DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The instant written description ¶0044 only describes a post retainer, and does not describe a threaded post and nut as in at least claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Molby
Regarding claim 10, Molby teaches a ball joint assembly (Figure 2) for a turf mower (Figure 1, wherein the assembly is capable of being used with a turf mower), the ball joint assembly comprising:
a plate 71 defining a first aperture 43;
a ball joint 41 at least partially received by the first aperture 43, the ball joint defining a second aperture 43; and
a fastener 51 configured to extend through the second aperture 43 of the ball joint to facilitate releasably coupling the ball joint to a mower deck 13 of the turf mower (wherein the fastener is capable of providing the claimed releasable coupling).
Regarding claim 11, Molby teaches that the plate 71 defines a plurality of third apertures (holding 73) spaced around a periphery thereof (as recited below).
Regarding claim 12, Molby teaches that the plate 71 defines a first plurality of protrusions (wherein 73 provide protrusions relative to the holes shown) spaced around the periphery thereof, each of the first plurality of protrusions defining one of the plurality of third apertures (holding 73).
Regarding claim 13, Molby teaches that the fastener 51 is a first fastener 51, and wherein the ball joint assembly includes a plurality of second fastener 51s configured to extend though the plurality of third apertures (holding 73) to couple the plate 71 to a wing arm 19 of the turf mower (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Molby teaches that the fastener 51 includes a threaded post 5 and a nut 51.
Regarding claim 15, Molby teaches a housing 53 at least partially received by the first aperture 43, and the ball joint at least partially received by the housing 53.
Regarding claim 16, Molby teaches that the plate 71 includes a lip (thinned portion for holding seal 91) extending around the first aperture 43 and outward therefrom, and wherein the ball joint is configured to engage with the lip (by sitting on surface 72).
Regarding claim 17, Molby teaches a ball joint assembly for a mower deck (the ball joint is capable of being used with a mower deck), the ball joint assembly comprising:
a plate 71 defining a first aperture 43 (at 71), the plate 71 including a plurality of protrusions spaced around a periphery thereof, the plurality of protrusions defining a plurality of second apertures 43 (by 41);
a ball joint 41 at least partially received by the first aperture 43 (as recited above), the ball joint defining a third aperture (as recited above);
a first fastener 51 configured to extend through the third aperture of the ball joint to facilitate releasably coupling the ball joint to the mower deck 13; and
a plurality of second fastener 51s configured to extend though the plurality of second aperture 43s to couple the plate 71 to a wing arm of the mower deck (wherein the fasteners are capable of coupling plate 71 to a wing arm of a mower deck).
Regarding claim 18, Molby teaches that the first fastener 51 includes a threaded post 5 and a nut 51.
Regarding claim 19, Molby teaches a housing 53 at least partially received by the first aperture 43, and the ball joint at least partially received by the housing 53.
Regarding claim 20, Molby teaches that the plate 71 includes a lip (thinned portion for holding seal 91) extending around the first aperture 43 and outward therefrom, and wherein the ball joint is configured to engage with the lip (by sitting on surface 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler, et al. EP3162183 in view of Molby US3778174.
Regarding claim 1, Ziegler, et al. teaches a turf mower (Figure 1) comprising:
a chassis 21;
a plurality of tractive elements (wheels shown in Figure 1); and
a mower assembly 1 including:
a mower deck 13 having a first interface (left side of 21);
an arm 19 having a second interface (right side of 19) pivotably coupled to the chassis 21 and a third interface (right side of 18); and
a ball joint assembly (including 18) coupled to the first interface and the third interface, including a ball joint 18.
Ziegler, et al. does not teach the ball joint assembly including:
a plate removably coupled to the third interface of the arm 19, the plate defining a first aperture; a ball joint at least partially received by the first aperture, the ball joint defining a second aperture; and a fastener extending from the first interface through the second aperture to couple the ball joint and, thereby, the plate and the arm 19 to the mower deck 13.
Molby teaches a ball joint assembly (Figure 2) including:
a plate 71 removably coupled to the third interface of arm 57, the plate 71 defining a first aperture 43;
a ball joint 41 at least partially received by the first aperture 43, the ball joint defining a second aperture 43; and
a fastener 51 extending from the first interface through the second aperture 43 to couple the ball joint and, thereby, the plate 71 and the arm 19 to the mower deck 13.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Ziegler, et al.’s ball joint assembly in view of Molby’s ball joint assembly, to provide a replaceable ball joint connection.
Regarding claim 2, Molby teaches that the plate 71 defines a plurality of third apertures (holding 73, wherein at least 2 are shown) spaced around a periphery (on either side of plate 71) thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Molby teaches that the plate 71 defines a first plurality of protrusions (wherein 73 provide protrusions relative to the holes shown) spaced around the periphery thereof, each of the first plurality of protrusions defining one of the plurality of third apertures (holding 73).
Regarding claim 4, Molby teaches that the third interface of the arm 57 defines a plurality of fourth apertures (holes for 73 in 57) spaced around a periphery (the positions shown for the holes for 73) thereof, wherein the plurality of fourth apertures are positioned to align with the plurality of third apertures (holding 73), wherein the fastener 51 is a first fastener 51, and wherein the ball joint assembly includes a plurality of second fasteners 73 extending though the plurality of third apertures (holding 73) and the plurality of fourth apertures.
Regarding claim 5, Molby teaches that the fastener 51 includes a threaded post 5 and a nut 51.
Regarding claim 6, Molby teaches that the ball joint assembly includes a housing 53 at least partially received by the first aperture 43, and the ball joint at least partially received by the housing 53.
Regarding claim 7, Molby teaches that the plate 71 includes a lip (thinned portion for holding seal 91) extending around the first aperture 43 and outward therefrom, and wherein the ball joint is configured to engage with the lip (by sitting on surface 72).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler, et al. in view of Molby as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gut US3163093.
Regarding claim 8, Ziegler, et al. of the combination teaches that the arm 19 has a first end and a second end (left and right sides), but does not teach that the arm 19 includes a support interface extending therefrom between the first end and the second end, further comprising a support arm 19 extending from the chassis 21 to the support interface.
Gut teaches that it is known in the art to have an actuating arm 34 that is part of a ball joint 33, with a support arm 45 extending from the chassis to the support interface, to provide “an indication of the position of the member driven by the actuator 10” Column 3: 23-25.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date. to modify the combination to include Gut’s actuating arm to attach to Ziegler, et al.’s arm, so indicate the arm’s position.
Regarding claim 9, Gut teaches that the arm 34 has an elbow 46 (which has at least a bend to attach to 45) positioned between the first end (left side) and the second end (right side) of the arm, and wherein the support interface is positioned proximate the elbow (at the interface between 45 and 46).
Conclusion
/CATHLEEN R HUTCHINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672 5/29/2026