Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 1/13/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 is/are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claim(s) 12 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, 11, and 12 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are directed to creating a channel group. Specifically, the claims receiving a user interface interaction from a user terminal requesting creation of a channel group; causing the user terminal to display a channel group creation interface for creating the channel group, the channel group creation interface comprising at least one of a cover image interface, a channel group title interface, a description interface, a tag interface, a participation condition interface, or a search permission interface; creating a default chat channel included in the channel group; causing the user terminal to display the channel group interface to include a default channel interface associated with the default chat channel; receiving a user interface interaction from the user terminal requesting creation of a chat channel; identifying participation of the visitor terminal in a corresponding channel as a member, wherein creating the chat channel comprises applying a participation condition set configured for the chat channel and enforcing a membership state of a user account prior to enabling message input or display of chat history in the user terminal. transmitting a user interface interaction requesting creation of a channel group to a server; transmitting a user interface interaction requesting creation of a chat channel to the server, which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (fundamental economic principles or practices including hedging insurance, mitigating risk) OR (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) OR (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities teaching, and following rules or instructions) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as memory and processor merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the memory and processor perform(s) the steps or functions of causing the causing the user terminal to display a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel groups receiving an interaction from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server;and displaying a channel group creation interface for creating the channel group, the channel group creation interface comprising at least one of a cover image interface, a channel group title interface, a description interface, a tag interface, a participation condition interface, or a search permission interface, wherein a default chat channel is included in the channel group; displaying the channel group interface to include a default channel interface associated with the default chat channel; displaying a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel group,wherein an interaction is transmitted from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a memory and processor to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of creating a channel group. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the memory and processor perform(s) the steps or functions causing the user terminal to display a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel groups receiving an interaction from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server;and displaying a channel group creation interface for creating the channel group, the channel group creation interface comprising at least one of a cover image interface, a channel group title interface, a description interface, a tag interface, a participation condition interface, or a search permission interface, wherein a default chat channel is included in the channel group; displaying the channel group interface to include a default channel interface associated with the default chat channel; displaying a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel group,wherein an interaction is transmitted from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of creating a channel group. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-9, 14-19 further describe the abstract idea of creating a channel group. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunne (U.S. Patent App Pub 20180063042) in view of Rao (U.S. Patent 10021059)
Regarding claim 1,
Dunne teaches a computer-implemented method for providing at least one channel group by a server, the method comprising: (See paragraphs 35—36, fig 6-7, Dunne)
receiving a user interface interaction from a user terminal requesting creation of a channel group; (See paragraphs 35—37, fig 6-7, Dunne)
Dunne does not explicitly teach but Rao teaches causing the user terminal to display a channel group creation interface for creating the channel group, the channel group creation interface comprising at least one of a cover image interface, a channel group title interface, a description interface, a tag interface, a participation condition interface, or a search permission interface; (See column 6 line 5-55, column 7 lines 2-40, Rao teaches creating groups based on permission at least)
creating a default chat channel included in the channel group; causing the user terminal to display the channel group interface to include a default channel interface associated with the default chat channel; (See figure 2 column 7 line 45 to column 8 line 35, Rao teaches default channel and groups created)
receiving a user interface interaction from the user terminal requesting creation of a chat channel; (See figure 2 column 7 line 45 to column 8 line 35, Rao teaches default channel and groups created)
causing the user terminal to display a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel groups receiving an interaction from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server;and (See figure 2-3 column 8 lines 5-67, Rao teaches different channels and group chats for new people)
identifying participation of the visitor terminal in a corresponding channel as a member, wherein creating the chat channel comprises applying a participation condition set configured for the chat channel and enforcing a membership state of a user account prior to enabling message input or display of chat history in the user terminal. (See figure 2-3 column 8 lines 5-67, column 9 line 45 – col 10 line 17, Rao teaches new members enabling input)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Rao with Dunne because both deal with chat groups. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Rao into Dunne is that Rao enables utilizing a platform to recognize user movements to a room and examine posts that individuals are making an information session with respect to a topic. The method enables allowing information and feedback to be obtained from participants in a social or private network without repetitive or intrusive messages being sent to participants, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See column 1, Rao)
Regarding claim 2,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 1, wherein creating the chat channel comprises: creating a first chat channel included in the channel group, based at least partly on an interaction from the user terminal; and creating a second chat channel included in the channel group, based at least partly on an interaction from the user terminal. (See paragraphs 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches first channel and second group channel and even a third one)
Regarding claim 3,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 2, further comprising: creating a channel group address corresponding to the channel group; creating a first chat channel address corresponding to the first chat channel; and creating a second chat channel address corresponding to the second chat channel. (See paragraphs 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches first and second chat sessions)
Regarding claim 4,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 1, wherein creating the channel group comprises creating at least one of the following: a group link for sharing at least one content and engaging in a group chat with a plurality of user accounts, a one-to-one channel group for engaging in a one-to-one chat with a different user account, or an open profile representing a user account of the user terminal on the channel group. (See paragraphs 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches one on one chatting)
Regarding claim 5,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 1, wherein creating the channel group comprises: creating the first channel group based at least partly on an interaction from the user terminal; and creating the second channel group based at least partly on an interaction of the user terminal. (See paragraphs 25-26, 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches first and second channel based on user interaction)
Regarding claim 6,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 5, further comprising: creating a first channel group address corresponding to the first channel group; and creating a second channel group address corresponding to the second channel group. (See paragraphs 25-26, 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches first and second channel based first and second session)
Regarding claim 7,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to an interaction from a visitor account requesting participation in the channel group, allowing participation of the visitor account in the channel group and the default chat channel. (See paragraphs 25-26, 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches first and second channel based on user interaction)
Regarding claim 8,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 7, wherein the interaction from the visitor account is an interaction of inputting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group. (See paragraphs 43-44, figs 7-8, Dunne)
Regarding claim 9,
Dunne and Rao teach themethod of claim 8, wherein: the interaction from the visitor account comprises an interaction of selecting a user profile of the visitor account, and in allowing the participation in the channel group and the default chat channel, the server allows participation in the channel group and in the default chat channel using the selected user profile. (See paragraphs 43-44, figs 7-8, Dunne)
Regarding claim 11,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the participation of the visitor terminal comprises: identifying whether the visitor terminal is a member of the channel group; and identifying whether the visitor terminal is a member of the chat channel. (See paragraphs 43-44, figs 7-8, Dunne teaches sending to bob or alice or both different channels groups)
Claim 12 list all the same elements of claim 1, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13,
Dunne teaches a method for creating a channel group by a user terminal, the method comprising (See paragraphs 35—36, fig 6-7, Dunne, different channels created. Also fig 8)
transmitting a user interface interaction requesting creation of a channel group to a server; (See paragraphs 35—37, fig 6-7, Dunne)
Dunne does not explicitly teach but Rao teaches displaying a channel group creation interface for creating the channel group, the channel group creation interface comprising at least one of a cover image interface, a channel group title interface, a description interface, a tag interface, a participation condition interface, or a search permission interface, wherein a default chat channel is included in the channel group; (See column 6 line 5-55, column 7 lines 2-40, Rao teaches creating groups based on permission at least)
displaying the channel group interface to include a default channel interface associated with the default chat channel; (See figure 2 column 7 line 45 to column 8 line 35, Rao teaches default channel and groups created)
transmitting a user interface interaction requesting creation of a chat channel to the server; anddisplaying a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel group, (See figure 2 column 7 line 45 to column 8 line 35, Rao teaches default channel and groups created)
wherein an interaction is transmitted from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server, and participation of the visitor terminal is identified in a corresponding channel as a member, and wherein creating the chat channel comprises applying a participation condition set configured for the chat channel and enforcing a membership state of a user account prior to enabling message input or display of chat history in the user terminal. (See figure 2-3 column 8 lines 5-67, column 9 line 45 – col 10 line 17, Rao teaches new members enabling input, display the aggregation history)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Rao with Dunne because both deal with chat groups. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Rao into Dunne is that Rao enables utilizing a platform to recognize user movements to a room and examine posts that individuals are making an information session with respect to a topic. The method enables allowing information and feedback to be obtained from participants in a social or private network without repetitive or intrusive messages being sent to participants, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See column 1, Rao)
Regarding claim 14,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 13, further comprising: in response to an interaction from the user terminal with the chat channel creation interface, requesting the server to create a second chat channel; and displaying the channel group, including the chat channel and the second chat channel on the screen of the user terminal. (See paragraphs 43-44, figs 7-8, Dunne teaches sending to bob or alice or both different channels groups)
Regarding claim 15,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving, from the server, a channel group address corresponding to the channel group, a first chat channel address corresponding to the chat channel, and a second chat channel address corresponding to the second chat channel. (See paragraphs 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches first and second chat sessions)
Regarding claim 16,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 13, wherein the channel group comprises at least one of the following: a group link for sharing at least one content and engaging in a group chat with a plurality of user accounts; a one-to-one channel group for engaging in a one-to-one chat with a different user account; and an open profile representing a user account of the user terminal on the channel group. (See paragraphs 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches one on one chatting)
Regarding claim 17,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 13, further comprising: in response to an interaction from the user terminal with the channel group creation interface, requesting the server to create a second channel group. (See paragraphs 43-44, figs 7-8, Dunne teaches sending to bob or alice or both different channels groups)
Regarding claim 18,
Dunne and Rao teach the method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving a channel group address corresponding to the channel group and a second channel group address corresponding to the second channel group from the server. (See paragraphs 34-35, figs 6-7, Dunne teaches first and second chat sessions)
Regarding claim 19,
Dunne and Rao teach method of claim 1.
Rao further teaches further comprising :causing the user terminal to display the channel group interface to include a channel group setting interface comprising at least one of: a channel group information interface, a channel group invitation interface including a URL and QR code, a channel management interface for adding or modifying chat channels, or a channel group deletion interface, such that the channel group setting interface is displayed at the user terminal without requiring a full application reload. (See col 6 lines 20-67, Rao) See motivation to combine for claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong One. As for Step 2A Prong One, of the Abstract idea is directed towards the abstract idea of creating a channel group which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (fundamental economic principles or practices including hedging insurance, mitigating risk) OR (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) OR (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities teaching, and following rules or instructions) OR Mental Processes and is similar to the concept of (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
B. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong Two. As for Step 2A Prong Two, the claim limitations do not include additional elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, and the claim is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception and the claim limitation simply describe the abstract idea. The limitation directed to creating a channel group does not add technical improvement to the abstract idea. The recitations to “server” and “processor” perform(s) the steps or functions of causing the user terminal to display a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel groups receiving an interaction from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server;and displaying a channel group creation interface for creating the channel group, the channel group creation interface comprising at least one of a cover image interface, a channel group title interface, a description interface, a tag interface, a participation condition interface, or a search permission interface, wherein a default chat channel is included in the channel group; displaying the channel group interface to include a default channel interface associated with the default chat channel; displaying a chat channel creation interface for creating the chat channel included in the channel group,wherein an interaction is transmitted from a visitor terminal transmitting a message for one of the default chat channel and the chat channel included in the channel group to the server. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
C. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2B.
As for Step 2B, The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the limitation directed to creating a channel group does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Furthermore, using well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea does not constitute significantly more. The recitations to “server” and “processor” are generically recited computer structure. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of creating a channel group. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and located in the PTO-892 form.
1.Shidfar, U.S. Patent App 20140310046, teaches systems and methods are provided for enabling event planning and promotion using on-line collaboration tools among a group of people, wherein the group arrives at a decision, such as a decision as to the nature and/or logistics corresponding to an event in which the group wishes to participate, and wherein the collaboration tools include the ability to provide links to perform transactions related to the defined event.
2. Cherukuri, U.S. Patent 8782145, teaches a content item hosted by a content item source (such as a weblog post of a weblog) may receive updates (e.g., comments submitted by users), and may be discussed among users in a chat group of a chat service. The content item source and the chat service may coordinate to notify users of updates to the content item, and to share content regarding the content item. When a user requests to subscribe to updates of the content item, the content item source may invite the user to join a chat group of the chat service created for discussion of the content item. Additionally, updates to the content item received by the content item source may be automatically posted as messages in the chat group, and messages posted in the chat group regarding the content item may be automatically posted as updates to the content item at the content item source.
Examiner’s Note: much of the claims contain contingent limitation and therefore patentable weight may not be given to these limitations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NINOS DONABED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444