DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 13, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Chinese Applications No. 202311002208.2, 202410405161.2, and 202410619911.6, filed on August 9, 2023, April 3, 2024, and May 17, 2024, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9-11, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200015228 A1 (hereinafter Kang, included in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (e.g., ¶ [0009] In a method of reporting, by a user equipment, channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system), the method comprising: receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (e.g., ¶ [0009] the method includes receiving, from a base station, CSI configuration information related to a CSI reporting procedure), wherein the CSI report configuration comprises information for a first resource (e.g., ¶ [0009] receiving, from the base station, resource information indicating at least one resource set or at least one resource belonging to a specific resource group related to the at least one reporting setting); determining, based on the CSI report configuration, CSI parameter (e.g., ¶ [0008] resource information indicating at least one resource set or at least one resource belonging to a specific resource group related to the at least one reporting setting, wherein the specific resource group is configured based on an operation mode on a time domain which is configured for the at least one reporting setting within the plurality of resource settings; e.g., ¶ [0009] the operation mode on the time domain may correspond to any one of periodic CSI reporting, aperiodic CSI reporting, or semi-persistent CSI reporting; e.g., ¶ [0016] if the base station is configured to trigger an aperiodic resource for reporting the CSI, the specific resource group may include at least one resource setting pre-configured for the aperiodic CSI reporting among the plurality of resource settings; e.g., ¶ [0017] if the base station is configured to activate or deactivate a semi-persistent resource for reporting the CSI, the specific resource group may include at least one of at least one resource setting for the aperiodic CSI reporting included in the plurality of resource settings or at least one resource setting for the semi-persistent CSI reporting; e.g., ¶ [0018] the specific resource group may be configured by additionally taking into consideration a property parameter for each of the plurality of resource settings); and reporting the CSI parameter on the first resource (e.g., ¶ [0006] a method of performing selection indication for a resource setting (and/or resource set or resource) and/or selection indication for a reporting setting [by UE]); wherein: in case that the first resource is a periodic resource or a semi-persistent resource, and the first resource corresponds to a plurality of measurement occasion groups, the CSI parameter is determined based on each of the plurality of measurement occasion groups (e.g., ¶ [0017] if the base station is configured to activate or deactivate a semi-persistent resource for reporting the CSI, the specific resource group may include… at least one resource setting for the semi-persistent CSI reporting; e.g., ¶ [0258] [0320] semi-persistent/periodic NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement [i.e., interpreted to suggest a periodic or semi-persistent measurement interval, opportunity, or occasion]); or in case that the first resource is an aperiodic resource and the first resource comprises a plurality of resource groups in a plurality of time units, the CSI parameter is determined based on each of the plurality of resource groups (e.g., ¶ [0296] the base station may indicate a resource set(s) or resource(s) within a specific resource group corresponding to an aperiodic reporting setting through L1/L2 signaling. Accordingly, the UE may select a resource set or resource within the indicated specific resource group; e.g., ¶ [0306] For example, a resource group may be configured based on a resource type according to a time-domain behavior. Specifically, a plurality of resource settings, a plurality of resource sets and/or a plurality of resources may be classified into an aperiodic resource group, a periodic resource group, or a semi-persistent resource group; e.g., ¶ [0344] indicating a resource group through a specific time resource).
Regarding Claim 6, Kang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Kang discloses wherein each of the plurality of time units is determined based on a reference time unit and one or more first offsets corresponding to one or more resources included in the first resource, or each of the plurality of resource groups corresponds to one or more time units related to the reference time unit, and wherein the reference time unit is determined based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) triggering an offset corresponding to the first resource (e.g., ¶ [0262], Table 4, Resource set-level common properties (e.g.,… periodicity, slot offset [i.e., offset corresponding to resources]; e.g., ¶ [0117] Resource setting that includes at least: ¶ [0118] Time domain operation (e.g., aperiodic operation, periodic operation, semi-persistent operation); ¶ [0119] RS type: at least NZP CSI-RS; ¶ [0120] At least one CSI-RS resource set. Each CSI-RS resource set includes K≥1 CSI-RS resources [i.e., time domain, or time units for detecting CSI-RS]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Kang discloses wherein: the CSI parameter corresponds to each of the plurality of measurement occasion groups; or the CSI parameter corresponds to each of the plurality of resource groups (e.g., ¶ [0017] if the base station is configured to activate or deactivate a semi-persistent resource for reporting the CSI, the specific resource group may include… at least one resource setting for the semi-persistent CSI reporting; e.g., ¶ [0258] [0320] semi-persistent/periodic NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement [i.e., interpreted to suggest a periodic or semi-persistent measurement interval, opportunity, or occasion]; e.g., ¶ [0296] the base station may indicate a resource set(s) or resource(s) within a specific resource group corresponding to an aperiodic reporting setting through L1/L2 signaling. Accordingly, the UE may select a resource set or resource within the indicated specific resource group; e.g., ¶ [0306] For example, a resource group may be configured based on a resource type according to a time-domain behavior. Specifically, a plurality of resource settings, a plurality of resource sets and/or a plurality of resources may be classified into an aperiodic resource group, a periodic resource group, or a semi-persistent resource group; e.g., ¶ [0344] indicating a resource group through a specific time resource).
Regarding Claim 9, Kang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 8.
Kang discloses wherein: the CSI parameter corresponding to each measurement occasion group comprises at least one of a resource indicator or a first number of values of layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) corresponding to each measurement occasion group; or the CSI parameter corresponding to each resource group comprises at least one of the resource indicator or the first number of values of L1-RSRP corresponding to each resource group (e.g., ¶ [0121] Further, NR supports a next beam report considering L group with L>1. [0122] Information indicating minimal groups [0123] Measurement quantity (L1 RSRP and CSI reporting support (when the CSI-RS is for CSI acquisition)) for N1 beam [0124] If applicable, information indicating N1 DL transmission beams); and the first number is configured via a higher layer signaling (e.g., ¶ [0234] In this case, a configuration parameter(s) for a CSI reporting setting may be configured (or indicated) through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling).
Regarding Claim 10, Kang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 9.
Kang discloses wherein: the plurality of measurement occasion groups shares a same resource indicator; or each of the plurality of measurement occasion groups corresponds to a respective resource indicator (e.g., FIG. 11, ¶ [0360] At step S1115, the UE may receive resource information representing at least one resource set or at least one resource belonging to a specific resource group related to the at least one reporting setting. In other words, as in the method, the base station may indicate that the UE should select a resource for CSI measurement and reporting only within a specific resource group related to the at least one reporting setting. For example, the resource information may be transmitted through any one of L1 signaling (e.g., DCI) or L2 signaling (e.g., MAC-CE)).
Regarding Claim 11, Kang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 9.
Kang discloses wherein the resource indicator corresponding to each measurement occasion group or each resource group comprises at least one of: the first number of a first resource indicator to indicate a resource that is reported (e.g., ¶ [0246] As an example, the CSI measurement setting may include information indicating the CSI reporting setting, information indicating the resource setting; e.g., ¶ [0296] base station may indicate a resource set(s) or resource(s) within a specific resource group corresponding to an aperiodic reporting setting through L1/L2 signaling); or a number of a second resource indicator to indicate a resource that is not reported, the number of the second resource indicator being the number of a plurality of resources included in the first resource minus the first number.
Regarding Claim 16, Kang discloses a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled with the transceiver (e.g., FIG. 12, UE 1220 with RF unit 1223 and processor 1221), configured to perform operations that are functionally similar to the method performed by the UE in claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 16.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is directed to a method performed by a base station, the method comprising steps of transmitting and receiving information that is functionally similar to the information received and transmitted by the UE of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, Kang discloses a base station in a communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled with the transceiver (e.g., FIG. 12, base station 1210 with RF unit 1213 and processor 1211), configured to perform operations that are functionally similar to the method performed by the base station in the method of claim 19, which is reasoned to communicate with the UE in the method of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Lin et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250038919 A1 (hereinafter Lin).
Regarding Claim 2, Kang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Kang does not expressly disclose wherein each measurement occasion group comprises all measurement occasions of one or more resources included in the first resource within a measurement window corresponding to each measurement occasion group.
Lin discloses wherein each measurement occasion group comprises all measurement occasions of one or more resources included in the first resource within a measurement window corresponding to each measurement occasion group (e.g., ¶ [0283] When DRX is configured, UE reports a CSI report only if receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS… When DRX is configured and the CSI-RS Resource Set for channel measurement corresponding to a CSI report is configured with two Resource Groups and N Resource Pairs, as described in clause 5.2.1.4.1, the UE reports a CSI report only if receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for each CSI-RS resource in a Resource Pair within the same DRX Active Time no later than CSI reference resource… the UE shall report CSI during the time duration indicated by drx-onDurationTimer in DRX-Config also outside active time according to the procedure described in Clause 5.2.1.4 if receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement during the time duration [i.e., window] indicated by drx-onDurationTimer in DRX-Config outside DRX active time or in DRX Active Time_no later than CSI reference resource… receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement during the time duration indicated by drx-onDurationTimer in DRX-Config outside DRX active time or in DRX Active Time no later than CSI reference resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of determining groups for which to measure CSI, as disclosed by Kang, with the disclosure of a configured window for measurement, as disclosed by Lin. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective CSI reporting (Lin: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kang discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 16.
The functional limitations of Claim 17 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 17.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Matsumura et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20250260538 A1 (hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding Claim 13, Kang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Kang does not expressly disclose wherein an order of the CSI parameter is determined based on an order of the plurality of measurement occasion groups or an order of the plurality of resource.
Matsumura discloses wherein an order of the CSI parameter is determined based on an order of the plurality of measurement occasion groups or an order of the plurality of resource (e.g., ¶ [0075] In each of the embodiments, a group, a set, a measurement-target SSB/CSI-RS, a particular SSB/CSI-RS, and a particular reference signal (RS) may be interchangeably interpreted; e.g., ¶ [0087] Group indices may be given in ascending order of time of groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of determining groups for which to measure CSI, as disclosed by Kang, with the disclosure of a measurement group order, as disclosed by Matsumura. The motivation to combine would have been to support effective CSI reporting (Lin: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 12, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, dependent from claim 2, and Claim 18, dependent from claim 17, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations regarding determining a measurement window corresponding to a last measurement occasion group of the plurality of measurement occasion groups based on at least one of the limitations recited in the respective claims.
Claims 4-5, dependent from claim 3, are also objected.
Regarding Claim 7, dependent from claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations regarding wherein the one or more time units are determined based on one of: a spacing of two adjacent resource groups from the plurality of resource groups; or a second offset configured for each resource in each of the plurality of resource groups.
Regarding Claim 12, dependent from claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations regarding wherein the CSI report configuration corresponds to a differential layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) based reporting; and, wherein the CSI parameter comprises: a group indicator representing each measurement occasion group or a resource group where a largest measured value of L1-RSRP is located or the resource indicator corresponding to the group indicator; or the CSI parameter comprises a resource indicator corresponding to each measurement occasion group representing the resource corresponding to the largest measured value of L1-RSRP.
Regarding Claim 14, dependent from claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations regarding wherein the CSI parameter comprises a predicted CSI parameter for each of a second number of time intervals, and wherein an earliest time interval of the second number of time intervals is determined based on at least one of: a time unit where the CSI parameter is reported, a CSI reference resource associated with the CSI report, a last measurement window of one or more measurement windows determined based on at least one of a periodicity of a first resource or a subframe number (SFN) that is later than the CSI reference resource associated with the CSI parameter, or the last measurement window of the one or more measurement windows determined based on the at least one of the periodicity of the first resource or the SFN that is not earlier than the time unit where the CSI parameter is reported.
Claim 15, dependent from claim 14, is also objected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471