DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,8,14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita (US 20200331578 A1) in view of Wong (US 20160114875 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakashita discloses a marine propulsion system comprising(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system): a plurality of first propulsion devices located at a stern of a hull(The motors of Sakashita are similar to the propulsion devices. Sakashita, paragraph 69, the one or more outboard motors 4 includes a plurality of outboard motors 4 are disposed at a stern (transom) 2A of the hull 2 ), and including at least a first propulsion device on a port side of the hull with respect to a center line extending in a front-rear direction of the hull, and a first propulsion device on a starboard side of the hull with respect to the center line(Sakashita, paragraph 69, a left outboard motor 4L and a right outboard motor 4R that are attached to the stern 2A. The left outboard motor 4L and the right outboard motor 4R are placed at laterally symmetrical positions, respectively, with respect to a center line C passing through the stern 2A and the bow 2B of the hull 2 ); and
a second propulsion device located toward a bow of the hull(Sakashita, paragraph 6, generally-used bow thruster is a propulsion apparatus formed of an electric motor);
a controller configured or programmed(Sakashita, paragraph 76, the navigation controller 6 is an ECU that includes a microcomputer ), when moving the hull in a lateral direction, to:
fully steer in a leftward turning direction the first propulsion device on the port side of the hull, and fully steer in a rightward turning direction the first propulsion device on the starboard side of the hull(Sakashita, paragraph 120 the navigation controller 6 rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the left outboard motor 4L leftwardly, and rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the right outboard motor 4R rightwardly) so that the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side form an inverted V shape in a plan view(Fig.1 of Sakashita shows a left and right motors 4R and 4R (propulsion devices on the right and left side) that form an inverted V shape in a plan view);
Fig. 5 of Sakashita shows left and right motors 4R and 4R forming an inverted V shape.
cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate a forward thrust or a rearward thrust and cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate a thrust in a direction opposite to the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side(Sakashita discloses the left side motor (propulsion device on the port side) can move forward and the right side motor (propulsion device on the starboard side) can move backward indicating opposite thrust from the motors. Sakashita, paragraph 120, the navigation controller 6 allows the left outboard motor 4L to generate a left thrust βL in the forward direction, and allows the right outboard motor 4R to generate a right thrust βR in the backward direction); and
control the second propulsion device to generate another thrust to generate a counter yaw moment to cancel a yaw moment about the turning center generated by the lateral movement force(Sakashita discloses the bow thruster thrusts at a more forward position of the rotation center and the resultant force of plurality of motors thrust at a rearward position than the rotational center of the hull, indicating bow thruster generate a counter(opposite) lateral movement force against the resultant force of the stern thrusters. Furthermore, Sakashita discloses determining bow-thruster moment(yawing moment) to cancel resultant force to prevent the veering of the hull. Sakashita, paragraph 31, it is possible to generate the thrust of the bow thruster at a more forward position than the rotational center of the hull and allow a resultant force of thrusts of the plurality of propulsion apparatuses to act at a more rearward position than the rotational center of the hull. At this time, if a moment by the thrust of the bow thruster and a moment by the resultant force cancel each other, it is possible to prevent the veering of the hull. Sakashita, paragraph 164, an outboard-motor target value or a bow-thruster target value is determined so that a moment by the thrust of the bow thruster 5 and a moment by the resultant force cancel each other, and therefore it is possible to prevent the veering of the hull 2 ).
While Sakashita teaches about vessel propulsion system, it fails to disclose a propulsion system with propulsion device arrangement so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located in front of a turning center of the hull.
However, Wong, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about mounting assembly for a marine vessel discloses a pair of stern-mounted propulsion units so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located in front of a turning center of the hull( Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation 40, as shown in FIG. 7 the propulsion forces create a clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita with Wong to generate and apply thrust in front of a turning center of a hull. By applying thrust in front of the center of rotation, is it possible to create clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard. (Wong, paragraph 41, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation 40, as shown in FIG. 7, the propulsion forces create a clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard. The biased steering range created by the angle-setting members 48 and 52 accordingly allows the vessel to have clockwise rotational adjustment and counter-clockwise rotational adjustment while moving sideways to starboard).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sakashita and Wong teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 1(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation), wherein the controller is configured or programmed to:
steer the first propulsion device on the port side in the leftward turning direction and steer the first propulsion device on the starboard side in the rightward turning direction(Sakashita, paragraph 120 the navigation controller 6 rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the left outboard motor 4L leftwardly, and rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the right outboard motor 4R rightwardly) so that the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side form the inverted V shape in the plan view(Fig.1 of Sakashita shows a left and right thrusters 4R and 4R (propulsion devices on the right and left side) form V shape in a plan view);
cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the forward thrust or the rearward thrust and cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate a thrust in a direction opposite to the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side(Sakashita discloses the left side motor (propulsion device on the port side) can move forward and the right side motor (propulsion device on the starboard side) can move backward, indicating an opposite thrust from the motors. Sakashita, paragraph 120, the navigation controller 6 allows the left outboard motor 4L to generate a left thrust βL in the forward direction, and allows the right outboard motor 4R to generate a right thrust βR in the backward direction) so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located in front of the turning center of the hull(Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation 40, as shown in FIG. 7 the propulsion forces create a clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard); and
cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust in a direction opposite to the resultant force(Fig. 12 of Sakashita demonstrates the direction of Bow thruster (F3) is opposite to the direction of resultant force (F2) at intersection(X).).
Fig. 12 of Sakashita demonstrates the direction of Bow thruster (F3) is opposite to the direction of resultant force (F2) at intersection(X).
Regarding claim 14, Sakashita discloses a control method of a marine propulsion system(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system) including a plurality of first propulsion devices located at a stern of a hull(The motors of Sakashita are similar to the propulsion devices. Sakashita, paragraph 69, the one or more outboard motors 4 includes a plurality of outboard motors 4 are disposed at a stern (transom) 2A of the hull 2) and including at least a first propulsion device on a port side of the hull with respect to a center line extending in a front-rear direction of the hull and a first propulsion device on a starboard side of the hull with respect to the center line(Sakashita, paragraph 69, a left outboard motor 4L and a right outboard motor 4R that are attached to the stern 2A. The left outboard motor 4L and the right outboard motor 4R are placed at laterally symmetrical positions, respectively, with respect to a center line C passing through the stern 2A and the bow 2B of the hull 2 ), and a second propulsion device located toward a bow of the hull(Sakashita, paragraph 6, generally-used bow thruster is a propulsion apparatus formed of an electric motor), the control method comprising:
when moving the hull in a lateral direction:
fully steering in a leftward turning direction the first propulsion device located on the port side of the hull, and fully steering in a rightward turning direction the first propulsion device located on the starboard side of the hull(Sakashita, paragraph 120 the navigation controller 6 rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the left outboard motor 4L leftwardly, and rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the right outboard motor 4R rightwardly) so that the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side form an inverted V shape in a plan view(Fig.1 of Sakashita shows a left and right motors 4R and 4R (propulsion devices on the right and left side) that form an inverted V shape in a plan view);
Fig. 5 of Sakashita shows left and right motors 4R and 4R forming an inverted V shape.
causing the first propulsion device on the port side to generate a forward thrust or a rearward thrust and causing the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate a thrust in a direction opposite to the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side(Sakashita discloses the left side motor (propulsion device on the port side) can move forward and the right side motor (propulsion device on the starboard side) can move backward indicating opposite thrust from the motors. Sakashita, paragraph 120, the navigation controller 6 allows the left outboard motor 4L to generate a left thrust βL in the forward direction, and allows the right outboard motor 4R to generate a right thrust βR in the backward direction); and
controlling the second propulsion device to generate another thrust to generate a counter yaw moment to cancel a yaw moment about the turning center generated by the lateral movement force(Sakashita discloses the bow thruster thrusts at a more forward position of the rotation center and the resultant force of plurality of motors thrust at a rearward position than the rotational center of the hull, indicating bow thruster generate a counter(opposite) lateral movement force against the resultant force of the stern thrusters. Furthermore, Sakashita discloses determining bow-thruster moment(yawing moment) to cancel resultant force to prevent the veering of the hull. Sakashita, paragraph 31, it is possible to generate the thrust of the bow thruster at a more forward position than the rotational center of the hull and allow a resultant force of thrusts of the plurality of propulsion apparatuses to act at a more rearward position than the rotational center of the hull. At this time, if a moment by the thrust of the bow thruster and a moment by the resultant force cancel each other, it is possible to prevent the veering of the hull. Sakashita, paragraph 164, an outboard-motor target value or a bow-thruster target value is determined so that a moment by the thrust of the bow thruster 5 and a moment by the resultant force cancel each other, and therefore it is possible to prevent the veering of the hull 2).
While Sakashita teaches about vessel propulsion system, it fails to disclose a propulsion system with propulsion device arrangement so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located in front of a turning center of the hull.
However, Wong, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about mounting assembly for a marine vessel discloses a pair of stern-mounted propulsion units so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located in front of a turning center of the hull(Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation 40, as shown in FIG. 7 the propulsion forces create a clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita with Wong to generate and apply thrust in front of a turning center of a hull. By applying thrust in front of the center of rotation, is it possible to create clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard. (Wong, paragraph 41, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation 40, as shown in FIG. 7, the propulsion forces create a clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard. The biased steering range created by the angle-setting members 48 and 52 accordingly allows the vessel to have clockwise rotational adjustment and counter-clockwise rotational adjustment while moving sideways to starboard).
Regarding claim 15, Sakashita discloses a marine vessel(Sakashita, paragraph 8, a vessel propulsion system that includes a bow thruster designed to be disposed at a bow of a hull ) comprising:
a marine propulsion system(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system) including:
a plurality of first propulsion devices located at a stern of a hull(The motors of Sakashita are similar to the propulsion devices. Sakashita, paragraph 69, the one or more outboard motors 4 includes a plurality of outboard motors 4 are disposed at a stern (transom) 2A of the hull 2), and including at least a first propulsion device on a port side of the hull with respect to a center line extending in a front-rear direction of the hull, and a first propulsion device on a starboard side of the hull with respect to the center line(Sakashita, paragraph 69, a left outboard motor 4L and a right outboard motor 4R that are attached to the stern 2A. The left outboard motor 4L and the right outboard motor 4R are placed at laterally symmetrical positions, respectively, with respect to a center line C passing through the stern 2A and the bow 2B of the hull 2);
a second propulsion device located toward a bow of the hull(Sakashita, paragraph 6, generally-used bow thruster is a propulsion apparatus formed of an electric motor); and
a controller configured or programmed(Sakashita, paragraph 76, the navigation controller 6 is an ECU that includes a microcomputer), when moving the hull in a lateral direction, to:
fully steer in a leftward turning direction the first propulsion device located on the port side of the hull, and fully steer in a rightward turning direction the first propulsion device located on the starboard side of the hull(Sakashita, paragraph 120 the navigation controller 6 rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the left outboard motor 4L leftwardly, and rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the right outboard motor 4R rightwardly)so that the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side form an inverted V shape in a plan view(Fig.1 of Sakashita shows a left and right motors 4R and 4R (propulsion devices on the right and left side) that form an inverted V shape in a plan view);
Fig. 5 of Sakashita shows left and right motors 4R and 4R forming an inverted V shape.
cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate a forward thrust or a rearward thrust and cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate a thrust in a direction opposite to the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side(Sakashita discloses the left side motor (propulsion device on the port side) can move forward and the right side motor (propulsion device on the starboard side) can move backward indicating opposite thrust from the motors. Sakashita, paragraph 120, the navigation controller 6 allows the left outboard motor 4L to generate a left thrust βL in the forward direction, and allows the right outboard motor 4R to generate a right thrust βR in the backward direction); and
control the second propulsion device to generate another thrust to generate a counter yaw moment to cancel a yaw moment about the turning center generated by the lateral movement force(Sakashita discloses the bow thruster thrusts at a more forward position of the rotation center and the resultant force of plurality of motors thrust at a rearward position than the rotational center of the hull, indicating bow thruster generate a counter(opposite) lateral movement force against the resultant force of the stern thrusters. Furthermore, Sakashita discloses determining bow-thruster moment(yawing moment) to cancel resultant force to prevent the veering of the hull. Sakashita, paragraph 31, it is possible to generate the thrust of the bow thruster at a more forward position than the rotational center of the hull and allow a resultant force of thrusts of the plurality of propulsion apparatuses to act at a more rearward position than the rotational center of the hull. At this time, if a moment by the thrust of the bow thruster and a moment by the resultant force cancel each other, it is possible to prevent the veering of the hull. Sakashita, paragraph 164, an outboard-motor target value or a bow-thruster target value is determined so that a moment by the thrust of the bow thruster 5 and a moment by the resultant force cancel each other, and therefore it is possible to prevent the veering of the hull 2).
While Sakashita teaches about vessel propulsion system, it fails to disclose a propulsion system with propulsion device arrangement so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located in front of a turning center of the hull.
However, Wong, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about mounting assembly for a marine vessel discloses a pair of stern-mounted propulsion units so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located in front of a turning center of the hull(Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation 40, as shown in FIG. 7 the propulsion forces create a clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita with Wong to generate and apply thrust in front of a turning center of a hull. By applying thrust in front of the center of rotation, is it possible to create clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard. (Wong, paragraph 41, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation 40, as shown in FIG. 7, the propulsion forces create a clockwise rotation to the vessel while moving sideways to starboard. The biased steering range created by the angle-setting members 48 and 52 accordingly allows the vessel to have clockwise rotational adjustment and counter-clockwise rotational adjustment while moving sideways to starboard).
Claims 2 and 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita (US 20200331578 A1) in view of Wong (US 20160114875 A1) in further view of Nakayasu (US 20140106632 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Sakashita teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 1(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation), wherein the controller is further configured or programmed(Sakashita, paragraph 76, the navigation controller 6 is an ECU that includes a microcomputer) to:
cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the forward thrust or the rearward thrust and cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate a thrust in a direction opposite to the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side(Sakashita discloses the left side motor (propulsion device on the port side) can move forward and the right side motor (propulsion device on the starboard side) can move backward indicating opposite thrust from the motors. Sakashita, paragraph 120, the navigation controller 6 allows the left outboard motor 4L to generate a left thrust βL in the forward direction, and allows the right outboard motor 4R to generate a right thrust βR in the backward direction) so that a point of action of a lateral movement force that is a resultant force of the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the port side and the thrust generated by the first propulsion device on the starboard side is located behind the turning center(Sakashita’s teaches resultant of the two motors is acted on the rearward position (X) indicates its behind turning center(P). Sakashita, paragraph 30, the plurality of propulsion apparatuses are designed so that a crossing position between lines of action of thrusts each of which is generated by each of the plurality of propulsion apparatuses is variable within a range including a more rearward position than a rotational center of the hull. Sakashita, paragraph 31, it is possible to generate the thrust of the bow thruster at a more forward position than the rotational center of the hull and allow a resultant force of thrusts of the plurality of propulsion apparatuses to act at a more rearward position than the rotational center of the hull. At this time, if a moment by the thrust of the bow thruster and a moment by the resultant force cancel each other, it is possible to prevent the veering of the hull. Wong, paragraph 40, the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered fully towards each other so the point of intersection 98 is rearward of the center of rotation 40, the propulsion forces create a counter-clockwise rotation to the vessel 10 while moving sideways to starboard); and
cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust in a same direction as the resultant force(Sakashita discloses the resultant force (F2) occurring at X that is rightward, and the bow thruster (second propulsion device) is also thrusted in the same direction which is rightward. Furthermore Fig. 5 of Sakashita demonstrates that the resultant force direction(F2) at intersection(X) is the same direction with Bow thruster (F3). Sakashita, paragraph 113, a resultant force of the left thrust in and the right thrust βR is required to occur at a crossing position X between the left line of action γL and the right line of action γR as a rightward thrust F2, and a thrust F3 of the bow thruster 5 is required to be directed rightwardly).
Fig. 5 of Sakashita shows the resultant force direction(F2) at intersection(X) is in the same direction as bow thrust (F3).
Sakashita specifically fails to disclose a system to steer the first propulsion device on the port side in the rightward turning direction and steer the first propulsion device on the starboard side in the leftward turning direction so that the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side form a V shape in the plan view.
However, Nakayasu, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a marine vessel steering system, discloses a system to steer the first propulsion device on the port side in the rightward turning direction and steer the first propulsion device on the starboard side in the leftward turning direction(Nakayasu discloses two propulsion devices(outboard motors ) directed inward or outward. The right propulsion device thrusts leftward and a right propulsion device thrusts leftward. Nakayasu, paragraph 6 , the toe angle indicates whether front ends of the two outboard motors 3P and 3S are directed inward or outward with respect to a heading direction of the marine vessel 1 when the marine vessel 1 is viewed from above. A toe angle in a case where the front ends of the two outboard motors 3P and 3S are directed inward with respect to the heading direction as shown in FIG. 8A is referred to as a "toe-in" angle. A toe angle in a case where the front ends of the two outboard motors 3P and 3S are directed outward with respect to the heading direction as shown in FIG. 8B is referred to as a "toe-out" angle ) so that the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side form a V shape in the plan view(Nakayasu’s fig. 8a and 8b demonstrate a multiple propulsion devices(3p and 3s) oriented to form a V shape in a plan view );
Nakayasu’s fig. 8a and 8b shows a multiple propulsion devices(3p and 3s) oriented to form a V and an inverted V shape in a plan view.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita and Wong with Nakayasu for the port and starboard side motors to form a V shape in the plan view. By setting the two outboard motors to form a V shape, the external force that acts on the two outboard motors during the straight traveling can be significantly reduced or minimized.( Nakayasu, paragraph 102, the cross-section perpendicular to the front/rear direction of the marine vessel at the hull bottom of the rear portion of the hull preferably has a V-shape, for example. Thus, near the rear portion of the hull, a water stream flows obliquely outward to the rear from a width center of the hull as viewed from above during straight traveling of the marine vessel. By setting the toe angle between the two outboard motors so that propeller axes of the two outboard motors are parallel or substantially parallel to the direction of the water stream, the external force that acts on the two outboard motors during the straight traveling can be significantly reduced or minimized).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 2(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation; Nakayasu’s fig. 8a and 8b demonstrate a multiple propulsion devices(3p and 3s) oriented to form a V shape in a plan view), wherein the second propulsion device generates the another thrust in front of the bow of the hull in the same direction as the resultant force( As discussed above, Sakashita discloses the resultant force (F2) occurring at X that is rightward, and the bow thruster (second propulsion device) is also thrusted in the same direction which is rightward. Furthermore Fig. 5 of Sakashita demonstrates that the resultant force direction(F2) at intersection(X) is in the same direction with Bow thruster (F3).Adding another thrust is duplication of parts. Sakashita, paragraph 113, a resultant force of the left thrust in and the right thrust βR is required to occur at a crossing position X between the left line of action γL and the right line of action γR as a rightward thrust F2, and a thrust F3 of the bow thruster 5 is required to be directed rightwardly).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita (US 20200331578 A1) in view of Wong (US 20160114875 A1) in further view of Nakayasu (US 20140106632 A1) in further view of Mizutani (US 20150072575 A1) hereinafter Mizutani.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 2(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation; Nakayasu’s fig. 8a and 8b demonstrate a multiple propulsion devices(3p and 3s) oriented to form a V shape in a plan view), wherein,
The combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu fails to discloses a marine propulsion system where even when the first propulsion device on the port side is steered in the rightward turning direction and the first propulsion device on the starboard side is steered in the leftward turning direction ), the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side do not interfere with each other.
However, Mizutani, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a vessel propulsion system discloses a propulsion system wherein even when the first propulsion device on the port side is steered in the rightward turning direction(Mizutani, paragraph 76, the portside outboard motor 3L is mounted in a state of being swingable (turnable) in the left-right direction with respect to the portside transom portion 8L ) and the first propulsion device on the starboard side is steered in the leftward turning direction(Mizutani, paragraph 76, The starboard side outboard motor 3R is mounted in a state of being swingable (turnable) in the left-right direction with respect to the starboard side transom portion 8R ), the first propulsion device on the port side and the first propulsion device on the starboard side do not interfere with each other(Mizutani, paragraph 166, FIG. 14A shows an example in which the upper limit port turning angle value .theta.Lmax due to structural limitations of the portside outboard motor 3L and the portside turning mechanism 4L is -20.degree.. In this case, for avoiding interference with the starboard side outboard motor 3R and other purposes, the upper limit port turning command angle value .theta.L*max may be set to a value smaller than the upper limit port turning angle value .theta.Lmax, for example, 10.degree. ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu with Mizutani to incorporate propulsion device on port and starboard side that do not interfere with each other. By preventing interference between the outboard motors, turning performance of the vessel is significantly improved, and a wide variety of hull behavior is achieved.( Mizutani, paragraph 138, When a plurality of outboard motors have a short mounting pitch therebetween, there is a possibility that the wide portions of the plurality of outboard motors interfere with each other and the respective outboard motors are limited in their turning angle ranges… the limitation in the turning angle ranges of the respective outboard motors 3L and 3R is significantly reduced or prevented, so that the turning performance of the vessel 1 is significantly improved, and a wide variety of hull behavior is achieved).
Claims 5,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita (US 20200331578 A1) in view of Wong (US 20160114875 A1) in further view of Nakayasu (US 20140106632 A1) in further view of Puretic (US 4223625 A).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 4(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation; Nakayasu’s fig. 8a and 8b demonstrate a multiple propulsion devices(3p and 3s) oriented to form a V shape in a plan view), wherein
The combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu specifically fails to disclose marine propulsion system where the second propulsion device includes an extendable arm and a propeller to generate the another thrust; and
the extendable arm is extended to locate the propeller in front of the bow of the hull.
However, Puretic, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an outboard thruster for boat discloses a system with the second propulsion device includes an extendable arm( Puretic, col.3 line 28, the davit barrel 72 rotatably carries an arm 80 which extends vertically and then forwardly as indicated in FIG. 1.) and a propeller to generate the another thrust(Puretic, col.4 line 34, the steering motor 46 may be operated in a similar manner to impart counterclockwise rotation to its shaft 44 to thereby cause the propeller 20 to exert thrust in the directions indicated by directional arrows 124, 125 and 126 ); and
the extendable arm is extended to locate the propeller in front of the bow of the hull(fig. 1 of Puretic shows propeller(20) that is located in front of the bow (13)).
Puretic fig. 1 shows an extendable arm(80) with a propeller(20) located in front of the bow (13).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu with Puretic to incorporate an extendable arm located in front of a bow of the hull that moves forward. The extending arm supports a hydraulic power and hoisting lines, and allow the propulsion device to be smoothly lowered into the water in front of the bow.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 4(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation; Nakayasu’s fig. 8a and 8b demonstrate a multiple propulsion devices(3p and 3s) oriented to form a V shape in a plan view), wherein
the second propulsion device includes an extendable rod(Puretic discloses an extendable hoisting line that is similar to a rod. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to switch the hoisting line of Puretic with a rod for a stronger support and structure. Puretic, col.3 line 66, the hoisting lines 88 and 90 will extend through the sheave of the power block 82) and a propeller to generate the another thrust(Puretic, col.4 line 34, the steering motor 46 may be operated in a similar manner to impart counterclockwise rotation to its shaft 44 to thereby cause the propeller 20 to exert thrust in the directions indicated by directional arrows 124, 125 and 126); and the propeller is located at a distal end of the extendable rod(fig. 1 of Puretic shows propeller(20) that is located at a distal end the hoisting line (13)), and
the extendable rod is inclined with respect to a water surface to submerge the propeller in front of the bow of the hull(Puretic, col.4 line 3, the motor-propeller unit 10 is submerged below waterline 64).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita (US 20200331578 A1) in view of Wong (US 20160114875 A1) in further view of Nakayasu (US 20140106632 A1) in further view of Mizutani (US 20140046515 A1) hereinafter Mizutani2.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 2(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation; Nakayasu’s fig. 8a and 8b demonstrate a multiple propulsion devices(3p and 3s) oriented to form a V shape in a plan view),
The combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu specifically fails to disclose the marine propulsion system wherein to move the hull in the lateral direction to the starboard side, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the rearward thrust, cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate the forward thrust, and cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust toward the starboard side; and
to move the hull in the lateral direction to the port side, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the forward thrust, cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate the rearward thrust, and cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust toward the port side.
However, Mizutani2, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about marine vessel propulsion control device discloses a system wherein to move the hull in the lateral direction to the starboard side, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the rearward thrust, cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate the forward thrust( Mizutani2 discloses generating forward or backward thrust based on the tilting direction. The outboard motor that is on the side of the tilting direction thrust forward and the outboard motor on the opposite direction thrusts backward. Mizutani2, paragraph 125, The drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 and to cause the two outboard motors to generate forward and rearward thrust forces, respectively. More specifically, of the left and right outboard motors, the outboard motor that is on the side of the tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 is controlled so as to generate a forward thrust force, and the remaining other outboard motor is controlled so as to generate a rearward thrust force), and cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust toward the starboard side(Mizutani2 discloses the bow thruster generates a forces in a tilting direction indicating thrust toward the starboard side when the vessel moves to the starboard side and a thrust towards port side when the vessel tilts to the port side. Mizutani2 ,paragraph 125, the drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever. Mizutani2 ,paragraph 62,The bow thruster 3C includes, for example, an electric motor serving as a motor and a propeller that rotates about a rotation axis along the left-right direction of the hull 2 due to a driving force generated by the electric motor); and
to move the hull in the lateral direction to the port side, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the forward thrust, cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate the rearward thrust(Mizutani2 discloses generating forward or backward thrust based on the tilting direction. The outboard motor that is on the side of the tilting direction thrust forward and the outboard motor on the opposite direction thrusts backward. Mizutani2, paragraph 125, The drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 and to cause the two outboard motors to generate forward and rearward thrust forces, respectively. More specifically, of the left and right outboard motors, the outboard motor that is on the side of the tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 is controlled so as to generate a forward thrust force, and the remaining other outboard motor is controlled so as to generate a rearward thrust force), and cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust toward the port side(Mizutani2 discloses the bow thruster generates a forces in a tilting direction indicating thrust toward the starboard side when the vessel moves to the starboard side and a thrust towards port side when the vessel tilts to the port side.Mizutani2 ,paragraph 125, the drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever. Mizutani2 ,paragraph 62,The bow thruster 3C includes, for example, an electric motor serving as a motor and a propeller that rotates about a rotation axis along the left-right direction of the hull 2 due to a driving force generated by the electric motor).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita, Wong, and Nakayasu with Mizutani2 to incorporate a system where the port and starboard propulsion devices generate rearward and forward thrust based on required lateral direction movement of a hull. Mizutani2 discloses generating forward or backward thrust based on the tilting direction of a hull which corresponds to lateral direction movement. This is advantageous to move the hull straight sideways in the direction in which a lateral lever has been tilted. (Mizutani2, paragraph 125 , a stem turning moment to compensate for a stem turning moment (refer to the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P91) provided to the hull by a thrust force of the bow thruster is provided to the hull by the two outboard motors. As a result, the hull moves straight sideways in the direction in which the lateral lever 102 has been tilted, with its bow direction substantially maintained).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sakashita and Wong teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 8(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation), wherein
to move the hull in the lateral direction to the starboard side, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the forward thrust, cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate the rearward thrust(Sakashita, paragraph 120, when the hull 2 is translationally moved rightwardly as shown in FIG. 5, the navigation controller 6 rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the left outboard motor 4L leftwardly, and rotates the propulsion unit 30 of the right outboard motor 4R rightwardly until the absolute value of the steering angle α of each outboard motor 4 becomes a maximum value (for example, 30 degrees). The absolute value of the left steering angle αL and the absolute value of the right steering angle αR are equal to each other. Thereafter, the navigation controller 6 allows the left outboard motor 4L to generate a left thrust βL in the forward direction, and allows the right outboard motor 4R to generate a right thrust βR in the backward direction. Mizutani2, paragraph 125, The drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 and to cause the two outboard motors to generate forward and rearward thrust forces, respectively. More specifically, of the left and right outboard motors, the outboard motor that is on the side of the tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 is controlled so as to generate a forward thrust force, and the remaining other outboard motor is controlled so as to generate a rearward thrust force ), and cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust toward the port side(Mizutani2 discloses the bow thruster generates a forces in a tilting direction indicating thrust toward the starboard side when the vessel moves to the starboard side and a thrust towards port side when the vessel tilts to the port side.Mizutani2 ,paragraph 125, the drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever. Mizutani2 ,paragraph 62,The bow thruster 3C includes, for example, an electric motor serving as a motor and a propeller that rotates about a rotation axis along the left-right direction of the hull 2 due to a driving force generated by the electric motor); and
to move the hull in the lateral direction to the port side, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the first propulsion device on the port side to generate the rearward thrust, cause the first propulsion device on the starboard side to generate the forward thrust(Mizutani2 discloses generating forward or backward thrust based on the tilting direction. The outboard motor that is on the side of the tilting direction thrust forward and the outboard motor on the opposite direction thrusts backward. Mizutani2, paragraph 125, The drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 and to cause the two outboard motors to generate forward and rearward thrust forces, respectively. More specifically, of the left and right outboard motors, the outboard motor that is on the side of the tilting direction of the lateral lever 102 is controlled so as to generate a forward thrust force, and the remaining other outboard motor is controlled so as to generate a rearward thrust force), and cause the second propulsion device to generate the another thrust toward the starboard side(Mizutani2 discloses the bow thruster generates a forces in a tilting direction indicating thrust toward the starboard side when the vessel moves to the starboard side and a thrust towards port side when the vessel tilts to the port side. Mizutani2 ,paragraph 125, the drive pattern resulting from the marine vessel maneuvering pattern P96 is a drive pattern to cause the bow thruster to generate a thrust force in a tilting direction of the lateral lever. Mizutani2 ,paragraph 62,The bow thruster 3C includes, for example, an electric motor serving as a motor and a propeller that rotates about a rotation axis along the left-right direction of the hull 2 due to a driving force generated by the electric motor).
Claims 9,10,11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita (US 20200331578 A1) in view of Wong (US 20160114875 A1) in further view of Nakayasu (US 20140106632 A1) in further view of Puretic (US 4223625 A) in further view of Malouf (US 20210286362 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, Nakayasu, and Puretic teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 8(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation),
The combination of Sakashita, Wong, Nakayasu, and Puretic specifically fails to disclose marine propulsion system wherein a magnitude of the another thrust in the direction opposite to the resultant force is smaller than a magnitude of the resultant force.
However, Malouf, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about marine propulsion system discloses a system wherein a magnitude of the another thrust in the direction opposite to the resultant force is smaller than a magnitude of the resultant force(Malouf teaches a counterclockwise force(thrust by bow thruster) countered by a greater magnitude stern thrusters F1 and F2. Malouf, paragraph 38, FIG. 5C depicts force vectors for effectuating forward movement of the marine vessel 10 when the propulsion devices 21 and 22 are at angle θ. Here the bow thruster 15 effectuates a thrust F3 in the port direction, which generates a counterclockwise moment about the COT 30. The counterclockwise moment is counteracted by the thrust F1 and F2 of the propulsion devices at the stern of the marine vessel 10 where the port side propulsion devices effectuate a forward thrust F1 and the starboard side propulsion devices effectuate a thrust F2 in the reverse direction to generate a clockwise moment. However, the forward thrust vector F1 is greater in magnitude than the reverse thrust vector, and a resultant total thrust is exerted on the marine vessel 10 in order to move it forward).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sakashita, Wong, Nakayasu, and Puretic with Malouf to apply a smaller bow thrust in counterclockwise direction for efficient forward movement.( Malouf, paragraph 38, the forward thrust vector F1 is greater in magnitude than the reverse thrust vector, and a resultant total thrust is exerted on the marine vessel 10 in order to move it forward.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sakashita and Wong teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 8(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation), wherein the second propulsion device generates the another thrust in front of the bow of the hull in the direction opposite to the resultant force(Malouf discloses bow trust(F3) is counterclockwise(opposite) to the clockwise stern thrust of F1 and F2. Malouf, paragraph 38, the bow thruster 15 effectuates a thrust F3 in the port direction, which generates a counterclockwise moment about the COT 30. The counterclockwise moment is counteracted by the thrust F1 and F2 of the propulsion devices at the stern of the marine vessel 10 where the port side propulsion devices effectuate a forward thrust F1 and the starboard side propulsion devices effectuate a thrust F2 in the reverse direction to generate a clockwise moment. However, the forward thrust vector F1 is greater in magnitude than the reverse thrust vector, and a resultant total thrust is exerted on the marine vessel 10 in order to move it forward. ).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Malouf teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 10(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation; Malouf, paragraph 38, the bow thruster 15 effectuates a thrust F3 in the port direction, which generates a counterclockwise moment about the COT 30. The counterclockwise moment is counteracted by the thrust F1 and F2 of the propulsion devices at the stern of the marine vessel), wherein the second propulsion device includes an extendable arm(Puretic, col.3 line 28, the davit barrel 72 rotatably carries an arm 80 which extends vertically and then forwardly as indicated in FIG. 1.) and a propeller to generate the another thrust(Puretic, col.4 line 34, the steering motor 46 may be operated in a similar manner to impart counterclockwise rotation to its shaft 44 to thereby cause the propeller 20 to exert thrust in the directions indicated by directional arrows 124, 125 and 126); and
the extendable arm is extended to locate the propeller in front of the bow of the hull(fig. 1 of Puretic shows propeller(20) that is located in front of the bow (13)).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sakashita, Wong, and Malouf teaches the marine propulsion system according to claim 10(Sakashita, paragraph 2, a vessel propulsion system; Wong, paragraph 4, when the engine propellers 100 and 104 are steered towards each other so that the point of intersection 98 is forward of the center of rotation; Malouf, paragraph 38, the bow thruster 15 effectuates a thrust F3 in the port direction, which generates a counterclockwise moment about the COT 30. The counterclockwise moment is counteracted by the thrust F1 and F2 of the propulsion devices at the stern of the marine vessel), wherein
the second propulsion device includes an extendable rod(Puretic discloses an extendable hoisting line that is similar to a rod. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to switch the hoisting line of Puretic with a rod for a stronger support and structure. Puretic, col.3 line 66, the hoisting lines 88 and 90 will extend through the sheave of the power block 82) and a propeller to generate the another thrust(Puretic, col.4 line 34, the steering motor 46 may be operated in a similar manner to impart counterclockwise rotation to its shaft 44 to thereby cause the propeller 20 to exert thrust in the directions indicated by directional arrows 124, 125 and 126); and
the propeller is located at a distal end of the extendable rod(fig. 1 of Puretic shows propeller(20) that is located at a distal end the hoisting line (13)), and the extendable rod is inclined with respect to a water surface to submerge the propeller in front of the bow of the hull(Puretic, col.4 line 3, the motor-propeller unit 10 is submerged below waterline 64).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Lindeborg (WO 2020069750 A1) teaches a bow thruster located in front of a midship position of a marine vessel, at a proximity of the bow, that provides a thrust in the transverse direction of the vessel during low speed maneuvers.
Conclusion
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665