DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 13 December 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korean application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heat storage device” used throughout the claims.
For the record:
Para. 0034 of the specification states that the heat storage device “may be filled with a phase-change material.” Accordingly, the limitation “heat storage device” has been interpreted as one that either contains a phase-change material, or a functionally equivalent arrangement capable of storing heat.
The limitations “electrical component cooling apparatus” and “vehicle interior heating device” had NOT been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) since independent claim 1 recited sufficient corresponding structure to perform the respective functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hatakeyama et al. (US 2017/0021698 A1).
As pre claim 1, Hatakeyama et al. disclose a heat pump system for a vehicle, comprising: an electrical component cooling apparatus 3 comprising: a radiator 312, a first water pump 311 connected via a first coolant line (coolant line on right side in Fig. 1) configured to flow a first coolant to cool an electrical component (motor 313, inverter 314), a heat storage device (para. 0066, etc.: battery 322 collects waste heat), and a second water pump 321 connected to a second coolant line (coolant line on left side in Fig. 1), wherein the second coolant line is selectively connected (via valves 35 & 36) to the first coolant line (via the various horizontal coolant lines in Fi. 1) and configured to flow the first coolant; an air conditioner unit 2 comprising: a compressor 20, a first heat-exchanger 21, an expansion valve 29, and a second heat-exchanger 27 connected to a refrigerant line configured to flow a refrigerant; and a vehicle interior heating device 1 comprising a heater core 41 and a third water pump 43 connected to a third coolant line 400 configured to flow a second coolant, wherein the first heat-exchanger is provided on the third coolant line and configured to flow the second coolant and condense the refrigerant through heat-exchange with the second coolant (Fig. 1; etc.), wherein the second heat-exchanger is connected to the second coolant line and configured to flow the first coolant and evaporate the refrigerant through heat-exchange with the first coolant (Fig. 1; etc.), and wherein a flow of the first coolant is controlled (Figs. 3A-3C; etc.) based on at least one mode for storing heat in the heat storage device (para. 0066; etc.) or heating a vehicle interior of the vehicle (paras. 0111, 0161-0162; etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2017/0021698 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 12403749 B2).
As per claim 18, Hatakeyama et al. do not teach wherein the electrical component cooling apparatus further comprises a coolant heater provided on the second coolant line between the second water pump and the second heat-exchanger. Yamada et al. teach a similar arrangement the electrical component cooling apparatus 50 further comprises a coolant heater 54 provided on a second coolant line between the second water pump (51a or 51b) and the second heat-exchanger 20 (Fig. 1; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply the heater of Yamada et al. to the system of Hatakeyama et al. for the purpose of providing the additional functionality a battery warm-up capability under low outside temperature conditions (col. 23, lines 23-28; etc.).
As per claim 19, Hatakeyama et al. do not teach wherein, when storing heat in the heat storage device is required, or when the heat stored in the heat storage device is insufficient in the at least one mode, a coolant heater is operated to heat the first coolant flowing along the second coolant line. Note that this claim is written as functional language, not actual system structure. Thus, in order to readd on the claim, the prior art need simply be capable of performing the function. Again, Yamada et al. teach heater 54 providing heat to the battery (col. 23, lines 23-28; etc.). As such, as combined into the system of Hatakeyama et al. as described in claim 18, the heater 54 would have been capable of performing such a heating function.
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2017/0021698 A1) in view of Lei et al. (US 11745562 B1).
As per claim 20, Hatakeyama et al. do not teach wherein the heat storage device is filled with a phase-change material. Lei et al. teach a similar arrangement wherein a heat storage device 15 for heating within an electrical device cooling circuit is filled with a phase-change material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to provide such a phase change heat storage within the cooling circuit of Hatakeyama et al. as either a supplement or replacement of the battery for the purpose of optimizing the heat storage function already provided within Hatakeyama et al. (again, para. 0066, etc.: battery 322 collects waste heat).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claim 2, Hatakeyama et al. fails to disclose the full combination wherein the electrical component cooling apparatus further comprises: a branch line connected to the first coolant line between the radiator and the first water pump through a first valve provided on the first coolant line between the radiator and the first water pump; a second valve provided between the first coolant line and the second coolant line to selectively connect the first coolant line and the second coolant line; a first connection line having a first end connected to the second valve and a second end connected to a location where the first coolant line and the second coolant line meet between the electrical component and the second water pump; a third valve provided on the first coolant line at a downstream end of the electrical component; and a second connection line having a first end connected to the third valve, and a second end connected to the second coolant line between the heat storage device and the second heat-exchanger. In particular, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art to modify the system of Hatakeyama et al. to further comprise a third valve provided on the first coolant line at a downstream end of the electrical component; and a second connection line having a first end connected to the third valve, and a second end connected to the second coolant line between the heat storage device and the second heat-exchanger.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Miyoshi (US 11760154 B2) teaches a vehicle temperature control system comprising interior heating circuit 1, refrigerant circuit 2, and battery cooling circuit 3.
Shiratori et al. (US 2020/0164719 A1) teach a vehicle temperature control system comprising interior heating circuit 20, refrigerant circuit 10, and battery cooling circuit 30.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763