DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bloom US 2017/0059167.
Regarding claim 1, Bloom discloses a combustion module for a turbomachine of an aircraft, see title where the combustor is capable of use in an aircraft engine, the combustion module comprising: an annular casing 136 extending around a longitudinal axis A, an annular combustion chamber 114 located inside the annular casing and having coaxial annular walls 108, 102, respectively being an internal wall 102 and an external wall 108, connected to each other by an annular bottom chamber 142, wherein the internal wall, external wall, and the annular bottom chamber being formed by at least two annular envelopes, the elements 108, 102 and the panels 142 are annular envelopes encompassing the combustion chamber and comprise 3 envelopes; the at least two annular envelopes being made of a ceramic matrix composite material, see para. [0030], and having annular edges fitted together one inside the other and in axial abutment on each other, see fig. 4, the distal edges of the envelopes are on top of each other with the edge of 142 inside the edge of 108 and are in axial abutment with each other; wherein the annular edges are also made of a ceramic matrix composite, see para. [0030] stating that the outer liner 108 and heat shields 142 are made of a CMC component, and the at least two annular envelopes include a first envelope 108 and a second envelope 142, 102; and anti-disengagement devices 134, 170, 168 configured to maintain the annular edges in axial abutment with each other, the anti-disengagement device maintains the axial abutment of the annular edges with a pin 172, the anti-disengagement devices being carried by the annular combustion chamber and/or the annular casing, the anti-disengagement device is coupled to both, see para. [0028], fig. 4, where the anti-disengagement devices, carried by the annular casing, are abutment members which are projectably formed on the annular casing, the portion 134 of the anti-disengagement device is projectably formed on the annular casing in a similar fashion shown in fig. 8 of the Applicant’s disclosure, and each of the abutment members comprises a free end configured to come directly in abutment on the annular bottom chamber, the ends 123 are free and are in abutment on the combustion chamber portion 108, the bottom ends, and if the claims require, the opposite end is in abutment with the bottom chamber as seen in fig.4, where the free ends are subsequently pinned to the combustion chamber via bolts 148; the abutment member is interpreted as including elements 186, 174 which are in direct abutment to the bottom chamber.
Regarding claim 2, Bloom discloses the first envelope defines the external wall 108, and the second envelope is defined as the internal wall and the annular bottom chamber when integrated, the annular edges are located at a junction of the external wall to the annular bottom chamber, as seen in fig. 4.
Regarding claim 4, Bloom discloses each of the abutment members is in the form of an elongated arm which is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to the engine axis, and wherein a free end of this elongated arm comprises an abutment surface on the combustion chamber which extends in a plane substantially perpendicular to the surface of the annular bottom chamber. Bloom shows the army 134 at an angle to the engine axis A in fig. 3, the plural nature of the arms is shown in fig. 2, the free end of each of the elongated arms comprises an abutment surface including elements 170, 168 which are on the combustion chamber and extend in a plane substantially parallel to the height of the surface of the annular bottom chamber.
Regarding claim 6, Bloom discloses a clearance between each of the abutment members and the combustion chamber. See fig. 3, the gap between the elements 102, 142, 108 and the respective element 118, 116.
Regarding claim 7, Bloom discloses the free end of the abutment members is made of a first material different from the second material of the abutment members. The portion 118 is made of metal as noted by the Applicant, and the grommet and bushing 182, 174 are made of a different material.
Regarding claim 8, Bloom discloses the abutment members are made of metal. See para. [0033].
Regarding claim 12, Bloom discloses the annular casing carries an annular row of fuel injectors angularly distributed around the longitudinal axis, and wherein each of the injectors extends along an axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis. The annular casing carries fuel injectors shown in fig. 4, element 124 attached to the casing 136 by an unlabeled stem, the fuel injectors are an annular row shown in fig. 2 angularly distributed about the longitudinal axis, the fuel injectors are regularly distributed by pi/n angle, and have an axis of extension generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis at the stems.
Regarding claim 13, Bloom discloses a turbomachine for an aircraft comprising a combustion module according to claim 1. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 14, Bloom discloses the free end of each of the abutment members is configured to come in abutment on the annular bottom chamber. As shown in fig. 4, the bottom chamber 142 abuts the free ends at 118.
Regarding claim 15, for the purposes of claim 15, the first envelope is now interpreted as 102, 142 and the second envelope is interpreted as 108, Bloom discloses the fuel injectors of the annular row fuel injectors are engaged in orifices, the orifices are shown in fig. 2 in the portion 142, of the first envelope of the at least two annular envelope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom in view of Hucker US 2022/0082055.
Regarding claim 3, Bloom discloses all elements including the annular edges includes a first annular edge of the first envelope but does not teach the first annular edge has a scalloped shape.
Hucker teaches that elements of the combustor may have a plurality of scallops on the flanges for alignment of the components. See para. [0010].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide scallops on the liner elements of Bloom, as taught by Hucker, in order to provide a means for alignment. Id.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom in view of Abreu US 6,314,716.
Regarding claim 9, Bloom discloses all elements but does not state that the abutment members and the annular casing are monoblocs.
Abreu teaches that elements of the combustors that are multiple pieces may be made from a single piece. See col. 2, lines 31-44.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to form the abutment members and the annular casing as monoblocs of the apparatus of Bloom, as taught by Abreu, because the making of separate components as integral is a mere design choice absent any new or unexpected results. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 16-18 are objected to or would otherwise be allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the amendments to claim 1 obviate the rejection under Jarmon previously relied upon and claims rejected solely under Jarmon are objected to. Additionally, claim 15 was previously objected to for providing allowable subject matter which is reflected in claim 18. Bloom does not teach the material or thickness of the annular casing as claimed in claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the dome elements 118 (annular bottom wall) are made of metal and therefore do not meet the claimed ceramic edges limitations. Additionally, the Applicant states that Bloom teaches away from 108, 144 from being ceramic. The Examiner disagrees.
The rejection sets forth that the envelope comprises the bottom wall 144 and the liner 108 and not the elements the Applicant argues is comprised of metal. With regard to the Applicants assertion that the components 144, 108 are taught away from being ceramic, Bloom teaches the elements are CMC, see para. [0030]. The Applicant should amend the claim to clarify the structure of the abutment members to exclude the interpretation as claimed.
Conclusion
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741