DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the display screen recited in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-20, the preamble may be amended as “The pool cleaning robot with [[a]]the display device according to …”.
In claims 7-12, the phrase may be amended as “… is configured to display the at least one state information” in lines 2-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cleaning member” in claim 1 and “a driving mechanism” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pichon et al. (WO 2019/021245A1, hereinafter Pichon).
Regarding claim 1, Pichon discloses a pool cleaning robot with a display device (fig. 1 and p. 8:24-9:2, an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) 200 with a light source), comprising:
a cleaning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The cleaning member includes a first housing, a filter structure, and a sealed cavity (¶ 0006-07)) for cleaning a pool (fig. 1 and p. 6:1-9, 7:10, the pool cleaner 200 includes a body 1 [corresponds to the first housing], a filtering device 11, and an enclosure 102);
a detecting device, the detecting device being arranged in the cleaning member and configured to detect a state of the cleaning member (figs. 3A, 3B and p. 6:10-13, a sensor assembly 99 [corresponds to the recited detecting device] is positioned within the body 1 of the pool cleaner 200, and responds to pressure difference between a pump inlet and the ambient pressure. The detected pressure difference can be a state of the pool cleaner); and
a display device, the display device being electrically connected to the detecting device and configured to display at least one state information of the cleaning member, the state information comprising human-machine interaction state information and/or self-running state information of the cleaning member (p. 4:1-5, a Hall effect sensor detects filter loading; p. 8:23-9:3, the Hall effect sensor 110 may be processed and the output signal may be employed to illuminate a light source [corresponds to the recited display device]. A visual indication indicates the filtering device within the body is clogged. Thus, it is the self-running state information of the cleaner).
Regarding claim 2, Pichon discloses the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the cleaning member comprises at least a first housing and a filter structure, the first housing has a water inlet and a water outlet, the filter structure is arranged between the water inlet and the water outlet and configured to filter contaminants in water entering from the water inlet, and the water outlet is configured to discharge the filtered water (fig. 2 and p. 6:1-9, the pool cleaner 200 comprises the body 1 [corresponds to the first housing] and the filtering device 11. Debris-laden water is drawn into the body 1 via an inlet 9 [corresponds to the recited water inlet], pass through the filtering device 11, and exit the body 1 via an outlet 10 [corresponds to the recited water outlet]. Therefore, the filtered water is discharged out of the outlet 10).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Pichon discloses the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejections of claims 1 and 2 respectively, wherein the display device comprises at least a display unit, and the display unit is configured to display at least one state information (p. 8:23-9:3, the Hall effect sensor 110 may be processed and the output signal may be employed to illuminate a light source [corresponds to the recited display device]. The recited display unit may be a light-emitting diode (LED). A visual indication indicates the filtering device within the body is clogged. Thus, it displays the state information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Fu et al. (CN 101481957A, cited on 08/09/2024 IDS, hereinafter Fu).
Regarding claim 3, Pichon discloses the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the cleaning member further comprises a sealed cavity, the sealed cavity comprises a sealing housing, the sealing housing is arranged in the first housing, and the detecting device is arranged in the sealing housing (the body 1 [corresponds to the first housing] includes a water flow path F as shown in fig. 2. A cavity in the body 1 other than the flow path is a sealed cavity; p. 7:10-8:9 an enclosure 102 [corresponds to the recited sealing housing] in the body 1 includes the sensor assembly 99 [corresponds to the recited detecting device]);
a water pump motor is provided in the sealing housing, an output shaft of the water pump motor extends out of the sealing housing, and the output shaft of the water pump motor is provided with an impeller for driving water to flow (fig. 2, 3A, 3B and p. 6:1-9, a pump comprises a motor 12. The motor is enclosed in the cavity other than the water flow path F. A drive shaft 13 of the motor 12 is connected with a propeller 14 [corresponds to the recited impeller]. The propeller 14 is disposed in the water flow path F, thus it is disposed out of the sealed cavity. The propeller helps water exit the outlet 10), but does not disclose the detecting device is connected to the water pump motor, and configured to detect a current of the water pump motor, the current is used for indicating a clogging degree of the filter structure, and the current is one of the self-running state information of the cleaning member.
Fu teaches, in an analogous pool cleaning robot field of endeavor, the detecting device is connected to the water pump motor, and configured to detect a current of the water pump motor, the current is used for indicating a clogging degree of the filter structure, and the current is one of the self-running state information of the cleaning member (Fu English translation, p. 9:21-40, a current signal of a water pump motor is monitored. Increase of the current value indicates filter clogging. Thus, the current value can be considered as the recited self-running state information of the cleaning machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon to detect the current of the water pump motor as taught by Fu so that the cleaner cuts off power of the water pump motor when the current value greatly exceeds the normal working value. It will prevent the motor form damaging (Fu English translation, p. 9:35-40).
Regarding claim 9, Pichon as modified by Fu teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the display device comprises at least a display unit, and the display unit is configured to display at least one state information (Pichon, p. 8:23-9:3, the Hall effect sensor 110 may be processed and the output signal may be employed to illuminate a light source [corresponds to the recited display device]. The recited display unit may be a light-emitting diode (LED). A visual indication indicates the filtering device within the body is clogged. Thus, it displays the state information).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon in view of Fu, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Schloss et al. (US 2020/0270890, hereinafter Schloss) and Mellinger III et al. (US 2020/0029768, hereinafter Mellinger).
Regarding claim 4, Pichon as modified by Fu teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose a battery is arranged in the sealing housing.
Schloss teaches, in an analogous pool cleaning robot field of endeavor, a battery is arranged in the sealing housing (¶ 0051, a robotic pool cleaner 10 includes batteries in watertight enclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Fu to provide the battery in the sealing housing as taught by Schloss so that electronic components of the pool cleaner are prevented from contacting water (Schloss ¶ 0051).
Pichon as modified by Fu and Schloss does not disclose the detecting device is connected to the battery and configured to detect remaining power of the battery as one of the self-running state information of the cleaning member.
Mellinger teaches, in an analogous pool cleaning robot field of endeavor, the detecting device is connected to the battery and configured to detect remaining power of the battery as one of the self-running state information of the cleaning member (¶ 0032, a cleaning robot can be a pool cleaning robot; ¶ 0079, a processor of the cleaning robot may select a cleaning robot out of a plurality of cleaning robots based on its remaining amount of battery charge. Thus, the Mellinger’s pool cleaning robot detects the remaining power of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Fu and Schloss to detect the remaining battery power as taught by Mellinger so that cleaning job can be adjusted based on the remaining battery power.
Regarding claim 10, Pichon as modified by Fu, Schloss, and Mellinger teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the display device comprises at least a display unit, and the display unit is configured to display at least one state information (Pichon, p. 8:23-9:3, the Hall effect sensor 110 may be processed and the output signal may be employed to illuminate a light source [corresponds to the recited display device]. The recited display unit may be a light-emitting diode (LED). A visual indication indicates the filtering device within the body is clogged. Thus, it displays the state information).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon in view of Fu, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Zhou (CN 113064642A).
Regarding claim 15, Pichon as modified by Fu teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time.
Zhou teaches, in an electric control device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time (Zhou English translation, p. 20:24-35, an electric control device comprises a display window and the display window comprises a plurality of different display areas wherein the different display areas can display different working state information. The plurality of different display areas can be considered as the recited first and second display parts for displaying different working state information. By combining with Pichon’s light source, it teaches different display parts configured to display different state information at the same time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Fu to provide the first and second display parts for displaying different state information as taught by Zhou so that a user receives detailed working state information (Zhou English translation, p. 20:33-35).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon in view of Fu, Schloss, and Mellinger, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Zhou.
Regarding claim 16, Pichon as modified by Fu, Schloss, and Mellinger teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 4, but does not disclose the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time.
Zhou teaches, in an electric control device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time (Zhou English translation, p. 20:24-35, an electric control device comprises a display window and the display window comprises a plurality of different display areas wherein the different display areas can display different working state information. The plurality of different display areas can be considered as the recited first and second display parts for displaying different working state information. By combining with Pichon’s light source, it teaches different display parts configured to display different state information at the same time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Fu, Schloss, and Mellinger to provide the first and second display parts for displaying different state information as taught by Zhou so that a user receives detailed working state information (Zhou English translation, p. 20:33-35).
Claims 5, 6, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon in view of Fu, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Shogo et al. (CN 110325330A, hereinafter Shogo).
Regarding claim 5, Pichon as modified by Fu teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the first housing is connected to a driving mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The driving mechanism includes a driving wheel 22, a driven wheel 23, and a track as described in ¶ 0031), a driving motor is provided in the sealed cavity, an output shaft of the driving motor extends out of the sealing housing and is connected to the driving mechanism so as to drive the driving mechanism to move (Fu English translation, p. 7:28-8:33 and fig. 7, a walking motor 139A [corresponds to the recited driving motor] is disposed in a sealing box 139 [corresponds to the recited sealing housing]. A connecting shaft 139B [corresponds to the recited output shaft] protruding out of the sealing box 139 would be connected to a drive end wheel 156 [corresponds to the driving wheel]. A transmission system 15 further comprises a transmission end wheel 157 [corresponds to the driven wheel] and a synchronous belt 155 [corresponds to the track]; p. 10:14-18, the walking motor drives the synchronous belt to move the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Fu to provide the driving mechanism as taught by Fu. The driving mechanism/transmission system allows the robot to crawl on a cell wall of the pool (Fu English translation, p. 10:14-18).
However, Pichon as modified by Fu does not disclose the detecting device is connected to the driving motor and configured to detect a rotation speed and/or a rotation angle of the driving motor as one or more of the self-running state information of the cleaning member.
Shogo teaches, in a robot field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the detecting device is connected to the driving motor and configured to detect a rotation speed and/or a rotation angle of the driving motor as one or more of the self-running state information of the cleaning member (Shogo English translation, p. 7:29-33, a robot arm has a servo motor [corresponds to the recited driving motor] wherein a rotation angle of the servo motor is detected. The Shogo reference can be combined with Fu to detect the rotation angle of the driving motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Fu to detect the rotation angle of the driving motor as taught by Shogo for control of motion of the robot.
Regarding claim 6, Pichon as modified by Fu and Shogo teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the output shaft of the driving motor is connected with an encoder, and the detecting device is connected to the encoder and configured to determine the rotation speed and/or the rotation angle of the driving motor as one or more of the self-running state information of the cleaning member according to an encoding signal provided by the encoder (Shogo English translation, p. 7:29-33, a robot arm has a servo motor [corresponds to the recited driving motor] wherein a rotation angle of the servo motor encoder is detected).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Pichon as modified by Fu and Shogo teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejections of claims 5 and 6 respectively, wherein the display device comprises at least a display unit, and the display unit is configured to display at least one state information (Pichon, p. 8:23-9:3, the Hall effect sensor 110 may be processed and the output signal may be employed to illuminate a light source [corresponds to the recited display device]. The recited display unit may be a light-emitting diode (LED). A visual indication indicates the filtering device within the body is clogged. Thus, it displays the state information).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon in view of Fu and Shogo, as applied to claims 5 and 6 above respectively, and in further view of Zhou.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Pichon as modified by Fu and Shogo teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejections of claims 5 and 6 respectively, but does not disclose the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time.
Zhou teaches, in an electric control device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time (Zhou English translation, p. 20:24-35, an electric control device comprises a display window and the display window comprises a plurality of different display areas wherein the different display areas can display different working state information. The plurality of different display areas can be considered as the recited first and second display parts for displaying different working state information. By combining with Pichon’s light source, it teaches different display parts configured to display different state information at the same time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Fu and Shogo to provide the first and second display parts for displaying different state information as taught by Zhou so that a user receives detailed working state information (Zhou English translation, p. 20:33-35).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, in view of Zhou.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Pichon discloses the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejections of claims 1 and 2 respectively, but does not disclose the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time.
Zhou teaches, in an electric control device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the display device comprises at least one display unit, and the display unit comprises a first display part and a second display part, wherein the first display part and the second display part are configured to cooperate to display one state information, or the first display part and the second display part are configured to display different state information at the same time (Zhou English translation, p. 20:24-35, an electric control device comprises a display window and the display window comprises a plurality of different display areas wherein the different display areas can display different working state information. The plurality of different display areas can be considered as the recited first and second display parts for displaying different working state information. By combining with Pichon’s light source, it teaches different display parts configured to display different state information at the same time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon to provide the first and second display parts for displaying different state information as taught by Zhou so that a user receives detailed working state information (Zhou English translation, p. 20:33-35).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon in view of Zhou, as applied to claim 13 above, and in further view of Scott et al. (US 2015/0258459, hereinafter Scott).
Regarding claim 19, Pichon as modified by Zhou teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 13, wherein the first display part is arranged on the cleaning member and electrically connected to the detecting device (Pichon, p. 8:23-9:3, the Hall effect sensor 110 may be processed and the output signal may be employed to illuminate a light source [corresponds to the recited display part] on the body 1 of the pool cleaner 200. The light source can be a LED), but does not disclose the first display part comprises a plurality of display lights and at least one of rightness or color of each of the plurality of display lights is adjusted according to a signal received from the detecting device so as to display corresponding state information.
Scott teaches, in a robot device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the first display part comprises a plurality of display lights and at least one of rightness or color of each of the plurality of display lights is adjusted according to a signal received from the detecting device so as to display corresponding state information (¶ 0065, a module comprises a plurality of LEDs as a visual indicator wherein the module may change color in response to a change in state data. By combining with Pichon, the state information is transmitted to the light source as a visual indicator of the state information, and the color of the visual indicator can be changed based on the change of the state information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Pichon as modified by Zhou to provide the as taught by Scott in order to provide the state information change to a user clearly (Scott ¶ 0065).
Regarding claim 20, Pichon as modified by Zhou and Scott teaches the pool cleaning robot with a display device as in the rejection of claim 19, wherein the display unit further comprises a display screen, the display screen is arranged on the cleaning member, or the display screen is arranged outside a pool independently of the cleaning member and is in communication connection with the detecting device (Pichon p. 9:3-10, alternatively, a wired or wireless transmitter associated with the pool cleaner 200 may transmit signal directly to a remote device such as a smartphone, tablet, or computer. Thus, the tablet [corresponds to the recited display screen] can be used outside a pool for communication with the Hall effect sensor 110 so that it can alert a user that the filtering device 11 of the pool cleaner is clogged).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tavor et al. (US 2015/0191926) discloses a pool cleaning robot comprising a detecting device for detecting current of a motor. It indicates clogging of a filter.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723