DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by the US Patent Application Publication to Van Baelen 2023/0111116US.
In terms of Claim 1, Van Baelen teaches a backboard assembly (Figure 4: 110) for telecommunications equipment mounting, the backboard assembly (Figure 4: 110) comprising: a backboard comprising a wall (Figure 4: 110 contains two portions 112 and 114) through which an opening is formed (Figure 7: openings of which 1000 is mounted; Figure 44: at location of 1000), wherein the opening forms an elongated slot (Figure 72: see area of 14/20/16/18), and wherein a face (Figure 72: 12 contains slots / openings at 14/16/18 which forms a face mounting feature on the surface of 12) forming a detent is positioned offset from the opening and the wall (Figure 72: openings at 12/4/16/18 inside edge forms detent or catch to mount with 1000 on the wall of 112/114); a fastener (Figure 72: the ends of 1000 contain a fastener feature 1010 that fastens to openings of 14/16/18) assembly comprising a mount wall (Figure 70: base of 1000 forms a wall 1002), wherein a member (Figure 71: 1010 or 1016 or other structures behind 1002 backside) extends from the mount wall (Figure 70: 1002) toward the opening at the backboard (Figure 72: 1000 base portions of 1010 mounts into 14/16/18 [0268]), wherein the member comprises a wing (Figure 71: 1010 contains tabs wing portion 1016) extending co-directional to the wall at the opening of the backboard (Figure 73: 1010 or 1016), wherein the wing (1016) positions between the face and the wall when the member of the fastener assembly is extended through the opening of the backboard (Figure 73: 12/1010/1016 and Figure 72: 1000).
As for Claim 2, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the opening forms the elongated slot (Figure 72: 14/16/18/20) extending along a vertical direction between a top end and a bottom end (Figure 72: 14/16/18/20), and wherein the opening forms a keyhole extending along a lateral direction from the top end ((Figure 72: 14/16/18/20; Figure 73: 16 functions as a keyhole for 1010/1016).
As for Claim 3, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 2, wherein the wing (Figure 73: 1016) of the fastener (Figure 73: 1010) assembly corresponds in extension along the lateral direction to the keyhole of the opening of the backboard (Figures 72 and 73: 1016 and 1010 within 14/16/18/20).
As for Claim 4, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 2, wherein the face (on 12 at 14/161/16/18/20) extends along the vertical direction from the bottom end to the top end of the opening forming (Figure 72: 14/16/18/20 extends along the vertical direction of 12) the elongated slot extending along the vertical direction (Figure 72: at 14/16/18/20).
As for Claim 5, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 4, wherein the wing (Figures 72 and 73: tabs of 1016 on 1010) positions between the face (top surface of 12 as shown in Figure 72) and the wall (wall of 112/114 shown in Figure 72: 12) when the member (protrusion behind 1002) of the fastener assembly (1010) is extended through the opening and translated along the vertical direction to the bottom end of the opening of the backboard (Figure 73: 1010 as 1016).
As for Claim 6, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 5, wherein the face (Figure 72: top surface of 12 wherein 14/16/18/20 is located) is offset from the wall (features 14/16/18/20 is offset in the middle of 12 of wall 112/114) corresponding to a thickness of the wing of the fastener assembly to form an interference fit when the wing positioned between the face and the wall (Figure 73: 1010 or 1016 and holes/slots of 16).
As for Claim 7, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the face (12 at location of 14/16/18/20) comprises a fastener opening (opening of 14/16/18/20) configured to receive a fastener (1010) extending through the member of fastener assembly (Figure 124: various tabs fasteners wherein one example is shown 3030 that can extend through an opening 3008 of the member fastener).
As for Claim 8, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 7, wherein the fastener opening (Figure 72: 14/16/18 and 20) is positioned along a vertical direction proximate to a bottom end of the opening forming the elongated slot extending along the vertical direction (Figure 34: see 1200 or 1000 towards the bottom of 130).
As for Claim 9, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 1, comprising: a splice tray (Figure 1: 100), wherein the splice tray comprises a tray mount wall at which the mount wall of the fastener assembly is positioned (Figure 25: 100 and [0028]).
As for Claim 10, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 1, comprising: a cable manifold (Figure 1: area to the right and left of 112/114 wherein 113 is located), wherein the cable manifold (area of 113) comprises a manifold mount wall (back wall at location of 113) at which the mount wall of the fastener assembly is positioned (Figure 72: at 12 which is the same location wherein 113 is located as shown in Figure 1, contain openings 14/16/18/20 for mounting 1000).
As for Claim 11, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 1, a cassette chassis (Figure 45: housing that holds 100 or Figure 30: 100), wherein the cassette chassis comprises a chassis mount wall at which the mount wall of the fastener assembly is positioned (Figure 45: wall of 112/114 contains two verticals to mount 100 as shown in Figure 29).
As for Claim 12, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 11, wherein the backboard (Figure 1: contains back board for portions of 112/114) comprises a cassette chassis (Figure 30: 100 or Figure 25: 100) opening configured to receive cassette chassis (Figure 29: openings vertically arranged on walls of middle portion), wherein the cassette chassis (Figure 30: 100) comprises a port through which a cassette is extendable (Figure 30: 100 the middle portion of 100 contains a portion for the components to be inserted extend outward) to position the cassette through the backboard (the back side of 100 as shown in Figure 30 is mounted to the opening that allows the back side to 100 to extend through the back wall as shown Figure 29: two vertical sets of holes that provides mounting for 100).
As for Claim 13, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the wall of the backboard (Figure 1: back wall of 112/114) comprises a front side and a rear side (Figure 1: backwall of 112/114 or Figures 72 and 73: front and rear of 12), and wherein the mount wall of the fastener assembly comprises a front side and a rear side (Figure 70: 1000 contain a mount wall 1002), wherein the member extends from the rear side of the mount wall (Figure 72: 1010 /1016), and wherein the rear side of the mount wall abuts the front side of the wall of the backboard when the wing positions between the face and the wall of the backboard (Figure 73: 1010 and 1016).
As for Claim 14, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 13, wherein the face (Figure 72: features such as opening 14/16/18/20 makes up the face) extends from the rear side of the wall of the backboard (the internal sidewall of spacing 14/16/18 and 20) extends from the front side of 12 to the back or rear side of 12).
As for Claim 15, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 14, comprising: a fastener (Figure 72: 1010) extendable from the front side of the mount wall (Figure 72: front of 12 via openings 14/16/18/20) through the member into a fastener opening at the face (Figure 124: wherein the fastener can be modular that contains portion that extends through an opening 3006 into 3008 in the fastener member 3002 and couple to fastener opening on 12 as shown in Figure 125: 3050).
As for Claim 16, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 13, wherein the mount wall (Figure 70: wall 1002) of the fastener assembly comprises a mount mechanism (Figure 72: 1010 or 1026) positioned at the front side (Figure 70: 1026).
As for Claim 17, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 13, wherein the mount wall (wall of 1002) of the fastener assembly comprises a raceway configured to guide a telecommunications line (Figure 65: 220).
As for Claim 18, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the member (1000) comprises a tube, wherein the wing (Figure 72: 1010/1016) extends along a lateral direction from the tube (Figure 72: 1016).
As for Claim 19, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 18, herein the tube (1000 contain portion 1026) corresponds in outer dimension (Figure 71: 1026) to the opening forming the elongated slot extending along a vertical direction (Figure 72: 14/16/18/20).
As for Claim 20, Van Baelen teaches the device of Claim 19, wherein the wing (1016) corresponds in extension along a lateral direction to a keyhole (Figure 72: 14/16/18/20) of the opening of the backboard (14/16/18/20), and wherein the wing (1016) extends along the lateral direction greater than the outer dimension of the tube (Figure 73: the protrusion 1016 extend beyond the front side of 12 outward towards the rear side in a lateral manner to hook onto the edge of 14/16/18/20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application to Srutkowski 2011/0293234 teaches an optical device mounting backboard used to mount various components for managing optical fiber cables.
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874