DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 received on 8/8/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 18 and 20 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 14, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20160127881) in view of Chen (US 20160205532)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a device (UE1-2, fig 11, 12; UE 20, fig 14), comprising:
a processor (processor 21, fig 14);
a network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (radio frequency (RF) unit 23, fig 14); and
a memory (memory 22, fig 14) communicatively coupled to the processor (processor 21, fig 14), wherein the memory comprises a device discovery logic (para 161: the memory 22 is coupled to the processor 21, and stores a variety of information for driving the processor 21) that is configured to:
identify one or more bitmasks (abstract: directly receiving information on a specific discovery signal (DS) transmission mask or receiving discovery signal configuring information; selecting the specific DS transmission mask or one DS transmission mask from among a plurality of DS transmission masks indicated by the DS configuring information);
generate a discovery frame including the one or more bitmasks (para 121: the UE transmits the DS on the basis of the selected DS transmission mask (S 130));
transmit the discovery frame (abstract: transmitting a discovery signal on the basis of the selected DS transmission mask); and
discover a network device in response to transmitting the discovery frame (para 105: a D2D UE may discover another D2D UE through a D2D discovery process, and thereafter may establish a D2D link and fig. 13 shows a method of transmitting a discovery signal (DS)).
Kim teaches discovery mask configuration and determination for the transmission of discovery mask. Kim further teaches that a D2D UE discovers another D2D UE through a D2D discovery process, and establish a D2D link. However, the reference does not teach about the bitmask matching a device identifier. Chen is directed to proximity discovery for target group of UEs.
Chen further teaches wherein the discovered network device has an identifier that matches a bitmask among the one or more bitmasks (para 46: a monitoring UE such as UE 220 may check whether the first ProSe application code matches discovery filters stored in UE 220, and transmit Match Report message to the network entity 274 or 254 if the first ProSe application code matches the discovery filters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim with identifier match for bitmask for device discovery as taught by Chen for the benefit of performing a restricted discovery in order to discover some specific UEs as taught by Chen in para 44.
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a device (UE1-2, fig 11, 12; UE 20, fig 14), comprising:
a processor (processor 21, fig 14);
a network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (radio frequency (RF) unit 23, fig 14); and
a memory (memory 22, fig 14) communicatively coupled to the processor (processor 21, fig 14), wherein the memory comprises
a device discovery logic (para 161: the memory 22 is coupled to the processor 21, and stores a variety of information for driving the processor 21) that is configured to:
receive a discovery frame comprising one or more bitmasks (para 121: the UE transmits the DS on the basis of the selected DS transmission mask (S 130); para 105: a D2D UE may discover another D2D UE through a D2D discovery process, and thereafter may establish a D2D link; It is considered that in D2D, the transmitted discovery signal is received by the other device).
Kim teaches discovery mask configuration and determination for the transmission of discovery mask. Kim further teaches that a D2D UE discovers another D2D UE through a D2D discovery process, and establish a D2D link. However, the reference does not teach about the bitmask matching a device identifier. Chen is directed to proximity discovery for target group of UEs.
Chen further teaches
compare the one or more bitmasks with a device identifier (para 58: in step S713, UE 720 would check whether the ProSe application code of UE 710 contained in the PC5 DISCOVERY message matches discovery filter which obtain from the ProSe function);
generate a response based on a match between the device identifier and a bitmask of the one or more bitmasks (para 58: a match event occurs in UE 720 because the ProSe application code matches with UE 720, then UE 720 would transmit PC5 Discovery response message to UE 710 (S717)); and
transmit the response (para 58: UE 720 would transmit PC5 Discovery response message to UE 710 (S717)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim with identifier match for bitmask for device discovery as taught by Chen for the benefit of performing a restricted discovery in order to discover some specific UEs as taught by Chen in para 44.
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a method (fig 13, method of transmitting a discovery signal (DS)), comprising:
identifying one or more bitmasks (abstract: directly receiving information on a specific discovery signal (DS) transmission mask or receiving discovery signal configuring information; selecting the specific DS transmission mask or one DS transmission mask from among a plurality of DS transmission masks indicated by the DS configuring information);
generating a discovery frame including the one or more bitmasks (para 121: the UE transmits the DS on the basis of the selected DS transmission mask (S 130));
transmitting the discovery frame (abstract: transmitting a discovery signal on the basis of the selected DS transmission mask); and
discovering a network device in response to transmitting the discovery frame (para 105: a D2D UE may discover another D2D UE through a D2D discovery process, and thereafter may establish a D2D link and fig. 13 shows a method of transmitting a discovery signal (DS)).
Kim teaches discovery mask configuration and determination for the transmission of discovery mask. Kim further teaches that a D2D UE discovers another D2D UE through a D2D discovery process, and establish a D2D link. However, the reference does not teach about the bitmask matching a device identifier. Chen is directed to proximity discovery for target group of UEs.
Chen further teaches wherein the discovered network device has an identifier that matches a bitmask among the one or more bitmasks (para 46: a monitoring UE such as UE 220 may check whether the first ProSe application code matches discovery filters stored in UE 220, and transmit Match Report message to the network entity 274 or 254 if the first ProSe application code matches the discovery filters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim with identifier match for bitmask for device discovery as taught by Chen for the benefit of performing a restricted discovery in order to discover some specific UEs as taught by Chen in para 44.
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein the device discovery logic is further configured to assign a response slot for each of the one or more bitmasks (para 124-126: the DS transmission mask may be defined to indicate whether the DS is transmitted. It is assumed that the DS transmission mask is denoted by M, for example, M may be as follows M=[1,0,1,1,0,1,1, . . . ], in the above M, a resource capable of transmitting the DS may be marked by 1, and a resource not transmitting the DS may be marked by 0; claims 2, 4).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further teaches wherein the one or more bitmasks are listed in a defined order within the discovery frame (para 124-126; claim 4: the plurality of DS transmission masks are indexed in an ascending order, and are configured such that the lower the index, the higher the probability of transmitting the DS).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further teaches wherein the device discovery logic is further configured to assign the response slot for each of the one or more bitmasks in the defined order in which the one or more bitmasks are listed within the discovery frame (para 124-126; para 147: a resource for transmitting the DS needs to be divided and used. For example, a region for transmitting the DS may be defined as a set of physical resource block (PRB) pairs in a frame or a subframe. In this case, the PRB pair for transmitting the DS in a set of the PRB pairs may be determined according to an offset value determined on the basis of an identifier (ID) of the UE; claim 4: the plurality of DS transmission masks are indexed in an ascending order, and are configured such that the lower the index, the higher the probability of transmitting the DS).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further teaches wherein the device discovery logic is further configured to receive a response from the network device (para 108: the MME may transmit a response message for the D2D request message to the UE (step 10). Herein, the response message may include information regarding resource information (e.g., a sequence index, a time-frequency resource, a transmission period, etc.) for receiving a beacon signal to be transmitted by the D2D server. Thereafter, the server UE and the client UE may discover each other on the basis of the beacon signal (steps 11 and 12), and may set up a D2D communication session (step 13)).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further teaches wherein the network device is discovered based on the received response (para 108: the MME may transmit a response message for the D2D request message to the UE (step 10). Herein, the response message may include information regarding resource information (e.g., a sequence index, a time-frequency resource, a transmission period, etc.) for receiving a beacon signal to be transmitted by the D2D server. Thereafter, the server UE and the client UE may discover each other on the basis of the beacon signal (steps 11 and 12), and may set up a D2D communication session (step 13)).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further teaches to: detect a collision of a plurality of responses in the response slot assigned to at least one other bitmask among the one or more bitmasks (para 145-152: DS transmission mask is defined by being indexed, if a plurality of UEs use a DS transmission mask #0, the plurality of UEs may transmit a DS in the same frame or subframe, if the same resource, more specifically, the same resource block is used in the frame or the subframe, mutual interference eventually occurs);
identify one or more new bitmasks based on the at least one other bitmask (para 146: UEs which use DS transmission masks #1 and #2 may be able to avoid interference; para 151: If the resource region in which the DS is transmitted is not sufficiently great or if there is a need to acquire an additional interference avoidance effect, a DS transmission mask may be designated in a UE-specific manner);
generate a first new discovery frame including the one or more new bitmasks (mask 1 and 2 to reduce interference due to mask 0 as described in para 145-146; para 145-146: UEs which use DS transmission masks #1 and #2 may be able to avoid interference); and
transmit the first new discovery frame (para 12: a period of transmitting a discovery signal can be adjusted according to a characteristic of each device for performing device-to-device (D2D) communication, and even if there are a great number of devices for performing D2D communication, the discovery signal can be transmitted while decreasing a collision between the devices).
Regarding claim 9, Kim fails to teach, but Chen further teaches wherein the device discovery logic is further configured to determine whether at least one new response is received for the first new discovery frame (para 12: receiving a PC5 discovery response message over the PC5 interface in response to the first PC5 DISCOVERY message, and determining whether a target-match event occurs according to the PC5 discovery response message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim with identifier match for bitmask for device discovery as taught by Chen for the benefit of performing a restricted discovery in order to discover some specific UEs as taught by Chen in para 44.
Regarding claim 14, Kim fails to teach, but Chen further teaches wherein transmitting the discovery frame comprises broadcasting the discovery frame (fig 7, step s711; para 58: in step S711, UE 710 starts announcing ProSe application code of a restricted discovery obtained from a ProSe function by transmitting PC5 DISCOVERY message comprising the ProSe application code over PC5 interface). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim with identifier match for bitmask for device discovery as taught by Chen for the benefit of performing a restricted discovery in order to discover some specific UEs as taught by Chen in para 44.
Claims 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20160127881) in view of Chen (US 20160205532) in further view of Wang et al. (US 20240155532)
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Chen teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
The references fail to teach transmission of RF signal to energize ambient power devices located within range. Wang is directed to onboarding device with no home network.
Wang further teaches wherein prior to transmitting the discovery frame (fig 2, prior to steps 206-207 of PC5 network selection), the device discovery logic is further configured to transmit one or more Radio Frequency (RF) signals (fig 2, 204; para 92: at 204, the Excitation Device 212 may broadcast one or more short-range radio signals as an external trigger to the IoT device 213, the Excitation Device 212 may broadcast (e.g., periodically, or based on proximity) an energy signal to wake up the IoT device 213), and wherein the one or more RF signals are configured to energize an ambient power device located within a communication range of the device (fig 2, 205; para 93: at 205, the IoT device 213 may harvest energy from one or more radio signals (e.g., sidelink, energy wakeup signals, NFC, etc.) sent by the Excitation Device 212). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim and Chen with energizing devices within threshold distance as taught by Wang for the benefit of saving power for the devices as taught by Wang in para 103.
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Chen fails to teach, but Wang further teaches wherein the network device is the ambient power device (para 84: fig. 2 illustrates an example method of an Excitation Device that assists one or more ambient power-enabled IoT devices in discovering and selecting a network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim and Chen with energizing devices within threshold distance as taught by Wang for the benefit of saving power for the devices as taught by Wang in para 103.
Claims 7, 15, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20160127881) in view of Chen (US 20160205532) in further view of Elshafie et al. (US 20250380125)
Regarding claim 7, Kim further teaches wherein the response is within the response slot assigned to the bitmask that matched the identifier of the network device (para 124-126: the DS transmission mask may be defined to indicate whether the DS is transmitted. It is assumed that the DS transmission mask is denoted by M, for example, M may be as follows M=[1,0,1,1,0,1,1, . . . ], in the above M, a resource capable of transmitting the DS may be marked by 1, and a resource not transmitting the DS may be marked by 0; para 159: if an index of the DS transmission mask is denoted by M and a size of the DS transmission mask is denoted by S, the offset value may be determined as shown in the following equation [M+{UE_ID mod(M+1)}] mod S [Equation 16])).
Kim in view of Chen fail to teach receiving the response within the response slot. Elshafie is directed to RF- IoT device discovery.
Elshafie further teaches wherein the response is received within the response slot (fig 8, para 124: the IoT device may be configured to select a time to transmit the query response 814 from a set of times to respond to the discovery query 808, the set of times to respond to the discovery query 808 may be transmitted in the discovery configuration 806 or in the discovery query 808; para 111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim and Chen with discovery response within the response time as taught by Elshafie for the benefit of reducing a chance of a collision when transmitting a response as taught by Elshafie in para 127.
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Chen fail to teach, but Elshafie further teaches wherein to transmit the discovery frame, the device discovery logic is further configured to transmit one or more beamformed signals carrying the discovery frame (para 117: the discovery query 808 may be transmitted in a beamformed signal from the wireless device 802 and may carry beam information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim and Chen with discovery response within the response time as taught by Elshafie for the benefit of reducing a chance of a collision when transmitting a response as taught by Elshafie in para 127.
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Chen fail to teach, but Elshafie further teaches wherein the device discovery logic is further configured to indicate an epoch duration and a response slot duration along with the discovery frame (para 111: the discovery configuration may indicate a format of a response to a discovery query, a response time, or a response resource, a response time may include, for example, a time period when the IoTD 804 may transmit the query response 814 in response to the discovery query 808 (e.g., six slots after the discovery query, or two symbols after the discovery query); para 112: the discovery query 808 may include a discovery configuration), and wherein the epoch duration corresponds to a total amount of time allocated for receiving one or more responses to the discovery frame (para 111: the response time may include a time offset or a timer value; here, the timer value is considered as epoch duration corresponding to total amount of time for receiving response). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim and Chen with discovery response within the response time as taught by Elshafie for the benefit of reducing a chance of a collision when transmitting a response as taught by Elshafie in para 127.
Regarding claim 19, Kim further teaches wherein the device discovery logic is further configured to identify a response slot associated with the bitmask that matched the device identifier (para 124-126; para 147: a resource for transmitting the DS needs to be divided and used. For example, a region for transmitting the DS may be defined as a set of physical resource block (PRB) pairs in a frame or a subframe. In this case, the PRB pair for transmitting the DS in a set of the PRB pairs may be determined according to an offset value determined on the basis of an identifier (ID) of the UE; claim 4: the plurality of DS transmission masks are indexed in an ascending order, and are configured such that the lower the index, the higher the probability of transmitting the DS).
Kim fails to teach transmission of the response.
Kim fails to teach, but Chen further teaches wherein the response is transmitted (para 58: UE 720 would transmit PC5 Discovery response message to UE 710 (S717)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim with identifier match for bitmask for device discovery as taught by Chen for the benefit of performing a restricted discovery in order to discover some specific UEs as taught by Chen in para 44.
Kim in view of Chen fail to teach the transmission of the response within the response slot. Elshafie is directed to RF- IoT device discovery.
Elshafie further teaches wherein the response is transmitted within the response slot (fig 8, para 124: the IoT device may be configured to select a time to transmit the query response 814 from a set of times to respond to the discovery query 808, the set of times to respond to the discovery query 808 may be transmitted in the discovery configuration 806 or in the discovery query 808; para 111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine discovery signal in accordance with bitmask as taught by Kim and Chen with discovery response within the response time as taught by Elshafie for the benefit of reducing a chance of a collision when transmitting a response as taught by Elshafie in para 127.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 7/13/2026