DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-11 and 13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lyu (US Publication 2026/0074848 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 16-17, Lyu (US Publication 2026/0074848 A1) teaches, a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see terminal 1 or terminal 1 in figure 8), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see figure 13, memory 1320 and processor 1310) and configured to cause the UE to: receive signaling that indicates one or more parameters associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (see terminal 1 or terminal 1 in figure 8 at step s801 and see paragraph 187; in step s810 terminals 1 and 2 receive configuration or an OCC set from NTN; see steps s820 and s830; see paragraphs 188 and 189; In step S820, the NTN configures the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 and terminal device 2 via DCI. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 is 2, and the number of repetitions for terminal device 2 is 4; In step S830, the NTN indicates an OCC index via a DCI field. The DCI field may further indicate a code sequence and an offset relative to the initial transmission); apply the OCC sequence to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission based at least in part on the one or more parameters, wherein: the OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for a symbol; the PUSCH transmission comprises a repetition of uplink data; and the uplink data is repeated on a plurality of frequency resources associated with the symbol; and transmit the PUSCH transmission (all the steps after apply are implied by steps s840 and s850 and paragraphs 190-191; In step S840, terminal device 2 performs the scheduled four repetitions, namely, repetition transmission 1 to repetition transmission 4. Therein, only repetition transmission 2 and repetition transmission 3 are transmitted using the OCC sequence from the OCC configuration; In step S850, terminal device 1 performs the scheduled two repetitions based on the OCC configuration, namely, repetition transmission 1 and repetition transmission 2).
In regards to claim 2, Lyu teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to repeat, based at least in part on a length of the OCC sequence and a numerical quantity of resource elements allocated to the UE, the uplink data on a plurality of resource elements within respective resource blocks, wherein the plurality of frequency resources comprise the plurality of resource elements (see paragraph 176; the first uplink transmission includes PUSCH repetition transmissions, the repetition transmissions may be a portion of the total PUSCH repetitions. That is, a network device may schedule only a portion of the PUSCH repetition transmissions from the first terminal device to share a specific resource with other terminal devices. For an OCC with scheduled repetition transmissions, configuration information from a network device may pertain only to a portion of the repetition transmissions on a multiplexed resource, which facilitates a more flexible application of the OCC for multiplexing).
In regards to claim 3, Lyu teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to repeat, based at least in part on a length of the OCC sequence and a numerical quantity of resource blocks allocated to the UE, the uplink data on a plurality of resource blocks, wherein the plurality of frequency resources comprise the plurality of resource blocks (see paragraph 65; retransmission resources for the PUSCH may be dynamically scheduled via the PDCCH, or be triggered by configuring a retransmission timer. The retransmission of the PUSCH may correspond to different numbers R of repetition transmissions, for example, R={2, 4, 8, 16, 20}. A smaller number of repetition transmissions typically implies a higher operating signal-to-noise Ratio (SNR), and vice versa; also see paragraphs 80-81 for the transport block size determination).
In regards to claim 4, Lye teaches, wherein: the repetition of the uplink data corresponds to respective consecutive sets of frequency resources based at least in part on the one or more parameters indicating a first repetition type (see paragraph 116; the plurality of frequency-domain units to which the OCC sequence set is applied may be consecutive, which facilitates resource allocation and indication); or respective portions of the repetition of the uplink data correspond to respective consecutive sets of frequency resources based at least in part on the one or more parameters indicating a second repetition type (see paragraph 137; the plurality of pieces of information may be used to determine a PUSCH resource allocation, wherein the mapping type A/B is used to determine different allocation results; Type A and Type B read on the different types of frequency resources).
In regards to claim 7, Lyu teaches, wherein the PUSCH transmission is associated with a plurality of symbols comprising the symbol, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply the OCC sequence to respective PUSCH transmissions associated with the plurality of symbols (see paragraph 122 and figures 5-6; In FIG. 5, the two time-domain units corresponding to OCC2(2) are consecutive symbols #3 and #4, whereas in FIG. 6, the two time-domain units corresponding to OCC2(2) are non-consecutive symbols #2 and #4).
In regards to claim 10, Lyu teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to determine, based at least in part on a length of the OCC sequence, a transport block size (TBS) associated with the PUSCH transmission (see paragraphs 125, 126 &127; As a further example, the TBS or the number of coded bits from the circular buffer may be divided by the spreading factor. Exemplarily, the TBS is a quotient of an initial TBS size and the spreading factor. When the spreading factor is N.sub.SF, a formula for the calculation of the TBS may be N.sub.info=N.sub.RE.Math.R.Math.Q.sub.m.Math.v/N.sub.SF. Exemplarily, when the spreading factor is N.sub.SF, the number of coded bits to be retrieved from the circular buffer may be N.sub.RE.Math.Q.sub.m.Math.v/N.sub.SF; In some embodiments, when the first TB is transmitted on a first resource, the spreading factor is determined based on a length of the OCC sequence set and/or the number of terminal devices multiplexing the first resource. The length of the OCC sequence set is as described above.; As an example, the spreading factor is equal to the number of terminal devices multiplexing the first resource or the length of the OCC sequence set.).
In regards to claim 11, Lyu teaches, wherein the one or more parameters indicate a transport block size (TBS) associated with the PUSCH transmission (see the TBS formula under paragraph 80).
In regards to claim 13, Lyu teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to repeat, based at least in part on a length of at least one additional OCC sequence (Lyu paragraph 192; the OCC sequence set of a length of 2 is used only for the second and third repetition transmissions from terminal device 2, whereas the two scheduled repetitions of terminal device 1 are entirely covered by the OCC), the uplink data on a plurality of time resources comprising the symbol, and wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of a first parameter that indicates two types of OCC sequences are enabled or disabled (Lyu paragraph 141; the second information may be information for enabling or disabling a control function for an OCC feature of the first terminal device. Exemplarily, a control function for the OCC feature of the first terminal device may be enabled or disabled via radio resource control (RRC)), a second parameter that indicates a length of the OCC sequence (Lyu see paragraph 104; a length of the OCC sequence set may also indicate the number of mutually orthogonal OCC sequences within the set), a third parameter that indicates the length of the at least one additional OCC sequence (Lyu see paragraphs 72, 75 and 76; the OCC may be a set of Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequences. ZC sequences are sequences with good orthogonality. Specifically, different orthogonal codes may be acquired by selecting different root indexes and sequence lengths for the ZC sequences; an OCC based on a length-2 Hadamard matrix is: UE=[x(0) x(1)], wherein UE1=[1, 1] and UE2=[1, −1]; Exemplarily, the OCC sequences based on a length-4 Hadamard matrix may be designed as listed in Table 1); a fourth parameter that indicates an index of the OCC sequence in a list of OCC sequences (Lyu paragraph 133; an OCC sequence set and an index indication, and the first terminal device may determine its corresponding first OCC sequence from a plurality of OCC sequences based on the index indication), a fifth parameter that indicates an index of the at least one additional OCC sequence in the list of OCC sequences (see Lyu paragraph 180; The offset index may also be referred to as an offset slot index. Exemplarily, an offset index index.sub.offset is introduced, wherein the offset index may indicate a position of a PUSCH repetition transmission, at which the first terminal device commences use of the first OCC sequence, relative to an initial PUSCH transmission), or a sixth parameter that indicates one or more repetition types associated with repeating the uplink data (Lyu paragraph 136; a PUSCH repetition type; a mapping type (mapping type A/B)).
In regards to claim 18, Lyu teaches, A network equipment (NE) for wireless communication (see NTN in figure 8), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see figure 13, processor 1310 and memory 1320) and configured to cause the NE to: transmit signaling that indicates one or more parameters associated with applying an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (see terminal 1 or terminal 1 in figure 8 at step s801 and see paragraph 187; in step s810 terminals 1 and 2 receive configuration or an OCC set from NTN; see steps s820 and s830; see paragraphs 188 and 189; In step S820, the NTN configures the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 and terminal device 2 via DCI. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 is 2, and the number of repetitions for terminal device 2 is 4; In step S830, the NTN indicates an OCC index via a DCI field. The DCI field may further indicate a code sequence and an offset relative to the initial transmission), wherein: the OCC sequence is applied to the PUSCH transmission for a symbol; the PUSCH transmission comprises a repetition of uplink data; and the uplink data is repeated on a plurality of frequency resources associated with the symbol; and receive the PUSCH transmission all the steps after apply are implied by steps s840 and s850 and paragraphs 190-191; In step S840, terminal device 2 performs the scheduled four repetitions, namely, repetition transmission 1 to repetition transmission 4. Therein, only repetition transmission 2 and repetition transmission 3 are transmitted using the OCC sequence from the OCC configuration; In step S850, terminal device 1 performs the scheduled two repetitions based on the OCC configuration, namely, repetition transmission 1 and repetition transmission 2).
In regards to claim 19, Lyu teaches, the uplink data is repeated on a plurality of resource elements within respective resource blocks based at least in part on a length of the OCC sequence and a numerical quantity of resource elements allocated to a user equipment (UE) associated with the PUSCH transmission; and the plurality of frequency resources comprise the plurality of resource elements (see paragraph 176; the first uplink transmission includes PUSCH repetition transmissions, the repetition transmissions may be a portion of the total PUSCH repetitions. That is, a network device may schedule only a portion of the PUSCH repetition transmissions from the first terminal device to share a specific resource with other terminal devices. For an OCC with scheduled repetition transmissions, configuration information from a network device may pertain only to a portion of the repetition transmissions on a multiplexed resource, which facilitates a more flexible application of the OCC for multiplexing).
In regards to claim 20, Lyu teaches, wherein: the uplink data is repeated on a plurality of resource blocks based at least in part on a length of the OCC sequence and a numerical quantity of resource blocks allocated to a user equipment (UE) associated with the PUSCH transmission; and the plurality of frequency resources comprise the plurality of resource blocks (see paragraph 65; retransmission resources for the PUSCH may be dynamically scheduled via the PDCCH, or be triggered by configuring a retransmission timer. The retransmission of the PUSCH may correspond to different numbers R of repetition transmissions, for example, R={2, 4, 8, 16, 20}. A smaller number of repetition transmissions typically implies a higher operating signal-to-noise Ratio (SNR), and vice versa; also see paragraphs 80-81 for the transport block size determination).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu further in view of Ma et al. (US Publication 2025/0055747 A1).
In regards to claims 5-6, Lyu teaches all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
However, Lye fails to teach, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) to the PUSCH transmission associated with the symbol after applying the OCC sequence and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) to the PUSCH transmission associated with the symbol before applying the OCC sequence.
MA et al. (US Publication 2025/0055747 A1) however teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) to the PUSCH transmission associated with the symbol after applying the OCC sequence (see paragraph 91; a resource mapping for the OCC sequence may be based at least in part on a chunk-based spreading, the new sequence may be generated for the given sequence of symbols where the chunk of symbols may be repeated a first quantity of times consecutively, the first quantity is based at least in part on a second quantity associated with a size of a DFT of a DFT spreader (which sometimes may be also called a transform precoder) and a third quantity associated with an OCC length, and the new sequence may be inputted to the DFT spreader. In some aspects, a resource mapping for the OCC sequence may be based at least in part on a sample-based spreading, the new sequence may be generated for the given sequence of symbols where each symbol may be repeated a quantity of times consecutively, the quantity may correspond to the OCC length, and the new sequence may be input to the discrete DFT spreader) and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) to the PUSCH transmission associated with the symbol before applying the OCC sequence (see paragraph 109; an OCC may be applied before a DFT spreading block. For example, an OCC spreading may occur before a DFT spreading and an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT)).
Lyu and Ma are both related to OCC sequences in PUSCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the DFT application as taught by Ma into the teachings of Lyu. The motivation to do so would be accommodate the demand for broadband access by improving the spectral efficiency.
In regards to claims 8-9, Lyu teaches all the limitation of the parent claims as stated above.
Lyu fails to teach, wherein the signaling corresponds to a group of UEs comprising the UE, and wherein the group of UEs is based at least in part on one or more of a signal quality threshold associated with respective UEs in the group of UEs and wherein the one or more parameters comprise different values for different groups of UEs.
Ma teaches, wherein the signaling corresponds to a group of UEs comprising the UE, and wherein the group of UEs is based at least in part on one or more of a signal quality threshold associated with respective UEs in the group of UEs (see paragraph 49; A channel processor may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) parameter, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) parameter, and/or a CQI parameter, among other examples) or a distance of the respective UEs in the group of UEs from a reference point and wherein the one or more parameters comprise different values for different groups of UEs (see paragraph 32; A macro cell may cover a relatively large geographic area (e.g., several kilometers in radius) and may allow unrestricted access by UEs 120 with service subscriptions. A pico cell may cover a relatively small geographic area and may allow unrestricted access by UEs 120 with service subscriptions. A femto cell may cover a relatively small geographic area (e.g., a home) and may allow restricted access by UEs 120 having association with the femto cell (e.g., UEs 120 in a closed subscriber group (CSG))).
Lyu and Ma are both related to OCC sequences in PUSCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the DFT application as taught by Ma into the teachings of Lyu. The motivation to do so would be accommodate the demand for broadband access by improving the spectral efficiency.
In regards to claim 12, Lyu teaches, wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of a first parameter that indicates applying the OCC sequence to the uplink data associated with the symbol is enabled or disabled (Lyu paragraph 141; the second information may be information for enabling or disabling a control function for an OCC feature of the first terminal device. Exemplarily, a control function for the OCC feature of the first terminal device may be enabled or disabled via radio resource control (RRC)), a third parameter that indicates a repetition type associated with repeating the uplink data (Lyu paragraph 136; a PUSCH repetition type; a mapping type (mapping type A/B)), a fourth parameter that indicates a length of the OCC sequence (Lyu see paragraph 104; a length of the OCC sequence set may also indicate the number of mutually orthogonal OCC sequences within the set), a fifth parameter that indicates an index of the OCC sequence in a list of OCC sequences (Lyu paragraph 133; an OCC sequence set and an index indication, and the first terminal device may determine its corresponding first OCC sequence from a plurality of OCC sequences based on the index indication), or a sixth parameter that indicates a frequency domain resource allocation (Lyu see paragraph 116; the plurality of frequency-domain units to which the OCC sequence set is applied may be consecutive, which facilitates resource allocation and indication).
In further regards to claim 12, Lyu fails to teach, a second parameter that indicates for the UE to apply the OCC sequence to the uplink data before applying a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) or after applying the DFT.
Ma however teaches, a second parameter that indicates for the UE to apply the OCC sequence to the uplink data before applying a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) or after applying the DFT (see paragraph 82; The OCC sequence may be associated with a vector of a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) matrix).
Lyu and Ma are both related to OCC sequences in PUSCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the DFT application as taught by Ma into the teachings of Lyu. The motivation to do so would be accommodate the demand for broadband access by improving the spectral efficiency.
In regards to claim 14, Lyu teaches, , wherein to receive the signaling, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message (see paragraphs 187, 188, 189; Referring to FIG. 8, in step S810, terminal device 1 and terminal device 2 receive configuration of an OCC set from the NTN. Herein, the OCC set is an OCC sequence set. The NTN may perform the transmission via RRC signaling; In step S820, the NTN configures the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 and terminal device 2 via DCI. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 is 2, and the number of repetitions for terminal device 2 is 4; In step S830, the NTN indicates an OCC index via a DCI field. The DCI field may further indicate a code sequence and an offset relative to the initial transmission).
However Lyu fails to teach, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that indicates the one or more parameters.
Ma teaches, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that indicates the one or more parameters (see paragraph 80; The UE may receive, from the network node, the configuration via a MAC control element (MAC-CE), RRC signaling, or downlink control information (DCI)).
Lyu and Ma are both related to OCC sequences in PUSCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the DFT application as taught by Ma into the teachings of Lyu. The motivation to do so would be accommodate the demand for broadband access by improving the spectral efficiency.
In regards to claim 15, Lyu teaches, wherein to receive the signaling, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates a plurality of parameters comprising the one or more parameters; and receive a downlink control information (DCI) message (see paragraphs 187, 188, 189; Referring to FIG. 8, in step S810, terminal device 1 and terminal device 2 receive configuration of an OCC set from the NTN. Herein, the OCC set is an OCC sequence set. The NTN may perform the transmission via RRC signaling; In step S820, the NTN configures the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 and terminal device 2 via DCI. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the number of repetitions for terminal device 1 is 2, and the number of repetitions for terminal device 2 is 4).
Lyu however fails to teach, medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that activates the one or more parameters.
Ma however teaches, medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that activates the one or more parameters (see paragraph 84; The indication may include a row index of the table to indicate the OCC sequence. The network node may transmit the indication via the MAC-CE).
Lyu and Ma are both related to OCC sequences in PUSCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the DFT application as taught by Ma into the teachings of Lyu. The motivation to do so would be accommodate the demand for broadband access by improving the spectral efficiency.
Relevant Prior Art
Prior art Lim et al. (US Publication 2025/0055581 A1) teaches, PUSCH Repeated Transmission Types A and B (see paragraphs 308-311; paragraphs 312-321; see figure 13).
Prior art Talarico et al. (US Publication 2019/0372719 A1) teaches a design of a DCI for wideband coverage enhancement (see figures 6-7).
Conclusion
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466