DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/799,797 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,259,841 (“BHAGAVATULA”).
Regarding claim 1, BHAGAVATULA teaches an optical device (10), comprising: a waveguide (18); and an optical element (26) disposed adjacent a surface of the waveguide such that the optical element can alter, when the optical device is in operation, an electromagnetic wave guided by the waveguide (FIGs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 2, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the optical element comprises a dielectric film (col. 4, lines 42-49).
Regarding claim 3, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the dielectric film comprises a patterned photoresist (col. 7, lines 37-45).
Regarding claim 4, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the dielectric film comprises a prism, a convex lens, or a concave lens (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 16, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the optical element is disposed out-of- plane relative to a plane in which a surface of the waveguide is disposed (FIGs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 17, BHAGAVATULA teaches a method of operating an optical device (10), the optical device comprising a waveguide (18), the method comprising: generating a guided electromagnetic wave (FIG. 1) by: generating a converging laser beam; and coupling the converging laser beam to the waveguide by steering the converging laser beam towards an edge of the waveguide and with a beam center trajectory approximately parallel to a surface of the waveguide (FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BHAGAVATULA.
BHAGAVATULA teaches the limitations of the base claim 17. The additional limitations appear to involve mere optimization of the numerical aperture, width, and wavelength of the beam. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the parameters of the beam, as set forth in the instant claims.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BHAGAVATULA in view of US 2002/0085785 (“KISHIMOTO”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, BHAGAVATULA teaches the limitations of the base claim 1. BHAGAVATULA does not teach that the optical element comprises a gold film. KISHIMOTO teaches an optical element comprising a gold film (par. [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the optical element of BHAGAVATULA with the gold film of KISHIMOTO. The motivation would have been to miniaturize the optical film (par. [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the optical element film comprises a slit or a grating (FIGs. 7B-D).
Claims 8-11, 14, 15, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BHAGAVATULA in view of US 5,351,262 (“POGUNTKE”).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, BHAGAVATULA teaches the limitations of the base claim 1. BHAGAVATULA does not teach that the waveguide comprises a thin film material comprising a van der Waals material. POGUNTKE teaches a waveguide comprising a thin film material comprising a van der Waals material (col. 7, lines 43-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the waveguide of BHAGAVATULA with the thin film material comprising a van der Waals material of POGUNTKE. The motivation would have been to assist in the bonding of active elements (col. 7, lines 43-56).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the at least one monolayer comprises between one and three monolayers (20, 22, 24).
Regarding claim 14, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the optical element comprises a rectangular region of the waveguide lacking the thin film material (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15, BHAGAVATULA teaches that the rectangular region is arranged having one corner of the rectangular region disposed in a path of the electromagnetic wave guided by the waveguide (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 21, BHAGAVATULA teaches that steering the converging laser beam towards the edge of the waveguide comprises steering the converging laser beam towards an edge of a thin film material (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 22, BHAGAVATULA teaches that steering the converging laser beam towards the edge of a thin film material comprises steering the converging laser beam towards an edge of a thin film material comprising at least one monolayer (20, 22, 24).
Regarding claim 23, BHAGAVATULA teaches the limitations of the base claim 21. BHAGAVATULA does not teach that steering the converging laser beam towards the edge of the waveguide comprises steering the converging laser beam towards an edge of a thin film material comprising a van der Waals material. POGUNTKE teaches a waveguide comprising a thin film material comprising a van der Waals material (col. 7, lines 43-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the waveguide of BHAGAVATULA with the thin film material comprising a van der Waals material of POGUNTKE. The motivation would have been to assist in the bonding of active elements (col. 7, lines 43-56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 13, and 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the provisional double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that the thin film material comprises a transition metal dichalcogenide.
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874