DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 to 20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on 05-03-2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202441035263 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 to 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monier et al. (USPA 2020/0007425) in view of Devarajan et al. (USP 11,637,766) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monier et al. in view of Devarajan et al.
Claim 20:
Monier substantially teaches the claimed invention. Monier teaches a network architecture (100) for communicating messages in an IP network, through multiple network communication devices, the network architecture comprising: a probe source device (102) communicating traceroute and logging network data for performing diagnostics and receive and store such network associated data for performing network diagnostics (see par. 0029). Monier teaches that a tunnel entrance device (104) serving as a tunnel source endpoint for tunneling and sending IP messages to a downstream device during normal operation (see par. 0030). Monier teaches that the probe source device and the entrance devie are in communication with one onother via an area network (AN) (106) (see par. 0031).
Monier teaches that the tunnel entrance device may send the tunneled IP message downstream to a device and the device downstream may be a tunneled intermediate device (110) disposed within a routing tunnel of an IP network between the tunnel entrance device and one or more probe destination devices (114) (see fig. 6, and par. 0091). Monier teaches that the tunnel entrance device may receive an error message from the downstream device (see par. 0092). Monier teaches that the error message may be an ICMPv6 port unreachable packet and may comprise a source address and a destination address (see par. 0092).
Monier teaches that a new error message is generated based on an address spoofing method that sets the received source address as the source address of the new error message to of the downstream device (see par. 0093). Monier teaches that the tunnel entrance device sends the new error message to the probe source device (see par. 0094). Monier teaches that the communication method and device utilize an IPv6 or IPv4 routing protocol, RPL and/or another protocol (see par. 0049).
Monier fails to specifically teach the limitation of a second network device that utilizes a second network protocol; however, Devarajan in an analogous art teaches that an application can send a restful MTR request to an enforcement node (150) which includes the destination address and port in case of TCP/UDP MTR and includes the MTR type; TCP, UDP or ICMP (see col. 26, lines 10 et seq.). Devarajan teaches that a message and a reply communicated between a client and an application may include a "Type-Length-Value" (TLV) in an ICMP request and reply messages (see col. 26, lines 10 to 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Monier to include the limitation of the request and reply messages operating with different protocols such as TCP/UDP and ICMP as taught by Devarajan because Devarajan teaches that techniques for detecting packet loss and delays in a network includes an application sending ICMP traceroute with IP address to a client using different protocols such as an TCP/UDP and an ICMP. This modification would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ techniques for detecting network delays and packet loss by applying a traceroute between a client and an application based on utilizing different protocols over a network as taught by Devarajan (see col. 18, lines 24 et seq.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4-15-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the arguments concerning the previously rejected claim the following comments are made:
The examiner disagrees with applicant’s representative that the prior art fails to teach every limitation of the claim because the claim was rejected in light of giving the claim the broadest reasonable interpretation, thus, all the limitations of the claim were addressed in the rejection. The examiner would like to point out that the amendment to claim 20 has amended the preamble of the claim with the phrase “network tracing” however, this amendment fails to give meaning to the body of the claim, especially, when the preamble is not given patentable weight, it has no effect on the body of the claim if removed. Therefore, the amendment of the claim with the phrase “networking tracing” does not change the claim scope thus, the claim is rejected as being obvious over the prior art made of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 to 19 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shelly A Chase/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112