DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Application filed on August 8, 2024, and Drawings filed on August 8, 2024.
2. Claims 1–20 are pending in this case. Claim 1, 16 are independent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-15, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regard to claim 2, the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 1: wherein executing the sequence of vibration cycles comprises driving a target oscillating voltage across a set of haptic actuators, in the touch sensor, at a sequence of phase offsets; wherein identifying the first vibration cycle comprises: detecting a first peak-to-peak haptic intensity, in the first haptic waveform, corresponding to the target haptic intensity; detecting a first phase offset across the set of haptic actuators associated with the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity; and identifying the first vibration cycle, in the sequence of vibration cycles, comprising the first phase offset and the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity; and wherein executing the first vibration cycle to oscillate the touch sensor surface comprises driving the target oscillating voltage to the set of haptic actuators at the first phase offset to oscillate the first target location at the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity.
With regard to claim 7, the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 6: wherein identifying the first vibration cycle comprises identifying a first phase offset, in the first haptic waveform, across a set of haptic actuators at the touch sensor corresponding to the target haptic intensity; further comprising calculating a first scalar coefficient based on a ratio of the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity and a target peak-to-peak haptic intensity defined in the target haptic intensity; wherein linking the first vibration cycle to the first region comprises linking the first phase offset and the first scalar coefficient to the first region, in the set of regions, of the haptics leveling map corresponding to an area encompassing the first target location on the touch sensor surface; and wherein executing the first vibration cycle across the set of haptic actuators to oscillate the touch sensor surface comprises, in response to the first force magnitude exceeding the target selection force, driving a target oscillating voltage across the set of haptic actuators according to the first phase offset and the first scalar coefficient.
With regard to claim 8 and 18, the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 1: further comprising accessing a target haptic intensity map representing a set of regions across the touch sensor surface, each region in the set of regions defining a peak-to-peak haptic intensity; and wherein identifying the first vibration cycle comprises: identifying a first region, in the set of regions, of the haptic intensity map corresponding to the first target location; extracting a first target peak-to-peak haptic intensity from the first region; and identifying the first vibration cycle, in the sequence of vibration cycles, corresponding to the first target peak-to-peak haptic intensity based on the first haptic waveform.
With regard to claim 10, the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 1: wherein executing the sequence of vibration cycles comprises executing the sequence of vibration cycles across a set of haptic actuators to oscillate the touch sensor surface by: sweeping from a baseline voltage to a threshold voltage, offset from the baseline voltage, at a first haptic actuator, in the set of haptic actuators; and sweeping from the threshold voltage to the baseline voltage at a second haptic actuator, in the set of haptic actuators; and wherein identifying the first vibration cycle comprises: detecting a first peak-to-peak haptic intensity, in the first haptic waveform, corresponding to the target haptic intensity; interpreting a first target voltage between the baseline voltage and the threshold voltage for the first haptic actuator associated with the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity; interpreting a second target voltage, different from the first target voltage, between the baseline voltage and the threshold voltage for the second haptic actuator associated with the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity; and identifying the first vibration cycle, in the sequence of vibration cycles, comprising the first target voltage for the first haptic actuator and the second target voltage for the second haptic actuator.
With regard to claim 12 and 19, the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 1: wherein executing the sequence of vibration cycles comprises executing the sequence of vibration cycles across a set of haptic actuators to oscillate the touch sensor surface by: sweeping a target oscillating voltage from a baseline frequency to a threshold frequency, offset from the baseline frequency, at a first haptic actuator, in the set of haptic actuators; and sweeping the target oscillating voltage from the threshold frequency to the baseline frequency at a second haptic actuator, in the set of haptic actuators; and wherein identifying the first vibration cycle for the set of haptic actuators comprises: detecting a first peak-to-peak haptic intensity, in the first haptic waveform, corresponding to the target haptic intensity; interpreting a first target frequency between the baseline frequency and the threshold frequency for the first haptic actuator associated with the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity; interpreting a second target frequency, different from the first target frequency, between the baseline frequency and the threshold frequency for the second haptic actuator associated with the first peak-to-peak haptic intensity; and identifying the first vibration cycle, in the sequence of vibration cycles, comprising the first target frequency for the first haptic actuator and the second target frequency for the second haptic actuator.
With regard to claim 14, the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 1: further comprising, during the set-up period: at the calibration system, applying the probe, at the target selection force, to a second target location offset from the first target location on the touch sensor surface; at the touch sensor, executing the sequence of vibration cycles to oscillate the touch sensor surface; capturing a second haptic waveform representing haptic intensity at the second target location on the touch sensor surface during execution of the sequence of vibration cycles at the touch sensor; detecting a second vibration cycle, different from the first vibration cycle in the sequence of vibration cycles, corresponding to the target haptic intensity at the second target location based on the second haptic waveform; and further comprising during the deployment period; reading a set of electrical values from a set of drive and sense electrode pairs in the touch sensor; interpreting a second touch input applied proximal the second target location on the touch sensor surface and corresponding to the second region in the haptics leveling map based on the set of electrical values; and in response to interpreting the second touch input, executing the second vibration cycle in the haptics leveling map at the set of haptic actuators to oscillate the touch sensor surface at the target haptic intensity.
With regard to claim 15, the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 1: further comprising, extracting a magnitude of peak-to-peak acceleration from the target haptic intensity; wherein capturing the first haptic waveform comprises, at the calibration system: reading a first set of electrical values from a vibration sensor arranged within the probe of the calibration system; and generating the first haptic waveform representing peak-to-peak accelerations at the first target location on the touch sensor surface based on the first set of electrical values; wherein interpreting the first vibration cycle comprises, at the touch sensor, interpreting the first vibration cycle based on the first haptic waveform and the magnitude of peak-to-peak acceleration; and further comprising at the touch sensor, storing the first vibration cycle in a first region, within a haptics leveling map, representing the first target location on the touch sensor surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleizach et al., Pub. No.: 2012/0306632A1, in view of Park, Pub. No.: 2014/0285453A1.
With regard to claim 1:
Fleizach discloses a method comprising: during a set-up period: at a calibration system, applying a probe, to a first target location on a touch sensor surface of a touch sensor (user input can be received at the mobile device. For example, a user may physically tap out a cadence on a touch-sensitive surface associated with the mobile device, paragraph 18: “FIG. 1 is a flowchart of an example method for creating a custom vibration pattern and assigning the custom vibration pattern to a notification event. In step 110, a user of a mobile device may initiate recording of a custom vibration pattern. For example, the user may select a record button in the user interface of an application for creating a custom vibration pattern. Upon initiation of the record phase, the mobile device can detect and capture input received from the user and create a custom vibration pattern in response to the input. In step 112, user input can be received at the mobile device. For example, a user may physically tap out a cadence (e.g., a series of tap-down events of varying duration and potentially having varying delays between them) on a touch-sensitive surface associated with the mobile device. Input may also be received from any other suitable input mechanism, e.g., a motion capture sensor or a physical button on the mobile device. For each tap-down event, a particular vibration segment within a vibration pattern can be created. In some implementations, the duration of a vibration segment may be related to a respective duration of a tap-down event. Additionally, the duration of a tap-up event, e.g., an arbitrarily long duration during which no tap-down events are detected, may be related to a respective duration between tap-down events. For example, if a mobile device detects a one second tap-down event (e.g., the user's finger or stylus remains in contact with the touch sensitive surface) followed by two seconds of a tap-up event followed by three seconds of a second tap-down event, the vibration pattern can be one second of vibration followed by two seconds of no vibration followed by three seconds of vibration.”); at the touch sensor, executing a sequence of vibration cycles (For example, a progress bar may be displayed that indicates the duration of a vibration pattern over time and the duration of the vibration segments within the vibration pattern over time, paragraph 22: “In step 114, feedback may be provided in response to the user input received in step 112. Feedback may be provided visually, tactilely, audibly, or through any other suitable means for providing feedback. In some implementations, the duration of a tap-down event may correspond to the duration of a particular vibration segment in a vibration pattern. Visual feedback may be provided depicting the duration of the vibration segment based on the duration of the tap-down event. For example, a progress bar may be displayed that indicates the duration of a vibration pattern over time and the duration of the vibration segments within the vibration pattern over time. In some implementations, a shorter duration tap-down event, e.g., a tap-down without a tap-down hold, may be represented by a dot whereas a longer duration tap-down event, e.g., a tap-down with a tap-down hold, may be represented by a growing rectangle of variable length in the progress bar.”) to oscillate the touch sensor surface (the system detects vibration pattern, paragraph 19: “A measure of intensity (e.g., a detected force with which the user asserted a finger or stylus against the touch sensitive surface) may be detected with each tap-down event and translated into variable intensity (e.g., varying levels of vibration) for a corresponding vibration segment in the vibration pattern. In some implementations, intensity of a vibration segment may be variable based on the duration of a tap-down event. For example, at the start of a tap-down event, a vibration segment may be associated with a particular intensity. As the duration of the tap-down event increases, the intensity associated with the vibration segment may increase or decrease as a function of the duration of the tap-down event, e.g., proportionally to the duration of the tap-down event or inversely to the duration of the tap down event. In some implementations, the intensity associated with a vibration segment may reach a maximum intensity based on the capabilities of the haptic mechanisms in a mobile device.”); capturing a first haptic event representing haptic intensity at the first target location on the touch sensor surface during execution of the sequence of vibration cycles at the touch sensor (the system records the haptic event, paragraph 25 to 27: “In addition, in step 114 haptic feedback may be provided during the recording phase of a vibration pattern. For example, during a tap-down event, a mobile device can provide haptic feedback, or vibrations, corresponding to the tap-down event. The haptic feedback may vary in intensity and duration depending on the detected duration and intensity of the tap-down event. In some implementations, the haptic feedback tracks or relates to the vibration segments in the custom vibration pattern being created by the user input. For example, the haptic feedback provided in step 114 in response to the user input received in step 112 may correspond to vibration in the vibration pattern. That is, the haptic feedback provided in step 114 may be the same haptic feedback or vibrations actuated in step 118 to notify a user of a mobile device that a notification event has been received, where the vibration pattern corresponding to the haptic feedback has been assigned to the notification event in step 116. Feedback provided in step 114 in response to receiving user input may be provided in a real-time manner. For example, although the mobile device may not know how long a tap-down event will last, visualization and haptic feedback can be provided in real-time for an indefinite amount of time by providing instructions to the mobile device to start and stop the feedback based on the received user input. In step 114, in addition to providing real-time feedback during the recording phase of a vibration pattern, visual and haptic feedback can be provided during a replay portion of the recording phase. For example, after recording has ended, a user of the mobile device may desire to preview the vibration pattern before assigning it to a notification event. In some implementations, the user can select to replay the vibration pattern just recorded. During replay, any of the visualizations discussed in this disclosure can be displayed and haptic feedback can be provided corresponding to the recorded vibration pattern.”); and identifying a first vibration cycle, in the sequence of vibration cycles, corresponding to a target haptic intensity (paragraph 32: “For example, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down event used to create vibration segment 226 can be actuated and ripple effect 222 displayed during the recording of vibration segment 226 can be presented in display 212. When playback encounters vibration segment 236, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down event used to create vibration segment 236 can be actuated and ripple effect 230 displayed during the recording of vibration segment 236 can be presented in display 212. Similarly, when playback encounters vibration segments 260 and 262, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down events used to create vibration segments 260 and 262 can be actuated and ripple effects displayed during the recording of vibration segments 260 and 262 can be presented in display 212.”) at the first target location based on the first haptic event (the system identify a specific segment or vibration cycle of multiple segments/cycles, paragraph 31: “In FIG. 2c, in response to detecting tap-down event 232, the mobile device may provide visual feedback 230 and 236 as well as haptic feedback. For example, in progress bar 214, vibration segment 236 can correspond to tap-down event 232 and can be depicted by a growing rectangle in progress bar 214 to indicate a longer duration tap-down event. Ripple effect 230 can be displayed in display 212 in response to detecting tap-down event 232 and can correspond to vibration segment 236. For example, ripple effect 230 can have multiple ripples close together to indicate a longer tap-down event or a tap-down event with a stronger intensity. In FIG. 2d, recording of the vibration pattern has ended. For example, a user may select button 228 in FIG. 2c to end a vibration recording phase. An indication of the custom vibration pattern can be seen in progress bar 214 in FIG. 2d. For example, vibration segment 226 can correspond to tap-down event 224 in FIG. 2b, vibration segment 236 can correspond to tap-down event 232 shown in FIG. 2c, and vibration segments 260 and 262 can correspond to other tap-down events that were detected during the recording of the custom vibration pattern. In FIG. 2d, after recording of a vibration pattern has ended, a user may select the play button 240 to replay the previously created vibration pattern or the record button 242 to record a new vibration pattern. Additionally, the user may select save button 250 to assign a name to the vibration pattern and save the vibration pattern to memory.”); and during a deployment period: detecting a first touch input applied proximal the first target location on the touch sensor surface (the input is the user select the replay button, paragraph 32: “FIGS. 3a-3b are exemplary user interfaces for replaying a custom vibration pattern on a mobile device. For example, FIGS. 3a-3b can be used to replay the custom vibration pattern created in FIGS. 2a-2d. In FIG. 3a, if a user selects play button 240 in FIG. 2d to replay the previously created vibration pattern, the vibration pattern represented by progress bar 214 can be replayed on the mobile device. Replay of a vibration pattern may involve both haptic and visual feedback. For example, during playback the visualizations and haptic feedback created during the recording of a vibration pattern may be conveyed to a user of the mobile device. As an example, the vibration pattern created in FIGS. 2a-2d can be used in FIGS. 3a-3b. Playback may be indicated by a playback position on progress bar 214. When vibration segment 226 is encountered during playback, visual and haptic feedback can be provided corresponding to vibration segment 226. For example, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down event used to create vibration segment 226 can be actuated and ripple effect 222 displayed during the recording of vibration segment 226 can be presented in display 212. When playback encounters vibration segment 236, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down event used to create vibration segment 236 can be actuated and ripple effect 230 displayed during the recording of vibration segment 236 can be presented in display 212. Similarly, when playback encounters vibration segments 260 and 262, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down events used to create vibration segments 260 and 262 can be actuated and ripple effects displayed during the recording of vibration segments 260 and 262 can be presented in display 212.”); and in response to a first force magnitude of the first touch input exceeding a target selection force, executing the first vibration cycle to oscillate the touch sensor surface at the target haptic intensity (the system replays the vibration cycle/segment based on the user input, paragraph 32: “FIGS. 3a-3b are exemplary user interfaces for replaying a custom vibration pattern on a mobile device. For example, FIGS. 3a-3b can be used to replay the custom vibration pattern created in FIGS. 2a-2d. In FIG. 3a, if a user selects play button 240 in FIG. 2d to replay the previously created vibration pattern, the vibration pattern represented by progress bar 214 can be replayed on the mobile device. Replay of a vibration pattern may involve both haptic and visual feedback. For example, during playback the visualizations and haptic feedback created during the recording of a vibration pattern may be conveyed to a user of the mobile device. As an example, the vibration pattern created in FIGS. 2a-2d can be used in FIGS. 3a-3b. Playback may be indicated by a playback position on progress bar 214. When vibration segment 226 is encountered during playback, visual and haptic feedback can be provided corresponding to vibration segment 226. For example, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down event used to create vibration segment 226 can be actuated and ripple effect 222 displayed during the recording of vibration segment 226 can be presented in display 212. When playback encounters vibration segment 236, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down event used to create vibration segment 236 can be actuated and ripple effect 230 displayed during the recording of vibration segment 236 can be presented in display 212. Similarly, when playback encounters vibration segments 260 and 262, haptic feedback corresponding to the duration and/or intensity of the tap-down events used to create vibration segments 260 and 262 can be actuated and ripple effects displayed during the recording of vibration segments 260 and 262 can be presented in display 212.”).
Fleizach does not specific disclose the haptic event is a haptic waveform,
However Park discloses the aspect wherein The haptic event is a haptic waveform, and identifying a first vibration cycle, in the sequence of vibration cycles, corresponding to a target haptic intensity at the first target location based on the first haptic waveform (see haptic waveform and vibrating cycles in fig. 8, paragraph 82: “Further, when a temporary touch or successive touches are made on the touch screen 190 by using the input unit 168, the storage unit 175 stores information on a vibration intensity and a vibration cycle according to a haptic pattern to provide various haptic effects to the input unit 168 or the portable terminal 100. The haptic pattern includes various patterns for each pen type and each background material according to a material on which the writing is made using the pen. The pen type applied to embodiments of the present invention includes various pens in addition to a ballpoint pen, a pencil, a brush, a felt-tip pen, and a marker. Further, the background material has surface roughness of a material such as paper on which characters can be written or a picture can be drawn, and includes various materials such as, for example, paper, wood, cement, cloth and the like. The paper also includes old paper of which a surface is somewhat rough and crumpled paper. The storage unit 175 stores a pattern providing a haptic effect for each pen type and each background material, and the pattern is read by a request of the controller 110. Further, the storage unit 175 stores a writing application for selecting a random pen from a plurality of pens and selecting a random background material from a plurality of background materials, and the present invention may receive selections for the pen and the background material by using the writing application and combine haptic patterns of the selected pen and background material.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Park to Fleizach a waveform can be used to represent the haptic event to better showcase the event as multiple cycle of vibrations with different or uniform intensity.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claims 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleizach et al., Pub. No.: 2012/0306632A1, in view of Park, and further in view of Kuwabara 10191547 B2.
With regard to claim 6 and 17:
Fleizach and Park do not disclose the prior arts do not disclose The method of claim 1: further comprising, during the set-up period: initializing a haptics leveling map representing a set of regions across the touch sensor surface; and linking the first vibration cycle to a first region, in the set of regions, in the haptics leveling map corresponding to an era encompassing the first target location on the touch sensor surface; and further comprising, during the deployment period: accessing the haptics leveling map; identifying the first touch input as corresponding to the first region, in the set of regions, in the haptics leveling map; and in response to the first force magnitude exceeding the target selection force, executing the first vibration cycle in the haptics leveling map to oscillate the touch sensor surface at the target haptic intensity.
However Kuwabara disclose The method of claim 1: further comprising, during the set-up period: initializing a haptics leveling map representing a set of regions across the touch sensor surface; and linking the first vibration cycle to a first region, in the set of regions, in the haptics leveling map corresponding to an era encompassing the first target location on the touch sensor surface (paragraph 31 column 9 line 44 to 67: “FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example of the voltage adjustment information set for each of the areas. In FIG. 13, the touch sensor 11 is supported by six support members made of the elastic members in total; at four corners, a center of a left periphery and a center of a right periphery. Two piezoelectric elements serving as the vibration elements are disposed on the center of opposing peripheries of the touch sensor 11. In FIG. 13, in the similar manner to FIG. 12, the touch face 11a is divided into areas in the direction (lateral direction) of the peripheries having the vibration elements disposed thereon and the areas are smaller as closer to the support members. In addition, FIG. 14 is a diagram illustrating another example of the voltage adjustment information set for each of the areas. In FIG. 14, the touch face 11a is divided into relatively small areas near the six support members, while the touch face 11a is divided into relatively large areas near the center of the touch face 11a distant from the support members. The areas to set the voltage adjustment coefficients do not need to be divided in a matrix form. As with the area at the center of the touch face 11a having a voltage adjustment coefficient “1” set thereto, it is enabled to diversify division of the areas to set the voltage adjustment coefficients. Thereby, more appropriate adjustment of the voltage is enabled.”); and further comprising, during the deployment period: accessing the haptics leveling map; identifying the first touch input as corresponding to the first region, in the set of regions, in the haptics leveling map; and in response to the first force magnitude exceeding the target selection force, executing the first vibration cycle in the haptics leveling map to oscillate the touch sensor surface at the target haptic intensity (column 2 line 53 t column 3 line 12: “The technique disclosed in Patent Document 3 set forth above does not take into account a change in a vibration amount of the touch face corresponding to a position on the touch face in providing the tactile sensation to the user. As a result of earnest investigations and studies on the change in the vibration amount of the touch face corresponding to the position on the touch face, the inventor obtained expertise as follows. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example of an arrangement of vibration elements on the touch face of the touch sensor, and FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating a distribution of the vibration amount by a predetermined drive voltage when the vibration elements are arranged as illustrated in FIG. 7. As illustrated in FIG. 8, when each of the vibration elements illustrated in FIG. 7 is vibrated by the predetermined drive voltage (for example, 1 V), the vibration amount of the touch face takes a different value depending on a pushed position on the touch face. In an example illustrated in FIG. 8, the vibration amounts (amplitude) of positions A, B and C are 20 μm, 15 μm and 17 μm, respectively. A number of factors including attenuation of vibration in accordance with a distance from the vibration element and influence of a reflected wave may be considered as reasons for difference in the vibration amount depending on the position on the touch face. Such a difference in amplitude of vibration of the touch face has a great impact on the tactile sensation the user feels.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Kuwabara to Fleizach and Park so the system can map different haptic feedback to different regions to allow different haptic feedback to different input location about provide user different responses that match the input locations.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Augenbergs: Patent Number: 10353467 B2: Disclosed herein are methods and systems for providing haptic output and audio output on computing devices using the same haptic device and methods for calibrating the same. To produce the haptic and audio output, the computing device receives a profile of a desired output waveform that is to be provided by the haptic device. Using the desired output waveform, an input waveform is generated. Once the input waveform that will produce the desired output waveform is generated, the input waveform may be calibrated to account for various structural components of the haptic device and may also be combined with an audio waveform. The input waveform is then provided to the haptic device.
Flanagan et al., Patent No.: 8937603 B2, Embodiments of the present invention may provide a device to adaptively generate a haptic effect. The device may include a controller to generate a haptic command associated with a haptic profile and a haptic driver to generate a drive signal based on the haptic command, wherein the drive signal causes an actuator to produce vibrations corresponding to a haptic effect. Further, the device may include a sensor, coupled mechanically to the actuator, to measure at least one property of the vibrations. The controller may adjust the haptic command according to the measured at least one property. Therefore, the device may continuously tune haptic effect generation according to vibration measurements.
Conclusion
/DI XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178