DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to US App. 18/798,635. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP: Technical Specification Group Services and Systems Aspects; Study on Multi-Access (DualSteer and ATSSS_Ph4), Rel. 19, TR 23.700-54 v1.0.0, June 2024 (hereafter TR23.700-54; included in IDS) in view of 3GPP: Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; 5G System; Access Traffic Steering, Switching and Splitting (ATSSS); Stage 3 (Rel. 18); TS 24.193, v18.6.0, June 2024 (hereafter TS24.193; included in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1,
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
transmitting a request to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session over a first wireless network; receiving, from the first wireless network, information for … measurement for the first PDU session [TR23.700-54: p. 92; Sec. 6.1.15.1.1; the policy from the HPLMN includes the policies provided to the UE of Dual Steer Device and the policies provided to the NF within the network; Single-USIM DualSteer UE: a UE part of a DualSteer device that connects to a single 3GPP access network; the combination of two single-USIM DualSteer Ues as part of a DualSteer device allows the DualSteer device to transmit data simultaneously over two 3GPP access networks; the Dual Steer device can be provided with a combination of the following policies related to the registration of the Secondary SUFI … only when primary 3GPP access is below a certain SINR/RSRP/RSSI threshold (similar to the mechanism defined in clause 23.6 in TS 36.300 [24]); p. 94; based on DualSteer simultaneous transmission policy, switch to the other 3GPP access if the current 3GPP access status meets the condition of DualSteer traffic switching; when the PCF generates the policy for DualSteer traffic switching, the PCF shall determine whether simultaneous transmission is allowed or not based on operator policy and the DualSteer Device capability (whether simultaneous transmission is allowed or not) if provided by the Dual Steer Device];
determining to perform the PMF measurement based on the information; performing the PMF measurement to obtain a parameter associated with the PMF measurement [TR23.700-54; parameter associated with the PMF measurement == RTT measurement by using PMF message; p. 25; Sec. 6.1.2.1; when "Smallest Delay" is used the UE and Anchor UPF performs RTT measurement by using PMF message via different 3GPP Access; Fig. 6.1.2.2-1; Sec. 6.1.2.2; the UE1/UE2 and Anchor UFF perform the DualSteer based on the received DualSteer rules as follows: for uplink traffic, the DualSteer Device evaluates the DualSteer rule to determine which 3GPP Access is used and then forwards the uplink traffic via this 3GPP Access];
determining that … satisfies at least one criterion; and in response to determining that … satisfies the at least one criterion, transmitting a request to establish a second PDU session over a second wireless network [TR23.700-54: p. 92; the Dual Steer device can be provided with a combination of the following policies related to the registration of the Secondary SUFI … only when primary 3GPP access is below a certain SINR/RSRP/RSSI threshold (similar to the mechanism defined in clause 23.6 in TS 36.300 [24]); p. 94; based on DualSteer simultaneous transmission policy, switch to the other 3GPP access if the current 3GPP access status meets the condition of DualSteer traffic switching; when the PCF generates the policy for DualSteer traffic switching, the PCF shall determine whether simultaneous transmission is allowed or not based on operator policy and the DualSteer Device capability (whether simultaneous transmission is allowed or not) if provided by the Dual Steer Device].
However, TR23.700-54 does not teach information for triggering a performance management function (PMF) measurement … determining that the parameter satisfies at least one criterion.
TS24.193 teaches:
receiving, from the first wireless network, information for triggering a performance management function (PMF) measurement for the first PDU session [TS24.193: p. 29; Sec. 5.4.1; performance measurement function protocol (PMFP) procedures are performed between a performance measurement function (PMF) in a UE and a PMF in the UPF; the following UE-initiated PMFP procedures are specified: a) UE-initiated RTT measurement procedure; and b) access availability or unavailability report procedure; c) UE-initiated PLR measurement procedure … the following UPF-initiated PMFP procedures are specified: a) UPF-initiated RTT measurement procedure; b) UPF-initiated PLR measurement procedure …];
determining that the parameter satisfies at least one criterion; and in response to determining that the parameter satisfies the at least one criterion, transmitting a request to establish a second PDU session over a second wireless network [TS24.193: p. 20; Sec. 5.2.6; when the UE receives the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT ACCEPT message including the ATSSS container IE as specified in clause 6.4.1.3 of 3GPP TS 24.501 [6] over the access, the UE shall consider that the requested PDU session is established as an MA PDU session (multi-access PDU) and the user plane resources are established on this access; when the UE at a later point in time registers over the other access, either in the same PLMN or in a different PLMN, the UE shall initiate the UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure with the same PDU session ID as specified in clause 6.4.1.2 of 3GPP TS 24.501 [6] over the other access in order to establish user plane resources on the other access for the MA PDU session; p. 56; the UE and the UPF use the provided threshold values on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access as follows: A) for the load balancing steering mode … if the maximum RTT value or the maximum packet loss rate value of the MA PDU session in an access exceeds the indicated value, the UE and the UPF reduce the amount of traffic sent over that access and they send traffic over the other access; if the maximum RTT value or the maximum packet loss rate value in an access of the MA PDU session exceeds the indicated value, the UE and the UPF may send some traffic over the other access, i.e. the UE splits the SDF traffic over both the access with high priority and the access with low priority].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23.700-54 and TS24.193 so that at any given time,
the MA PDU session can have user-plane resources established on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access [TS24.193: p. 11; Sec. 4.2].
Regarding Claim 2,
further comprising: receiving, from the first wireless network, criterion information indicative of the at least one criterion [TR23.700-54: p. 92; the Dual Steer device can be provided with a combination of the following policies related to the registration of the Secondary SUFI … only when primary 3GPP access is below a certain SINR/RSRP/RSSI threshold (similar to the mechanism defined in clause 23.6 in TS 36.300 [24])].
Regarding Claim 3,
wherein: the information comprises at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold, or signal-to-interference ratio (SINR) threshold; and the at least one criterion is a Round-Trip Time (RTT) threshold and/or a Packet Loss Rate (PLR) threshold [TR23.700-54: p. 92; the Dual Steer device can be provided with a combination of the following policies related to the registration of the Secondary SUFI … only when primary 3GPP access is below a certain SINR/RSRP/RSSI threshold (similar to the mechanism defined in clause 23.6 in TS 36.300 [24])].
Regarding Claim 4,
wherein the parameter is associated with at least one of a round-trip time (RTT) or a packet loss rate (PLR) [TR23.700-54; p. 25; Sec. 6.1.2.1; when "Smallest Delay" is used the UE and Anchor UPF performs RTT measurement by using PMF message via different 3GPP Access].
Regarding Claim 5,
TR23.700-54 teaches that based on DualSteer simultaneous transmission policy, switch to the other 3GPP access if the current 3GPP access status meets the condition of DualSteer traffic switching [TR23.700-54: p. 94].
However, TR23.700-54 does not teach determining to perform the PMF measurement is further based on whether the second wireless network is available to the WTRU.
TS24.193 teaches:
wherein the determining to perform the PMF measurement is further based on whether the second wireless network is available to the WTRU [TS24.193: p. 29; Sec. 5.4.1; performance measurement function protocol (PMFP) procedures are performed between a performance measurement function (PMF) in a UE and a PMF in the UPF; the following UE-initiated PMFP procedures are specified: a) UE-initiated RTT measurement procedure; and b) access availability or unavailability report procedure; c) UE-initiated PLR measurement procedure; p. 71; Sec. 6.1.5.1; the measurement assistance information is defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] and it contains … an indicator to report the availability and unavailability of an access network].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23.700-54 and TS24.193 so that at any given time,
the MA PDU session can have user-plane resources established on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access [TS24.193: p. 11; Sec. 4.2].
Regarding Claim 6,
wherein the first wireless network and/or the second wireless network is any one of a fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR), Non-Terrestrial 5G NR, or Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) [TR23.700-54: p. 44; solution principles can apply to the scenarios 1, 2 and 5 below (copied from the FS_MASSS SID (SP-240467)): 1. two NR/5GC accesses in a single PLMN (HPLMN or VPLMN) with each access being NR TN or NR NTN].
Regarding Claim 7,
wherein the first wireless network and/or the second wireless network is any one of a Home-Public Land Mobile Network (H-PLMN), Visited-Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN), or Public Network Integrated-Non-Public Network (PNI-NPN) [TR23.700-54; p. 13; the DualSteer traffic switching across two 3GPP access networks belonging to the same PLMN (either HPLMN or VPLMN) or two different PLMNs or PLMN and PNI-NPN].
Regarding Claim 8,
TR23.700-54 teaches that when "Smallest Delay" is used the UE and Anchor UPF performs RTT measurement by using PMF message via different 3GPP Access [TR23.700-54: p. 25; Sec. 6.1.2.1].
However, TR23.700-54 does not teach that the information comprises a command to trigger the PMF measurement.
TS24.193 teaches:
wherein the information comprises a command to trigger the PMF measurement [TS24.193: p. 29; Sec. 5.4.1; performance measurement function protocol (PMFP) procedures are performed between a performance measurement function (PMF) in a UE and a PMF in the UPF; the following UE-initiated PMFP procedures are specified: a) UE-initiated RTT measurement procedure; and b) access availability or unavailability report procedure; c) UE-initiated PLR measurement procedure …].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23.700-54 and TS24.193 so that at any given time,
the MA PDU session can have user-plane resources established on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access [TS24.193: p. 11; Sec. 4.2].
Regarding Claim 9,
TR23.700-54 teaches that when "Smallest Delay" is used the UE and Anchor UPF performs RTT measurement by using PMF message via different 3GPP Access [TR23.700-54: p. 25; Sec. 6.1.2.1].
However, TR23.700-54 does not teach that receiving, from the first wireless network, a time duration for performing the PMF measurement.
TS24.193 teaches:
further comprising: receiving, from the first wireless network, a time duration for performing the PMF measurement [TS24.194: p. 36; Sec. 5.4.3.2; The UE shall start a timer T101 and shall send the one or more PMFP ECHO REQUEST messages over the access of the MA PDU session; p. 41; Sec. 5.4.6.2.1; start a timer T103 upon sending the PMFP PLR COUNT REQUEST message].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23.700-54 and TS24.193 so that at any given time,
the MA PDU session can have user-plane resources established on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access [TS24.193: p. 11; Sec. 4.2].
Regarding Claim 10,
TR23.700-54 teaches that when "Smallest Delay" is used the UE and Anchor UPF performs RTT measurement by using PMF message via different 3GPP Access [TR23.700-54: p. 25; Sec. 6.1.2.1].
However, TR23.700-54 does not teach that the first wireless network has initiated a network-side PMF measurement based on the information.
TS24.193 teaches:
further comprising: determining that the first wireless network has initiated a network-side PMF measurement based on the information [TS24.193: p. 29; Sec. 5.4.1; performance measurement function protocol (PMFP) procedures are performed between a performance measurement function (PMF) in a UE and a PMF in the UPF; … the following UPF-initiated PMFP procedures are specified: a) UPF-initiated RTT measurement procedure; b) UPF-initiated PLR measurement procedure …].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23.700-54 and TS24.193 so that at any given time,
the MA PDU session can have user-plane resources established on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access [TS24.193: p. 11; Sec. 4.2].
Regarding Claim 11,
TR23.700-54 teaches that when "Smallest Delay" is used the UE and Anchor UPF performs RTT measurement by using PMF message via different 3GPP Access [TR23.700-54: p. 25; Sec. 6.1.2.1].
However, TR23.700-54 does not teach that determining to perform the PMF measurement periodically based on the information.
TS24.193 teaches:
further comprising: determining to perform the PMF measurement periodically based on the information [TS24.193: p. 40; step 2: upon sending the PMFP PLR count request message, the UE starts counting the transmitted UL packets over the QoS flow; steps 5-7: the UE sends a PMFP PLR report request message to request the UPF to report the number of the counted UL packets and stops counting the transmitted UL packets over the QoS flow; if the UE intends to request the UPF to restart counting the UL packets, the DE can include an indication in the PMFP PLR report request message and restart counting the transmitted UL packets over the QoS flow; step 11: the UE calculates the UL packet loss rate based on the local counting result of the number of transmitted UL packets and the reported number of received UL packets included in the PMFP PLR report response message; step 18: same as step 11, if the UE restarts counting the transmitted UL packets as specified in step 7].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23.700-54 and TS24.193 so that at any given time,
the MA PDU session can have user-plane resources established on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access [TS24.193: p. 11; Sec. 4.2].
Regarding Claim 12,
wherein the PMF measurement is a first PMF measurement and the parameter is a first parameter, the method further comprising: performing a second PMF measurement for the second PDU session to obtain a second parameter associated with the second PMF measurement; compensating the first parameter and/or the second parameter based on a compensation value; and comparing the first parameter and the second parameter based on the compensation [TR23.700-54; p. 100; Sec. 6.1.15.2.3; when the triggers for DualSteer traffic switching, the DualSteer traffic switching policy is evaluated in the DualSteer Device for each PDU session; DualSteer Device determines to perform DualSteer traffic switching based on the DualSteer traffic switching policies specified in clause 6.1.15 and the current conditions of the DualSteer device (e.g. Primary/Secondary 3GPP access is available or not, current/other 3GPP access status); p. 97; when the conditions of the 3GPP accesses change (e.g. one 3GPP access becomes available/registered, one 3GPP access becomes unavailable), the value of the DualSteer traffic switching action associated to the PDU Sessions of the DualSteer device are evaluated, and taking in account the DualSteer simultaneous transmission policy for the DualSteer device, none, some, or all PDU Sessions are moved from one 3GPP access to another; p. 93; whether the ongoing traffic will be moved to the other 3GPP access will be determined by the policy for DualSteer traffic switching].
Regarding Claim 13,
further comprising: performing a traffic operation based on the comparing, wherein the traffic operation is one of traffic steering, traffic switching, or traffic splitting [TR23.700-54; p. 93; the policy for DualSteer traffic steering is used by the UE of DualSteer Device to determine the 3GPP access to be used to transmit the new matching traffic; once the 3GPP access has been determined, the traffic will be transmitted via that 3GPP access and the policy of DualSteer traffic steering for such matching traffic will not be considered; whether the ongoing traffic will be moved to the other 3GPP access will be determined by the policy for DualSteer traffic switching].
Regarding Claims 14-20, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1-7 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1-7 is applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ahmad et al. (WO 2024/098033) teaches that DC allows a WTRU to receive/transmit over two (or more) 3GPP accesses (or 3GPP access legs) [para. 150].
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468