DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The list(s) of references is/are of extensive length. Additionally, there exists a
significant lack of clarity as to how a large percent of the listed references could possibly
be material to patentability of the presently claimed invention. Forcing an examiner to
find a needle in a haystack is probative of bad faith (Molins PLC V. Textron, Inc., 48
F.3d 1172 (Fed. Cir. 1995)). Such acts of cloaking relevant references by inclusion in a
long list of citations may not comply with Applicant's duty of disclosure (Penn Yah
Boats', Inc. V. Sea Lark Boats', Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948 (S.D. Fla. 1972)). Similarly, failing
to highlight to an examiner buried references disclosing a particularly relevant
embodiment to the pending claims has been found to be misrepresentation, resulting in
holding patents unenforceable due to inequitable conduct (Golden Valley
Microwave Foods' Inc. V. Weayer Popcorn Co. Inc., 837 F. Supp. 1444, 1477 (N.D. Ind.
1992); Penn Yah Boats', Inc. V. Sea Lark Boats', Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948,965 (S.D. Fla.
1972)).
Each non-patent literature document listed in the information disclosure
statements and not crossed-through has been considered only to the extent of the title
of the document or, if lacking a title, the first word of the first page. Each foreign patent
document listed in the information disclosure statements and not crossed-through has
been considered only to the extent of the country from which the document originates
and the document number. Each communication from the U.S.P.T.O. or a foreign patent
authority, listed in the information disclosure statements, and not crossed-through has
been considered only to the extent of the application number, the country or authority
from which the communication originates, the communication type, and the date the
communication was mailed or, if a different date appears on the document instead of a
mailing date, the different date. Each document listed in the information disclosure
statements that is (1) not a U.S. Patent or U.S. Publication, (2) not covered by one of
the preceding sentences in this paragraph, and (3) not crossed-through has been
considered only to the extent of the first word of the first page.
If Applicant(s) desires Examiner perform further consideration of the references,
Applicant(s) must provide a concise explanation of why the information is being
submitted, how the information is understood to be relevant, and whether one or more
are highly relevant with pinpoint citations to specific pages and specific lines (See,
MPEP § 609.04(a)(III), final paragraph, Provision of these explanations with specific
citations to pages and lines is encouraged by the Office).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites the abstract idea of receiving data associating event types with audible indications and causing a computing device to output corresponding audible indications for the event types. This is an abstract idea because it constitutes a mental process of organizing and applying information according to rules, namely associating a first event type with a first audible indication and a second event type with a second audible indication, and selecting/outputting the corresponding audible indication based on event type. The additional elements, including a premises zone, audible indications, and a computing device, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. These elements merely apply abstract idea in the field of premises management using a generic computing device. The claim does not recite a particular machine, a transformation of an article, an improvement to computer functionality, or an improvement to another technology or technical field.
The additional elements also do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving data and causing a computing device to output audible indications are generic computer functions recited at a high level of generality. Considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claimed elements merely implement the abstract idea on a generic computing device and therefore do not provide an inventive concept.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-28 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, 17, 19-24, 27, 30-34, 37, and 40 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,095 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same inventive concept has been claimed as shown in the table list below:
1. A method comprising: receiving, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications; and causing a computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone.
1. A method comprising: receiving event data indicative of an event associated with a premises device located at a premises; determining, based on receiving the event data, a zone type associated with the premises device; and causing output of an audible indication, of a plurality of audible indications, based on a sensor state of the premises device indicated in the event data and the zone type, wherein the premises device has a plurality of sensor states and each sensor state is associated with a different audible indication.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the audible indication is one of one or more audible indications, of the plurality of audible indications, that are associated with the zone type, and wherein the audible indication is determined from among the one or more audible indications based on at least one of: an association of the event with the audible indication, a type of the event, whether the event is an open event or a close event, or whether the event is indicative of a specific activity or non-activity.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the zone type is one of a plurality of zone types, and wherein each of the plurality of zone types is associated with one or more audible indications of the plurality of audible indications.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, via a network, from a computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity and the second audible indication represents non-activity.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the audible indication represents a specific activity and the additional audible indication represents non-activity.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone, and causing the computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone comprises sending, by an additional computing device located external to the premises, configuration data to configure the computing device.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, via a network, from a computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein causing output of the audible indication comprises causing one or more of: output, via a device located at the premises, of the audible indication or transmission, via a network, of data indicative of the audible indication.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the data associating the first event type with the first audible indication of the plurality of audible indications and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is based on user input associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, via a network, from a computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the audible indication is one of one or more audible indications, of the plurality of audible indications, that are associated with the zone type, and wherein the audible indication is determined from among the one or more audible indications based on at least one of: an association of the event with the audible indication, a type of the event, whether the event is an open event or a close event, or whether the event is indicative of a specific activity or non-activities.
8. A device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: receive, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications; and cause a computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone.
21. A device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: receive event data indicative of an event associated with a premises device located at a premises; determine, based on receiving the event data, a zone type associated with the premises device; and cause output of an audible indication, of a plurality of audible indications, based on a sensor state of the premises device indicated in the event data and the zone type, wherein the premises device has a plurality of sensor states and each sensor state is associated with a different audible indication.
9. The device of claim 8, wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
22. The device of claim 21, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
10. The device of claim 8, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity and the second audible indication represents non-activity.
23. The device of claim 21, wherein the audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the audible indication represents a specific activity and the additional audible indication represents non-activity.
11. The device of claim 8, wherein the computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone, and wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to cause the computing device to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone comprises instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to send, by the device located and external to the premises, configuration data to configure the computing device.
27. The device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to receive, via a network, from a computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication
12. The device of claim 8, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
30. The device of claim 21, wherein the audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
13. The device of claim 8, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to receive the data associating the first event type with the first audible indication and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication comprises instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to receive the data associating the first event type with the first audible indication and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication based on user input associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication.
27. The device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to receive, via a network, from a computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
14. The device of claim 8, wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
22. The device of claim 21, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
24. The device of claim 21, wherein the audible indication is one of one or more audible indications, of the plurality of audible indications, that are associated with the zone type, and wherein the audible indication is determined from among the one or more audible indications based on at least one of: an association of the event with the audible indication, a type of the event, whether the event is an open event or a close event, or whether the event is indicative of a specific activity or non-activity.
15. A system comprising: a first computing device; and a second computing device configured to: receive, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications; and cause the first computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone.
1. A method comprising: receiving event data indicative of an event associated with a premises device located at a premises; determining, based on receiving the event data, a zone type associated with the premises device; and causing output of an audible indication, of a plurality of audible indications, based on a sensor state of the premises device indicated in the event data and the zone type, wherein the premises device has a plurality of sensor states and each sensor state is associated with a different audible indication.
11. A system comprising: a premises device located at a premises; and a computing device configured to: receive event data indicative of an event associated with the premises device; determine, based on receiving the event data, a zone type associated with the premises device; and cause output of an audible indication, of a plurality of audible indications, based on a sensor state of the premises device indicated in the event data and the zone type, wherein the premises device has a plurality of sensor states and each sensor state is associated with a different audible indication.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
17. The system of claim 15, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity and the second audible indication represents non-activity.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the audible indication represents a specific activity and the additional audible indication represents non-activity.
18. The system of claim 15, wherein the first computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone and the second computing device is located external to the premises, and the second computing device is configured to cause the first computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone based on sending configuration data to configure the computing device.
17. The system of claim 11, wherein the computing device is further configured to receive, via a network, from an additional computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
19. The system of claim 11, wherein the computing device is configured to cause output of the audible indication based on causing one or more of: output, via a device located at the premises, of the audible indication or transmission, via a network, of data indicative of the audible indication.
19. The system of claim 15, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
20. The system of claim 11, wherein the audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
20. The system of claim 15, wherein the second computing device is configured to receive the data associating the first event type with the first audible indication of the plurality of audible indications and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications based on user input associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication.
17. The system of claim 11, wherein the computing device is further configured to receive, via a network, from an additional computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
21. The system of claim 15, wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
14. The system of claim 11, wherein the audible indication is one of one or more audible indications, of the plurality of audible indications, that are associated with the zone type, and wherein the audible indication is determined from among the one or more audible indications based on at least one of: an association of the event with the audible indication, a type of the event, whether the event is an open event or a close event, or whether the event is indicative of a specific activity or non-activity.
22. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause: receiving, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications; and causing a computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone.
1. A method comprising: receiving event data indicative of an event associated with a premises device located at a premises; determining, based on receiving the event data, a zone type associated with the premises device; and causing output of an audible indication, of a plurality of audible indications, based on a sensor state of the premises device indicated in the event data and the zone type, wherein the premises device has a plurality of sensor states and each sensor state is associated with a different audible indication.
31. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause: receiving event data indicative of an event associated with a premises device located at a premises; determining, based on receiving the event data, a zone type associated with the premises device; and causing output of an audible indication, of a plurality of audible indications, based on a sensor state of the premises device indicated in the event data and the zone type, wherein the premises device has a plurality of sensor states and each sensor state is associated with a different audible indication.
23. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
32. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
24. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity and the second audible indication represents non-activity.
33. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication is associated with a second sensor state of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the audible indication represents a specific activity and the additional audible indication represents non-activity.
25. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein the computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone, and causing the computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone comprises sending, by an additional computing device located external to the premises, configuration data to configure the computing device.
37. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause receiving, via a network, from a computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
26. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
40. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone, a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item.
27. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein receiving the data associating the first event type with the first audible indication of the plurality of audible indications and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is based on user input associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication.
37. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause receiving, via a network, from a computing device external to the premises, and based on user input indicating a selection of the audible indication, the audible indication.
28. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
32. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the audible indication is associated with an open state of the plurality of sensor states and an additional audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
34. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the audible indication is one of one or more audible indications, of the plurality of audible indications, that are associated with the zone type, and wherein the audible indication is determined from among the one or more audible indications based on at least one of: an association of the event with the audible indication, a type of the event, whether the event is an open event or a close event, or whether the event is indicative of a specific activity or non-activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-20, 22, and 24-27 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (Pub # US 2007/0085671 A1).
Consider claim 1, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose a method comprising: receiving, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications [0011]; and causing a computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone [0012].
Consider claim 3, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the method, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states (alarm fault) and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state (no alarm fault) of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity (alarm fault) and the second audible indication represents non-activity (no alarm fault) [0007].
Consider claim 4, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the method, wherein the computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone, and causing the computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone comprises sending, by an additional computing device located external to the premises, configuration data to configure the computing device [0032 and 0034].
Consider claim 5, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the method, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone (chime), a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item [0010].
Consider claim 6, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the method, wherein receiving the data associating (pre-selected individual chime that response for) the first event type with the first audible indication of the plurality of audible indications and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is based on user input (pre-selected) associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication [0006 and 0010].
Consider claim 8, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose a device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors [0031], cause the device to: receive, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications; and cause a computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone [0026 and 0034].
Consider claim 10, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the device, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states (alarm fault) and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state (no alarm fault) of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity (alarm fault) and the second audible indication represents non-activity (no alarm fault) [0007].
Consider claim 11, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the device, wherein the computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone, and wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to cause the computing device to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone comprises instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to send, by the device located and external to the premises, configuration data to configure the computing device [0032 and 0034].
Consider claim 12, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the device, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone (chime), a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item [0010].
Consider claim 13, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the device, wherein the instruction that when executed by the one or more processors (microprocessor) cause the device to receive the data associating (pre-selected individual chime that response for) the first event type with the first audible indication and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication based on user input (pre-selected) associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication [0006 and 0010].
Consider claim 15, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose a system comprising: a first computing device (alarm panel/keypad) [0034]; and a second computing device (microprocessor, memory, and programmable device) [0031] configured to: receive, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications; and cause the first computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone [0026 and 0034].
Consider claim 17, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the system, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states (alarm fault) and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state (no alarm fault) of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity (alarm fault) and the second audible indication represents non-activity (no alarm fault) [0007].
Consider claim 18, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the system, wherein the computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone, and wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to cause the computing device to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone comprises instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to send, by the device located and external to the premises, configuration data to configure the computing device [0032 and 0034].
Consider claim 19, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the system, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone (chime), a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item [0010].
Consider claim 20, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose wherein the instruction that when executed by the one or more processors (microprocessor) cause the device to receive the data associating (pre-selected individual chime that response for) the first event type with the first audible indication and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication based on user input (pre-selected) associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication [0006 and 0010].
Consider claim 22, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause: receiving, for a first premises zone of a plurality of premises zones, data associating a first event type with a first audible indication of a plurality of audible indications and data associating a second event type with a second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications [0011]; and causing a computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone [0012].
Consider claim 24, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the first audible indication is associated with a first sensor state of a plurality of sensor states (alarm fault) and the second audible indication is associated with a second sensor state (no alarm fault) of the plurality of sensor states, wherein the first audible indication represents a specific activity (alarm fault) and the second audible indication represents non-activity (no alarm fault) [0007].
Consider claim 25, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the computing device is located at a premises comprising the first premises zone, and causing the computing device to be configured to output the first audible indication for events of the first event type of the first premises zone and output the second audible indication for events of the second event type of the first premises zone comprises sending, by an additional computing device located external to the premises, configuration data to configure the computing device [0032 and 0034].
Consider claim 26, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the first audible indication comprises at least one of an audio tone (chime), a sound, an audio alert, an audio file, an audio signal, or an audio item [0010].
Consider claim 27, Martin et al. clearly shown and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein receiving the data associating (pre-selected individual chime that response for) the first event type with the first audible indication of the plurality of audible indications and the data associating the second event type with the second audible indication of the plurality of audible indications is based on user input (pre-selected) associating the first event type with the first audible indication and user input associating the second event type with the second audible indication [0006 and 0010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, 21, 23, and 28 are is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (Pub # US 2007/0085671 A1) as apply to claims 1, 8, 15, and 22, and further in view of Angott et al. (US Patent #5,365,214)
Consider claim 2, Martin et al. teaches the method, that has an alarm fault condition and a no alarm fault condition, and that the security panel is programmable to produce different audible response for sensor events [0011].
Martin et al. does not teach wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches an entrance detector having a magnetic reed switch (sensor) that is normally closed in position and is opened when the door is opened (Column 7 lines 5-18), and further teaches that different tones or melodies may be established for different predefined conditions so that an occupant can audibly determine which condition is occurring (Column 8 lines 12-38) for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states as shown in Angott et al., in Martin et al. method for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Consider claim 7, Martin et al. teaches similar invention.
Martin et al. does not teach the method, wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type (Column 7 lines 5-18) for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type as shown in Angott et al., in Matin et al. method for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Consider claim 9, Martin et al. teaches the method, that has an alarm fault condition and a no alarm fault condition, and that the security panel is programmable to produce different audible response for sensor events [0011].
Martin et al. does not teach wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches an entrance detector having a magnetic reed switch (sensor) that is normally closed in position and is opened when the door is opened (Column 7 lines 5-18), and further teaches that different tones or melodies may be established for different predefined conditions so that an occupant can audibly determine which condition is occurring (Column 8 lines 12-38) for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states as shown in Angott et al., in Martin et al. device for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Consider claim 14, Martin et al. teaches similar invention.
Martin et al. does not teach the device, wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type (Column 7 lines 5-18) for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type as shown in Angott et al., in Matin et al. device for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Consider claim 16, Martin et al. teaches the method, that has an alarm fault condition and a no alarm fault condition, and that the security panel is programmable to produce different audible response for sensor events [0011].
Martin et al. does not teach wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches an entrance detector having a magnetic reed switch (sensor) that is normally closed in position and is opened when the door is opened (Column 7 lines 5-18), and further teaches that different tones or melodies may be established for different predefined conditions so that an occupant can audibly determine which condition is occurring (Column 8 lines 12-38) for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states as shown in Angott et al., in Martin et al. device for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Consider claim 21, Martin teaches similar invention.
Martin et al. does not teach the system, wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type (Column 7 lines 5-18) for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type as shown in Angott et al., in Matin et al. device for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Consider claim 23, Martin et al. teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, that has an alarm fault condition and a no alarm fault condition, and that the security panel is programmable to produce different audible response for sensor events [0011].
Martin et al. does not teach wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches an entrance detector having a magnetic reed switch (sensor) that is normally closed in position and is opened when the door is opened (Column 7 lines 5-18), and further teaches that different tones or melodies may be established for different predefined conditions so that an occupant can audibly determine which condition is occurring (Column 8 lines 12-38) for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first audible indication is associated with an open state of a plurality of sensor states and the second audible indication is associated with a closed sensor state of the plurality of sensor states as shown in Angott et al., in Martin et al. device for the benefit of producing different tones for different events.
Consider claim 28, Martin et al. teaches similar invention.
Martin et al. does not teach wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type.
In the same field of endeavor, Angott et al. teaches wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type (Column 7 lines 5-18) for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first event type is a closed event type and the second event type is an open event type as shown in Angott et al., in Matin et al. device for the benefit of indicating the door operation status.
Conclusion
/JACK K WANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686