Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024 and 04/01/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito , US 9461197 B2.
Pertaining to claim1, Saito teaches ( see fig.3 above) A display device including a light emitting element[1], comprising: a first electrode[720]; a second electrode[710]; a light emitting layer [20] between the first electrode[720] and the second electrode[720]; and a reflector[50] that covers side surfaces of the light emitting layer[20] and at least a portion of side surfaces of the first electrode[720], wherein the reflector[50] includes: a first insulating layer[52]; a second insulating layer[51]; and a metal layer[53] between the first insulating layer[52] and the second insulating layer[51].
Pertaining to claim2, Saito teaches ( see fig.3 above) A The display device of claim 1, wherein the metal layer [53] is between the first insulating layer[52] and the second insulating layer[51] , the metal layer[ 53] overlapping the side surfaces and a lower surface of the light emitting layer[20], or overlapping the side surfaces of the light emitting layer[20].
Pertaining to claim15, Saito teaches ( see fig.3 above) A method of manufacturing a display device including a light emitting element[1], comprising: forming a light emitting layer[20] on a substrate[10]; forming a first electrode[720] under the light emitting layer[20]; forming a first insulating layer [52] and a second insulating layer [51] on side surfaces of the light emitting layer[20] and at least a portion of side surfaces of the first electrode[720]; forming a reflective layer [53] between the first insulating layer[52] and the second insulating layer[51]; and forming a second electrode[710] on the light emitting layer[20].
Pertaining to claim16, Saito teaches ( see fig.3 above) The method of claim 15, wherein the reflective layer [53] is formed to overlap the side surfaces of the light emitting layer [20] and the side surfaces and a lower surface of the first electrode[720], or formed to overlap the side surfaces of the light emitting layer [20] and the side surfaces of the first electrode [720].
Pertaining to claim17, Saito teaches ( see fig.10A-10B above)The method of claim 15, wherein forming of the reflective layer[50a] includes: forming the first insulating layer [51a] on the light emitting layer and the first electrode[720]; forming a metal layer [53a] on the first insulating layer[51a]; exposing a portion of the first electrode by patterning the metal layer and the first insulating layer ( see fig.10B]; forming the second insulating layer[52a] on the patterned metal layer and the exposed first electrode[720]; and forming the reflective layer [53a] between the first insulating layer[51a] and the second insulating layer[52a].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-14,22-29 allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of record of Saito , US 9461197 B2 teaches ( see fig.3 above) A display device including a light emitting element[1], comprising: a first electrode[720]; a second electrode[710]; a light emitting layer [20] between the first electrode[720] and the second electrode[720]; and a reflector[50] that covers side surfaces of the light emitting layer[20] and at least a portion of side surfaces of the first electrode[720], wherein the reflector[50] includes: a first insulating layer[52]; a second insulating layer[51]; and a metal layer[53] between the first insulating layer[52] and the second insulating layer[51],
but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 5 including “a display panel on which a plurality of sub-pixels and lines connected to the plurality of sub-pixels are disposed; and a pixel driving circuit configured to drive the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the display panel further includes: a plurality of protruded bank patterns in the plurality of sub-pixels; and a light emitting element in each of the plurality of protruded bank patterns”
it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 22 including “forming a display panel on which a plurality of sub-pixels and lines connected to the plurality of sub-pixels are disposed; and forming a pixel driving circuit configured to drive the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the forming of the display panel further includes: forming a plurality of protruded bank patterns in the plurality of sub-pixels; and forming a light emitting element in each of the plurality of protruded bank patterns”
Because no reference alone, nor is there any motivation to combine the details over the prior art to create such limitations in these independent claims, the claims are deemed patentable over the prior art.Claims 6-14,23-29 are also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed base claim(s).
Claims 3-4,18-21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record of Saito , US 9461197 B2 teaches ( see fig.3 above) teaches the limitation of claim1 " but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim3 including “wherein the lower surface and the upper surface of the light emitting layer[20] include: a first flat protrusion and a second flat protrusion on which the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed; and stepped portions at edges of the first flat protrusion and the second flat protrusion, the stepped portions have smaller heights than the first flat protrusion and the second flat protrusion, and the reflector is disposed on at least a portion of the side surfaces of the light emitting layer under the stepped portions.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim4 including “wherein a lower surface of the light emitting layer on which the first electrode of the light emitting element is disposed and an upper surface of the light emitting layer on which the second electrode is disposed have smaller widths than the side surfaces of the light emitting element between the upper surface and the lower surface of the light emitting layer.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim18 including “wherein forming of the reflective layer includes: forming the first insulating layer on the light emitting layer and the first electrode; forming a metal layer on the first insulating layer; patterning the metal layer [and the first insulating layer; forming the reflective layer on the side surfaces of the light emitting layer and the first electrode; and forming the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer, the first insulating layer formed on the reflective layer and the side surfaces and a lower surface of the first electrode..” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim20 including “further comprising removing a portion of the light emitting layer under both sides of the second electrode.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
/MAMADOU L DIALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897