DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “obstructor element” should read “obstructer element.” Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 0139 appears to incorrectly refer to mechanism 48 as being shown in FIG. 8. Mechanism 48 appears to be shown in FIG. 9. Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract includes implied phrases, e.g. “is disclosed.” Appropriate correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 11-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krantz et al. (US 2008/0029357 A1) in view of Carmassi et al. (US 2013/0233658 A1) and further in view of Bauer et al. (US 2018/0345762 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Krantz discloses a braking system for a vehicle (200) the braking system comprising:
a braking apparatus (404) having at least one pair of friction members (movable rotor 406 and brake pads 466) and selectively operable to provoke braking of the vehicle by pressing the friction members against each other (brake pads 466 that contact a movable rotor 406 during braking; see ¶ 0092),
so that the pressure between the friction members causes a frictional force acting on the friction members and increasing with the pressure (brake pads 466 contact movable rotor 406 during braking; see ¶ 0092. Krantz inherently teaches that increasing the braking pressure between the brake pad and rotor increases the braking/friction force).
Krantz further discloses collecting and filtering particulate generated by the braking apparatus (housing 402/ rotor shroud 462 collects brake dust generated during braking; hose 412 carries brake dust to dust collector 450; dust collector 450 separates dust from air using a filter; filter 474 captures brake dust released from brake pads 466 and rotor 406; see ¶¶ 0087-92, and 0095-97).
Krantz does not expressly disclose a cooling duct extending between an air inlet for the intake of outside air and an outlet opening for discharging the air that entered through the air inlet, wherein at least one of the friction members is arranged in the cooling duct so that it can be hit by a flow of air flowing through the cooling duct;
a filter duct extending between an inlet communicating with the outlet opening and an outlet to the external environment, the filter duct having a first branch and a second branch arranged in parallel;
valve means comprising an obstructer element and controllable according to at least a first configuration, in which the obstructer element at least partially obstructs the first branch and clears the second branch, and a second configuration, in which the obstructer element at least partially obstructs the second branch and clears the first branch;
a filter arranged at the second branch and configured to filter particulate from the air passing through the second branch; and
actuating means configured to drive the valve means into the first configuration from the second configuration in response to the braking of the vehicle.
Carmassi teaches a cooling duct extending between an air inlet for the intake of outside air and an outlet opening for discharging the air that entered through the air inlet (cooling ducts 16 originate from corresponding air intakes 17 obtained through front fender 18 and end near front brakes 13 to convey cooling air toward the front brakes 13; see ¶ 0022).
Carmassi further teaches arranging the brake/friction structure to be cooled by the airflow from the cooling duct (braking system 12 having four brakes 13, each of which is arranged within a respective wheel 2 or 3; each brake 13 includes brake disc 14 and brake caliper 15; cooling ducts 16 convey the cooling air towards the front brakes 13, see ¶¶ 0021-22).
Carmassi further teaches an actuating/control arrangement for changing a valve/shutter configuration (see ¶¶ 0023-24).
Carmassi further teaches actuating means configured to drive a valve/shutter in response to braking of the vehicle (electronic control unit 44 drives the electric motors 26, the electric linear actuators 39 and the locking devices 41 to control the movement of the shutters 19; control unit 44 decides the position of the shutter 19 as a function of the temperature of the front brakes 13/brake discs 14 and vehicle speed; the brake-disc temperature may be estimated based on deceleration induced by actuation of braking system 12; see ¶¶ 0034, 0041-45).
However, Carmassi does not expressly teach a filter duct having first and second branches arranged in parallel, a filter arranged at the second branch, and valve means configured to selectively obstruct one branch while clearing the other branch.
Bauer teaches a filter duct (exterior filter housing 100/conduit 154) extending between an inlet communicating with the outlet opening (inlet 110 of exterior filter housing 100 receiving air from intake 40; as applied to the Krantz/Carmassi brake-cooling outlet) and an outlet (outlet 150 leading to conduit 154) to the external environment, the filter duct (exterior filter housing 100/conduit 154) having a first branch (first/bypass airflow path from gap 170 directly to outlet 150/conduit 154 after first filter element 400) and a second branch (second/filtered airflow path from gap 170 through second filter element 300 to space 190 and then to outlet 150/conduit 154) arranged in parallel (gap diverter 152 selectively routes air either through the first/bypass path or through the second/filtered path; see Bauer ¶¶ 0042-44);
valve means comprising an obstructer element (gap diverter 152) and controllable according to at least a first configuration, in which the obstructer element (152) at least partially obstructs the first branch (substantially blocks fluid communication between gap 170 and conduit 154, thereby blocking the first/bypass airflow path) and clears the second branch (open flow from space 190 above second filter element 300 to outlet 150/conduit 154 after air passes through second filter element 300), and a second configuration, in which the obstructer element (152) at least partially obstructs the second branch (blocks or bypasses the airflow path through second filter element 300) and clears the first branch (opens a pathway from gap 170 between first filter element 400 and second filter element 300 into conduit 154, allowing air to exit through outlet 150/conduit 154 after only first filter element 400; see Bauer ¶ 0044);
a filter arranged at the second branch and configured to filter particulate from the air passing through the second branch (second filter element 300 arranged in the second/filtered airflow path; filter media remove particulates or gases from air; see Bauer ¶¶ 0040, 0042-44, 0074).
Bauer further teaches actuating/control of the valve means between the airflow configurations (gap diverter 152 may be controlled by electromechanical or pneumatic means; control unit 600 communicates with diverters and sensors to affect an air flow path through the system; diverters can be opened, partially opened, or closed via a motor or other actuating device; see Bauer ¶¶ 0005-6, 0011, 0073, 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake-dust collection system of Krantz with the brake cooling duct arrangement of Carmassi, including a brake cooling duct 16 having an air intake 17 and a movable shutter 19 controlled by an actuating device 21, because Krantz already collects brake dust generated during, and Carmassi teaches controlling brake-cooling airflow by moving shutter 19 between a closed position and an open position. The modification would have predictably provided an actively controllable brake-airflow path near the brake-generated particulate so that airflow carrying brake dust could be selectively directed toward Krantz’s collector/filter system.
It would have further been obvious to modify the Krantz/Carmassi system with Bauer’s selectable diverter/filter-path arrangement because Bauer teaches selectively routing air through different filter paths to reduce unnecessary filter use, reduce fan load, and increase filter service life, while still allowing particulate-laden air to be routed through a filter when filtering is needed.
Regarding claim 2, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 1, wherein the outlet opening matches the inlet of the filter duct, so that all the air leaving the cooling duct passes to the filter duct.
Carmassi teaches the cooling duct portion of the limitation (cooling ducts 16 originating from intakes 17 and ending near front brakes 13 to convey cooling air toward the brakes; see Carmassi ¶ 0022).
Bauer teaches the downstream filter-duct inlet/outlet structure (exterior filter housing 100 having inlet 110, outlet 150, and conduit 154 receives air from outlet 150; see Bauer ¶¶ 0042-44).
Thus, in the modified Krantz combination, the outlet opening of the Carmassi cooling duct would be connected to, and match with, the inlet 110 of Bauer’s exterior filter housing 100 so that brake-dust-laden cooling air leaving the cooling duct passes into the filter duct.
Regarding claim 3, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 1, wherein the cooling duct communicates with the outside only via the air intake and the outlet opening.
Carmassi teaches or at least suggests the claimed limited outside communication of the cooling duct (cooling ducts 16 originate from corresponding air intakes 17 obtained through front fender 18 and end near front brakes 13 to convey cooling air toward the front brakes 13; shutter 19 closes/seals air intake 17 to prevent entrance of air into corresponding cooling duct 16 and opens air intake 17 to allow entrance of air into corresponding cooling duct 16; see ¶¶ 0022-23)
Regarding claim 9, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 1, wherein the actuating means comprises an actuator controllable to move the valve means from the second configuration to the first configuration.
Bauer teaches the actuator/valve movement portion (gap diverter 152 may be controlled by electromechanical or pneumatic means; diverters may be opened, partially opened, or closed via a motor or other actuating device; see Bauer ¶¶ 0005, 0073, 0075).
Carmassi teaches a transducer configured to detect a quantity indicative of the occurrence of braking and to generate a related signal (brake-disc temperature may be determined directly by a temperature sensor or indirectly by calculating kinetic energy differential induced by deceleration determined by actuation of braking system 12; see ¶ 0045); and
a control unit configured to receive the signal and control an actuator based on the braking-related signal (electronic control unit 44 drives electric motors 26, electric linear actuators 39, and locking devices 41 to control movement of shutters 19 based on front brake 13/brake disc 14 temperature and vehicle speed; see Carmassi ¶¶ 0034, 0041-45).
However, Carmassi does not teach controlling Bauer’s gap diverter 152 in Bauer’s filter duct.
Bauer teaches applying control-unit/actuator control to the branch-selecting diverter (control unit 600 communicates with diverters and sensors to affect an air-flow path through the system; see ¶¶ 0011, 0073, 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Carmassi’s control unit to control Bauer’s actuator-driven gap diverter 152 in the modified Krantz system in response to Carmassi’s braking-related signal. One would have been motivated to do so to automatically route brake-dust-laden airflow through the filtered branch when braking occurs, while bypassing unnecessary filtration when braking is not occurring thereby reducing flow resistance and filter loading and extending filter service life.
Regarding claim 11, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 9, further comprising a measuring or estimating device configured to determine a quantity representative of a forward movement of the vehicle.
Carmassi teaches determining a quantity representative of forward movement of the vehicle (control unit 44 determines the running speed of road vehicle 1, see ¶¶ 0041-44),
Carmassi further teaches the control unit be coupled to, or at least receiving/using the determined forward movement quantity, to control actuator movement based on the quantity (control unit 44 decides the position of shutter 19 as a function of brake temperature and running speed of road vehicle 1; see ¶ 0041).
Carmassi further teaches controlling the actuator with the additional condition that the determined forward movement quantity exceeds a minimum movement threshold at the time of braking occurrence (control unit 44 opens shutter 19 when brake temperature of front brakes 13/brake discs 14 is higher than an upper temperature threshold and running speed of road vehicle 1 is higher than an upper speed threshold at the same time; control unit 44 never opens shutter 19 when running speed is lower than the upper speed threshold; see ¶¶ 0043-44).
However, Carmassi does not teach applying this control logic to the branch-selecting valve means of the modified Krantz filter duct.
Bauer teaches the branch-selecting valve means and actuator-controlled movement into the filtering configuration (gap diverter 152; control unit 600; motor or other actuating device controlling diverter opening/closing, as discussed above for claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the control unit of the modified Krantz system to move Bauer’s gap diverter 152 into the filtering configuration only when the vehicle speed exceeds Carmassi’s speed threshold. Carmassi explains that, below the speed threshold, the airflow channeled through the cooling duct is substantially negligible and therefore ineffective. Applying Carmassi’s speed condition would therefore ensure that the filtered branch is selected when sufficient airflow exists to transport brake particulate to the filter, while avoiding unnecessary actuator movement and filter loading at low or zero vehicle speed. Thus, the control unit would move the valve means into the filtering configuration when braking is present and the determined forward-movement quantity exceeds the minimum movement threshold.
Regarding claim 12, Krantz as modified discloses a wheel assembly for a vehicle, the wheel assembly comprising a wheel and a braking system according to claim 1, wherein one of the friction members is fixed to the wheel (road vehicle 1 includes front wheels 2 and rear wheels 3; braking system 12 includes brakes 13 arranged within respective wheels 2 or 3; each brake 13 includes brake disc 14 angularly integral with the wheel hub and brake caliper 15 enveloping brake disc 14, wherein brake disc 14 corresponds to the friction member fixed to the wheel/wheel hub; see Carmassi ¶¶ 0019, 0021).
Regarding claim 13, Krantz as modified discloses a vehicle comprising a wheel assembly according to claim 12 (see Carmassi ¶¶ 0019, 0021).
Regarding claim 15, Krantz discloses a braking system for a vehicle (200), the braking system comprising:
a braking apparatus (404) comprising friction members (movable rotor 406 and brake pads 466), wherein the braking apparatus is selectively operable to provoke braking of the vehicle by creating pressure between the friction members that causes a frictional force acting on the friction members and wherein the frictional force increases with an increase in the pressure (brake pads 466 that contact a movable rotor 406 during braking; pollutants/particles generated by friction between a brake pad and braking surface during braking; see ¶¶ 0075, 0092). Krantz inherently teaches that increasing the braking pressure between the brake pad and rotor increases the braking/friction force.
Krantz further discloses collecting and filtering particulate generated by the braking apparatus (housing 402/ rotor shroud 462 collects brake dust generated during braking; hose 412 carries brake dust to dust collector 450; dust collector 450 separates dust from air using a filter; filter 474 captures brake dust released from brake pads 466 and rotor 406; see ¶¶ 0087-92, and 0095-97).
Krantz does not expressly disclose a cooling duct extending between an air inlet for the intake of outside air and an outlet opening for discharging the air that entered through the air inlet, wherein at least one of the friction members is arranged in the cooling duct so that it can be hit by a flow of air flowing through the cooling duct;
a filter duct extending between an inlet communicating with the outlet opening of the cooling duct and an outlet to the external environment, the filter duct having a first branch and a second branch arranged fluidically in parallel;
a valve comprising an obstructer element, wherein the valve is controllable according to:
a filtering configuration in which the obstructer element at least partially obstructs the first branch and the second branch is open; and
a second configuration in which the obstructer element at least partially obstructs the second branch and the first branch is open;
a filter arranged at the second branch and configured to filter particulate from the air passing through the second branch; and
an actuator configured to drive the valve into the filtering configuration from the second configuration in response to the braking of the vehicle.
Carmassi teaches a cooling duct extending between an air inlet for the intake of outside air and an outlet opening for discharging the air that entered through the air inlet (cooling ducts 16 originate from corresponding air intakes 17 obtained through front fender 18 and end near front brakes 13 to convey cooling air toward the front brakes 13 to convey cooling air toward the front brakes 13; see ¶ 0022).
Carmassi further teaches arranging the brake/friction structure to be cooled by the airflow from the cooling duct (braking system 12 having four brakes 13, each of which is arranged within a respective wheel 2 or 3; each brake 13 includes brake disc 14 and brake caliper 15; cooling ducts 16 convey the cooling air towards the front brakes 13, see ¶¶ 0021-22).
Carmassi further teaches an actuating/control arrangement responsive to braking-related conditions (electronic control unit 44 drives the electric motors 26, the electric linear actuators 39 and the locking devices 41 to control the movement of the shutters 19; control unit 44 decides the position of the shutter 19 as a function of the temperature of the front brakes 13/brake discs 14 and vehicle speed; the brake-disc temperature may be estimated based on deceleration induced by actuation of braking system 12; see ¶¶ 0034, 0041-45).
However, Carmassi does not expressly teach a filter duct having first and second branches arranged fluidically in parallel, a filter arranged at the second branch, and valve configured to selectively obstruct one branch while opening the other branch.
Bauer teaches a filter duct (exterior filter housing 100/conduit 154) extending between an inlet communicating with the outlet opening (inlet 110 of exterior filter housing 100 receiving air from intake 40; as applied to the Krantz/Carmassi brake-cooling outlet) of the cooling duct and an outlet (outlet 150 leading to conduit 154) to the external environment, the filter duct (exterior filter housing 100/conduit 154) having a first branch (first/bypass airflow path from gap 170 directly to outlet 150/conduit 154 after first filter element 400) and a second branch (second/filtered airflow path from gap 170 through second filter element 300 to space 190 and then to outlet 150/conduit 154) arranged fluidically in parallel (gap diverter 152 selectively routes air either through the first/bypass path or through the second/filtered path; see Bauer ¶¶ 0042-44);
a valve comprising an obstructer element (gap diverter 152), wherein the valve is controllable according to:
a filtering configuration in which the obstructer element (gap diverter 152) at least partially obstructs the first branch (substantially blocks fluid communication between gap 170 and conduit 154, thereby blocking the first/bypass airflow path) and the second branch is open (open flow from space 190 above second filter element 300 to outlet 150/conduit 154 after air passes through second filter element 300, see ¶ 0044); and
a second configuration in which the obstructer element at least partially obstructs the second branch (blocks or bypasses the airflow path through second filter element 300) and the first branch is open (opens a pathway from gap 170 between first filter element 400 and second filter element 300 into conduit 154, allowing air to exit through outlet 150/conduit 154 after only first filter element 400; see ¶ 0044); and
a filter arranged at the second branch and configured to filter particulate from the air passing through the second branch (second filter element 300 arranged in the second/filtered airflow path; filter media remove particulates or gases from air; see Bauer ¶¶ 0040, 0042-44, 0074).
Bauer further teaches actuating/control of the valve means between the airflow configurations (gap diverter 152 may be controlled by electromechanical or pneumatic means; control unit 600 communicates with diverters and sensors to affect an air flow path through the system; diverters can be opened, partially opened, or closed via a motor or other actuating device; see Bauer ¶¶ 0005-6, 0011, 0073, 0075).
Thus, Carmassi teaches the braking-responsive control trigger, while Bauer teaches the branch-selecting valve/diverter structure and actuator-controlled movement between the filtering configuration and the second configuration.
For the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krantz’s brake-dust collection system with Carmassi’s brake cooling duct arrangement and Bauer’s selectable diverter/filter-path arrangement to provide brake cooling airflow and selectively route particulate-laden air through a filter when filtering is needed.
Regarding claim 16, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system of claim 15, wherein the first branch is completely closed by the obstructer element when the valve is in the filtering configuration (gap diverter 152 substantially blocks fluid communication between gap 170 and conduit 154, thereby blocking the first/bypass airflow path; Bauer further teaches that diverters may be opened, partially opened, or closed via a motor or other actuating device; see Bauer ¶¶ 0044, 0075); and
wherein the second branch is completely closed by the obstructor element when the valve is in the second configuration (gap diverter 152 opens a pathway from gap 170 to outlet 150/conduit 154 so air exits after first filter element 400 without passing through second filter element 300 see Bauer ¶ 0044; Bauer further teaches complete closure because diverters may be opened, partially opened, or closed via a motor or other actuating device; see Bauer ¶ 0075).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krantz et al. (US 2008/0029357 A1) in view of Carmassi et al. (US 2013/0233658 A1), and Bauer et al. (US 2018/0345762 A) and further in view of Adamczak et al. (US 2023/0407929 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 1. Krantz does not expressly disclose a reservoir for collecting the particulate filtered by the filter, the reservoir having an access port for receiving the particulate at the second branch between the valve means and the filter.
Adamczak teaches a reservoir/storage container for collecting particulate filtered by a filter (storage container 50 is intended to receive and store particles that become detached from filter 42; filter 42 is mounted in housing/support 41 and separates housing 41 into an upstream part and a downstream part; see ¶¶ 0105-0108, 0153-0155).
Adamczak further teaches an opening/port arrangement between the filter housing and the storage container for receiving the particulate (housing 41 and storage container 50 form a closed space, and the opening of hosing 41 toward storage container 50 may be closed by a closure; see ¶¶ 0155-157, 0174-176).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange Adamczyk’s storage container 50 at Bauer’s filtered second branch, between gap diverter 152 and second filter element 300, because that location places the container adjacent the filter where detached particulate can fall directly into the container, thereby preventing its re-entry into the airflow and facilitating removal.
Regarding claim 5, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 4, wherein the access port of the reservoir is located in a position to receive particulate falling from the filter by gravity, in particular immediately upstream of the filter (storage container 50 is located below filter 42 on the lower/upstream face 426 side of filter 42; particles become detached from lower face 426 of filter 42 and fall into container 50 by gravity, with gravity assisted by vehicle or machine vibrations; see ¶¶ 0159-0164).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the braking system of Krantz as modified to include Adamczak’s storage container/reservoir and opening positioned adjacent the upstream side of the filter because the modified system already routes brake dust laden air through a filter, and Adamczak teaches collecting particles detached from the filter in a storage container to reduce filter clogging, extend filter service life, and facilitate maintenance. It would have further been obvious to position the reservoir/access port below or immediately upstream of the filter, as taught by Adamczak, so that detached particulate can fall from the filter into the reservoir by gravity without requiring a separate collection mechanism.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krantz et al. (US 2008/0029357 A1) in view of Carmassi et al. (US 2013/0233658 A1), and Bauer et al. (US 2018/0345762 A) and further in view of Hildebrand et al. (US 5042566 A).
Regarding claim 6, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 1. Krantz does not expressly disclose wherein the obstructer element comprises a slot such that the first and second branches communicate via the slot along a pass-through direction through the slot when the valve means are in the second configuration.
Hildebrand teaches an obstructer/flap having a slot or passage through which air may pass (rear-seat air-max flap 3 includes cool air passage 31 formed in the rear-seat air-mix flap 3; cool air passage 31 allows cool air from the inlet side of heat exchanger 8 to flow into rear-seat area duct 16 regardless of the position of rear-seat air-mix flap 3; see Figs. 4-9, col. 4, lines 35-50; col. 5, lines 20-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the braking system of Krantz to include Hildebrand’s cool air passage/cut-out in Bauer’s gap diverter because the modified system already uses a movable obstructer element in a vehicle airflow duct to selectively block one airflow branch while opening another, and Hildebrand teaches a known vehicle air-duct flap arrangement in which a passage is formed through a movable air-mix flap to permit controlled airflow through the flap regardless of flap position. Providing the slot in Bauer’s obstructer element would have predictably allowed controlled limited communication between the first and second branches when the valve is in the second configuration while still allowing the obstructer element to perform its branch-selecting function.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krantz et al. (US 2008/0029357 A1) in view of Carmassi et al. (US 2013/0233658 A1), Bauer et al. (US 2018/0345762 A, and Hildebrand et al. (US 5042566 A), and further in view of Landvik et al. (US 20230192202 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 6. Krantz does not expressly disclose wherein the filter duct comprises a portion with a convergent or convergent-divergent type section proceeding transversely to said direction in the oriented direction from said outlet opening to said outlet; said portion being arranged along the first branch and at the slot, when the valve means are in the second configuration.
Landvik teaches a vehicle air duct having a convergent/Venturi-type section (air deflector 10 includes air duct 20 connecting air inlet 16 to air outlet 18; air duct 20 is a Venturi tube configured to increase the speed of airflow circulating in air duct 20; air duct 20 comprises a decreasing section from air inlet 16 to air outlet 18; outlet portion 24 can have an outlet section smaller than the inlet section so that outlet airflow speed f2 is greater than inlet airflow speed f1; see ¶¶ 0044, 0048, 0050-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the braking system of Krantz to include Landvik’s convergent/Venturi-type duct portion at the slot/bypass region because the modified system already routes air through a first/bypass branch and through a slot in the obstructer element, and Landvik teaches using a decreasing-section/Venturi duct in a vehicle airflow duct to increase airflow speed. Applying the convergent or convergent-divergent section at the slot would have predictably increased the velocity of air passing through the bypass/slot region and improved airflow through the selected branch.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krantz et al. (US 2008/0029357 A1) in view of Carmassi et al. (US 2013/0233658 A1), Bauer et al. (US 2018/0345762 A and Hildebrand et al. (US 5042566 A), and further in view of Canalejo Bautista et al. (US 20200079519 A1), (hereinafter, “Canalejo”).
Regarding claim 8, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 6. Krantz does not expressly disclose a second filter for filtering particulate from the air, the second filter being attached to the obstructer element at the slot.
Canalejo teaches a filter for filtering particulate from air, the filter being attached to or integrated with a movable flap/obstructer (flap door 3 comprises barrier filter 4 configured to filter incoming airflow; barrier filter 4 prevents unwanted material such as dust, dirt, sand, insects, hairs or lint from entering the air duct; barrier filter 4 is embedded in flap door 3; see ¶¶ 0015, 0061).
Thus, in the modified Krantz braking system, Canalejo’s barrier filter 4 would correspond to the claimed second filter attached to the obstructer element at the Hildebrand slot/cut-out in Bauer’s gap diverter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the braking system to attach a filter at the slot of Bauer’s obstructer element because the modified system already includes a slotted obstructer element through which air may pass in the second configuration, and Canalejo teaches incorporating a barrier filter into a movable flap door to filter dust or particulate from airflow passing through the flap. Providing a second filter at the slot would have predictably allowed particulate filtration of air passing through the slot while preserving the branch-selecting function of the obstructer element.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krantz et al. (US 2008/0029357 A1) in view of Carmassi et al. (US 2013/0233658 A1), and Bauer et al. (US 2018/0345762 A) and further in view of Henning et al. (US 20110192661 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Krantz as modified discloses the braking system according to claim 9. Krantz does not expressly disclose wherein the quantity is indicative of said pressure, and wherein the signal indicates the occurrence of braking when the pressure is greater than a pressure threshold.
Hennings teaches the detected quantity being indicative of brake pressure (pressure measurement device 30 determines the current brake pressure in hydraulic line 27 and transmits information about the determined current brake pressure to brake controller/control device 20; see ¶¶ 0022, 0040).
Hennings further teaches determining braking/control based on brake pressure exceeding a pressure threshold (an electrical brake is additionally activated after a predetermined threshold for the brake pressure of the mechanical brake has exceeded; see ¶ 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Krants braking system to use the brake-pressure detection and pressure-threshold control taught by Hennings because the modified system already requires determining when braking is occurring, and Hennings teaches brake pressure as a measurable quantity for determining braking operation. Using a predetermined brake-pressure threshold would provide a predictable control trigger for moving the valve into the filtering configuration only when braking pressure indicates that braking is occurring, thereby avoiding unnecessary filter-path actuation during non-braking or insignificant braking conditions.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krantz et al. (US 2008/0029357 A1) in view of Carmassi et al. (US 2013/0233658 A1), and Bauer et al. (US 2018/0345762 A) and further in view of Kirschner et al. (DE 3834119 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Krantz as modified discloses the vehicle according to claim 13, having a forward direction. Krantz does not expressly disclose wherein the outlet opening faces a rear of the vehicle according to the forward direction, so that a flow of air flowing out through the outlet opening is directed along a direction parallel to and opposite to the forward direction.
Kirschner teaches brake-cooling air ducting for vehicles, including routing cooling air through air ducts/air paths from inlet flaps to the brake systems and then to defined air outlet points (brake cooling flaps are combined with air ducts or air paths that guide cooling airflow through vehicle zones from inlet flaps toward the brake systems and then toward defined air outlet points; see Kirschner claim 17).
Kirschner further teaches rearward/downstream placement of air outlet openings for brake-cooling air (air exhausts at the rear end of the front wheel housings can be used, and possible air outlet flaps 12 are shown at the rear end of the front fenders; see Kirschner ¶¶ corresponding to Figs. 3-4).
Kirschner further teaches routing the cooling-air path with minimal curvature from the air inlet to the brake and then to the air outlet (the cooling-air ducts or cooling-air paths preferably run with as few curves as possible from the air inlet to the brake and then to the air outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Krantz braking system to orient the cooling-duct outlet opening rearward as taught or suggested by Kirschner because the modified system already discharges brake-cooling/filter airflow from the wheel/brake region, and Kirschner teaches routing brake-cooling airflow from the brake region to rearward/downstream outlet points with as few curves as possible. Rearward discharge would have predictably reduced duct curvature and flow resistance while exhausting the heated/particulate-laden air downstream of the brake region.
Conclusion
/K.A.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616