DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 8/18/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states, with respect to the reference of Pu, that “the various parameters of Pu are intended for a variety of speeds of measurement reporting. Such default or accelerated handover speed reporting configurations, as described by Pu, do not teach or suggest any parameters ‘associated with terminating reporting of measurements associated with the serving network entity or the neighboring network entity.’ Indeed, Pu does not describe any ‘terminating reporting of measurements’ at all, let alone a ‘second set of parameters’ associated with such ‘terminating.’” (see page 9 of Applicant’s remarks filed on 8/18/2026).
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that Pu (in light of the teachings of Conceicao) does, in fact, disclose terminating reporting of measurements. For example, paragraph 38 explicitly states that “each of the reporting events may be thus associated with one or more offsets and/or thresholds, and may involve either one of or both of serving cell and neighbor cell measurements. The measurement reporting configuration may specify the parameters associated with each measurement event, such as threshold, offset, and hysteresis values. Furthermore, the measurement reporting configuration may specify timing criteria, such as a time-to-trigger (TTT) value. The TTT value may be used to further define the measurement events. For example, measurement event A3 may only be triggered if the neighbor cell measurement exceeds the serving cell measurement by a certain offset for a certain duration of time,” wherein it is understood that a “duration” of time includes a start of the duration and an end of the duration, wherein the end of the measurement duration is equivalent a “terminating” of measurement reporting, given the teachings of Pu are combined with the measurement reporting teachings of Conceicao.
In addition to the above, Examiner also points to paragraph 31 of Pu, which discloses a measurement reporting configuration that comprises “an expected duration of time until a handover is initiated and/or completed than the expected duration of time until a handover is initiated and/or completed of the default measurement reporting configuration.” Examiner notes that this portion of Pu also can be construed to disclose terminating a measurement reporting.
As such, based on the above remarks and absent any amendments to the claims, Examiner maintains the rejection.
Upon receiving and reviewing this office action, Examiner invites Applicant to a telephone discussion to discuss potential claim amendments that can clearly overcome the references of Pu and Conceicao.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu (USPAN 2016/0381610) in view of Conceicao (WO 2023/183459 A1).
Consider claims 1, 16, and 20, Pu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (see figure 3, wherein disclosed is said user equipment which comprises said memory and processor; also, see paragraph 57), and a corresponding method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see figure 2, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said method), and a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to (see paragraphs 57-60, wherein disclosed is said computer-readable medium) to:
receive control signaling indicating, broadly construed, at least one set of parameters of a plurality of sets of parameters, for a lower layer triggered mobility event, wherein a first set of parameters of the plurality of sets of parameters is associated with triggering reporting measurements associated with a serving network entity or a neighboring network entity, and wherein a second set of parameters of the plurality of sets of parameters is associated with terminating reporting of measurements associated with the serving network entity or the neighboring network entity; monitor for one or more transmissions from the serving network entity or the neighboring network entity based at least in part on the control signaling; (see paragraph 40: “A UE may therefore bias the handover procedures towards expedited handovers by modifying the parameters for event-triggered measurement reporting, thereby reducing expected handover latency. For example, handovers for event-triggered/aperiodic measurement reporting may be triggered relatively quickly if low values for offset, threshold, hysteresis, or TTT parameters are specified in the measurement reporting configuration. While these values are specified by the network and provided by the serving cell [e.g. via control signaling], a UE configured for event-triggered reporting may be able to prematurely bias a handover by modifying one or more of the event-trigger parameters, thereby reducing expected handover latency”; thus, Pu discloses that a first set of parameters of the plurality of sets of parameters is associated with triggering reporting measurements associated with a serving network entity, wherein the claimed “triggered mobility event” is equivalent to the handover taught by Pu); and
transmit an event-triggered measurement report for lower layer triggered mobility based at least in part on at least one measurement of the one or more transmissions satisfying one or more parameters of the first set of parameters or one or more parameters of the second set of parameters (see paragraph 107: “UE 300 may therefore be able to undergo early handover, as UE 300 may send measurement reports to the serving base station at an earlier time (i.e. caused by relaxing of event-triggered measurement reporting parameters) and/or may send measurement reports to the serving base station with measurement results biased in favor of handover (i.e. caused by adjustment of serving cell and/or neighbor cell measurement results). The serving base station may therefore receive measurement reports at an earlier time and/or may receive measurement results in the measurement report that bias a handover decision towards performing a handover (e.g. due to the poor serving cell measurement results and/or strong neighbor cell measurement results). UE 300 may therefore be instructed to undergo handover at an earlier time if alternate measurement reporting protocols are executed”).
Pu does not explicitly disclose a first set of parameters of a plurality of sets of parameters and a second set of parameters of the plurality of sets of parameters.
Conceicao discloses a first set of parameters of a plurality of sets of parameters and a second set of parameters of the plurality of sets of parameters (see paragraph 8 and claim 1: a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) for wireless communications, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for measurement reporting, wherein the configuration information indicates 1) a first triggering condition to start measurement, 2) a second triggering condition to report measurement, 3) a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters for measurement, and 4) a measurement report configuration; performing, based on the first triggering condition being satisfied for at least one cell, 1) a first measurement on the at least one cell using the first set of parameters, and 2) a second measurement on the at least one cell using the second set of parameters; and transmitting, based on the second triggering condition being satisfied and the measurement report configuration, a measurement report including at least the first measurement or the second measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pu and combine it with the noted teachings of Conceicao. The motivation to combine these references is to provide new and enhanced method for coverage data collection in wireless communication networks that prevent sub-optimal coverage areas to remain undetected (see paragraph 2 of Conceicao).
Consider claims 2 and 17, Pu does not specifically disclose that the first set of parameters is different from the second set of parameters.
Conceicao discloses that the first set of parameters is different from the second set of parameters (see paragraph 8 and claim 1: a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) for wireless communications, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for measurement reporting, wherein the configuration information indicates 1) a first triggering condition to start measurement, 2) a second triggering condition to report measurement, 3) a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters for measurement, and 4) a measurement report configuration; performing, based on the first triggering condition being satisfied for at least one cell, 1) a first measurement on the at least one cell using the first set of parameters, and 2) a second measurement on the at least one cell using the second set of parameters; and transmitting, based on the second triggering condition being satisfied and the measurement report configuration, a measurement report including at least the first measurement or the second measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pu and combine it with the noted teachings of Conceicao. The motivation to combine these references is to provide new and enhanced method for coverage data collection in wireless communication networks that prevent sub-optimal coverage areas to remain undetected (see paragraph 2 of Conceicao).
Consider claims 3 and 18, Pu, in view of the teachings of Conceicao, discloses to receive the control signaling indicating the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters (see paragraph 40 of Pu: “…these values are specified by the network and provided by the serving cell….”; see paragraph 8 and claim 1 of Conceicao: “a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters…”
Consider claim 7, Pu does not specifically disclose to receive the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of the plurality of sets of parameters.
Conceicao discloses to receive the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of the plurality of sets of parameters (see paragraph 8 and claim 1: a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) for wireless communications, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for measurement reporting, wherein the configuration information indicates 1) a first triggering condition to start measurement, 2) a second triggering condition to report measurement, 3) a first set of parameters and a second set of parameters for measurement, and 4) a measurement report configuration; performing, based on the first triggering condition being satisfied for at least one cell, 1) a first measurement on the at least one cell using the first set of parameters, and 2) a second measurement on the at least one cell using the second set of parameters; and transmitting, based on the second triggering condition being satisfied and the measurement report configuration, a measurement report including at least the first measurement or the second measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pu and combine it with the noted teachings of Conceicao. The motivation to combine these references is to provide new and enhanced method for coverage data collection in wireless communication networks that prevent sub-optimal coverage areas to remain undetected (see paragraph 2 of Conceicao).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412
JAMAL JAVAID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412