DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/08/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because uses phrases which can be implied, such as, “Disclosed are” (see line1). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure in page 55 paragraph [0215] is vague and indefinite can could lead to confusion; it is suggested to be deleted (see also Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority ISA237 dated 12/02/2026 for WO2026035506 attached to the present Office action section 6.d).
The disclosure in page 55 paragraph [0216] to page 71 paragraph [0312] seem to be improper, when used to interpret the claims render them unclear and indefinite; it is suggested to be deleted (see also Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority ISA237 dated 12/02/2026 for WO2026035506 attached to the present Office action section 6.e).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mandelli (WO 2023160797 A1 corresponding to PCT/EP2022/054676, the US equivalent case US 20250168684 A1 is used in the rejection for convenience).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, Mandelli discloses one or more memories, one or more transceivers, and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (figure 6): transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to one or more network nodes, a request to obtain environment information of an environment of the one or more network nodes (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] block 301 database 120); receive, via the one or more transceivers, from each of the one or more network nodes, an environment report including environment information of the environment obtained by each of the one or more network nodes (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] block 302); and update an environment database based on the environment information (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Fig. 5c, the possibility of the NG-RAN node (e.g. SAP) to be requested of certain sensing environment information to be updated is shown”).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Mandelli discloses one or more memories, one or more transceivers. and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (figure 6) receive, via the one or more transceivers, from an environment learning server (ELS), a request to obtain environment information of an environment (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] block 301 database 120); and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the ELS, an environment report including environment information obtained by the network node (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] block 302).
Regarding claims 2, 14, 26 and 29, Mandelli discloses claims 1, 13, 25 and 28, Mandelli also discloses a location management function (LMF) entity, or an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (figure 5c).
Regarding claims 3 and 27, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 25, Mandelli also discloses a correlate the environment information obtained by each of the one or more network nodes to generate correlated environment information (paragraph [0008] “Given the correlation among these two points, e.g. the range/angle space can be limited by the environment or the hardware, careful design of the best signals/settings e.g. to minimize overhead is beneficial. Further, allowing to optimize the mobile communication network by tuning a respective device configuration, e.g. based on directions where the communications and/or sensing should happen is beneficial. Then, the procedure may allow the aggregation of the information from multiple SAPs.”) and update the environment database based on the correlated environment information (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Fig. 5c, the possibility of the NG-RAN node (e.g. SAP) to be requested of certain sensing environment information to be updated is shown”).
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Mandelli discloses claims 12 and 28, Mandelli also discloses receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the ELS, environment data from an updated environment database based on one or more additional environment reports including additional environment information received by the ELS from one or more additional network nodes (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Fig. 5c, the possibility of the NG-RAN node (e.g. SAP) to be requested of certain sensing environment information to be updated is shown”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 15, Mandelli also discloses a map of the environment, one or more radio frequency (RF) fingerprints of the environment, one or more raw or processed sensing measurements of the environment, one or more raw or processed images of the environment, one or more raw or processed positioning measurements, one or more raw or processed motion measurements, or any combination thereof (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Per object, at least one of the following information can be shared via such a map: Position; Dimension(s); status; shape/type; rotation; speed (e.g. and/or stability); or confidence”).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 13, Mandelli also discloses a map of the environment, one or more radio frequency (RF) fingerprints of the environment, one or more raw or processed sensing measurements of the environment, one or more raw or processed images of the environment, one or more raw or processed positioning measurements, one or more raw or processed motion measurements, or any combination thereof (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Per object, at least one of the following information can be shared via such a map: Position; Dimension(s); status; shape/type; rotation; speed (e.g. and/or stability); or confidence”).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Mandelli discloses claims 5 and 13, Mandelli also discloses one or more base stations; one or more user equipment (UE); one or more transmission-reception points (TRPs); one or more location management functions (LMFs); one or more access and mobility management functions (AMFs); or any combination thereof (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262]).
Regarding claim 7, Mandelli discloses claim 1, Mandelli also discloses receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the one or more network nodes, a request for a specified set of environment data and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the one or more network nodes, the specified set of environment data based on the environment database (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] blocks 301 and 302)
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Mandelli discloses claims 7 and 21, Mandelli also discloses an entire map of the environment; an entire radio frequency (RF) fingerprint of the environment; a partial map of the environment; a partial RF fingerprint of the environment; one or more objects in the environment; one or more materials of the one or more objects; a confidence level of the specified set of environment data; or any combination thereof (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Per object, at least one of the following information can be shared via such a map: Position; Dimension(s); status; shape/type; rotation; speed (e.g. and/or stability); or confidence”).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Mandelli discloses claims 7 and 15, Mandelli also discloses the environment database has a format of a map generated by a fusion of the environment information obtained by each of the one or more network nodes (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Per object, at least one of the following information can be shared via such a map: Position; Dimension(s); status; shape/type; rotation; speed (e.g. and/or stability); or confidence”).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Mandelli discloses claims 9 and 17, Mandelli also discloses a plurality of segmented and indexed objects, each of the segmented and indexed objects associated with: a physical property associated with each of the segmented and indexed objects; an electromagnetic property associated with each of the segmented and indexed objects; a confidence level of the physical property or the electromagnetic property; or any combination thereof (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Per object, at least one of the following information can be shared via such a map: Position; Dimension(s); status; shape/type; rotation; speed (e.g. and/or stability); or confidence”).
Regarding claim 11, Mandelli discloses claim 1, Mandelli also discloses a receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a first network node of the one or more network nodes, an indication of an observed change in the environment and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the first network node, a request for an updated environment report associated with the observed change (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] blocks 301-302).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 13, Mandelli also discloses transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a first network node of the one or more network nodes, a request to update an order of preference of neighbor cells for a handover, a request to hand over to one of the neighbor cells, an indication that one or more beams of the first network node are blocked by one or more blockers in the environment, or any combination thereof (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0083], [0116], [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] “Further, the sensing capability information may be indicative of a respective beam configuration or synchronization configured, activated and/or available at the apparatus according to the first exemplary aspect”).
Regarding claim 21, Mandelli discloses claim 13, Mandelli also discloses transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the ELS, a request for a specified set of environment data associated with the network node (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] blocks 301 and 302).
Regarding claim 23, Mandelli discloses claim 13, Mandelli also discloses transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the ELS, an indication of an observed change in the environment and receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the ELS, a request for an updated environment report associated with the observed change (abstract figures 1-3 and 5a-5c paragraphs [0151]-[0158], [0169]-[0177], [0223]-[0224], [0233]-[0235], [0250]-[0252] and [0262] blocks 301 and 302).
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zorgui (WO 2022056242 A1, correspondent to PCT/US2021/049831 the US equivalent case US 20230280454 A1 is used in the rejection for convenience).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, Zorgui discloses one or more memories, one or more transceivers, and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (figures 11-12, 16) transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to one or more network nodes, a request to obtain environment information of an environment of the one or more network nodes (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, AF 210 may transmit, provide, or otherwise convey a sensing query to SnMF 215. That is, AF 210 may issue a sensing request to SnMF 215.”); receive, via the one or more transceivers, from each of the one or more network nodes, an environment report including environment information of the environment obtained by each of the one or more network nodes (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, SnMF 215 may identify and/or quantify properties for an object based on RF signal metrics received from wireless nodes of the RAN.”); and update an environment database based on the environment information (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “In response, SnMF 215 may trigger a mapping information update indication to AF 210 signaling that there are object properties to convey. AF 210 may provide the sensing query in response”).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Zorgui discloses one or more memories, one or more transceivers. and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (figures 11-12, 16) receive, via the one or more transceivers, from an environment learning server (ELS), a request to obtain environment information of an environment (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, AF 210 may transmit, provide, or otherwise convey a sensing query to SnMF 215. That is, AF 210 may issue a sensing request to SnMF 215.”); and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the ELS, an environment report including environment information obtained by the network node (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, SnMF 215 may identify and/or quantify properties for an object based on RF signal metrics received from wireless nodes of the RAN”).
Regarding claims 2, 14, 26 and 29, Zorgui discloses claims 1, 13, 25 and 28, Zorgui also discloses a location management function (LMF) entity, or an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0016], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the SnMC of the RAN operates separately from a LMF of the core network to determine the one or more properties of the object” … “For example, the service-based representation may include the network functions (e.g., SnMF 215, AF 210, LMF, AMF, etc.) within the control plane enabling other authorized network functions to access their services (which may include point-to-point reference points where necessary)”).
Regarding claims 3 and 27, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 25, Mandelli also discloses a correlate the environment information obtained by each of the one or more network nodes to generate correlated environment information (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “In response, SnMF 215 may trigger a mapping information update indication to AF 210 signaling that there are object properties to convey. AF 210 may provide the sensing query in response”) and update the environment database based on the correlated environment information (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “In response, SnMF 215 may trigger a mapping information update indication to AF 210 signaling that there are object properties to convey. AF 210 may provide the sensing query in response”)
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Mandelli discloses claims 12 and 28, Mandelli also discloses receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the ELS, environment data from an updated environment database based on one or more additional environment reports including additional environment information received by the ELS from one or more additional network nodes (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “In response, SnMF 215 may trigger a mapping information update indication to AF 210 signaling that there are object properties to convey. AF 210 may provide the sensing query in response”)
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 15, Mandelli also discloses a map of the environment, one or more radio frequency (RF) fingerprints of the environment, one or more raw or processed sensing measurements of the environment, one or more raw or processed images of the environment, one or more raw or processed positioning measurements, one or more raw or processed motion measurements, or any combination thereof (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “accordingly, the AF may identify or otherwise determine mapping information for the object(s) based on the properties obtained from the SnMF. For example, the mapping information that the AF determines may include, but are not limited to, an environmental mapping (e.g., a 3D map) including object(s) to provide situational/environmental awareness, various characteristics of the object(s).”)
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 13, Mandelli also discloses a map of the environment, one or more radio frequency (RF) fingerprints of the environment, one or more raw or processed sensing measurements of the environment, one or more raw or processed images of the environment, one or more raw or processed positioning measurements, one or more raw or processed motion measurements, or any combination thereof (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “accordingly, the AF may identify or otherwise determine mapping information for the object(s) based on the properties obtained from the SnMF. For example, the mapping information that the AF determines may include, but are not limited to, an environmental mapping (e.g., a 3D map) including object(s) to provide situational/environmental awareness, various characteristics of the object(s).”)
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Mandelli discloses claims 5 and 13, Mandelli also discloses one or more base stations; one or more user equipment (UE); one or more transmission-reception points (TRPs); one or more location management functions (LMFs); one or more access and mobility management functions (AMFs); or any combination thereof (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “Wireless communications network architecture options for cooperative sensing and positioning. A sensing management function (SnMF) may be deployed as a network entity within the core network that supports, manages, analyzes, etc., the sensing output(s) of nodes of a wireless network. The SnMF may obtain radio frequency (RF) signal metrics from wireless nodes of a radio access network (RAN), such as base station(s), user equipment (UE), vehicle-based UE(s), wireless nodes deployed within a factory setting, and the like. The RF signal metrics may correspond to, or otherwise be associated with, reflections of RF signal transmissions off of objects” … “For example, the service-based representation may include the network functions (e.g., SnMF 215, AF 210, LMF, AMF, etc.) within the control plane enabling other authorized network functions to access their services (which may include point-to-point reference points where necessary)”)
Regarding claim 7, Mandelli discloses claim 1, Mandelli also discloses receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the one or more network nodes, a request for a specified set of environment data and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the one or more network nodes, the specified set of environment data based on the environment database (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, SnMF 215 may identify and/or quantify properties for an object based on RF signal metrics received from wireless nodes of the RAN.”)
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Mandelli discloses claims 7 and 21, Mandelli also discloses an entire map of the environment; an entire radio frequency (RF) fingerprint of the environment; a partial map of the environment; a partial RF fingerprint of the environment; one or more objects in the environment; one or more materials of the one or more objects; a confidence level of the specified set of environment data; or any combination thereof (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “accordingly, the AF may identify or otherwise determine mapping information for the object(s) based on the properties obtained from the SnMF. For example, the mapping information that the AF determines may include, but are not limited to, an environmental mapping (e.g., a 3D map) including object(s) to provide situational/environmental awareness, various characteristics of the object(s).”)
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Mandelli discloses claims 7 and 15, Mandelli also discloses the environment database has a format of a map generated by a fusion of the environment information obtained by each of the one or more network nodes (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “accordingly, the AF may identify or otherwise determine mapping information for the object(s) based on the properties obtained from the SnMF. For example, the mapping information that the AF determines may include, but are not limited to, an environmental mapping (e.g., a 3D map) including object(s) to provide situational/environmental awareness, various characteristics of the object(s).”)
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Mandelli discloses claims 9 and 17, Mandelli also discloses a plurality of segmented and indexed objects, each of the segmented and indexed objects associated with: a physical property associated with each of the segmented and indexed objects; an electromagnetic property associated with each of the segmented and indexed objects; a confidence level of the physical property or the electromagnetic property; or any combination thereof (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “accordingly, the AF may identify or otherwise determine mapping information for the object(s) based on the properties obtained from the SnMF. For example, the mapping information that the AF determines may include, but are not limited to, an environmental mapping (e.g., a 3D map) including object(s) to provide situational/environmental awareness, various characteristics of the object(s).”)
Regarding claim 11, Mandelli discloses claim 1, Mandelli also discloses a receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a first network node of the one or more network nodes, an indication of an observed change in the environment and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the first network node, a request for an updated environment report associated with the observed change (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, SnMF 215 may identify and/or quantify properties for an object based on RF signal metrics received from wireless nodes of the RAN.”)
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Mandelli discloses claims 1 and 13, Mandelli also discloses transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a first network node of the one or more network nodes, a request to update an order of preference of neighbor cells for a handover, a request to hand over to one of the neighbor cells, an indication that one or more beams of the first network node are blocked by one or more blockers in the environment, or any combination thereof (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, AF 210 may transmit, provide, or otherwise convey a sensing query to SnMF 215. That is, AF 210 may issue a sensing request to SnMF 215.”)
Regarding claim 21, Zorgui discloses claim 13, Zorgui also discloses transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the ELS, a request for a specified set of environment data associated with the network node (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, AF 210 may transmit, provide, or otherwise convey a sensing query to SnMF 215. That is, AF 210 may issue a sensing request to SnMF 215.”)
Regarding claim 23, Mandelli discloses claim 13, Mandelli also discloses transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the ELS, an indication of an observed change in the environment and receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the ELS, a request for an updated environment report associated with the observed change (abstract figures 2, 7 paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0056]-[0057], [0108]-[0113], [0146]-[0149] and [0153]-[0154] “For example, AF 210 may transmit, provide, or otherwise convey a sensing query to SnMF 215. That is, AF 210 may issue a sensing request to SnMF 215.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hwang (US 20200323033 A1) discloses communication method and device of terminal in wireless communication system.
Furuskär (US 20250317758 A1) discloses radio resource management technique.
International Search Report ISA210 dated 12/02/2026 for WO2026035506.
Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority ISA237 dated 12/02/2026 for WO2026035506.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634