Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 6, and 16–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hangleiter, US 2009/0278323, in view of Davis, WO 2019/241723
Claim 1
“A collet device configured to hold a separate object, the collet device comprising:” Hangleiter identifies its device as a chuck or gripper head for clamping a stem. 0001, 0005; Figs. 1–3, device 1 and stem 20.]
“an enclosure configured to house a plurality of internal components, wherein the enclosure defines an elongated shape having an enclosure opening at a distal end thereof;” Body 2 and end plate 26 enclose piston 5, actuating member 4, springs 7 and 15, and collet chuck 9; tool hole 8 terminates at outward opening 24. [ 0016, 0018–0019; Figs. 1–2]
“a collet situated within the enclosure and configured to accept a separate object inserted through the enclosure opening and into the collet, wherein the collet includes a collet opening and a plurality of clamping components configured to actuate between an open position to release the separate object and a closed position to hold the separate object; and” Collet chuck 9 is in tool hole 8, has at least two jaws 10, receives stem 20, spreads radially to release, and moves radially inward to grip. [0005, 0017, 0020–0025; Figs. 1–3]
Hangleiter does not teach “an internal magnetic component located within the enclosure, wherein the internal magnetic component is configured to facilitate actuation of the collet between the open position and the closed position based on magnetic interactions between the internal magnetic component and a separate external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate the internal magnetic component.”
Davis teaches
“an internal magnetic component located within the enclosure,” Bonnet 133 forms an enclosure containing internal ferromagnetic actuation members 110. [0040–0042; Figs. 1A–1B]
“wherein the internal magnetic component is configured to facilitate actuation of the collet between the open position and the closed position based on magnetic interactions between the internal magnetic component and a separate external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate the internal magnetic component.” External magnets 160 outside bonnet 133 magnetically couple to members 110 inside; moving the external actuator translates members 110 and attached stem 190 through the wall. [0040–0043; Figs. 1A–1B; 0074–0076 and Figs. 26–27.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use Davis’s magnetic actuation members in Hangleiter since expressly seeks simpler sealing and avoids transferring pressure medium into a rotating component ( 0006). Davis addresses the same through-wall actuation problem and identifies improved durability and leak resistance ( 0039), and further discloses retrofit conversion of an existing sliding-stem valve to magnetic actuation ( 0074–0075).
Claim 2
“The collet device of claim 1, wherein actuation of the collet involves pulling the collet laterally inward within the enclosure to achieve the closed position and releasing the collet laterally toward the enclosure opening to achieve the open position.” Hangleiter pulls jaws 10 axially inward to close and pushes them outward toward hole 24 to open. 0017, 0021–0022; Fig. 1
Claim 3
The rejection and combination analysis for claim 1 are incorporated by reference. Claim 3 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Hangleiter does not teach “The collet device of claim 1, wherein actuation of the collet to achieve the closed position can be accomplished in varying amounts based on the level of magnetic interaction between the internal magnetic component and the separate external activating magnetic component.”
“wherein actuation of the collet to achieve the closed position can be accomplished in varying amounts based on the level of magnetic interaction between the internal magnetic component and the separate external activating magnetic component.” Davis teaches position-following magnetic coupling and expressly teaches selecting more or fewer magnets/layers to adjust transmitted linear actuation force. [0042–0044; Figs. 1B and 2A–2B] Against Hangleiter’s spring load, different available magnetic force and external-actuator travel predictably permit different degrees of collet translation up to full closure. (see reasons to combine above)
Claim 6
“a retention spring located within the enclosure and configured to apply a biasing force against the collet, wherein the biasing force results in the collet being situated at a default position” Spring 7 is inside body 2 and biases the piston/jaw assembly. Hangleiter expressly describes the positions assumed when the external pressure input is absent. [0005, 0016, 0021–0023; Figs. 1–2]
Hangleiter does not teach “in the absence of any magnetic interaction between the internal magnetic component and the separate external activating magnetic component.”
In the combined device, removing or decoupling the external magnetic input leaves Hangleiter’s spring 7 as the biasing element that establishes the default collet position. [Davis 0042–0044, especially the disclosed magnetic coupling and decoupling of external magnets 160 and internal members 110.] See reasons to combine above
Claim 16
“A method of handling an object with a collet device, the method comprising:” Hangleiter describes operating a collet device to receive, grip, and release stem 20. [0004–0005, 0021–0025; Figs. 1–2.]
“accepting an object within a collet of the collet device when the collet is in an open position, wherein the collet includes a collet opening that receives the object therethrough and a plurality of clamping components;” Stem 20 passes through hole 24 between open jaws 10. 0017, 0019–0020, 0023–0025; Figs. 1–2
“actuating the collet from the open position to a closed position” Hangleiter moves the collet from its open to holding state. [0017, 0021, 0024; Figs. 1–2, piston 5, member 4, jaws 10.]
“wherein the closed position involves the plurality of clamping components moving radially inward to clamp onto and hold the object accepted therein.” The outer ends of jaws 10 pivot radially inward and grip stem 20. [0017, 0020–0021, 0024; Figs. 1–2, jaw ends 10 and stem 20.]
Hangleiter does not teach “activating an external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate an internal magnetic component located within the collet device; and actuating the collet from the open position to a closed position based on a magnetic interaction between the actuated external activating magnetic component and the internal magnetic component,”
Davis positions and moves the external magnet assembly proximate the enclosed internal members. [0040–0043; Figs. 1A–1B, external actuator 130 and magnets 160 outside bonnet 133, internal members 110 inside bonnet 133.]
“actuating the collet from the open position to a closed position based on a magnetic interaction between the actuated external activating magnetic component and the internal magnetic component,” Magnetic coupling translates internal members 110 and stem 190 to open or close the attached mechanism. [Davis 0042–0043; Figs. 1B, 5–6] See reasons to combine above
Claim 17
The rejection and combination analysis for claim 16 are incorporated by reference. Claim 17 is separately examined for its added limitation.
“wherein each step is automatically performed by the collet device” Hangleiter expressly states that the chuck can “reclamp or regrip automatically” when a stem is inserted, and describes the passive insertion-triggered sequence. [0004, 0023–0025; Fig. 2.]
Hangleiter does not teach “or a processing component controlling the external activating magnetic component.” Davis supplies a powered actuator for external magnetic member 130; Hangleiter already supplies system controller 25. In the proposed combination, controller 25 controls the powered actuator that moves external magnetic component 130. [Davis ¶¶ 0057–0058; Figs. 11–12, pneumatic actuator 1351 coupled to external actuator 130; considered with Hangleiter 0022, system controller 25.] See reasons to combine above
Claim 18
The rejection and combination analysis for claim 16 are incorporated by reference. Claim 18 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Hangleiter does not teach “The method of claim 16, wherein actuating the collet includes pulling the internal magnetic component toward the external activating magnetic component.” Davis teaches The internal ferromagnetic member follows and is pulled in the direction of the moved external magnets, transmitting that pull to stem 190. [0042–0043, 0047; Figs. 1B and 3B, magnets 160, internal members 110, stem 190, pin 191.] See reasons to combine above
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bickford et al., US 9,593,706 B2, in view of Davis. This is a complete alternative two-reference rejection for the full dependency chain of claim 7; it is not a tertiary addition to Hangleiter and Davis.
Inherited claim 1 and claims 6 language
Claim 7. The collet device of claim 6, wherein the default position is the open position and application of a magnetic force by the separate external activating magnetic component results in overcoming the biasing force to actuate the collet to the closed position.
“A collet device configured to hold a separate object, the collet device comprising:” Bickford discloses Installation tool 400 includes a segmented collet that grips a separate pintail. [Figs. 11–15; col. 19, l. 45–col. 21, l. 3]
“an enclosure configured to house a plurality of internal components, wherein the enclosure defines an elongated shape having an enclosure opening at a distal end thereof Housing 402 encloses collet 410, drive member 416, springs 414/418, and has a front opening receiving pintail 182. ;” [Figs. 11–15, col. 19, l. 45–col. 20, l. 1.]
“a collet situated within the enclosure and configured to accept a separate object inserted through the enclosure opening and into the collet, wherein the collet includes a collet opening and a plurality of clamping components configured to actuate between an open position to release the separate object and a closed position to hold the separate object; and” [Segments of collet 410 radially expand to receive pintail 182, contract against taper 412 to increase clamping force, and expand to release. Figs. 11–15 col. 20, ll. 1–48 and 55–65; col. 21, ll. 1–3.]
“a retention spring located within the enclosure and configured to apply a biasing force against the collet, wherein the biasing force results in the collet being situated at a default position” Spring 418 moves collet 410 away from taper 412 so the segments expand into the release/open state. [Figs. 11–15, col. 19, l. 52–col. 21, l. 3.]
“wherein the default position is the open position” The spring-biased condition is the expanded release position. [Figs. 11–15; col. 20, ll. 60–65–col. 21, ll. 1–3.]
Hangleiter does not teach “an internal magnetic component located within the enclosure, wherein the internal magnetic component is configured to facilitate actuation of the collet between the open position and the closed position based on magnetic interactions between the internal magnetic component and a separate external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate the internal magnetic component; in the absence of any magnetic interaction between the internal magnetic component and the separate external activating magnetic component; and application of a magnetic force by the separate external activating magnetic component results in overcoming the biasing force to actuate the collet to the closed position.”
Davis is used only for the missing magnetic actuator and its interaction with the spring-open collet.
“an internal magnetic component located within the enclosure, wherein the internal magnetic component is configured to facilitate actuation of the collet between the open position and the closed position based on magnetic interactions between the internal magnetic component and a separate external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate the internal magnetic component;” Davis transmits external magnetic motion through an enclosure to an attached internal stem. [0040–0043; Figs. 1A–1B, bonnet 133, internal members 110, external magnets 160, external actuator 130, stem 190.]
“in the absence of any magnetic interaction between the internal magnetic component and the separate external activating magnetic component;” When the external assembly is moved out of operative coupling, the magnetic input is removed and Bickford’s spring 418 establishes the open default. [Davis - 0042–0044, including magnetic coupling/decoupling of magnets 160 and members 110.]
“application of a magnetic force by the separate external activating magnetic component results in overcoming the biasing force to actuate the collet to the closed position.” Davis’s magnetic pull supplies the axial input needed to move collet 410 toward taper 412 against spring 418. [Davis 0042–0044; Figs. 1B and 2B, transmitted linear magnetic force; combined with Bickford Figs. 11–15, spring 418 and taper 412.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the magnetic actuator of Davis in the invention of Bickford as Bickford already requires controllable axial translation of collet 410 and a spring-return release. Davis is reasonably pertinent to providing sealed external-to-internal linear force and expressly supports retrofit of existing sliding mechanisms. The modification replaces or supplements the axial input, rather than inventing a new jaw mechanism.
Claims 8–10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Parker, WO 2017/216565, in view of Davis. Parker and Davis provide a complete alternative two-reference basis for claim 1 as inherited by these claims.
Inherited claim 1 language
“A collet device configured to hold a separate object, the collet device comprising” Parker discloses torch includes a collet for holding a separate elongated cylindrical tungsten rod. :” [Figs. 1, 4, and 6, TIG torch 10, collet 38c, tungsten rod.]
“an enclosure configured to house a plurality of internal components, wherein the enclosure defines an elongated shape having an enclosure opening at a distal end thereof;” The torch body/back-cap assembly is elongated, houses collet components, and has a front aperture/opening. [Figs. 1 and 6, torch body 12, brass body 22, head 26, back cap 42, aperture along axis A.]
“a collet situated within the enclosure and configured to accept a separate object inserted through the enclosure opening and into the collet, wherein the collet includes a collet opening and a plurality of clamping components configured to actuate between an open position to release the separate object and a closed position to hold the separate object; and” Collet 38c passes through body 22, receives the tungsten rod, and its slotted jaws move from fully open to fully closed when taper 66 is drawn rearward into the matching body taper. [Parker Figs. 1, 4, and 6, collet 38c, front grip section 60, tapered section 66, slots 70, tungsten rod.]
Parker does not teach “an internal magnetic component located within the enclosure, wherein the internal magnetic component is configured to facilitate actuation of the collet between the open position and the closed position based on magnetic interactions between the internal magnetic component and a separate external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate the internal magnetic component.” Davis supplies the through-wall magnetic follower and its rigid stem coupling. [0040–0043; Figs. 1A–1B, bonnet 133, internal members 110, external magnets 160, actuator 130, stem 190.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the magnetic actuator of Davis in the invention of Parker since Parker expressly seeks to reduce torsional damage by tensioning the collet longitudinally and identifies rearward draw as the motion that closes the jaws. Davis provides a nonpenetrating linear actuator for exactly that motion and identifies durability and leak-resistance benefits ( 0039). Thus, the reason arises from Parker’s own linear/torsion objective and Davis’s stated actuator advantage, not from the present claims.
Claim 8
The Parker–Davis alternative rejection of inherited claim 1 is incorporated by reference. Claim 8 is separately examined for its added limitation.
“The collet device of claim 1, wherein the collet is part of a collet assembly that includes the plurality of clamping components at a first distal end thereof and an elongated shaft ending at a second distal end thereof opposite the first distal end.” Parker’s one-piece elongated collet has its jaws at one end and its elongated body/rear attachment at the opposite end. [Fig. 4, collet 38c, front grip section 60 and jaws/slots 70 at the front end, elongated central heat sink section 58 and rear attachment section 56 ending at thread 40c.]
Claim 9
The rejection of claim 8 is incorporated by reference. Claim 9 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Parker does not teach “The collet device of claim 8, wherein the internal magnetic component is coupled to the elongated shaft at the second distal end.” Davis teaches The proposed coupling places member 110 at the rear end of Parker’s elongated collet, which is the existing axial attachment point. [0042; Fig. 1B, internal ferromagnetic members 110 directly attached or rigidly coupled to stem 190; applied at Parker Fig. 4, rear attachment section 56 / thread 40c.] See reasons to combine above
Claim 10
The rejection of claim 9 is incorporated by reference. Claim 10 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Parker does not teach “The collet device of claim 9, wherein activation of the separate external activating magnetic component results in the magnetic interaction with the internal magnetic component that results in pulling the internal magnetic component and the collet assembly toward the separate external activating magnetic component.” Davis teaches that external magnet movement exerts a same-direction force on internal members 110 and the attached stem. With the claim 9 coupling, the collet assembly is pulled with the member. [0042–0043, 0047; Figs. 1B and 3B, external magnets 160, internal members 110, stem 190, pin 191.] See reasons to combine above
Claim 13
The Parker–Davis alternative rejection of inherited claim 1 is incorporated by reference. Claim 13 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Parker does not teach “The collet device of claim 1, wherein the separate object is a prerolled cigarette.”
Davis also does not teach that article, and no tertiary reference is added. Under MPEP § 2115, inclusion of the material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to an apparatus claim unless the recitation requires a structural distinction. Parker’s collet is structurally configured to receive and grip a smooth elongated cylindrical tungsten rod through a front opening (Figs. 1, 4, and 6). Claim 13 recites no cigarette diameter, compliance, material, gripping-pressure limit, or other structural adaptation that distinguishes the claimed collet device from the Parker–Davis device. Thus, “wherein the separate object is a prerolled cigarette” is given weight as the identified article, but on the present record it does not require a different apparatus structure.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bickford in view of Davis. This is a complete alternative two-reference method rejection and is not a tertiary addition to Hangleiter and Davis.
Inherited claim 16 language and claim 19
“A method of handling an object with a collet device, the method comprising:” Bickford discloses operating installation tool 400 and segmented collet 410 to receive, grip, and release pintail 182. [Figs. 11–15; col. 19, l. 45–col. 21, l. 3.]
“accepting an object within a collet of the collet device when the collet is in an open position, wherein the collet includes a collet opening that receives the object therethrough and a plurality of clamping components;” The segmented collet radially expands and moves over the inserted pintail. [Figs. 11–15, collet 410 and pintail 182; col. 20, ll. 1–35.]
“actuating the collet from the open position to a closed position” Rearward axial translation bears the collet against housing taper 412 and increases clamping force. [Figs. 11–15, collet 410 and taper 412; col. 20, ll. 36–48.]
“wherein the closed position involves the plurality of clamping components moving radially inward to clamp onto and hold the object accepted therein.” The taper contracts the collet segments onto the pintail. [Figs. 11–15, segmented collet 410, taper 412, pintail 182; col. 20, ll. 36–48.]
“actuating the collet from the closed position to the open position” Spring 418 moves the collet away from taper 412, allowing it to expand. [Figs. 11–15, spring 418, collet 410, taper 412; col. 20, ll. 60–65–col. 21, ll. 1–3.]
“releasing the object from the collet.” The expanded collet releases and ejects the pintail. [Figs. 11–15, spring 418 and pintail 182; col. 21, ll. 1–3.]
Bickford does not teach “activating an external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate an internal magnetic component located within the collet device; and actuating the collet from the open position to a closed position based on a magnetic interaction between the actuated external activating magnetic component and the internal magnetic component, deactivating the external activating magnetic component; actuating the collet from the closed position to the open position based on removal of the magnetic interaction between the actuated external activating magnetic component and the internal magnetic component;”
“activating an external activating magnetic component located outside the collet device and proximate an internal magnetic component located within the collet device;” Davis establishes the external/internal magnetic arrangement and its activation by positioning/moving the external actuator. [0040–0043; Figs. 1A–1B, actuator 130, magnets 160, bonnet 133, members 110.]
“actuating the collet from the open position to a closed position based on a magnetic interaction between the actuated external activating magnetic component and the internal magnetic component,” The magnetic interaction supplies Bickford’s rearward collet motion. [Davis 0042–0043; Figs. 1B and 5–6, coupled translation of members 110 and stem 190.]
“deactivating the external activating magnetic component;” Moving the external actuator out of operative coupling deactivates the magnetic input under the broad method language. [Davis 0042–0044, including movement and magnetic decoupling of external magnets 160 from internal members 110.]
“actuating the collet from the closed position to the open position based on removal of the magnetic interaction between the actuated external activating magnetic component and the internal magnetic component;” Once the magnetic pull is removed, Bickford’s spring 418 moves the collet away from taper 412 to the open state. [Davis 0042–0044, considered with Bickford Figs. 11–15 and spring 418.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the magnetic actuator of Davis in the invention of Bickford since Bickford already supplies the exact axial-close/spring-open cycle; Davis supplies a sealed external linear input and expressly contemplates retrofit. The references therefore provide a direct operational reason to substitute the input while retaining the cycle.
Claims 11–12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hangleiter in view of Davis, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Koers et al., WO 2021/242104
Claim 11
The Hangleiter–Davis rejection of claim 1 is incorporated by reference. Claim 11 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Hangleiter does not teach “The collet device of claim 1, wherein the separate external activating magnetic component is an externally controlled electromagnet.” Koers teaches static and/or electromagnets in a magnetic clamping unit and external electrical control of the electromagnet. [description stating “at least one electromagnet is used” and that a controller/control unit is linked to the electromagnet; Figs. 3–4, magnets 30a/30b, pin 32, movable structure 36.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the magnetic actuator of Davis in the invention of Hangleiter as Koers expressly states that an electromagnet may be used and controlled in a magnetic clamping unit. Hangleiter already uses system controller 25, and Davis relies on magnetic flux across a non-ferromagnetic enclosure. The modification supplies controllable on/off actuation using the same physical coupling.
Claim 12
The rejection of claim 11 is incorporated by reference. Claim 12 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Hangleiter does not teach “The collet device of claim 11, wherein the externally controlled electromagnet is configured to have an adjustable power output to vary a clamping force of the collet.” Controller-adjusted energization is adjustable electrical power to the electromagnet, which Koers teaches and links directly to adjustable clamping force. [description stating that clamping force is adjusted by changing the electromagnet’s magnetic field and that a controller/control unit varies the magnetic field and resulting clamping force; Figs. 3–4, elements 30a/30b, 32, 36.] See reasons to combine above
Claim 20
The Hangleiter–Davis rejection of claim 16 is incorporated by reference. Claim 20 is separately examined for its added limitation.
Hangleiter does not teach “The method of claim 16, further comprising the step of: adjusting the power of the external activating magnetic component, wherein adjusting the power results in adjusting the strength of the magnetic interaction between the actuated external activating magnetic component and the internal magnetic component, and wherein adjusting the strength of the magnetic interaction results in adjusting a clamping force exerted by the plurality of clamping components.” Applying Koers’s controlled field to Davis’s external/internal magnetic coupling changes force on the internal follower, which changes the force Hangleiter’s jaws exert. [electromagnet/controller passage and Figs. 3–4, magnets 30a/30b, pin 32, movable structure 36; Koers expressly links changing electromagnetic field to changing resulting clamping force.] See reasons to combine above
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to include all limitations of the base and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 5
The prior art does not teach the integrated spatial and structural arrangement in which (i) the enclosure has “a base section removably coupled to a tapered conical section,” (ii) the internal magnetic component is in the base section, (iii) the collet is in the removably coupled tapered conical section, and (iv) the inner surface of that same tapered conical section forces the plurality of clamping components closed as the collet is pulled inward.
Claims 14 and 15
The prior art does not teach the claimed integration of the magnetic collet device for a prerolled cigarette into one coordinated handling-and-treatment system having all three expressly recited stations—“a collet device loading station, an adhesive spraying station, and a fluidized bed coating station”
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M. BENEDIK/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JUSTIN M BENEDIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642