DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (CN 120434653) in view of Shen et al (US 20240214838) and further in view of Song et al (WO 2024256069).
As to claims 1 and 19 Tang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Tang- Fig.17), and a method for wireless communication by UE, the UE comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Tang - As shown in FIG. 17, the terminal device 1700 includes: a processor 1701 and a memory 1702; The memory 1702 stores computer execution instructions; The processor 1701 executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory 1702); the processing system configured to cause the UE to: receive a measurement gap deactivation indication that indicates to deactivate a measurement gap, wherein the measurement gap overlaps with one or more service transmission period (Tang- within a preset period of the measurement gap, the terminal equipment receives or transmits the first data in the serving cell, including: if the first signaling comprises an indication for indicating to deactivate the preset time period, the terminal equipment does not receive or send the first data in the service cell within the preset time period of indicating to deactivate the measurement gap.; Fig. 3-overlap between the service transmission period and the measurement gap The corresponding pre-set time interval is designed according to the service related information of the data, and the pre-set time interval may be overlapped with the measuring gap. indicating the terminal device to skip the measurement in the pre-set period of the measurement gap, that is, indicating the terminal device not to execute the measurement and execute the data transmission during the time domain of the measurement gap and the pre-set period, so as to avoid the delay of the data packet transmission and the data transmission interruption caused by the measurement gap);
Tang however is silent wherein the measuring gap overlaps with one or more Layer 1 measurement resources- as interpreted L1 measurement resources being synchronization signal block (SSB) resources or CSI-RS resources. However, in an analogous art Shen remedies this deficiency: (Shen ¶0187, Fig.7-the SSB partially overlaps the measurement gap, and partially overlaps the SMTC occasion, and the SMTC occasion completely overlaps the measurement gap Shen ¶0257- if the L1 measurement is preferentially performed when the time domain resource on which the reference signal of the serving cell is located partially or completely overlaps the time domain resource to which the measurement gap belongs, and the L1 measurement is not preferentially performed when the time domain resource on which the reference signal of the serving cell is located partially or completely overlaps the SMTC occasion) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Tang with that Shen for the purpose of adapting L1 measurement duration accurately with measurement gaps.
Tang and Shen combined however are silent wherein a measurement duration for the one or more L1 measurement resources is in accordance with a scaling factor; obtain a scaling factor parameter associated with a quantity of deactivated measurement gaps within a time period; and perform one or more measurements using an updated scaling factor in accordance with applying the scaling factor parameter to the scaling factor. However, in an analogous art Song remedies this deficiency: (Song ¶0087- The update to a parameter may be in any suitable manner. In some example embodiments, the update may include scaling down or up the parameter. As an example, the action information may comprise a scaling factor of the measurement gap length, for example, measGapLengthMonitoringScalingFactor which serves as a float value to scale the measurement gap length. As another example, the action information may comprise a scaling factor of the measurement gap repetition period, for example, measGapRepetitionPeriodMonitoringScalingFactor which represents a float value to scale the measurement gap repetition period. In some example embodiments, the update may include an offset of the parameter. As example, the action information may further comprise an offset to the measurement gap length, for example, measGapLengthMonitoringOffset which denotes a constant value to adjust the legacy measurement gap length in ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Tang and Shen with that of Song for the purpose of adjusting L1 measurement scaling to reflect active measurement gaps.
As to claims 2 and 20 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose the UE and method of claims 1 and 19 respectively, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to generate the updated scaling factor in accordance with applying the scaling factor parameter to the scaling factor (Song ¶0087-The update to a parameter may be in any suitable manner. In some example embodiments, the update may include scaling down or up the parameter. As an example, the action information may comprise a scaling factor of the measurement gap length, for example, measGapLengthMonitoringScalingFactor which serves as a float value to scale the measurement gap length. As another example, the action information may comprise a scaling factor of the measurement gap repetition period, for example, measGapRepetitionPeriodMonitoringScalingFactor which represents a float value to scale the measurement gap repetition period. In some example embodiments, the update may include an offset of the parameter. As example, the action information may further comprise an offset to the measurement gap length, for example, measGapLengthMonitoringOffset which denotes a constant value to adjust the legacy measurement gap length in ms ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Tang Shen and Song for the purpose of adjusting L1 measurement scaling to reflect active measurement gaps.
As to claim 7 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose The UE of claim 1, wherein the time period is an L1 measurement period associated with the one or more L1 measurement resources (Shen ¶0114- last sentence- For example, when the L1 measurement is L1-RSRP measurement in the FR2, a definition of the L1 measurement period T.sub.L1-RSRP_Measurement_Period_SSB in the foregoing scenario in the protocol is shown in Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Tang Shen and Song for the purpose of adjusting L1 measurement scaling to reflect active measurement gaps.
As to claim 8 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose The UE of claim 7, wherein the L1 measurement period is a radio link monitoring out-of-sync and in-sync evaluation period, a beam failure detection evaluation period, a candidate beam detection evaluation period, an L1 reference signal received power measurement period, or an L1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio measurement period (Shen ¶0159- A terminal device may perform periodic L1 measurement based on an L1 measurement period, to evaluate link quality of a serving cell. When the terminal device finds that the link quality is poor, RLM out-of-sync (that is, RLM out-of-sync) is triggered. In this case, the terminal device needs to preferentially perform RLM synchronization (in-sync) (that is, RLM in-sync) measurement, and determine, based on a result of the RLM in-sync measurement, whether the link quality is recovered. Shen ¶0004- the L1 measurement may be further for radio link monitoring (radio link monitoring, RLM), beam failure detection (beam failure detection, BFD), candidate beam detection (candidate beam detection, CBD), and the like.).
As to claim 9 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein receiving the measurement gap deactivation indication comprises receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a measurement gap bitmap that includes the measurement gap deactivation indication, and wherein the time period is in accordance with a measurement gap bitmap duration for the measurement gap bitmap (Tang-The first signaling is any one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Media Access Control (MAC) CE or Dynamic Channel Assignment (DCI).
Wherein, the bits of the RRC, MAC CE or DCI signaling are different, and the network device can determine the appropriate signaling type according to the content in the first signaling).
As to claim 10 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose the UE of claim 9, wherein the measurement gap bitmap includes a plurality of bits corresponding to a plurality of measurement gaps within the time period, wherein a first value of a bit of the plurality of bits indicates that a corresponding measurement gap is activated and a second value of the bit of the plurality of bits indicates that the corresponding measurement gap is deactivated (Tang Fig. 13 - FIG. 13 is a bitmap of the first time window correlation mode, the bitmap comprises a plurality of time slots, and an indicator of measurement skipping corresponding to each time slot, the indicator 1 is defined as performing measurement skipping, that is, the time period corresponding to the indicator 1 is a preset time period, The indicator 0 is a non-performing measurement skip).
As to claim 11 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein, to cause the UE to receive the measurement gap deactivation indication, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive downlink control information, a medium access control (MAC) control message, or a radio resource control message that includes the measurement gap deactivation indication (Tang- The first signaling is any one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Media Access Control (MAC) CE or Dynamic Channel Assignment (DCI), wherein the first signaling may comprise a first configuration, and the first configuration comprises related information of a first time window, which may be RRC; The first signaling may include a first indication, and the first indication may include an indication of the second time window of the application or an index of the first time window, and may be a DCI or a MAC CE).
As to claim 12 Tang discloses A network node for wireless communication, comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network node to (Tang Fig. 18, the network device 1800 comprises: a processor 1801 and a memory 1802; a memory 1802 stores computer execution instructions; The processor 1801 executes the computer execution instruction stored in the memory 1802,) :
transmit a measurement gap deactivation indication that indicates to deactivate a measurement gap, wherein the measurement gap overlaps with one or more service transmission period of a user equipment (UE) (Tang- the terminal equipment receives or transmits the first data in the serving cell, including: if the first signaling comprises an indication for indicating to deactivate the preset time period, the terminal equipment does not receive or send the first data in the service cell within the preset time period of indicating to deactivate the measurement gap.; Fig. 3-overlap between the service transmission period and the measurement gap -The corresponding pre-set time interval is designed according to the service related information of the data, and the pre-set time interval may be overlapped with the measuring gap. indicating the terminal device to skip the measurement in the pre-set period of the measurement gap, that is, indicating the terminal device not to execute the measurement and execute the data transmission during the time domain of the measurement gap and the pre-set period, so as to avoid the delay of the data packet transmission and the data transmission interruption caused by the measurement gap);
Tang however is silent wherein the measuring gap overlaps with one or more Layer 1 measurement resources- as interpreted L1 measurement resources being synchronization signal block (SSB) resources or CSI-RS resources. However, in an analogous art Shen remedies this deficiency: Shen ¶0187, Fig.7-the SSB partially overlaps the measurement gap, and partially overlaps the SMTC occasion, and the SMTC occasion completely overlaps the measurement gap Shen ¶0257- if the L1 measurement is preferentially performed when the time domain resource on which the reference signal of the serving cell is located partially or completely overlaps the time domain resource to which the measurement gap belongs, and the L1 measurement is not preferentially performed when the time domain resource on which the reference signal of the serving cell is located partially or completely overlaps the SMTC occasion) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Tang with that of Shen for the purpose of adapting L1 measurement duration accurately with measurement gaps.
Tang and Shen combined however are silent wherein a measurement duration for the one or more L1 measurement resources is in accordance with a scaling factor; and transmit a scaling factor parameter associated with a quantity of deactivated measurement gaps within a time period . However, in an analogous art Song remedies this deficiency: (Song ¶0087- The update to a parameter may be in any suitable manner. In some example embodiments, the update may include scaling down or up the parameter. As an example, the action information may comprise a scaling factor of the measurement gap length, for example, measGapLengthMonitoringScalingFactor which serves as a float value to scale the measurement gap length. As another example, the action information may comprise a scaling factor of the measurement gap repetition period, for example, measGapRepetitionPeriodMonitoringScalingFactor which represents a float value to scale the measurement gap repetition period. In some example embodiments, the update may include an offset of the parameter. As example, the action information may further comprise an offset to the measurement gap length, for example, measGapLengthMonitoringOffset which denotes a constant value to adjust the legacy measurement gap length in ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing day of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Tang and Shen with that of song for the purpose of adjusting L1 measurement scaling to reflect active measurement gaps.
As to claim 17 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose the network node of claim 12, wherein the time period is an L1 measurement period associated with the one or more L1 measurement resources(Shen ¶0114- last sentence- For example, when the L1 measurement is L1-RSRP measurement in the FR2, a definition of the L1 measurement period T.sub.L1-RSRP_Measurement_Period_SSB in the foregoing scenario in the protocol is shown in Table 1).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Tang Shen and Song for the purpose of adjusting L1 measurement scaling to reflect active measurement gaps.
As to claim 18 the combined teachings of Tang Shen and Song disclose the network node of claim 17, wherein the L1 measurement period is a radio link monitoring out-of-sync and in-sync evaluation period, a beam failure detection evaluation period, a candidate beam detection evaluation period, an L1 reference signal received power measurement period, or an L1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio measurement period(Shen ¶0159- A terminal device may perform periodic L1 measurement based on an L1 measurement period, to evaluate link quality of a serving cell. When the terminal device finds that the link quality is poor, RLM out-of-sync (that is, RLM out-of-sync) is triggered. In this case, the terminal device needs to preferentially perform RLM synchronization (in-sync) (that is, RLM in-sync) measurement, and determine, based on a result of the RLM in-sync measurement, whether the link quality is recovered. Shen ¶0004- the L1 measurement may be further for radio link monitoring (radio link monitoring, RLM), beam failure detection (beam failure detection, BFD), candidate beam detection (candidate beam detection, CBD), and the like.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al – Method for Channel Measurement and Device Thereof- US 20210306893, ¶0130, ¶0133.
/DERRICK V ROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462