DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first notification device and a second notification device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiki (JP 2017-053509, see attached English translation) in view of Park (KR 2009-0044785, see attached English translation) and Yajima (US 2018/0045424).
As to claim 1, Namiki teaches an air conditioning system comprising:
a first device 3a and a second device 3b that are communicably connected to teach other and through which a refrigerant flows;
a first refrigerant sensor 71A that is provided in the first device 3A and detects the refrigerant;
a first notification device 4a that is communicably connected to the first device 3a and makes a notification of a refrigerant leak on a basis of detection of the refrigerant by the first refrigerant sensor 71A (page 3, paragraph 1); and
a control device 8 that controls the first device and the second device (Fig. 6);
wherein the first notification device 4a has the authority to make a notification of a refrigerant leak on a basis of detection of the refrigerant received from other than the first refrigerant sensor 71a (see pages 5-6).
Namiki does not explicitly teach that the authority of the first notification device 4a is “settable”. However, it is well known in the art to provide programmable controllers which are “settable” to perform certain functions. For example, Park teaches that it is known to select a master controller (page 5, paragraph 3) and Yajima teaches that it is known to set a master device of a group of devices in an air conditioner (paragraph 153). In light of these teaches it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Namiki such that the authority is “settable” as claimed in order to allow the user to properly configure a mesh system in order to notify a user of a refrigerant leak.
As to claim 2, the devices of Namiki are operated while the refrigerant leakage is monitored, and thus the control device 8 permits operation of the devices in conjunction with setting of the authority.
As to claims 3-4, Namiki, as modified, includes a second sensor 71b and second notification device 4b configured to operate as claimed (see pages 5-6).
As to claim 5, Namiki teaches a third device 2a-b that is connected to the first device 3a and includes a compressor (see page 2) and the control device 8 (see page 5).
As to claim 6, Namiki teaches transmitting leak detection information and indicating which group of devices has experienced a leak (see page 6), and thus necessarily transmits identification information as claimed.
As to claim 8, Namiki teaches performing simultaneous communication between the devices (Figs. 1-2 and 6-7; pages 5-6).
As to claim 9, Namiki teaches that the first notification device 4a is a remote controller (Figs. 1 and 6).
As to claim 10, Namiki teaches the first and second devices as indoor units of an air conditioner (Figs. 1 and 6).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art as applied above, and further in view of Kimura (US 10,197,317).
As to claim 7, Namiki does not explicitly teach transmitting a model name or a device number of the first device 3a. However, Kimura teaches that it is known to transmit model information of an indoor unit (col. 21, lines 10-15). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Namiki to include transmitting a model name as claimed in order to provide the user to relevant information for effective management of the system.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763