Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 4, 2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (Chinese Patent Pub. No.: CN110708551A), hereinafter Cui, in view of Satoshi (Japan Patent Pub. No.: JP2015005903A), hereinafter Satoshi, further in view of Qu (Chinese Patent Pub. No.: CN110933443A), hereinafter Qu.
Regarding claim 1, Cui teaches a method for image compression, comprising: determining a target pixel block in an image to be compressed (determining a coding block in a video frame to be encoded. Abstract); selecting one pixel block grouping mode from a plurality of pixel block grouping modes based on a direction of variation in pixel values within the target pixel block (obtaining pixel gradients of each pixel in the coding block in multiple directions based on the pixel values of each pixel in the coding block; comparing the pixel gradients in multiple directions, and determining a partitioning direction of the coding block based on at least one direction when the difference between the pixel gradient in at least one direction and the pixel gradients in other directions meets the set conditions. Abstract); and compressing the target pixel block (The coding block is divided into a multi-way tree according to the division direction of the coding block, and the coding block after multi-way tree division is encoded. [0013]) based on the selected one pixel block grouping mode (partitioning the coding block into a multi-branch tree based on the partitioning direction of the coding block. Abstract).
Cui does not teach the following limitations as further recited, but Satoshi further teaches selecting one pixel block grouping mode from a plurality of pixel block grouping modes (A residual encoding unit configured to encode the residual of each pixel in the pixel block; A prediction mode selection unit configured to calculate, for each of the prediction modes, a bit size of a residual of the pixel block encoded by the residual encoding unit, and select, as a selected prediction mode, the prediction mode in which the bit size of the residual of the encoded pixel block is smallest. [0016]) by using a cost function indicating a storage cost of the target pixel block (Here, the prediction mode selection unit 17 calculates the block cost BCi of the encoded pixel block (S206). Here, the block cost BCi is specifically calculated according to the following equation. [0068].
).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cui to incorporate the teachings of Satoshi to select one pixel block grouping mode from a plurality of pixel block grouping modes by using a cost function indicating a storage cost of the target pixel block in order to improve the encoding efficiency of video encoding.
The combination of Cui and Satoshi does not teach the following limitations as further recited, but Qu further teaches compressing the target pixel block by constructing a minimum value tree for the target pixel block (calculating the minimum value tree and bit width tree of each 4*4 pixel block; calculating the minimum value tree and bit width tree of the reconstruction frame based on the minimum value tree and bit width tree of each 4*4 pixel block; and writing the minimum value tree and bit width tree of the reconstruction frame into memory. Because this scheme compresses the reconstructed frames, the compressed data reduces bandwidth requirements during encoding and decoding. Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Qu to compress the target pixel block by constructing a minimum value tree for the target pixel block in order to reduce the bandwidth requirements during video encoding and decoding.
Regarding claim 2, Satoshi in the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the one pixel block grouping mode comprises: calculating bit counts corresponding to the plurality of pixel block grouping modes (prediction mode selection means for calculating a residual bit size of the pixel block encoded by the residual encoding means and selecting a selection prediction mode minimizing the residual bit size of the encoded pixel block with respect to the prediction modes. Overview); calculating function values corresponding to the plurality of pixel block grouping modes by inputting the bit counts into the cost function (Here, the prediction mode selection unit 17 calculates the block cost BCi of the encoded pixel block (S206). Here, the block cost BCi is specifically calculated according to the following equation. [0068].
); and selecting the one pixel block grouping mode corresponding to a minimum function value (A residual encoding unit configured to encode the residual of each pixel in the pixel block; A prediction mode selection unit configured to calculate, for each of the prediction modes, a bit size of a residual of the pixel block encoded by the residual encoding unit, and select, as a selected prediction mode, the prediction mode in which the bit size of the residual of the encoded pixel block is smallest. [0016]).
Qu in the combination further teaches wherein each bit count represents a storage size (Convert the maximum value in each 2x2 pixel block to binary. [0022]) required for a difference between a maximum pixel value and a minimum pixel value within each group of pixels (Determine the maximum value among the four 2*2 pixel blocks after subtracting the minimum value from each of them [0021]).
Regarding claim 8, Satoshi in the combination teaches the method of claim 2, wherein calculating the function values comprises: accumulating the bit counts corresponding to each pixel block grouping mode to obtain the function value for each pixel block grouping mode (Here, the prediction mode selection unit 17 calculates the block cost BCi of the encoded pixel block (S206). Here, the block cost BCi is specifically calculated according to the following equation. [0068].
).
Claim 7, 9-10, unamended and are rejected based on the revised combination of Cui, in view of Satoshi as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Qu. The grounds of rejection established in the last Office Action is fully incorporated herein.
Apparatus claims 11-12 and 17-19 are drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claims 1-2 and 7-9. Therefore apparatus claims 11-12 and 17-19 correspond to method claims 1-2 and 7-9, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim 20 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored for carrying out the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 3-5 and 13-15, unamended and are rejected based on the revised combination of Cui (Chinese Patent Pub. No.: CN110708551A), hereinafter Cui, in view of Satoshi (Japan Patent Pub. No.: JP2015005903A), hereinafter Satoshi, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Qu (Chinese Patent Pub. No.: CN110933443A), hereinafter Qu, further in view of Liu (US Patent Pub. No.: US 2022/0224820 A1), hereinafter Liu. The ground of rejection established in the last Office Action is fully incorporated herein.
Claims 6 and 16, unamended and are rejected based on the revised combination of Cui (Chinese Patent Pub. No.: CN110708551A), hereinafter Cui, in view of Satoshi (Japan Patent Pub. No.: JP2015005903A), hereinafter Satoshi, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Qu (Chinese Patent Pub. No.: CN110933443A), hereinafter Qu, further in view of Liu (US Patent Pub. No.: US 2022/0224820 A1), hereinafter Liu, further in view of Inventor (Koren Patent Pub. No.: KR 102465188 B1), hereinafter Inventor. The ground of rejection established in the last Office Action is fully incorporated herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEI ZHAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2668
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668