DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 11, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonito, Anthony P. (US 2008/0108456 A1) in view of Desai et al. (US 2021/0397313 A1) and further in vier of Allen et al. (US 2008/0148283 A1).
As in Claim 1, Bonito teaches a golf system for customizing a graphical user interface, the golf system comprising (FIG. 3, pars. 30-31, a golf car system for displaying a graphical user interface):
a golf vehicle including a display device and a first communications interface (at least pars. 19, 28, 36, 39, a golf car/vehicle includes a display device (e.g., a display 209) and communicates with a server or user devices (pars. 21-29, 42-43)); and
a server including (pars. 23-24, a local server 105 or a central host server 129):
a second communications interface configured to facilitate communications with the first communications interface and a user device (pars. 21-29, 31-33, 36-39, 42-43, the server can communicate with the golf car and the user device).
Bonito does not appear to explicitly teach one or more processing circuits configured to: provide a first graphical user interface on the user device, the first graphical user interface including a widget customizer that facilitates selecting one or more widgets of a second graphical user interface for display on the display device; receive inputs from the user device through the widget customizer to select the one or more widgets of the second graphical user interface, the inputs including a first selection of a size of the one or more widgets and a second selection of a function of the one or more widgets; and transmit data corresponding to the second graphical user interface to the first communications interface of the golf vehicle; wherein the display device is configured to display the second graphical user interface in accordance with the data.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Desai taches one or more processing circuits configured to (pars. 22, 28): provide a first graphical user interface on the user device, the first graphical user interface including a widget customizer that facilitates selecting one or more widgets of a second graphical user interface for display on the display device (FIG. 4B, pars. 46-49, an device 102 displays a user interface for customizing a widget user interface that can be communicated with other devices and servers; further see pars. 22-24);
receive inputs from the user device through the widget customizer to select the one or more widgets of the second graphical user interface, the inputs including a first selection of a size of the one or more widgets and a second selection of a function of the one or more widgets (FIG. 4B, pars. 46-49, a user can select a widget size such as small (1X1), medium (2X1) , or large (2X2). The user may also customize widget function or behavior by selecting a widget type (e.g. detailed view or general multi-item view) and adjusting widget parameters, such as selecting specific data item (e.g., cities for a weather widget)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, and to customize the widgets and transmit the customized widgets to the vehicles, as taught by Desai. The motivation is to provide customized widgets, allowing the user to dynamically customize the widgets for user’s convenience.
Bonito and Desai do not teach transmitting data corresponding to the second graphical user interface to the first communications interface of the golf vehicle; wherein the display device is configured to display the second graphical user interface in accordance with the data.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Allen teaches transmitting data corresponding to the second graphical user interface to the first communications interface of the golf vehicle (pars. 30-34, 64, 68-72, the customized widgets can be transmitted to the server);
wherein the display device is configured to display the second graphical user interface in accordance with the data (pars. 30-34, 64, 68-72, the transmitted widgets can be displayed in a processor-readable vehicle).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s teachings, and to display the transmitted widget on the vehicle, as taught by Allen. The motivation is to deliver and render customized widgets across different devices, allowing consistent deployment, platform independence, and centralized management of updates and tracking.
Claims 15 and 18, please see the rejection for claim 1, which incorporates all the limitations recited in claims 15 and 18.
3. Claims 2-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonito, Anthony P. (US 2008/0108456 A1) in view of in view of Desai et al. (US 2021/0397313 A1) in vier of Allen et al. (US 2008/0148283 A1) in view of Park, Jun Ha (US 2022/0370881 A1) and further in view of Ochenas et al. (US 2018/0143734 A1).
As in Claim 2, Bonito-Desai-Allen teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Bonito-Desai-Allen further teaches that the second graphical user interface includes:
one or more menu options corresponding to one or more functions of the golf system (Bonito, FIG. 3, par. 36, a refreshments soft key or button 316, a pull down menu 318); and a hole information panel displaying information corresponding to the golf hole (Bonito, pars. 36-43).
Bonito-Desai-Allen does not appear to explicitly teach a widget pane including the one or more widgets; a hole view displaying a map corresponding to a golf hole on which the golf vehicle is located.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Park teaches a hole view displaying a map corresponding to a golf hole on which the golf vehicle is located (see FIG. 12, pars. 144-147; further see pars. 150-151).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s and Allen’s teachings, to display the golf holes, as taught by Park. The motivation is to track the golfer’s location for efficiently update the golf holes or information of the golf holes.
Bonito-Desai-Allen and Park do not teach a widget pane including the one or more widgets.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Ochenas teaches widget pane including the one or more widgets (see FIGS. 6A-6B, pars. 70-76).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s, Allen’s, and Park’s teachings, to display the widget pane for one or more widgets, as taught by Ochenas. The motivation is to present a widget pane for displaying widgets, allowing a user to quickly view and access the widgets via the widget pane.
As in Claim 3, Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas teaches all the limitations of Claim 2. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas further teaches that the widget pane includes a plurality of panes, and wherein the second graphical user interface includes a widget pane indicator below the plurality of panes, wherein the widget pane indicator displays an indicator regarding a displayed widget pane of the plurality of panes (Ochenas, see FIGS. 6A-6B, pars. 70-76, 610(1)-610(N)).
As in Claim 4, Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas teaches all the limitations of Claim 3. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas further teaches that the plurality of panes can be navigated through via user input, and wherein the widget pane indicated updates as the plurality of panes are navigated through (Ochenas, see FIGS. 6A-6B, pars. 70-76, the widget position indicator 610(1)-610(N) reflect the new current position of the displayed widget via navigational user input).
As in Claim 7, Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas teaches all the limitations of Claim 2. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas further teaches that the information corresponding to the golf hole includes at least one of: a hole number for the golf hole (Park, par. 150); a par value for the golf hole; a handicap value for the golf hole; or a distance from the golf vehicle to a pin of the golf hole.
As in Claim 8, Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas teaches all the limitations of Claim 7. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas further teaches that the information corresponding to the golf hole includes: the hole number for the golf hole (Park, par. 150); the par value for the golf hole; the handicap value for the golf hole; and the distance from the golf vehicle to the pin of the golf hole.
As in Claim 9, Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas teaches all the limitations of Claim 2. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas further teaches that one or more components of the second graphical user interface is updated as the golf vehicle moves (Park, 144-147, 150-153).
4. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonito, Anthony P. (US 2008/0108456 A1) in view of Desai et al. (US 20210397313 A1) in vier of Allen et al. (US 2008/0148283 A1) in view of Park, Jun Ha (US 2022/0370881 A1) in view of Ochenas et al. (US 2018/0143734 A1) and further in view of Bastawros et al. (US 2014/0277627 A1).
As in Claim 6, Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas teaches all the limitations of Claim 2. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas does not teach that the hole view is located to the left of the widget pane, the one or more menu options are located below the hole view, and the hole information panel is located to the left of the hole view.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Bastawros teaches that the hole view is located to the left of the widget pane, the one or more menu options are located below the hole view, and the hole information panel is located to the left of the hole view (FIG. 4, pars. 57-59, the user interface displays hole view, hole information, and menu via different windows 430-450. Examiner notes that the limitation is afforded no additional patentable weight, as this is a design choice. Although the windows 430-450 are presented in the left, middle, and right of the user interface, they perform equally as well as the claimed invention. These descriptive design elements will not distinguish the claimed invention from Bastawros in terms of patentability. See Cf. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975); See Ex parte Clapp, 227 U.S.P.Q. at 973 (BPAI 1985)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s, Allen’s, Park’s, and Ochenas’ teachings, to display the menu, hole view, and hole information in different areas, as taught by Bastawros. The motivation is to present golf hole related view and information in different areas of user interface, allowing a user to quickly view those information.
5. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonito, Anthony P. (US 2008/0108456 A1) in view of Desai et al. (US 2021/0397313 A1) in vier of Allen et al. (US 2008/0148283 A1) in view of Park, Jun Ha (US 2022/0370881 A1) in view of Ochenas et al. (US 2018/0143734 A1) and further in view of Khosropour et al. (US 2014/0108936 A1).
As in Claim 10, Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park-Ochenas does note teach that the size of the one or more widgets is proportional to the widget pane, the size of the one or more widgets comprising: a full-sized widget that fills the widget pane; a half-sized widget that is one half of a height of the full-sized widget; and a quarter-sized widget that is one quarter of the height of the full-sized widget.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Khosropour teaches that the size of the one or more widgets is proportional to the widget pane, the size of the one or more widgets comprising: a full-sized widget that fills the widget pane; a half-sized widget that is one half of a height of the full-sized widget; and a quarter-sized widget that is one quarter of the height of the full-sized widget (pars. 53, 172, 200, a full-sized widget and half-sized widget).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s, Allen’s, Park’s, and Ochenas’ teachings, to provide the full-size widget or half-sized widget, as taught by Khosropour. The motivation is to efficiently manage limited screen space by allowing widgets to expand or collapse as needed, improving usability and reducing clutter.
6. Claim 11, 13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonito, Anthony P. (US 2008/0108456 A1) in view of Desai et al. (US 2021/0397313 A1) and further in vier of Allen et al. (US 2008/0148283 A1) and further in view of Tyler et al. (US 2021/0286489 A1).
As in Claim 11, Bonito-Desai-Allen teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Bonito-Desai-Allen does not teach that the widget customizer includes a tool to arrange a position of a first widget of the one or more widgets relative to a second widget within a widget pane.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Tyler teaches that the widget customizer includes a tool to arrange a position of a first widget of the one or more widgets relative to a second widget within a widget pane (see at least FIGS. 5C6-5C11 par. 289, 356m the position of the widgets can be changed with user input).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s and Allen’s teachings, and to change the position of the widgets with the user input, as taught by Tyler. The motivation is to allow users to easily change the position of the widgets within the user interface.
As in Claim 13, Bonito-Desai-Allen teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Bonito-Desai-Allen-Park does not teach that the first selection of the size of the one or more widgets is facilitated by a first pop-up window on top of the first graphical user interface including a plurality of sizing options and a first button to advance to the second selection.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Tyler teaches that the first selection of the size of the one or more widgets is facilitated by a first pop-up window on top of the first graphical user interface including a plurality of sizing options and a first button to advance to the second selection (see FIG. 5I7, pars. 514-515, the widget-specific configuration user interface as an overlay-style can be presented for a user to select a size of the widgets).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s and Allen’s teachings, and to provide a way to select size of the widget via the overlay-style user interface, as taught by Tyler. The motivation is to allow users to efficiently customize widgets layout within a single interface, improving usability by reducing navigating steps.
Claims 16 and 19 are substantially similar to Claim 13 and rejected under the same rationale.
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonito, Anthony P. (US 2008/0108456 A1) in view of Desai et al. (US 2021/0397313 A1) in vier of Allen et al. (US 2008/0148283 A1) and further in view of in view of Park, Jun Ha (US 2022/0370881 A1).
As in Claim 12, Bonito-Desai-Allen teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Bonito Bonito-Desai-Allen does not teach that wherein the function of the one or more widgets includes two or more of: a topographical map corresponding to a green of a respective hole the golf vehicle is on; an advertisement; a first distance indicator corresponding to a first distance for the respective hole; a second distance indicator corresponding to a second distance from a location of the golf vehicle to a pin for the respective hole; a date and time indicator; a music player; or an image customizable by a user.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Park teaches that wherein the function of the one or more widgets includes two or more of:
a topographical map corresponding to a green of a respective hole the golf vehicle is on (see FIG. 12, pars. 144-147); an advertisement; a first distance indicator corresponding to a first distance for the respective hole (pars. 126-128, 130, 150-151, 156, the device displays a distance for the respective hole in the user interface); a second distance indicator corresponding to a second distance from a location of the golf vehicle to a pin for the respective hole; a date and time indicator; a music player; or an image customizable by a user.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the golf car for communicating with the server and user devices, as taught by Bonito, in view of Desai’s and Allen’s teachings, and to provide the golf course map and the distance to the respective hole, as taught by Park. The motivation is to provide the golfer with accurate distance information for the hole being played, thereby assisting play and improving usability.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in an independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17 and 20 are substantially similar to Claim 14 and rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
/RINNA YI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179