DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2021/0288912 to Basu Mallick et al. (hereinafter Basu Mallick).
In regard claim 1, Basu Mallick teaches or discloses a method of a user equipment (UE) that is served by a cluster of base stations for packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) processing for a PDCP entity, comprising:
generating a concatenated service data unit (SDU) set by concatenating a plurality of SDUs for a protocol data unit (PDU) set (see paragraph [0078], the PDCP layer continues generating the PDCP PDU out of the higher layer PDCP SDU, and once generated, forwards the generated PDCP PDU to the lower layer, RLC);
segmenting the concatenated SDU set into one or more systematic PDUs of the PDU set (see paragraph [0092], segmentation and concatenation of RLC SDUs (i.e., PDCP PDUs); reordering of RLC PDUs; Duplicate detection of RLC SDUs; Reassembly of RLC SDUs);
performing an encoding with the one or more systematic PDUs to generate one or more redundant PDUs of the PDU set (see paragraph [0090], the RLC layer reformats PDCP PDUs (i.e., RLC SDUs) in order to fit them into the size indicated by the MAC layer; i.e., the RLC transmitter segments and/or concatenates the PDCP PDUs, and the RLC receiver reassembles 0the RLC PDUs to reconstruct the PDCP PDUs);
distributing the one or more systematic PDUs and the one or more redundant PDUs across one or more radio link control (RLC) entities for transmission to one or more sub-clusters of the cluster of base stations that correspond to the one or more RLC entities (see paragraph [0141], in downlink, the slave RLC takes care of the delay-critical RLC operation needed at the SeNB: it receives from the master RLC at the MeNB readily built RLC PDUs (with Sequence Number already assigned by the master) that the master has assigned for transmission by the slave, and transmits them to the UE).
In regard claim 13, Basu Mallick teaches or discloses a method of a cluster of base stations that is serving a user equipment (UE) for packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) processing for a PDCP entity, comprising:
generating a concatenated service data unit (SDU) set by concatenating a plurality of SDUs for a protocol data unit (PDU) set (see paragraph [0078], the PDCP layer continues generating the PDCP PDU out of the higher layer PDCP SDU, and once generated, forwards the generated PDCP PDU to the lower layer, RLC);
segmenting the concatenated SDU set into one or more systematic PDUs of the PDU set (see paragraph [0092], segmentation and concatenation of RLC SDUs (i.e., PDCP PDUs); reordering of RLC PDUs; Duplicate detection of RLC SDUs; Reassembly of RLC SDUs);
performing an encoding with the one or more systematic PDUs to generate one or more redundant PDUs of the PDU set (see paragraph [0090], the RLC layer reformats PDCP PDUs (i.e., RLC SDUs) in order to fit them into the size indicated by the MAC layer; i.e., the RLC transmitter segments and/or concatenates the PDCP PDUs, and the RLC receiver reassembles 0the RLC PDUs to reconstruct the PDCP PDUs); and
distributing the one or more systematic PDUs and the one or more redundant PDUs across one or more radio link control (RLC) entities corresponding to one or more sub-clusters of the cluster of base stations for transmission to the UE (see paragraph [0141], in downlink, the slave RLC takes care of the delay-critical RLC operation needed at the SeNB: it receives from the master RLC at the MeNB readily built RLC PDUs (with Sequence Number already assigned by the master) that the master has assigned for transmission by the slave, and transmits them to the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu Mallick in view of US Pub. 2021/0059010 to Kim.
In regard claims 2 and 14, Basu Mallick may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the concatenated SDU set is further generated by: generating an authentication code for the plurality of SDUs; and concatenating, within the concatenated SDU set, the authentication code with the plurality of SDUs.
However, Kim teaches or discloses generating an authentication code for the plurality of SDUs (see paragraph [0177], generate a message authentication code-integrity (MAC-I), cipher the PDCP SDU and the MAC-I, concatenate the PDCP header, and deliver the data to the lower RLC layer 1f-10); and concatenating, within the concatenated SDU set, the authentication code with the plurality of SDUs (see paragraphs [0137], and [0144], concatenation, segmentation and reassembly of RLC SDUs).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify efficient discard mechanism of Basu Mallick by including generating an authentication code for the plurality of SDUs; and concatenating, within the concatenated SDU set, the authentication code with the plurality of SDUs suggested by Kim. This modification would provide apparatus capable of effectively providing services in a mobile communication system read in paragraph [0008].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-12 are allowed.
Conclusion
Date: 06/25/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476