DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 & 10-13 in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
2. The claims are objected because of the following reasons:
Re claim 1, line 2: in front of “LED”, delete “an” and insert –a--.
Re claims 2 & 11,
-line 2: delete “after” because the claim is a product claim,
-line 3: in front of “metal”, delete “a” and insert --the--,
-line 7: in front of “attachment part”, delete “a” and insert --the--,
-line 8: in front of “main board”, delete “a” and insert --the--.
Re claim 4,
-line 2: delete “after” because the claim is a product claim,
-line 3: in front of “plated” insert –deposited or--,
-line 4: in front of “attachment part” & “main board”, delete “an” & “a”, and insert (2x) --the--.
Re claim 10,
-line 1: in front of “LED driving device”, delete “an” and insert --a--,
-line 3: in front of “LED”, delete “an” and insert --the--.
Re claim 13,
-line 1: delete “after” because the claim is a product claim,
-line 3: in front of “attachment part”, delete “an”, and insert --the--,
-line 4: in front of “main board”, delete “a” and insert --the--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-4, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2009/0184414) in view of Pendse (US 2020/0098729).
Re claim 1, Park teaches, under BRI, Figs. 4A-J, [0061-0063, 0068], a Light Emitting Diode (LED) driving device, comprising:
-a drive circuit part (210) for driving (as intended use) an LED;
-an input/output pad (212) for input/output of a driving-related signal of the LED (as intended use), the input/output pad (212) being connected to the drive circuit part (210);
-a wiring part (216, 220) formed based on a metal deposited or plated (*) through a via (H) formed in scribe lanes (222) positioned on at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (210) and configured to connect an attachment part (218) for attachment to the drive circuit part (110), and the input/output pad (112); and
-an insulating film (214) configured to insulate a peripheral region of the drive circuit part (210) except for a region in which the drive circuit part (210) and the input/output pad (212) are connected to the wiring part (216, 220).
Park does not explicitly teach for driving an LED, for input/output of a driving-related signal of the LED, and for attachment to a main board.
Pendse teaches, Figs. 1A & 2A, [0054], for driving an LED (160), for input/output of a driving-related signal (e.g., signals) of the LED (160) (via electrodes 175), and for attachment to a main board (180).
As taught by Pendse, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a main board and functions as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired integrated circuit with improved performance & having high density electronic components.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Pendse in combination with Park due to above reason.
(*) Further, the limitation "deposited or plated" is merely a product-by-process limitation. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Re claim 2, in combination cited above, Park teaches, Figs. 4A-H, wherein
after the input/output pad (212) is positioned on the drive circuit part (210) to form one chip (210), and
the scribe lanes (222) are positioned on at least one side surface of the chip (210) so that a metal (212, 220) is plated or deposited (*) through the via generated in at least one side surface based on the drive circuit part (210) in the scribe lanes (222) divided by the scribe lanes (222),
the plated or deposited metal (216, 220) forms rewiring thought pattern-etching so that the wiring part (216, 220) connects an attachment part (218) for attachment of the drive circuit part (210) and the input/output pad (212) to a main board (see circuit board 180, Pendse’s Fig. 1A).
Re claim 3, Park teaches, Fig. 4H, [0064, 0078], wherein the attachment part (consider 218 or 232) is positioned on an opposite side of a part where the input/output pad (212) is positioned, and attached in at least one form of plating (232), a bump, and a solder ball (218).
Re claim 4, in combination cited above, Park teaches, Fig. 4I-J, wherein after the scribe lanes (222) are cut from at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (210), at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (210) is plated (*) with the metal (216, 220), so that the wiring part (212, 220) is interconnected to an attachment part (218 or 232) for attachment of the input/output pad (212) to a main board (see circuit board 180, Pendse’s Fig. 1A).
Re claim 10, Park teaches, under BRI, Figs. 4A-J, [0061-0063, 0068], a display device, comprising a Light Emitting Diode (LED) and a Light Emitting Diode (LED) driving device, wherein the LED driving device comprises a drive circuit part (210) for driving (as intended use) an LED;
-an input/output pad (212) for input/output of a driving-related signal of the LED (as intended use), the input/output pad (212) being connected to the drive circuit part (210);
-a wiring part (216, 220) formed based on a metal deposited or plated (*) through a via (H) formed in scribe lanes (222) positioned on at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (210) and configured to connect an attachment part (218) for attachment to the drive circuit part (110), and the input/output pad (112); and
-an insulating film (214) configured to insulate a peripheral region of the drive circuit part (210) except for a region in which the drive circuit part (210) and the input/output pad (212) are connected to the wiring part (216, 220).
Park does not explicitly teach a Light Emitting Diode (LED); for driving an LED, for input/output of a driving-related signal of the LED, and for attachment to a main board.
Pendse teaches, Figs. 1A & 2A, [0054], a Light Emitting Diode (LED) (160); for driving an LED (160), for input/output of a driving-related signal (e.g., signals) of the LED (160) (via electrodes 175), and for attachment to a main board (180).
As taught by Pendse, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain LED, a main board and functions as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired integrated circuit with improved performance & having high density electronic components.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Pendse in combination with Park due to above reason.
(*) Further, the limitation "deposited or plated" is merely a product-by-process limitation. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Re claim 11, in combination cited above, Park teaches, Figs. 4A-H, wherein
after the input/output pad (212) is positioned on the drive circuit part (210) to form one chip (210), and
the scribe lanes (222) are positioned on at least one side surface of the chip (210) so that a metal (212, 220) is plated or deposited (*) through the via generated in at least one side surface based on the drive circuit part (210) in the scribe lanes (222) divided by the scribe lanes (222),
the plated or deposited metal (216, 220) forms rewiring thought pattern-etching so that the wiring part (216, 220) connects an attachment part (218) for attachment of the drive circuit part (210) and the input/output pad (212) to a main board (see circuit board 180, Pendse’s Fig. 1A).
Re claim 13, in combination cited above, Park teaches, Fig. 4I-J, wherein after the scribe lanes (222) are cut from at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (210), at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (210) is deposited or plated (*) with the metal (216, 220), so that the wiring part (212, 220) is interconnected to an attachment part (218 or 232) for attachment of the input/output pad (212) to a main board (see circuit board 180, Pendse’s Fig. 1A).
4. Claims 1 and 10 are, alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pendse (US 2020/0098729) in view of Park et al. (US 2009/0184414).
Re claims 1 & 10, Pendse teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1A & 2A, [0050, 0052-0054], a display device, comprising a Light Emitting Diode (LED) (160) and a Light Emitting Diode (LED) driving device (120, 130), wherein the LED driving device comprises a drive circuit part (120, 130) for driving an LED (160);
-an input/output pad (175) for input/output of a driving-related signal of the LED (160), the input/output pad (175) being connected to the drive circuit part (120, 130);
-a wiring part (on dies & in vias 170) formed based on a metal deposited or plated (*) through a via (170) positioned on at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (120, 130) and configured to connect an attachment part (bottom 175) for attachment to the drive circuit part (120, 130), and the input/output pad (175) and a main board (180); and
-an insulating film (140) configured to insulate a peripheral region of the drive circuit part (120, 130) except for a region in which the drive circuit part (120, 130) and the input/output pad (175) are connected to the wiring part (on dies & in vias).
Pendse does not explicitly teach the via formed in scribe lanes positioned on at least one side surface of the drive circuit part.
Park teaches, Figs. 4A-C, [0068-0069], the via (H) formed in scribe lanes (222) positioned on at least one side surface of the drive circuit part (210).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the via formed in scribe lanes positioned on at least one side surface of the drive circuit part as claimed, because it aids in reducing mechanical stress and improving dicing yield.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Pendse due to above reason.
5. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified by Pendse as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0375833).
The teachings of Park/Pendse have been discussed above.
Re claim 12, in combination cited above, Pendse teaches, Fig. 1A, [0052-0053], wherein the LED (160) and the LED driving device (120, 150) are bonded to each other by wafer-to-wafer bonding (*), or are bonded by chip-to-wafer bonding on the LED driving device by stamping or laser transfer and mounted on the main panel (*).
Park/Pendse does not explicitly teach the LED and the LED driving device have a same size.
Lee teaches, Figs. 1I-J, [0066], the LED (14) and the LED driving device (consider 170, 160) have a same size.
As taught by Lee, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the LED and the LED driving device have a same size as claimed, because a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lee in combination with Park/Pendse due to above reason.
(*) Further, the limitation "wafer-to-wafer bonding, or are bonded by chip-to-wafer bonding on the LED driving device by stamping or laser transfer and mounted on the main panel" is merely a product-by-process limitation. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pendse (US 2020/0266180, Fig. 5B) discloses an IC having LED devices exposed on a front side of the IC chip.
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 10/18/26