DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 13, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. (US 20240080737).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 17 and 19, PARK teaches transmitting, to a serving node, assistance information for a configuration of measurement configuration information related to radio resource management (RRM) (Fig. 18, step S1801, the NTN UE may transmit UE location information); and receiving, from the serving node, the measurement configuration information (Fig. 18, step S1803, the NTN network may trigger the measurement of the NTN UE and [0261] the NTN network may signal to the terminal via a message (e.g., a message such as deriveSSB-IndexFromCell) that the neighbor beam is measurable. The NTN network (e.g., serving beam/satellite) may separately signal to the terminal the information of the beam/satellite that should be measured (e.g., the information in Table 4)).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, PARK teaches receiving, from the serving node, third information, wherein the third information is used for requesting information to be reported by the UE (Fig. 18, step S1803, the NTN network may trigger the measurement of the NTN UE and [0261] the NTN network may signal to the terminal via a message (e.g., a message such as deriveSSB-IndexFromCell) that the neighbor beam is measurable. The NTN network (e.g., serving beam/satellite) may separately signal to the terminal the information of the beam/satellite that should be measured (e.g., the information in Table 4)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20240080737) in view of MOON et al. (WO 2017123078 from IDS dated 11/29/2024).
Regarding claims 2, 14, 18 and 20, PARK does not expressly teach transmitting, to the serving node, first information related to a type of the UE; and receiving, from the serving node, second information, wherein the second information includes information related to the assistance information, wherein the first information and the second information are used for the measurement configuration information. MOON teaches FIG. 6, step S610 - step S630 [0114] the UE capability may include beam information, a beam pattern, the number of the UE's beams, beam overlapping related information indicating whether adjacent beams overlap in X dB, the beam sweeping information indicating whether to perform the beam sweeping for the BRS measurement (first information related to a type of the UE) and [0119] each of the 5G-NBs may form a plurality of beams and may transmit the BRSs per beam and the UE may form a plurality of beams and receive the BRSs per beam pair consisting of the 5G-NB's beam and the UE's beam (the second information includes information related to the assistance information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with MOON in order to meet a demand for radio data traffic that is on an increasing trend ([2] Background Art, MOON).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, PARK teaches the second information further includes at least one of: information related to at least one beam of the serving node of the UE, and information related to at least one beam of at least one neighboring node of the serving node, wherein the information related to the at least one beam of the serving node of the UE or the information related to the at least one beam of the at least one neighboring node includes at least one of: position information of the at least one beam, a pointing direction of the at least one beam, a width of the at least one beam, and an angle range of the at least one beam ([0261] the NTN network may signal to the terminal via a message (e.g., a message such as deriveSSB-IndexFromCell) that the neighbor beam is measurable. The NTN network (e.g., serving beam/satellite) may separately signal to the terminal the information of the beam/satellite that should be measured (e.g., the information in Table 4)).
Regarding claim 6, PARK teaches wherein the assistance information includes at least one of: information related to a position of the UE (Fig. 18, step S1801, the NTN UE may transmit UE location information); a beam pointing direction of the UE when sending the assistance information; and an adjustment parameter used by the UE to mechanically scan and adjust antennas, wherein the adjustment parameter includes at least one of: a tracking speed; an angle adjustment range; and an angle adjustment accuracy, wherein the information related to the position of the UE includes at least one of: position information of the UE (Fig. 18, step S1801, the NTN UE may transmit UE location information); and relative position information of the UE and at least one beam, and wherein the at least one beam includes at least one beam in at least one of: the serving node of the UE; and at least one neighboring node of the serving node of the UE.
Regarding claim 7, PARK teaches wherein the measurement configuration information comprises at least one measurement event, wherein the at least one measurement event includes at least one of: a distance-related first event, wherein a distance of the distance-related first event includes a first distance between the UE and a beam of the serving node or a second distance between the UE and a beam of at least one neighboring node of the serving node (Fig. 11 and [0261] the NTN network may signal to the terminal via a message (e.g., a message such as deriveSSB-IndexFromCell) that the neighbor beam is measurable. The NTN network (e.g., serving beam/satellite) may separately signal to the terminal the information of the beam/satellite that should be measured (e.g., the information in Table 4)); an angle-related second event, wherein an angle of the angle-related second event includes at least one of a first angle, a second angle, a third angle, and a fourth angle, wherein: the first angle is an angle when the UE is aligned with a beam of the serving node, the second angle is an angle when the UE is aligned with a beam of the at least one neighboring node of the serving node, the third angle is an angle when the UE is aligned with the serving node, and the fourth angle is an angle when the UE is aligned with the at least one neighboring node; and a time-related third event, wherein a time of the time-related event comprises a first time or a second time, wherein: the first time is related to a fifth angle and a tracking speed used by the UE to mechanically scan and adjust antennas, wherein the fifth angle is an included angle between a pointing direction of a beam of the serving node and a pointing direction of a beam of the at least one neighboring node of the serving node, and the second time is related to an angle after the UE is aligned with the serving node and the tracking speed used by the UE to mechanically scan and adjust antennas.
Regarding claim 12, PARK does not teach, however, MOON teaches wherein the type of the UE is related to at least one of: antenna configuration information of the UE; UE capability information; power class information of the UE; and antenna capability information of the UE (FIG. 6, step S610 - step S630 [0114] the UE capability may include beam information, a beam pattern, the number of the UE's beams, beam overlapping related information indicating whether adjacent beams overlap in X dB, the beam sweeping information indicating whether to perform the beam sweeping for the BRS measurement). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with MOON in order to meet a demand for radio data traffic that is on an increasing trend ([2] Background Art, MOON).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EUNSOOK CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467