DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the term “controller” could be interpreted as software per se. Examiner recommends amending the term “controller” to “controller circuitry”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2026/0019184 A1)(hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 42, [0610]: the UE includes a receiver 4200 and a transmitter 4210.), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Fig. 42, [0610]: the UE includes a processor 4205 and may also include memory. The receiver 4200 and the transmitter 4210, the memory, and the processor 4205 may operate according to the described communication methods of the UE.):
receive first signaling that schedules a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission comprising a transport block (TB) over a plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0604]: in step 4103, during PUSCH scheduling, the base station may notify the UE whether OCC is applied through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal. Fig. 36, [0564]: FIG. 36 illustrates a method for applying OCC by a UE in a situation where TBoMS and repeated transmissions are applied, according to an embodiment. [0565]: referring to FIG. 36, a difference from FIG. 35 may be that, when a UE maps a TB to a PUSCH, one TB is mapped to PUSCHs included in 4 different slots according to FIG. 34. In addition, FIG. 36 may assume that the number of slots for which TBoMS is configured is 4, and the number of repeated transmissions is 2. That is, one TB is included in each of the PUSCHs in the 4 slots and transmitted, and since the transmission is repeated twice, a total of 8 slots may be required.);
receive second signaling that indicates one or more parameters associated with at least one orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (Fig. 41, [0603]: in step 4102, the base station provides higher-layer signal information related to OCC to the UE in which the base station provides OCC-related signaling configuration information to the UE. [0499]: in order for the UE to determine whether to perform OCC-based PUSCH transmission, the base station may provide relevant information to the UE through a higher-layer signal, an L1 signal, or a combination thereof. The UE may determine whether an OCC sequence is applied to a PUSCH transmitted by the UE through reception of the corresponding information. In addition, specific OCC sequence information may be provided to the UE through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal, and the UE may be able to determine an OCC sequence size or an OCC sequence type through the provided information. Alternatively, the base station may implicitly indicate to the UE whether OCC-based PUSCH transmission is performed, through other information, and likewise, may implicitly indicate OCC sequence information or an OCC sequence size or type.);
apply the at least one OCC sequence to the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the one or more parameters, wherein the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for respective symbols of respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.), the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective slots of the plurality of slots, or both (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying an OCC scheme determined by higher-layer signaling and L1 signal of the base station. [0530]: in an OCC spreading step, as illustrated in FIG. 28, the first UE may sequentially arrange two identical pieces of data a1 in terms of frequency resources and apply an OCC sequence of (1, 1) to the first a1 and the second a1, respectively (2800). Fig. 38, [0575]: FIG. 38 illustrates a method for applying TBoMS and OCC during repeated PUSCH transmissions according to an embodiment. [0576]: referring to FIG. 38, similarly to FIG. 36, the number of slots to which TBoMS is applied is 4, the number of TB repeated transmissions is 2, and an OCC sequence length is 2. In FIG. 36, the slots to which one TB is mapped according to TBoMS are consecutive, while FIG. 38 illustrates a case where mapping is non-consecutive. That is, the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the first TB transmission are slots 3810, 3812, 3814, and 3816, and the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the second TB transmission are slots 3811, 3813, 3815, and 3817.); and
transmit the PUSCH transmission during the plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE may transmit the corresponding PUSCH.).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to repeat, based at least in part on a length of the at least one OCC sequence and the at least one OCC sequence being applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective symbols of the respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0494]: in order to apply an OCC scheme as illustrated in FIG. 25, the base station may indicate, in advance, to the UEs through a higher-layer signal (higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)) or an L1 signal (e.g., DCI), an OCC sequence value to be applied for each slot, during repeated PUSCH transmissions. ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.)), the at least one OCC sequence being applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective slots of the plurality of slots, or both ([0509]: in addition, it may be possible that the repeated PUSCH transmissions occur across multiple slots rather than within one slot. In this case, assuming that the OCC sequence of (1, −1) applied by the second UE is repeated four times, it may be possible to apply b1 to the first PUSCH, −b1 to the second PUSCH, b1 to the third PUSCH, and −b1 to the fourth PUSCH, or alternatively, b1 to the first PUSCH, b1 to the second PUSCH, −b1 to the third PUSCH, and −b1 to the fourth PUSCH. [0565]: when a UE maps a TB to a PUSCH, one TB is mapped to PUSCHs included in 4 different slots according to FIG. 34. In addition, FIG. 36 may assume that the number of slots for which TBoMS is configured is 4, and the number of repeated transmissions is 2. That is, one TB is included in each of the PUSCHs in the 4 slots and transmitted, and since the transmission is repeated twice, a total of 8 slots may be required.), uplink data associated with the PUSCH transmission on a plurality of frequency resources or time resources (Fig. 28, [0533]: although FIG. 28 illustrates that PUSCH A and PUSCH B, which are transmitted in slot n, are transmitted by the first UE and the second UE through the same time and frequency resources, it may also be possible that only some of the time and/or frequency resources overlap and the remaining time and frequency resources are used differently.).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to repeat, based at least in part on a length of the at least one OCC sequence, uplink data associated with at least one of the respective symbols of the plurality of slots or respective sets of symbols of the plurality of slots ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.), and wherein: the one or more parameters indicate for the UE to apply the at least one OCC sequence to the PUSCH transmission for the respective symbols of the respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0499]: in order for the UE to determine whether to perform OCC-based PUSCH transmission, the base station may provide relevant information to the UE through a higher-layer signal, an L1 signal, or a combination thereof. The UE may determine whether an OCC sequence is applied to a PUSCH transmitted by the UE through reception of the corresponding information. In addition, specific OCC sequence information may be provided to the UE through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal, and the UE may be able to determine an OCC sequence size or an OCC sequence type through the provided information. Alternatively, the base station may implicitly indicate to the UE whether OCC-based PUSCH transmission is performed, through other information, and likewise, may implicitly indicate OCC sequence information or an OCC sequence size or type.); the PUSCH transmission comprises a plurality of repetitions of the uplink data associated with the respective symbols or the respective sets of symbols([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.); and the plurality of repetitions are associated with resource blocks in a frequency domain ([0269]: the inter-slot frequency hopping method supported in PUSCH repetition type A and type B transmissions is a method in which the UE transmits allocated resources in the frequency domain, after changing the same by a configured frequency offset, in each slot.).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses all features of claim 3 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein: the plurality of slots is associated with a same OCC sequence ([0494]: in order to apply an OCC scheme as illustrated in FIG. 25, the base station may indicate, in advance, to the UEs through a higher-layer signal (higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)) or an L1 signal (e.g., DCI), an OCC sequence value to be applied for each slot, during repeated PUSCH transmissions.); and the plurality of slots is associated with a same repetition type (Fig. 14, [0302]: FIG. 14 illustrates an example of PUSCH repetition type B transmission in a wireless communication system according to an embodiment. Each of the slots shown in Fig. 14 are associated with the same repetition type, i.e., PUSCH repetition type B.).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses all features of claim 3 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein the one or more parameters indicate one or more of a plurality of OCC sequences corresponding to the respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0494]: in order to apply an OCC scheme as illustrated in FIG. 25, the base station may indicate, in advance, to the UEs through a higher-layer signal (higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)) or an L1 signal (e.g., DCI), an OCC sequence value to be applied for each slot, during repeated PUSCH transmissions. For example, in the case of the second UE, when a DCI field, which may be exemplified as an OCC index, exists in an L1 signal and the corresponding value indicates a bit value corresponding to an OCC sequence of (1, −1), the second UE may be able to apply “1” in slot n and apply “−1” in slot n+1. Specifically, for example, a DCI field, which may be exemplified as an OCC index, may exist as 1 bit, and if a bit of the field is 0, an OCC sequence may indicate (1, 1), and if the bit is 1, the OCC sequence may indicate (1,−1) or (−1, 1). In addition, the type of the OCC sequence or the size of the DCI field may be determined by higher-layer signaling configuration. According to an embodiment, the length of the OCC sequence may be a value greater than the length of 2 described in the example above.) or a plurality of repetition types corresponding to the respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0295]: a 5G system supports two types of UL data channel repetition transmission methods, PUSCH repetition type A transmission and PUSCH repetition type B transmission. One of PUSCH repetition type A transmission and PUSCH repetition type B transmission may be configured for a UE through higher layer signaling.).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein a length of the at least one OCC sequence is based at least in part on a length associated with the plurality of slots ([0556]: for example, when an OCC sequence length is 2, at least 2 slots may be required to perform inter-slot level OCC, and when the OCC sequence length is 4, at least 4 slots may be required to perform inter-slot level OCC. [00573]: the UE may determine the total number of repeated transmission slots by considering the number of slots to which TBoMS is applied, the number of repeated transmissions, and the number of times OCC is applied (i.e., an OCC length or a sequence length).).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to determine, based at least in part on one or more of a length of the at least one OCC sequence or a numerical quantity of slots of the plurality of slots allocated for repetitions of uplink data associated with the PUSCH transmission, a TB size (TBS) associated with the TB (Fig. 27, [0515]: referring to FIG. 27, when a first UE and a second UE apply an OCC scheme with a length of 2 in terms of time resources, it may be possible to determine an actual TB size (TBS) value by dividing the size of a PUSCH resource allocated to the corresponding UE by 2 during TBS calculation. In addition, FIG. 27 may exemplify a case where the first UE and the second UE perform repeated transmissions within the same slot. [0553]: the UE may additionally consider the number of slots to which TBoMS is applied in order to calculate a TB size.), wherein the at least one OCC sequence is associated with one or more of a time domain (Fig. 27, [0514]: FIG. 27 illustrates a method for applying an OCC scheme in terms of time resources when a UE transmits a PUSCH according to an embodiment. [0517]: in an OCC spreading step, as illustrated in FIG. 27, the first UE may sequentially arrange two identical pieces of data a1 in terms of time resources and apply an OCC sequence of (1, 1) to the first a1 and the second a1, respectively (2700).) or a frequency domain (Fig. 27, [0528]: FIG. 28 illustrates a method for applying an OCC scheme in terms of frequency resources when a UE transmits a PUSCH according to an embodiment. [0530] in an OCC spreading step, as illustrated in FIG. 28, the first UE may sequentially arrange two identical pieces of data a1 in terms of frequency resources and apply an OCC sequence of (1, 1) to the first a1 and the second a1, respectively (2800).).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein the one or more parameters indicate the length of the at least one OCC sequence (Claim 1: the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, configuration information on an orthogonal cover code (OCC). Claim 4: wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of information on a length of an OCC sequence or information on a number of the multiple slots for the TB processing).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of a first parameter that indicates multiple types of OCC sequences are enabled or disabled (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), a second parameter that indicates a length of the at least one OCC sequence (Claim 1: the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, configuration information on an orthogonal cover code (OCC). Claim 4: wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of information on a length of an OCC sequence or information on a number of the multiple slots for the TB processing), a third parameter that indicates an index of the at least one OCC sequence in a list of OCC sequences ([0494]: in order to apply an OCC scheme as illustrated in FIG. 25, the base station may indicate, in advance, to the UEs through a higher-layer signal (higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)) or an L1 signal (e.g., DCI), an OCC sequence value to be applied for each slot, during repeated PUSCH transmissions. For example, in the case of the second UE, when a DCI field, which may be exemplified as an OCC index, exists in an L1 signal and the corresponding value indicates a bit value corresponding to an OCC sequence of (1, −1), the second UE may be able to apply “1” in slot n and apply “−1” in slot n+1. Specifically, for example, a DCI field, which may be exemplified as an OCC index, may exist as 1 bit, and if a bit of the field is 0, an OCC sequence may indicate (1, 1), and if the bit is 1, the OCC sequence may indicate (1,−1) or (−1, 1).), or a fourth parameter that indicates one or more repetition types associated with repeating uplink data associated with the PUSCH transmission ([0295]: one of PUSCH repetition type A transmission and PUSCH repetition type B transmission may be configured for a UE through higher layer signaling.).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein to receive the second signaling, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0088]: the base station may transfer the configuration information to the UE through higher layer signaling, e.g., radio resource control (RRC) signaling.), a downlink control information (DCI) message ([0494]: in order to apply an OCC scheme as illustrated in FIG. 25, the base station may indicate, in advance, to the UEs through a higher-layer signal (higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)) or an L1 signal (e.g., DCI), an OCC sequence value to be applied for each slot, during repeated PUSCH transmissions.), or a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims) that indicates the one or more parameters.
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein to receive the second signaling, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a plurality of parameters comprising the one or more parameters ([0088]: the base station may transfer the configuration information to the UE through higher layer signaling, e.g., radio resource control (RRC) signaling.); and receive a downlink control information (DCI) message or medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that activates the one or more parameters ([0240] PUSCH transmission may be dynamically scheduled by a UL grant inside DCI, or operated by means of configured grant (CG) Type 1 or Type 2. Dynamic scheduling indication regarding PUSCH transmission may be made by DCI format 0_0 or 0_1. Accordingly, the dynamic scheduling of the PUSCH by DCI activates the one or more parameters associated with the PUSCH.).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to (Fig. 42, [0610]: the UE includes a processor 4205 and may also include memory. The receiver 4200 and the transmitter 4210, the memory, and the processor 4205 may operate according to the described communication methods of the UE.):
receive first signaling that schedules a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission comprising a transport block (TB) over a plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0604]: in step 4103, during PUSCH scheduling, the base station may notify the UE whether OCC is applied through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal. Fig. 36, [0564]: FIG. 36 illustrates a method for applying OCC by a UE in a situation where TBoMS and repeated transmissions are applied, according to an embodiment. [0565]: referring to FIG. 36, a difference from FIG. 35 may be that, when a UE maps a TB to a PUSCH, one TB is mapped to PUSCHs included in 4 different slots according to FIG. 34. In addition, FIG. 36 may assume that the number of slots for which TBoMS is configured is 4, and the number of repeated transmissions is 2. That is, one TB is included in each of the PUSCHs in the 4 slots and transmitted, and since the transmission is repeated twice, a total of 8 slots may be required.);
receive second signaling that indicates one or more parameters associated with at least one orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (Fig. 41, [0603]: in step 4102, the base station provides higher-layer signal information related to OCC to the UE in which the base station provides OCC-related signaling configuration information to the UE. [0499]: in order for the UE to determine whether to perform OCC-based PUSCH transmission, the base station may provide relevant information to the UE through a higher-layer signal, an L1 signal, or a combination thereof. The UE may determine whether an OCC sequence is applied to a PUSCH transmitted by the UE through reception of the corresponding information. In addition, specific OCC sequence information may be provided to the UE through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal, and the UE may be able to determine an OCC sequence size or an OCC sequence type through the provided information. Alternatively, the base station may implicitly indicate to the UE whether OCC-based PUSCH transmission is performed, through other information, and likewise, may implicitly indicate OCC sequence information or an OCC sequence size or type.);
apply the at least one OCC sequence to the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the one or more parameters, wherein the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for respective symbols of respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.), the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective slots of the plurality of slots, or both (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying an OCC scheme determined by higher-layer signaling and L1 signal of the base station. [0530]: in an OCC spreading step, as illustrated in FIG. 28, the first UE may sequentially arrange two identical pieces of data a1 in terms of frequency resources and apply an OCC sequence of (1, 1) to the first a1 and the second a1, respectively (2800). Fig. 38, [0575]: FIG. 38 illustrates a method for applying TBoMS and OCC during repeated PUSCH transmissions according to an embodiment. [0576]: referring to FIG. 38, similarly to FIG. 36, the number of slots to which TBoMS is applied is 4, the number of TB repeated transmissions is 2, and an OCC sequence length is 2. In FIG. 36, the slots to which one TB is mapped according to TBoMS are consecutive, while FIG. 38 illustrates a case where mapping is non-consecutive. That is, the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the first TB transmission are slots 3810, 3812, 3814, and 3816, and the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the second TB transmission are slots 3811, 3813, 3815, and 3817.); and
transmit the PUSCH transmission during the plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE may transmit the corresponding PUSCH.).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving first signaling that schedules a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission comprising a transport block (TB) over a plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0604]: in step 4103, during PUSCH scheduling, the base station may notify the UE whether OCC is applied through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal. Fig. 36, [0564]: FIG. 36 illustrates a method for applying OCC by a UE in a situation where TBoMS and repeated transmissions are applied, according to an embodiment. [0565]: referring to FIG. 36, a difference from FIG. 35 may be that, when a UE maps a TB to a PUSCH, one TB is mapped to PUSCHs included in 4 different slots according to FIG. 34. In addition, FIG. 36 may assume that the number of slots for which TBoMS is configured is 4, and the number of repeated transmissions is 2. That is, one TB is included in each of the PUSCHs in the 4 slots and transmitted, and since the transmission is repeated twice, a total of 8 slots may be required.);
receiving second signaling that indicates one or more parameters associated with at least one orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (Fig. 41, [0603]: in step 4102, the base station provides higher-layer signal information related to OCC to the UE in which the base station provides OCC-related signaling configuration information to the UE. [0499]: in order for the UE to determine whether to perform OCC-based PUSCH transmission, the base station may provide relevant information to the UE through a higher-layer signal, an L1 signal, or a combination thereof. The UE may determine whether an OCC sequence is applied to a PUSCH transmitted by the UE through reception of the corresponding information. In addition, specific OCC sequence information may be provided to the UE through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal, and the UE may be able to determine an OCC sequence size or an OCC sequence type through the provided information. Alternatively, the base station may implicitly indicate to the UE whether OCC-based PUSCH transmission is performed, through other information, and likewise, may implicitly indicate OCC sequence information or an OCC sequence size or type.);
applying the at least one OCC sequence to the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the one or more parameters, wherein the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for respective symbols of respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.), the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective slots of the plurality of slots, or both (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying an OCC scheme determined by higher-layer signaling and L1 signal of the base station. [0530]: in an OCC spreading step, as illustrated in FIG. 28, the first UE may sequentially arrange two identical pieces of data a1 in terms of frequency resources and apply an OCC sequence of (1, 1) to the first a1 and the second a1, respectively (2800). Fig. 38, [0575]: FIG. 38 illustrates a method for applying TBoMS and OCC during repeated PUSCH transmissions according to an embodiment. [0576]: referring to FIG. 38, similarly to FIG. 36, the number of slots to which TBoMS is applied is 4, the number of TB repeated transmissions is 2, and an OCC sequence length is 2. In FIG. 36, the slots to which one TB is mapped according to TBoMS are consecutive, while FIG. 38 illustrates a case where mapping is non-consecutive. That is, the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the first TB transmission are slots 3810, 3812, 3814, and 3816, and the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the second TB transmission are slots 3811, 3813, 3815, and 3817.); and
transmitting the PUSCH transmission during the plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE may transmit the corresponding PUSCH.).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication (Fig. 43, [0616]: the base station includes a receiver 4300, a transmitter 4310, and a processor 4305 (or controller).), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE to ([0617]: the transmitter 4300, the receiver 4310, the memory, and the processor 4305 may operate according to the described communication methods of the base station.):
transmit first signaling that schedules a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission comprising a transport block (TB) over a plurality of slots(Fig. 41, [0604]: in step 4103, during PUSCH scheduling, the base station may notify the UE whether OCC is applied through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal. Fig. 36, [0564]: FIG. 36 illustrates a method for applying OCC by a UE in a situation where TBoMS and repeated transmissions are applied, according to an embodiment. [0565]: referring to FIG. 36, a difference from FIG. 35 may be that, when a UE maps a TB to a PUSCH, one TB is mapped to PUSCHs included in 4 different slots according to FIG. 34. In addition, FIG. 36 may assume that the number of slots for which TBoMS is configured is 4, and the number of repeated transmissions is 2. That is, one TB is included in each of the PUSCHs in the 4 slots and transmitted, and since the transmission is repeated twice, a total of 8 slots may be required.);
transmit second signaling that indicates one or more parameters associated with applying at least one orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence to the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the one or more parameters (Fig. 41, [0603]: in step 4102, the base station provides higher-layer signal information related to OCC to the UE in which the base station provides OCC-related signaling configuration information to the UE. [0499]: in order for the UE to determine whether to perform OCC-based PUSCH transmission, the base station may provide relevant information to the UE through a higher-layer signal, an L1 signal, or a combination thereof. The UE may determine whether an OCC sequence is applied to a PUSCH transmitted by the UE through reception of the corresponding information. In addition, specific OCC sequence information may be provided to the UE through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal, and the UE may be able to determine an OCC sequence size or an OCC sequence type through the provided information. Alternatively, the base station may implicitly indicate to the UE whether OCC-based PUSCH transmission is performed, through other information, and likewise, may implicitly indicate OCC sequence information or an OCC sequence size or type.), wherein the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for respective symbols of respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.), the at least one OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective slots of the plurality of slots, or both (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying an OCC scheme determined by higher-layer signaling and L1 signal of the base station. [0530]: in an OCC spreading step, as illustrated in FIG. 28, the first UE may sequentially arrange two identical pieces of data a1 in terms of frequency resources and apply an OCC sequence of (1, 1) to the first a1 and the second a1, respectively (2800). Fig. 38, [0575]: FIG. 38 illustrates a method for applying TBoMS and OCC during repeated PUSCH transmissions according to an embodiment. [0576]: referring to FIG. 38, similarly to FIG. 36, the number of slots to which TBoMS is applied is 4, the number of TB repeated transmissions is 2, and an OCC sequence length is 2. In FIG. 36, the slots to which one TB is mapped according to TBoMS are consecutive, while FIG. 38 illustrates a case where mapping is non-consecutive. That is, the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the first TB transmission are slots 3810, 3812, 3814, and 3816, and the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the second TB transmission are slots 3811, 3813, 3815, and 3817.); and
receive the PUSCH transmission during the plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE may transmit the corresponding PUSCH to the base station.).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses all features of claim 18 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein uplink data associated with the PUSCH transmission is repeated on a plurality of frequency resources or time resources based at least in part on a length of the at least one OCC sequence and the at least one OCC sequence being applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective symbols of the respective slots of the plurality of slots ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.), the at least one OCC sequence being applied to the PUSCH transmission for the respective slots of the plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0606]: in step 4104, the UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying an OCC scheme determined by higher-layer signaling and L1 signal of the base station. [0530]: in an OCC spreading step, as illustrated in FIG. 28, the first UE may sequentially arrange two identical pieces of data a1 in terms of frequency resources and apply an OCC sequence of (1, 1) to the first a1 and the second a1, respectively (2800). Fig. 38, [0575]: FIG. 38 illustrates a method for applying TBoMS and OCC during repeated PUSCH transmissions according to an embodiment. [0576]: referring to FIG. 38, similarly to FIG. 36, the number of slots to which TBoMS is applied is 4, the number of TB repeated transmissions is 2, and an OCC sequence length is 2. In FIG. 36, the slots to which one TB is mapped according to TBoMS are consecutive, while FIG. 38 illustrates a case where mapping is non-consecutive. That is, the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the first TB transmission are slots 3810, 3812, 3814, and 3816, and the total of 4 slots to which TBoMS is applied for the second TB transmission are slots 3811, 3813, 3815, and 3817.).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses all features of claim 18 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein:
uplink data associated with at least one of the respective symbols of the plurality of slots or respective sets of symbols of the plurality of slots is repeated based at least in part on a length of the at least one OCC sequence ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length. When applying OCC spreading in the frequency domain, a UE may apply RB-level OCC spreading or RE-level OCC spreading as described with reference to FIG. 28. In the case of applying RE-level OCC, the OCC sequence length may need to be limited depending on the number of PUSCH RBs to which OCC spreading is applied. For example, when the number of scheduled PUSCH RBs is 1, the total number of REs included in 1 RB is 12. In this case, when the OCC sequence length is 2, information mapped to a total of 6 REs may be repeated twice, so that RE-level OCC may be applied.),;
the one or more parameters indicate to apply the at least one OCC sequence to the PUSCH transmission for the respective symbols of the respective slots of the plurality of slots (Fig. 41, [0604]: in step 4103, during PUSCH scheduling, the base station may notify the UE whether OCC is applied through a higher-layer signal or an L1 signal. Fig. 36, [0564]: FIG. 36 illustrates a method for applying OCC by a UE in a situation where TBoMS and repeated transmissions are applied, according to an embodiment.);
the PUSCH transmission comprises a plurality of repetitions of the uplink data associated with the respective symbols or the respective sets of symbols (([0494]: in order to apply an OCC scheme as illustrated in FIG. 25, the base station may indicate, in advance, to the UEs through a higher-layer signal (higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)) or an L1 signal (e.g., DCI), an OCC sequence value to be applied for each slot, during repeated PUSCH transmissions. ([0599]: in general, in order to apply OCC spreading, the same information (or modulated symbols) may be repeated as many times as an OCC sequence length.); and
the plurality of repetitions are associated with resource blocks in a frequency domain ([0269]: the inter-slot frequency hopping method supported in PUSCH repetition type A and type B transmissions is a method in which the UE transmits allocated resources in the frequency domain, after changing the same by a configured frequency offset, in each slot.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Tran et al. (US 2023/0284233 A1)(hereinafter “Tran”).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Park also discloses wherein a slot offset [is] associated with the plurality of slots (Page 35, Table 33: the network indicates in the DCI field of the UL grant, which of the configured report slot offsets the UE shall apply.)… and respective redundancy versions associated with the plurality of slots are a same value ([0573]: redundancy version (RV) values may also be cyclically applied for each slot group to which OCC spreading is applied, rather than for each slot, depending on an OCC sequence length. Therefore, the same RV value may be applied to slots within each slot group, and RV values may be cyclically applied for each slot group. [0565]: when the transmission is repeated twice, RV values applied to the PUSCHs may be different if OCC is not applied, but, if OCC is applied, the same RV value needs to be applied. This is because the number of repeated transmissions with the same RV value may need to match the number of OCC sequences.). Although Park discloses use of a slot offset associated with the plurality of slots, Park fails to specifically disclose wherein the slot offset associated with the plurality of slots is zero. However, Tran discloses wherein a slot offset associated with the plurality of slots is zero ([0122]: In a variation 1.6, the plurality of portions are transmitted or received in a same slot as the single DCI when the slot offsets are 0 (i.e., same-slot scheduling).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the slot offset associated with the plurality of slots, as taught by Park, to a value of zero, as taught by Tran. Doing so allows for a more efficient allocation of network resources for communication between the UE and the network element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shah et al. (US 2026/0039337 A1) – Techniques For Orthogonal Cover Coding With Transport Blocks Over Multiple Slots and Resource Unit Allocation.
Chatterjee et al. (WO 2025170677 A1) – Orthogonal Cover Codes For PUSCH Repetition.
Park et al. (US 2025/0240136 A1) – Method and Apparatus For Transmission and Reception Of Data Information In Satellite Communication System.
Ma et al. (US 2025/0105955 A1) – Transport Block Size Calculation For Orthogonal Cover Coding and Sub-Physical-Resource-Block Allocation For Physical Uplink Shared Channel.
Ma et al. (US 20250055747 A1) – Frequency Domain Orthogonal Cover Code Based Uplink Shared Channel Multiplexing.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463