DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al (2025/0259627).
Consider claims 1, 10 and 19, Martin et al teach method, system and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: receiving audio data of a virtual meeting (par. 0029; 0041; “the automatic speech recognition module 520 can send and/or receive audio 527 and/or transcription 525 from a meeting 526”); identifying, within a plurality of content items related to the virtual meeting, content not previously recognized by a speech recognition system designated to convert the audio data of the virtual meeting into text (par. 0038; “identifying, by the device, a subset of the unrecognized words for boosting and applying, by the device, a context-specific boosting to the subset of the unrecognized words within an automated speech recognition model when criteria, identified based on contextual data associated with the subset of the unrecognized words, are met within the audio from the communication session”; par. 0059; 0062; “a device detects unrecognized words within an automated transcript of audio from a communication session. In some implementations, detecting the unrecognized words may include identifying a portion of words in the automated transcript that do not exist within a precompiled large general lexicon as the unrecognized words”); causing the speech recognition system to be modified based on the previously unrecognized content (par. 0063-0064; “the device applies a context-specific boosting to the subset of the unrecognized words within an automated speech recognition model when criteria, identified based on contextual data associated with the subset of the unrecognized words, are met within the audio from the communication session”); and causing the audio data of the virtual meeting to be converted into the text using the modified speech recognition system, wherein the text comprises at least part of the previously unrecognized content (par. 0063-0064; “Applying the context-specific boosting to the subset of the unrecognized words can include causing the subset of the unrecognized words to appear more accurately in the automated transcript of the communication session based on communication session identification characteristics meeting the criteria”).
Consider claims 2, 11 and 20, Martin et al teach wherein the plurality of content items comprises at least one of: names of participants of the virtual meeting; documents related to the virtual meeting; text shared between participants of the virtual meeting; or documents associated with an organization of a participant of the virtual meeting (par. 0003; 0035; 0037; 0070; “the systems of the present disclosure may be able to generate more accurate text from speech, particularly with respect to company names, company jargon, industry-specific terms, slang terms, and/or technical terms, as well as handle accents of various speakers with various dialects and/or enunciations”).
Consider claims 4 and 13, Martin et a teach wherein causing the speech recognition system to be modified based on the previously unrecognized content comprises: generating one or more possible pronunciations for the previously unrecognized content; and adding the one or more possible pronunciations to a lexicon of the speech recognition system (par. 0003; 0035; “the recognition of personalized content, such as company names, company jargon, industry-specific terms, slang terms, etc., continues to be problematic for automatic speech recognition (ASR) systems, especially for end-to-end models. Incorporating contextual information into ASR systems may help to better recognize and transcribe spoken words, especially in cases where ambiguity or variability exist in the pronunciation of certain words or phrases. This can improve the overall accuracy and usability of speech recognition technology in various applications, such as virtual assistants, speech-to-text transcription, and automated call centers, among other applications”).
Consider claims 5 and 14, Martin et al teach wherein the speech recognition system comprises one or more machine learning models trained to convert speech data to corresponding text data (par. 0055; “For training an End-To-End Speech recognition model, a technique called sub-word tokenization can be employed to tokenize any words. Sub-word tokenization can be used in natural language processing (NLP) to break down words into smaller units called sub-word tokens”).
Consider claims 6 and 15, Martin et al teach wherein causing the speech recognition system to be modified based on the previously unrecognized content comprises: generating one or more possible pronunciations for the previously unrecognized content; generating training data comprising the one or more possible pronunciations as inputs and the previously unrecognized content as target output; and retraining a first machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models using the generated training data (par. 0055; “For training an End-To-End Speech recognition model”; par. 0037; “system that includes a lexicon-free ASR module, a general lexicon module, a proposer module and a context enhancer module that are capable of learning subset of words specific to each context of use to improve the overall accuracy and usability of speech recognition technology across various applications. As described in further detail, herein, such a system can be regularly updated according to changes in the linguistic patterns of the users. As a result, the systems of the present disclosure may be able to generate more accurate text from speech, particularly with respect to company names, company jargon, industry-specific terms, slang terms, and/or technical terms, as well as handle accents of various speakers with various dialects and/or enunciations”).
Consider claims 7 and 16, Martin et al teach wherein causing the speech recognition system to be modified based on the previously unrecognized content comprises: generating one or more possible pronunciations for the previously unrecognized content; generating training data comprising the one or more possible pronunciations as inputs and the previously unrecognized content as target output; training a new machine learning model using the generated training data to recognize the previously unrecognized content; and adding the new machine learning model to the one or more machine learning models of the speech recognition system (par. 0037; “system that includes a lexicon-free ASR module, a general lexicon module, a proposer module and a context enhancer module that are capable of learning subset of words specific to each context of use to improve the overall accuracy and usability of speech recognition technology across various applications. As described in further detail, herein, such a system can be regularly updated according to changes in the linguistic patterns of the users. As a result, the systems of the present disclosure may be able to generate more accurate text from speech, particularly with respect to company names, company jargon, industry-specific terms, slang terms, and/or technical terms, as well as handle accents of various speakers with various dialects and/or enunciations”; par. 0046; “the production ASR module 524 can generate live transcripts, for example of a meeting or other voice activity. In addition, a secondary ASR module, e.g., the lexicon-free ASR 540 is also provided in the system 500”; par. 0055; “For training an End-To-End Speech recognition model”;).
Consider claims 8 and 17, Martin et al teach wherein causing the speech recognition system to be modified based on the previously unrecognized content comprises providing a representation of the previously unrecognized content to at least a first machine learning model of the one or more machine learning models (par. 0035-0038; “the recognition of personalized content, such as company names, company jargon, industry-specific terms, slang terms, etc., continues to be problematic for automatic speech recognition (ASR) systems, especially for end-to-end models”; “automatic personalization for speech recognition systems is provided by a method that includes detecting, by a device, unrecognized words within an automated transcript of audio from a communication session and associating, by the device, the unrecognized words with corresponding contextual data. The method further includes identifying, by the device, a subset of the unrecognized words for boosting and applying, by the device, a context-specific boosting to the subset of the unrecognized words within an automated speech recognition model when criteria, identified based on contextual data associated with the subset of the unrecognized words, are met within the audio from the communication session”).
Consider claims 9 and 18, Martin et al teach wherein the text from causing the audio data of the virtual meeting to be converted using the modified speech recognition system is at least one of: live captions visible during the virtual meeting; a transcription of the virtual meeting; or a summary of the virtual meeting generated using one or more machine learning models (par. 0045; “The automatic speech recognition module 520 can be responsible for the automatic transcription of live meetings or other scenarios in which voice activity is being recorded or monitored”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al (2025/0259627) in view of Liang et al (12,518,748).
Consider claims 3 and 12, Martin et al suggested of sharing presentation. Martin et al did not explicitly suggest wherein an image is shared during the virtual meeting, and wherein the plurality of content items comprises text derived from processing the image using optical character recognition. In the same field of endeavor, Liang et al suggest of such (col. 4 lines 54-67; “system performs content extraction (e.g., optical character recognition (OCR)) to the captured screens (e.g., meeting content) for ASR (automated speech recognition) improvement. For example, the media service system uses OCR to identify one or more terms and uses the one or more identified terms to improve speech recognition and meeting transcriptions”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Liang et al into view of Martin et al to improve speech recognition and meeting transcriptions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.) Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Quoc D Tran/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
March 18, 2026