the FPCB 4131, fig. 8) and a second side opposite to the first side (bottom side of the FPCB 4131), wherein the first side of the ground flexible printed circuit board is electrically connected to the display panel (“the display 410 may include a first FPCB 4131 having a conductive region (e.g., a ground region) that is electrically connected to an end of the bendable portion 4134”, par. [0091]), and the second side of the ground flexible printed circuit board is connected to the second printed circuit board by the connector assembly (“the second electrical connection member 4221 may be an FPCB containing a connector …the display panel 413 may be electrically connected to the first PCB 421 through a first electrical connection member 4211 connected from the first FPCB 4131 to the first PCB 421”, par. [0092], fig. 8), wherein the ground flexible printed circuit board is connected to a ground (“the first conductive member 415 may have a ground structure that is electrically connected to a ground of the first PCB 421 through the conductive tape 4133, the first FPCB 4131 connected to the display panel 413, and the first electrical connection member 4211”, par. [0092]).
An does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector assembly includes: a housing having an inner space defined therein; and an actuator connected to the housing and pivotable in an upward or downward direction; the ground flexible printed circuit board coupled to the connector assembly.
Kanda teaches a connector assembly (1); the connector assembly includes: a housing (10) having an inner space defined therein (figs 1A-1B); and an actuator (40) connected to the housing and pivotable in an upward or downward direction (par. 0021], figs 1A-1B); a flexible printed circuit board (50) coupled to the connector assembly (par. [0020]- [0021], fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An to incorporate a connector assembly that comprising a housing having an inner space defined therein; and an actuator connected to the housing and pivotable in an upward or downward direction; the ground flexible printed circuit board coupled to the connector assembly as suggested by Kanda because such modification helps to couple the flexible printed circuit board to the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 12, An in view of Kanda discloses wherein a portion of the ground flexible printed circuit board (50, Kanda, fig. 1B) is received in the inner space of the housing (10, fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 13, An in view of Kanda discloses wherein the actuator (40) is pivotable in the upward direction or the downward direction to reach a first position to allow the ground flexible printed circuit board and the printed circuit board to contact each other, or to reach a second position to remove the ground flexible printed circuit board and the printed circuit board from each other (par. [0020]- [0021]; figs 1A-1B, Kanda).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Kwon as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Joo (US 20140022744; “Joo” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, An in view of Kwon discloses the device as claimed in claim 1, and Ann further teaches a ground pad electrically connected to one side of the display panel (“the first conductive member 415 may have a ground structure that is electrically connected to a ground of the first PCB 421 through the conductive tape 4133, the first FPCB 4131 connected to the display panel 413, and the first electrical connection member 4211”, par. [0092]).
An in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the ground flexible printed circuit board includes: a base film being flexible; a ground pattern disposed on the base film and electrically connected to the printed circuit board to discharge charges accumulated in the display panel.
Joo teaches a display device comprising a ground flexible printed circuit board (4301, 302, 303, 304, or 305) includes: a base film being flexible (310); a ground pattern (320 or 320c) disposed on the base film (figs. 2, 3) and electrically connected to the printed circuit board to discharge charges accumulated in the display panel (par. [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An in view of Kwon to incorporate the flexible printed circuit board including a base film being flexible, a ground pattern disposed on the base film and electrically connected to the printed circuit board to discharge charges accumulated in the display panel as suggested by Joo because such modification helps to release the static electricity induced in the flexible printed circuit board and/or display panel and protect the display device.
Regarding claim 15, An in view of Kwon and Joo discloses the device as claimed in claim 14.
An in view of Kwon and Joo does not explicitly disclose wherein the ground pattern is attached to the printed circuit board via a conductive double-sided tape or a conductive tape.
However, Ann teaches a ground structure (415) connected to the flexible printed circuit board (4131) via a conductive tape (4133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An in view of Kwon and Joo to use a conductive tape to connect the ground pattern or structure to the printed circuit board as suggested by Ann because such modification allow grounding of the printed circuit board or the display device.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Kwon as applied to claim 16, and in further view of Kanda et al. (US 20190098757; “Kanda” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, An discloses wherein the printed circuit board further includes a connector assembly (“the second electrical connection member 4221 may be an FPCB containing a connector …the display panel 413 may be electrically connected to the first PCB 421 through a first electrical connection member 4211 connected from the first FPCB 4131 to the first PCB 421”, par. [0092], fig. 8).
An in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector assembly includes: a housing having an inner space defined therein; and an actuator connected to the housing and pivotable in an upward or downward direction; wherein a portion of the ground flexible printed circuit board is received in the inner space of the housing.
Kanda teaches a connector assembly (1); the connector assembly includes: a housing (10) having an inner space defined therein (figs 1A-1B); and an actuator (40) connected to the housing and pivotable in an upward or downward direction (par. 0021], figs 1A-1B); a flexible printed circuit board (50) coupled to the connector assembly (par. [0020]- [0021], fig. 1B); wherein a portion of the flexible printed circuit board (50) is received in the inner space of the housing (10) (figs. 1A-1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An to incorporate a connector assembly that comprising a housing having an inner space defined therein; an actuator connected to the housing and pivotable in an upward or downward direction; and wherein a portion of the ground flexible printed circuit board is received in the inner space of the housing as suggested by Kanda because such modification helps to couple the flexible printed circuit board to the printed circuit board.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and a combination of limitations that wherein the ground flexible printed circuit board includes: a base film; a ground pad disposed at one end of the base film; an opening spaced apart from the ground pad and extending through the base film; a terminal extending from the base film and located in the opening, wherein the terminal includes a plurality of metal terminal patterns on a rear surface of the terminal; and a plurality of resistance patterns located on one side of the opening and disposed on the base film. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 16 and a combination of limitations that wherein the ground flexible printed circuit board includes: a base film; a ground pad disposed on the base film; an opening extending through the base film; a terminal extending from the base film and located in the opening; and a plurality of resistance patterns disposed on the base film. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 4-10 are objected as being dependent on claim 3.
Claim 18 is objected as being dependent on claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yeon (US 20050078459) teaches a display device comprising a flexible printed circuit board (200) that is disposed at one end of the display panel (110); the flexible printed circuit board comprises at least one hole (242).
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841