Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1:
Step 1: Yes. Claim 1 recites “a computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining a surface grid of a region for seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region...determining…determining…comparing…in response to determine that the difference is larger …providing the surface grid…in the seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region” which is a process.
Step 2A, Prong One: Judicial exception? Yes.
Claim 1 recites the steps “obtaining a surface grid of a region for seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region...determining…determining…comparing…in response to determine that the difference is larger …providing the surface grid…in the seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region” which under BRI, fall within both mental processes and mathematical calculation. The steps may be carried out as a mental process if the algorithm is simple enough, and as a mathematical process if the algorithm is more complicated. Claim 1 recites mathematical concepts and/or mental processes, that may be carried out in human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper in simple situations. The claim does not recite a particular equation or algorithm for making the recited comparing step, this just means that the abstract idea is being recited broadly enough to monopolize all possible equations or algorithms that might be used (Please also see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), (B), (C), and (D).
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the recited steps encompass mental processes practically performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Practical application? No.
The claim when viewed as a whole or in ordered combination does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The recited “computer-implemented method” recited in the preamble when reads in light of the specification only recites the abstract idea being performed by generic components, which are not particular device and are used as tool to perform the abstract idea
Limitation “obtaining…” encompasses data gathering.
Limitations “determining an interpolated traveltime…determining…comparing…in response to determining…subdividing…smaller grid cells” under BRI when read in light of the specification encompass mathematical calculations.
Limitation “providing the surface grid with the first plurality of smaller grid cells for depth migration in the seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region” merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (depth migration in the seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region). This step encompasses an insignificant extra solution.
The recited limitations/steps in claim 1 do not place any limit on how to accomplish each step. Rather, these limitations only recite the outcome. In other words, the claim does not recite details how to accomplish each step.
Further, when viewed as a whole or ordered combination does not provide an improvement in depth migration in the seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region (see MPEP 2106.05(a)).
Step 2B: the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, for reasons that are analogous to the discussion of additional elements at Prong 2.
Independent claim 9 recites a medium and independent claim 16 recites a computer-implemented system which do not offer a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the system to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via a computer system . In other words, the system claim and the medium claim are no different from the method claim 1 in substance; the method claim recites the abstract idea while the system and medium claims recite generic a computer system configured to implement the same abstract idea. The claims do not amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2, 10, and 17 add limitations which are data gathering and calculation merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claims 3, 11, and 18 add limitations which are data gathering and calculation merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claims 4 and 12 add limitations which are insignificant extra solutions merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claims 5, 13, and 20 add limitations which are data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 6 and 14 add limitations which are data gathering and mathematical calculation/concept merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claims 7 and 15 add limitations which are data and calculation merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 8 add a limitation which is data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 15, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John E. Vidale, “Finite-Difference Calculation Of Travel Times in Three Dimensions”, GEOPHYSICS, SOCIETY OF EXPLORATION GEOPHYSICISTS, US, vol. 55, no. 5, 1 May 1990 (1990-05-01), pages 521-526 (hereinafter “Vidale”) and Krebs (USPN. 5696735).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 16, Vidale discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
obtaining a surface grid of a region for seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region, wherein the surface grid comprises a plurality of grid cells, each of the plurality of grid cells has a plurality of vertices, and each vertex of the plurality of vertices is associated with a traveltime between the vertex and a first plurality of subsurface points to be imaged (Vidale: Fig. 1, Page 521 col. 2: The calculation begins with the identification of the grid point nearest the source location (the source need not coincide with a grid point). The traveltime to each grid point in the 5 by 5 by 5 point volume surrounding the nearest grid point is calculated by integrating the slowness from the origin to the point, assuming a straight ray path", page 522: "Once the travel-times for seven of the corners of a cube are known"));
determining an interpolated traveltime associated with a point in a first grid cell of the plurality of grid cells by interpolating the traveltimes associated with the plurality of vertices of the first grid cell (page 522: "Once the travel-times for seven of the corners of a cube
are known, the eighth may be found by applying finite differencing to equation (I) to obtain where h is the mesh spacing and/, is the traveltime to the it h point");
determining a ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the first grid cell through ray tracing between the point and a second plurality of subsurface points influenced by the point (page 525: "The traveltimes through this structure have been computed by ray tracing with the method of Stork (1988) in Vidale's (1988) paper. A 3-D velocity structure with cylindrical symmetry is constructed by spinning the 2-D structure in Figure 7"));
comparing a difference between the interpolated traveltime and the ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the first grid cell to a predetermined thresh old (page 525: See section “Comparison of Finite Differences with ray tracing” last Paragraph, col. 1-col. 2);
However, Vidale does not explicitly disclose “in response to determine that the difference is larger than the predetermined threshold, subdividing the first grid cell into a first plurality of smaller grid cells; and providing the surface grid with the first plurality of smaller grid cells for depth migration in the seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region.”
Krebs teaches “in response to determine that the difference is larger than the predetermined threshold, subdividing the first grid cell into a first plurality of smaller grid cells; and providing the surface grid with the first plurality of smaller grid cells for depth migration in the seismic imaging of subsurface structures of the region” (Krebs: Abstract and cols. 11-13 teaches a method for migrating seismic data. It discloses correcting migration travel times obtained from raytracing using direct arrival times from acquired checkshot data. Krebs teaches that differences between said raytraced traveltimes and said direct arrival traveltimes are computed. Krebs teaches travel time correction. Krebs teaches traveltimes are computed by raytracing through this velocity model. Computed traveltimes which correspond to the sources and receivers in the offset checkshot survey are compared to the measured offset checkshot traveltimes, and traveltime errors are calculated, step 104. These errors are the measured traveltimes minus the calculated traveltimes. Note that this step differs from step 84 above in that only a traveltime error is calculated, not an actual migration error vector as was calculated in that step. The traveltime errors are next interpolated to migration raypaths not included in the offset checkshot survey data, step 106. As demonstrated in FIG. 8, the interpolation procedure to be used depends upon the type of error expected. For image point locations corresponding to the source and receiver raypaths in the offset checkshot survey data, a traveltime error estimate, 120 in FIG. 8, results from step 104. If the errors are believed to be caused by large scale phenomena, such as anisotropy, and the phenomena are not expected to vary rapidly, conventional interpolation methods such as described above may be satisfactorily applied to the errors. Such a smoothly varying error function is depicted as curve 122 in FIG. 8. If, on the other hand, the errors are expected to be due to small scale effects which may exhibit rapid spatial variation, the analyst may opt to set the error to zero except in the immediate neighborhood of the image point location. This type of error function is depicted as curve 124 in FIG. 8. An example of a situation in which the error is locally variable may be in the proximity of salt domes where the measured traveltimes may be greatly influenced by the local, out-of-plane geometry of the salt. Once an appropriate error function has been determined, the migration traveltimes computed in step 102 of FIG. 6 are corrected by adding the interpolated error, step 108. The migration is performed using the corrected traveltimes, step 110. The corrected traveltimes guarantee accurate migration at the borehole of all reflector dips, step 112, and for that reason no migration error computation is required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filling the Application to modify Vidale's invention using Krebs' invention to arrive at the claimed invention specified in claim to improve the accuracy of seismic migration (Krebs: Field of the invention) and to avoid the derivation of migration velocity model which is beneficial in that the derivation can be computationally costly and labor intensive part of migrating seismic data (Krebs: col. 12).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Vidale and Krebs disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Vidale discloses that the depth migration is Kirchhoff depth migration (Vidale: Abstract and Page 525, Conclusion).
Regarding claim 8, Vidale and Krebs disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Vidale discloses that the point in the first grid cell is a central point of the first grid cell (Page 523, col. 1, first Paragraph).
Conclusion
Claims 2-6, 10-14, and 17-20 are patentably distinguishable over the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 17, the closest prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the combination wherein “wherein after subdividing the first grid cell into the first plurality of smaller grid cells, the method further comprises: determining an interpolated traveltime associated with a point in a first smaller grid cell of the first plurality of smaller grid cells by interpolating traveltimes associated with a plurality of vertices of the first smaller grid cell; determining a ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the first smaller grid cell through ray tracing between the point and a third plurality of subsurface points influenced by the point; comparing a difference between the interpolated traveltime and the ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the first smaller grid cell to the predetermined threshold; and in response to determine that the difference is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold, refraining from subdividing the first smaller grid cell” in combination with other limitations in the claims as defined by Applicants.
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 18, the closest prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the combination wherein “wherein after subdividing the first grid cell into the first plurality of smaller grid cells, the method further comprises: determining an interpolated traveltime associated with a point in a second smaller grid cell of the first plurality of smaller grid cells by interpolating traveltimes associated with a plurality of vertices of the second smaller grid cell; determining a ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the second smaller grid cell through ray tracing between the point and a fourth plurality of subsurface points influenced by the point; comparing a difference between the interpolated traveltime and the ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the second smaller grid cell to the predetermined threshold; and in response to determine that the difference is larger than the predetermined threshold, subdividing the second smaller grid cell into a second plurality of smaller grid cells” in combination with other limitations in the claims as defined by Applicants.
Claim 4 depends from claim 3; claim 12 depends from claim 11, and therefore are also patentably distinguishable over the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 20, the closest prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the combination wherein “wherein the predetermined threshold is inversely proportional to a maximum frequency of seismic data used in the seismic imaging” in combination with other limitations in the claims as defined by Applicants.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the closest prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the combination wherein “determining an interpolated traveltime associated with a point in a second grid cell of the plurality of grid cells by interpolating traveltimes associated with the plurality of vertices of the second grid cell; determining a ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the second grid cell through ray tracing between the point and a fifth plurality of subsurface points influenced by the point; comparing a difference between the interpolated traveltime and the ray tracing-based traveltime associated with the point in the second grid cell to the predetermined threshold; and in response to determine that the difference is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold, refraining from subdividing the second grid cell” in combination with other limitations in the claims as defined by Applicants.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yarman et al. (submitted by Applicants) discloses methods and computing systems are disclosed to enhance imaging of acquired data. In one embodiment, a method is performed that includes receiving acquired data that corresponds to the medium; computing a first wavefield by injecting a noise; and computing the cumulative illumination by auto-correlating the first wavefield (Abstract; Pars. 48-61).
/PHUONG HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 September 24, 2026