Reply to Amendment in Response to Non-Final Office Action
under 37 C.F.R. §1.111
This office action is the response to communications filed on June 30,
2026. Applicant amended claims 6, 8, 16, and 18-20. Examiner withdraws objections to claims 1 and 19-20. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-20. Claims 1-10 are drawn to a virtual object control method (i.e., a process). Claims 11-19 are drawn to a virtual object control apparatus (i.e., a manufacture). Claim 20 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for displaying on a virtual scene interface (i.e., a manufacture).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1-20.
Claim 1 recites:
A virtual object control method comprising: displaying, on a virtual scene interface, a first virtual object, a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to a target skill, the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object;
selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation;
controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having an effect-taking duration;
adjusting, by a computing device, in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill;
and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill.
These steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because humans can use artificial intelligence tools to control virtual objects in a virtual scene interface. The claimed invention discloses “In a virtual scene provided by an electronic game (e.g., video game), a user may control a virtual object to release a skill to another virtual object, for example, to release an offensive skill to an enemy virtual object, or to release an auxiliary skill to a friend virtual object” [0003].
Independent claims 11 and 20 describe steps that are similar to steps of claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 are directed towards mini-tasks (moving a skill aiming frame, adjusting a view angle of the virtual scene interface, rotating an orientation of a virtual object, etc.) for a virtual object control method. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-10 and 12-19 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a computer device comprising memory and a processor and a computer program is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Similarly, the limitations of a computing device, memory, processors, and computer-readable storage medium (independent claims 1, 11, and 20 and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception using computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 11, and 20 and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable under US 12551797 B2 (“Li”).
In regard to claim 1, Li discloses
a virtual object control method comprising (column 6, lines 21-22, “The present disclosure provides a virtual object control method”): displaying, on a virtual scene interface (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”), a first virtual object (column 6, line 54, “Virtual character is a movable object in the virtual scene”), a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to (column 14, lines 39-41, “orientation of the virtual character and an orientation of a wheel of the virtual control have a mapping relationship”) a target skill (column 7, lines 38-40, “virtual … object may be a virtual thing generated by a virtual character triggering a skill”), the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object (column 11, lines 37-40, “The character … control is configured to control a movement of a virtual character in a virtual scene, including changing a movement direction”);
selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”);
controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”) an effect-taking duration (column 19, lines 58-59, “deltaTime represents a duration of a touch operation”);
adjusting, by (column 7, lines 63-65, “activities of the … virtual character include … adjusting body postures”) a computing device, in response to a second operation on (column 8, lines 40-41, “the device type includes … a … computer”) the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill (column 14, lines 58-59, “the wheel of the character … rotates”);
and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill (column 8, lines 12-14, “user … uses the … terminal … to control a … virtual character located in a virtual scene to perform activities”).
In regard to claim 2, Li discloses
wherein the adjusting comprises (column 7, lines 63-65, “activities of the … virtual character include … adjusting body postures”): moving, in response to the second operation on (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”) the first virtual wheel (column 14, lines 39-41, “orientation of the virtual character and an orientation of a wheel of the virtual control have a mapping relationship”), a skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill (column 11, lines 53-56, “During a movement process of the virtual … object, a user may adjust a movement direction of the virtual … object to change a movement path of the virtual … object”), and wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.).
In regard to claim 3, Li discloses
further comprising: adjusting a view angle of the virtual scene interface in a process of moving the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the second operation, to enable the skill aiming frame to be displayed in (column 13, lines 18-22, “adjustment on the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object may include raising or lowering the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object, or adjusting the viewing angle left and right”) a central area of the virtual scene interface (column 9, lines 58-59, “The map may be divided into … regions … by the middle lane” Examiner notes that a middle lane can serve as a central area.).
In regard to claim 4, Li discloses
further comprising: keeping a location of the first virtual object unchanged (column 18, lines 41-42, “the orientation of the virtual … object is not changed”), and rotating an orientation of the first virtual object to a skill effect-taking location indicated by the movement direction of the second operation (column 14, lines 47-51, “When the user performs a rotation operation based on the virtual control to change an orientation of the virtual character, the orientation of the virtual character in the virtual scene changes in a manner consistent with that of the virtual control”).
In regard to claim 5, Li discloses
wherein the displaying the second virtual wheel comprises (column 14, lines 39-41, “orientation of the virtual character and an orientation of a wheel of the virtual control have a mapping relationship”): displaying a skill aiming frame and the second virtual wheel on the virtual scene interface in response to a skill release operation on the target skill (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”), wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.);
and wherein the selecting comprises: moving, in response to the first operation, the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a … skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”).
In regard to claim 6, Li discloses
wherein the displaying the skill aiming frame comprises one of: displaying the skill aiming frame at (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”) a location of a second virtual object in response to the skill release operation on the target skill based on that the target skill is (column 8, lines 12-14, “user … uses the … terminal … to control a … virtual character located in a virtual scene to perform activities”) an offensive skill, the second virtual object being a virtual object closest to the first virtual object among virtual objects belonging to (column 7, lines 63-65, “activities of the … virtual character include … attacking” Examiner notes that attacking in a virtual scene can be considered an offensive skill.) a different faction from the first virtual object (column 7, lines 13-14, “Each virtual team includes one or more virtual characters” Examiner notes that a faction is a group of players that collaborates like a team.);
displaying the skill aiming frame at a location of a third virtual object in response to (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.) the skill release operation on the target skill based on that the target skill is (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”) an auxiliary skill, the third virtual object being a virtual object closest to the first virtual object among virtual objects belonging to a same faction as the first virtual object (column 7, lines 38-40, “virtual … object may be a virtual thing generated by a virtual character triggering a skill”);
or displaying the skill aiming frame at the location of the first virtual object in response to (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.) the skill release operation on the target skill (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”).
In regard to claim 9, Li discloses
wherein the controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location comprises: adjusting a view angle of the virtual scene interface at an end of the first operation, to enable the skill aiming frame to be displayed in (column 13, lines 18-22, “adjustment on the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object may include raising or lowering the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object, or adjusting the viewing angle left and right”) a central area of the virtual scene interface at the end of the first operation (column 9, lines 58-59, “The map may be divided into … regions … by the middle lane” Examiner notes that a middle lane can serve as a central area.);
and controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the skill effect-taking location indicated by the skill aiming frame (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”).
In regard to claim 10, Li discloses
further comprising: moving, in response to a duration of a fourth virtual object being located at the skill effect-taking location indicated by the skill aiming frame reaching a target duration (column 19, lines 58-59, “deltaTime represents a duration of a touch operation”), the skill aiming frame based on a movement direction of the fourth virtual object within the effect-taking duration of the target skill, the target duration being less than the effect-taking duration (column 11, lines 37-40, “The character … control is configured to control a movement of a virtual character in a virtual scene, including changing a movement direction”).
In regard to claim 11, Li discloses
a virtual object control apparatus, comprising: one or more processors (column 29, lines 53-55, “Each unit can be implemented using one or more processors);
and memory storing (column 29, lines 53-55, “Each unit can be implemented using … memory) instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): display, on a virtual scene interface (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”), a first virtual object (column 6, line 54, “Virtual character is a movable object in the virtual scene”), a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to (column 14, lines 39-41, “orientation of the virtual character and an orientation of a wheel of the virtual control have a mapping relationship”) a target skill (column 7, lines 38-40, “virtual … object may be a virtual thing generated by a virtual character triggering a skill”), the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object (column 11, lines 37-40, “The character … control is configured to control a movement of a virtual character in a virtual scene, including changing a movement direction”);
select, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”);
and control the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”) effect-taking duration (column 19, lines 58-59, “deltaTime represents a duration of a touch operation”);
adjust (column 7, lines 63-65, “activities of the … virtual character include … adjusting body postures”), in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill (column 14, lines 58-59, “the wheel of the character … rotates”);
and control the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill (column 8, lines 12-14, “user … uses the … terminal … to control a … virtual character located in a virtual scene to perform activities”).
In regard to claim 12, Li discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”) adjust by moving, in response to the second operation on (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”) the first virtual wheel (column 14, lines 39-41, “orientation of the virtual character and an orientation of a wheel of the virtual control have a mapping relationship”), a skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill (column 11, lines 53-56, “During a movement process of the virtual … object, a user may adjust a movement direction of the virtual … object to change a movement path of the virtual … object”), and wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.).
In regard to claim 13, Li discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): adjust a view angle of the virtual scene interface in a process of moving the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the second operation, to enable the skill aiming frame to be displayed in (column 13, lines 18-22, “adjustment on the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object may include raising or lowering the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object, or adjusting the viewing angle left and right”) a central area of the virtual scene interface (column 9, lines 58-59, “The map may be divided into … regions … by the middle lane” Examiner notes that a middle lane can serve as a central area.).
In regard to claim 14, Li discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): keep a location of the first virtual object unchanged (column 18, lines 41-42, “the orientation of the virtual … object is not changed”), and rotate an orientation of the first virtual object to a skill effect-taking location indicated by the movement direction of the second operation (column 14, lines 47-51, “When the user performs a rotation operation based on the virtual control to change an orientation of the virtual character, the orientation of the virtual character in the virtual scene changes in a manner consistent with that of the virtual control”).
In regard to claim 15, Li discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): display a skill aiming frame and the second virtual wheel on the virtual scene interface in response to a skill release operation on the target skill (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”), wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.);
and move the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a … skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”).
In regard to claim 16, Li discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): display the skill aiming frame by displaying the skill aiming frame at (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”) a location of a second virtual object in response to the skill release operation on the target skill based on that the target skill is (column 8, lines 12-14, “user … uses the … terminal … to control a … virtual character located in a virtual scene to perform activities”) an offensive skill, the second virtual object being a virtual object closest to the first virtual object among virtual objects belonging to (column 7, lines 63-65, “activities of the … virtual character include … attacking” Examiner notes that attacking in a virtual scene can be considered an offensive skill.) a different faction from the first virtual object (column 7, lines 13-14, “Each virtual team includes one or more virtual characters” Examiner notes that a faction is a group of players that collaborates like a team.);
display the skill aiming frame at a location of a third virtual object in response to (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.) the skill release operation on the target skill based on that the target skill is (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”) an auxiliary skill, the third virtual object being a virtual object closest to the first virtual object among virtual objects belonging to a same faction as the first virtual object (column 7, lines 38-40, “virtual … object may be a virtual thing generated by a virtual character triggering a skill”);
or display the skill aiming frame at the location of the first virtual object in response to (column 21, lines 3-4, “a triggered effect corresponding to the virtual … object is triggered” Examiner notes that a skill effect that occurs based on a specific location in a virtual scene can be considered a triggered effect.) the skill release operation on the target skill (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”).
In regard to claim 19, Li discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): control the first virtual object to release the target skill by: adjusting a view angle of the virtual scene interface at an end of the first operation, to enable the skill aiming frame to be displayed in (column 13, lines 18-22, “adjustment on the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object may include raising or lowering the viewing angle corresponding to the virtual … object, or adjusting the viewing angle left and right”) a central area of the virtual scene interface at the end of the first operation (column 9, lines 58-59, “The map may be divided into … regions … by the middle lane” Examiner notes that a middle lane can serve as a central area.);
and controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the skill effect-taking location indicated by the skill aiming frame (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”).
In regard to claim 20, Li discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, when executed, cause (column 26, lines 66-67-column 27 line 1, “the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in the memory … is configured to store at least one instruction”): displaying, on a virtual scene interface (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”), a first virtual object (column 6, line 54, “Virtual character is a movable object in the virtual scene”), a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to (column 14, lines 39-41, “orientation of the virtual character and an orientation of a wheel of the virtual control have a mapping relationship”) a target skill (column 7, lines 38-40, “virtual … object may be a virtual thing generated by a virtual character triggering a skill”), the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object (column 11, lines 37-40, “The character … control is configured to control a movement of a virtual character in a virtual scene, including changing a movement direction”);
selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”);
controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”) an effect-taking duration (column 19, lines 58-59, “deltaTime represents a duration of a touch operation”);
adjusting (column 7, lines 63-65, “activities of the … virtual character include … adjusting body postures”), in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill (column 14, lines 58-59, “the wheel of the character … rotates”);
controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill (column 8, lines 12-14, “user … uses the … terminal … to control a … virtual character located in a virtual scene to perform activities”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Li in view of US 20220096928 A1 (“Wei”).
In regard to claim 7, Li discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
further comprising: displaying an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill;
and the moving the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation comprising: moving the skill aiming frame in the area indication frame based on (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”) the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation (column 11, lines 53-56, “During a movement process of the virtual … object, a user may adjust a movement direction of the virtual … object to change a movement path of the virtual … object”).
Wei discloses
further comprising: displaying an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill ([0089], “the target region may be a circular region using the second position of the … virtual character as a center point” Examiner notes that in the claimed invention “The area indication frame is for indicating an effective area of the target skill (the effective area of the target skill is a circular area with the first virtual object as a center”).)
Li and Wei are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of virtual scenes and virtual environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a virtual object control method comprising: displaying, on a virtual scene interface, a first virtual object, a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to a target skill, the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object; selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation; controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having an effect-taking duration; adjusting, by a computing device, in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill; and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill, wherein the displaying the second virtual wheel comprises: displaying a skill aiming frame and the second virtual wheel on the virtual scene interface in response to a skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill; and wherein the selecting comprises: moving, in response to the first operation, the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation, and the moving the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation comprising: moving the skill aiming frame in the area indication frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation, as disclosed by Li, further comprising: displaying an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill, as disclosed by Wei, to provide the target region for a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of the target region to improve a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment.
In regard to claim 8, Li discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
further comprising: keeping, after the skill aiming frame moves to an edge of the area indication frame,
a location of the skill aiming frame unchanged based on that the movement direction of the first operation indicates moving outside the area indication frame (column 18, lines 41-42, “the orientation of the virtual … object is not changed”).
Wei discloses
further comprising: keeping, after the skill aiming frame moves to an edge of the area indication frame ([0089], “the target region may be a circular region using the second position of the … virtual character as a center point” Examiner notes that in the claimed invention “The area indication frame is for indicating an effective area of the target skill (the effective area of the target skill is a circular area with the first virtual object as a center”).)
Li and Wei are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of virtual scenes and virtual environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a virtual object control method comprising: displaying, on a virtual scene interface, a first virtual object, a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to a target skill, the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object; selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation; controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having an effect-taking duration; adjusting, by a computing device, in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill; and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill, wherein the displaying the second virtual wheel comprises: displaying a skill aiming frame and the second virtual wheel on the virtual scene interface in response to a skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill; and wherein the selecting comprises: moving, in response to the first operation, the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation, and the moving the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation comprising: moving the skill aiming frame in the area indication frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation, a location of the skill aiming frame unchanged based on that the movement direction of the first operation indicates moving outside the area indication frame, as disclosed by Li, further comprising: displaying an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill, further comprising: keeping, after the skill aiming frame moves to an edge of the area indication frame, as disclosed by Wei, to provide the target region for a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of the target region to improve a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment.
In regard to claim 17, Li discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): display an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill;
and move the skill aiming frame in the area indication based on the movement direction of (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”) the first movement operation in response to the first movement operation (column 11, lines 53-56, “During a movement process of the virtual … object, a user may adjust a movement direction of the virtual … object to change a movement path of the virtual … object”).
Wei discloses
display an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill ([0089], “the target region may be a circular region using the second position of the … virtual character as a center point” Examiner notes that in the claimed invention “The area indication frame is for indicating an effective area of the target skill (the effective area of the target skill is a circular area with the first virtual object as a center”).)
Li and Wei are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of virtual scenes and virtual environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a virtual object control method comprising: displaying, on a virtual scene interface, a first virtual object, a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to a target skill, the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object; selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation; controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having an effect-taking duration; adjusting, by a computing device, in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill; and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill, wherein the displaying the second virtual wheel comprises: displaying a skill aiming frame and the second virtual wheel on the virtual scene interface in response to a skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill; and wherein the selecting comprises: moving, in response to the first operation, the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation, and the moving the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation comprising: moving the skill aiming frame in the area indication frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation, as disclosed by Li, further comprising: displaying an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill, as disclosed by Wei, to provide the target region for a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of the target region to improve a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment.
In regard to claim 18, Li discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to (column 8, lines 64-65, “The processor … is configured to load instructions stored in the server”): keep, after the skill aiming frame moves to an edge of the area indication frame,
a location of the skill aiming frame unchanged based on that the movement direction of the first operation indicates moving outside the area indication frame (column 18, lines 41-42, “the orientation of the virtual … object is not changed”).
Wei discloses
keep, after the skill aiming frame moves to an edge of the area indication frame ([0089], “the target region may be a circular region using the second position of the … virtual character as a center point” Examiner notes that in the claimed invention “The area indication frame is for indicating an effective area of the target skill (the effective area of the target skill is a circular area with the first virtual object as a center”).)
Li and Wei are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of virtual scenes and virtual environments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a virtual object control method comprising: displaying, on a virtual scene interface, a first virtual object, a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to a target skill, the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object; selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation; controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having an effect-taking duration; adjusting, by a computing device, in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill; and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill, wherein the displaying the second virtual wheel comprises: displaying a skill aiming frame and the second virtual wheel on the virtual scene interface in response to a skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the skill aiming frame indicates the skill effect-taking location of the target skill; and wherein the selecting comprises: moving, in response to the first operation, the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation, and the moving the skill aiming frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation comprising: moving the skill aiming frame in the area indication frame based on the movement direction of the first operation in response to the first operation, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the virtual object control apparatus to, a location of the skill aiming frame unchanged based on that the movement direction of the first operation indicates moving outside the area indication frame, as disclosed by Li, display an area indication frame on the virtual scene interface in response to the skill release operation on the target skill, wherein the area indication frame indicates an effective area of the target skill, keep, after the skill aiming frame moves to an edge of the area indication frame, as disclosed by Wei, to provide the target region for a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of the target region to improve a method and apparatus that displays a picture of a virtual environment.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's submissions filed June 30, 2026 have been fully considered, but they
are not persuasive. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101, Applicant submits that “The Examiner has alleged that the claims recite a ‘mental process’ because ‘humans can use artificial intelligence tools to control virtual objects in a virtual scene interface.’ Office Action, page 3. Applicant disagrees.” (See Amendment in Response to Non-Final Office Action under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, Remarks, page 11, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 1, Applicant cites a virtual object control method comprising: displaying, on a virtual scene interface, a first virtual object, a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to a target skill, the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object;
selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation; controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having an effect-taking duration; adjusting, by a computing device, in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill; and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill.
These steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because humans can use artificial intelligence tools to control virtual objects in a virtual scene interface. The claimed invention discloses “In a virtual scene provided by an electronic game (e.g., video game), a user may control a virtual object to release a skill to another virtual object, for example, to release an offensive skill to an enemy virtual object, or to release an auxiliary skill to a friend virtual object” [0003].
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) discusses certain methods of organizing human activity. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping as abstract ideas. Sub-groupings of organizing human activity encompass both activity of a single person and activity that involves multiple people, and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (as is the case in the Applicant’s claimed invention). These sub-groupings fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity”.
Independent claims 11 and 20 describe steps that are parallel to steps of claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 are directed towards mini-tasks (moving a skill aiming frame, adjusting a view angle of the virtual scene interface, rotating an orientation of a virtual object, etc.) for a virtual object control method. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-10 and 12-19 recite an abstract idea.
An evaluation is made as to whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a computer device comprising memory and a processor and a computer program is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Similarly, the limitations of a computing device, memory, processors, and computer-readable storage medium (independent claims 1, 11, and 20 and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception using computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
The identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 11, and 20 and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 & 103, Applicant submits that “Li does not disclose or suggest each element of claim 1” (See Amendment in Response to Non-Final Office Action under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, Remarks, page 9, paragraph 4) and “Li does not disclose ‘adjusting, in response to a second operation on the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill,’ as recited in claim 1” (See Amendment in Response to Non-Final Office Action under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, Remarks, page 10, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a virtual object control method comprising (column 6, lines 21-22, “The present disclosure provides a virtual object control method”): displaying, on a virtual scene interface (column 6, line 41, “a map is displayed in a virtual scene interface”), a first virtual object (column 6, line 54, “Virtual character is a movable object in the virtual scene”), a first virtual wheel, and a second virtual wheel corresponding to (column 14, lines 39-41, “orientation of the virtual character and an orientation of a wheel of the virtual control have a mapping relationship”) a target skill (column 7, lines 38-40, “virtual … object may be a virtual thing generated by a virtual character triggering a skill”), the first virtual wheel being configured to control a movement direction of the first virtual object (column 11, lines 37-40, “The character … control is configured to control a movement of a virtual character in a virtual scene, including changing a movement direction”); selecting, in response to a first operation on the second virtual wheel, a skill effect-taking location based on a movement direction of the first operation (column 12, lines 60-62, “Cast a second skill in a facing direction of the virtual character in a virtual environment in response to a touch operation”); controlling the first virtual object to release the target skill to the selected skill effect-taking location based on the first operation, the target skill having (column 21, lines 17-18, “the … release control … is configured to release a control on a virtual … object”) an effect-taking duration (column 19, lines 58-59, “deltaTime represents a duration of a touch operation”); adjusting, by (column 7, lines 63-65, “activities of the … virtual character include … adjusting body postures”) a computing device, in response to a second operation on (column 8, lines 40-41, “the device type includes … a … computer”) the first virtual wheel, the skill effect-taking location of the target skill based on a movement direction of the second operation within the effect-taking duration of the target skill (column 14, lines 58-59, “the wheel of the character … rotates”); and controlling the first virtual object to follow the adjusted skill effect-taking location to release the target skill (column 8, lines 12-14, “user … uses the … terminal … to control a … virtual character located in a virtual scene to perform activities”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim
limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive
because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of independent claims 1, 11, and 20, as anticipated by Li, are maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2-6, 9-10, 12-16, and 19, as anticipated by Li, are maintained. Furthermore, dependent claims 7-8 and 17-18, as obvious by Li in view of Wei, are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the
statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this
final action.
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is (571) 272-
4252. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 8:30 am - 6:30 pm
ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by
telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai can be reached at
(571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or
proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent
Center. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-
217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
LISA H ANTOINE
Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715