DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,342 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent discloses:
Regarding Claim 11, the Patent discloses a self-assembly member for assembling a valve module of a modular prosthetic valve device after deployment from a delivery device (column 20, lines , said self-assembly member having a delivery configuration and a preset configuration (column 20, lines 25-26 and 30-32), and wherein when in said preset configuration said self-assembly member comprises a split ring and a plurality of masts (column 20, lines 25-26 and column 20, lines 61-63), and in said delivery configuration said split ring extends in a generally linear direction along the longitudinal axis of said delivery device (column 20, lines 61-63), and said masts are oriented generally parallel to the split ring in said delivery configuration (column 20, lines 35-36) and oriented perpendicularly to said split ring of said self-assembly member in said preset configuration (column 20, lines 33-36).
Regarding claim 12, the Patent discloses wherein the mast in said delivery configuration revert to said pre-set configuration after deployment (column 20, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 13, the Patent discloses wherein said self-assembly member comprises a first self-assembly member and a second self-assembly member, said first self-assembly member comprising in said preset configuration said split ring (column 20, lines 60-63) and said second self-assembly member comprising a mast oriented parallel to the longitudinal axis of said delivery device in said delivery configuration (column 20, lines 35-37) and having at least a portion oriented perpendicularly to said split ring in said preset configuration (column 20, lines 33-35).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the reference number 1025 as seen in Figure 10 is not described in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 further limits claim 11 to have a self-assembly member comprises a first self-assembly member and a second self-assembly member, said first self-assembly member comprising in said preset configuration said split ring and said second self-assembly member comprising a mast oriented parallel to the longitudinal axis of said delivery device in said delivery configuration and having at least a portion oriented perpendicularly to said split ring in said preset configuration. However, claim 11 already established a self-assembly member having a split ring and a plurality of masts, therefore it is unclear if the first and second self-assembly member is additional structure in addition to the self-assembly member claimed in claim 11. For examination purposes the examiner interprets the prior art discloses a split ring and a plurality of posts to meet said “first self-assembly member” and “second self-assembly member.”
Claim 14 limits the self-assembly member of claim 11 to further include a post, the post is orientated parallel to the longitudinal axis of said delivery device in said delivery configuration and oriented perpendicularly to said split ring or said self-assembly member in said pre-set configuration to engage a support structure. However, the specification provides support for a mast or post (see specification, paragraph [0039], [0056]), there are no descriptions showing a distinct mast and post useable together. Furthermore, the drawings only show a post or mast not two distinct structures representing a mast and post. For examination purposes the examiner interprets as the specification describes, the mast and post is interchangeable referring to the same structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
21
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Kheradvar et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0275550 A1.
Regarding Claim 11, Kheradvar et al. discloses a self-assembly member for assembling a valve module of a modular prosthetic valve device 25B after deployment from a delivery device 22, said self-assembly member having a delivery configuration and a preset configuration (as seen in Figures 1-4, 10-13), and wherein when in said preset configuration said self-assembly member comprises a split ring 12 and a plurality of masts 13, 31, 14A, 14B (see Figures 1-4 and paragraph [0074]), and in said delivery configuration said split ring 12 extends in a generally linear direction along the longitudinal axis of said delivery device (see Figures 1-4, 10-13 and paragraphs [0075] and [0095]), and said masts 31 are oriented generally parallel to the split ring 12 in said delivery configuration and oriented perpendicularly to said split ring of said self-assembly member in said preset configuration (as seen in Figures 11-13).
Regarding Claim 12, Kheradvar et al. discloses wherein the mast 13, 31, 14A, 14B in said delivery configuration revert to said pre-set configuration after deployment (see Figures 10-13).
Regarding Claim 12, Kheradvar et al. discloses wherein said self-assembly member comprises a first self-assembly member 12 and a second self-assembly member 13, 31, 14A, 14B, said first self-assembly member 12 comprising in said preset configuration said split ring (as seen in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0071], [0075]) and said second self-assembly member comprising a mast 13, 31, 14A, 14B oriented parallel to the longitudinal axis of said delivery device in said delivery configuration (as seen in Figures 1-4 and 10-13) and having at least a portion oriented perpendicularly to said split ring in said preset configuration (as seen in Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 12, Kheradvar et al. discloses wherein said self-assembly member further comprises a post 13, 31, 14A, 14B, said post oriented parallel to a longitudinal axis of said delivery device in said delivery configuration (see Figures 1-4, 10-13 and paragraphs [0075] and [0095]) and oriented perpendicularly to said split ring or said self-assembly member in said pre-set configuration to engage a support structure (as seen in Figures 12-13 and paragraph [0095]).
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774