DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fuke et al. (US 2023/0080147 A1)(hereinafter “Fuke”).
Regarding claim 1, Fuke discloses a control system (Fig. 1, [0021]: vehicle control system 1 is configured to include an information processing device 10 (“a portable apparatus”), a vehicle 20 (“a mobile body”), and a server device 30 (“a server”).) comprising:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program ([0002]: the present disclosure relates to an information processing device, a vehicle, an information processing method, and a non-transitory recording medium in which computer program is recorded.) that causes a computer to implement an extraction function of extracting correction information from a correction table on a basis of model information for a portable apparatus, the correction information being used to correct radio wave strength of signals that are transmitted and received between a mobile body and the portable apparatus ([0025]:the server device 30 stores, by model of the information processing device 10, correction value information decided beforehand by, for example, measuring signal strengths. The information processing device 10 can download from the server device 30 the signal strength correction value information that has been set by model. The information processing device 10 sends the correction value information it has downloaded from the server device 30 to the vehicle 20. The vehicle 20 executes the operating area determination process using the correction value information sent from the information processing device 10. [0026]: the information processing device 10 acquires the correction value information corresponding to its own model from the server device 30 and sends the correction value information it has acquired to the vehicle 20, whereby the information processing device 10 can allow the vehicle 20 to accurately execute the operating area determination process. [0039]: the transmission unit 102 executes a process to send information to the vehicle 20. Specifically, the transmission unit 102 sends the correction value information corresponding to its own model stored in the storage unit 103 to the vehicle 20.), the correction table being updated and managed by a server (Fig. 7, [0069]: FIG. 7 is a diagram showing an example of correction value information by model of the information processing device 10 held by the server device 30. Reference sign 31 denotes a column in which manufacturers of the information processing device 10 are stored. Reference sign 32 denotes a column in which model names of the information processing device 10 are stored. Reference sign 33 denotes a column in which correction value information corresponding to the models is stored. The correction value information is, for example, stored as RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indicator) correction values as shown in FIG. 7. For example, the RSSI listed for model no. 1 means that the vehicle 20 is made to execute the operating area determination process after increasing by 5 [dB] the RSSI of the radio waves sent by BLE from the information processing device 10.); and
a determination device (Fig. 5, [0060]: the vehicle 20 has, as functional configurations, an acquisition unit 201 and a process execution unit 202. These functional configurations are realized by the CPU 21A reading and executing the information processing program stored in the ROM 21B.) configured to determine on a basis of radio wave strength whether or not to cause a control target device (Fig. 4, [0044]: the vehicle 20 is configured to include an ECU 21 (“control target device”) and door locks 25, an ignition switch (SW) 26, a monitor 27, speakers 28, and antennas 29.) to execute a prescribed operation ([0023]: the vehicle 20 pertaining to the present embodiment performs near-field wireless communication with the information processing device 10 functioning as a digital key for the vehicle 20 and executes a process pertaining to the digital key. As the process pertaining to the digital key, the vehicle 20 judges whether or not the information processing device 10 utilizable as a digital key for the vehicle 20 is within a predetermined distance from the vehicle 20. The vehicle 20 determines whether or not the information processing device 10 is within the predetermined distance from the vehicle 20 using the signal strength of radio waves sent by the information processing device 10. Whether or not the information processing device 10 is within the predetermined distance is, in the present embodiment, also called an operating area determination process. [0057]: although FIG. 4 shows a configuration where the one ECU 21 controls the devices of the vehicle 20, the disclosure is not limited to this example. For example, different ECUs may also control the door locks 25 and the ignition switch 26.), the radio wave strength being corrected by using the correction information ([0024]: the server device 30 holds signal strength correction value information set by model of the information processing device 10. As described above, the vehicle 20 determines the distance to the information processing device 10 using the signal strength of the radio waves sent by the information processing device 10 in the operating area determination process. [0042] the information processing device 10 pertaining to the present embodiment can, by virtue of having these configurations, acquire the correction value information corresponding to its own model from the server device 30 and transmit the correction value information it has acquired to the vehicle 20. The vehicle 20 can, by receiving the correction value information from the information processing device 10, accurately execute the operating area determination process. ), the control target device being mounted on the mobile body (Fig. 4, [0044]: the vehicle 20 is configured to include an ECU 21. Accordingly, the ECU 21 (“the control target device”) is mounted on the vehicle (“the mobile body”)).
Regarding claim 2, Fuke discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Fuke further discloses wherein the program is installed in the portable apparatus, and the program controls download of the correction information from the server, the download being based on upload of the model information to the server ([0022]: the information processing device 10 is a mobile device such as a smartphone, for example, and is a device utilizable as a digital key for unlocking the doors of the vehicle 20 and starting the engine. The information processing device 10 becomes utilizable as a digital key for the vehicle 20 by downloading and installing an application for allowing the information processing device 10 to function as a digital key. In the present embodiment, “the information processing device 10 becomes utilizable as a digital key for the vehicle 20” means that the information processing device 10 holds key information for the vehicle 20. [0025]: the information processing device 10 can download from the server device 30 the signal strength correction value information that has been set by model. The information processing device 10 sends the correction value information it has downloaded from the server device 30 to the vehicle 20.).
Regarding claim 4, Fuke discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Fuke also discloses wherein the program is installed in a control device that is mounted on the mobile body, and the program controls download of the updated correction table from the server ([0080] the vehicle control system 1 pertaining to the second embodiment differs from the vehicle control system 1 of the first embodiment in that it is the vehicle 20 that acquires the correction value information from the server device 30. Because the vehicle 20 acquires the correction value information from the server device 30, the vehicle 20 can be allowed to accurately execute the operating area determination process using the correction value information even in a case where the information processing device 10 is unable to connect to its network and acquire the correction value information from the server device 30.).
Regarding claim 5, Fuke discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Fuke further discloses wherein the extraction function extracts the correction information that is provisional correction information in a case where the model information for the portable apparatus is not registered in the correction table ([0090]: in a third embodiment of the disclosure, in a case where the information processing device 10 is unable to acquire the correction value information from the server device 30, the information processing device 10 sends a predetermined default value (“provisional correction information”) as the correction value information to the vehicle 20. By sending the predetermined default value as the correction value information to the vehicle 20, the information processing device 10 can register the digital key in the vehicle 20 even in a case where, for example, the information processing device 10 is unable to connect via its network to the server device 30 and/or the server device 30 is not operating. [0096]: in a case where, as a result of the judgment in step S115, the information processing device 10 is not holding the correction value information corresponding to its own model (step S115: NO), next, in step S116 the CPU 11 sets the predetermined default value as the correction value information.).
Regarding claim 6, Fuke discloses a management apparatus (Fig. 1, [0021]: vehicle control system 1 is configured to include … a server device 30 (“a management apparatus”)).)comprising:
a management unit configured to manage correction information and model information for a portable apparatus in association with each other, the correction information being used to correct radio wave strength of signals that are transmitted and received between a mobile body and the portable apparatus ([0025]:the server device 30 stores, by model of the information processing device 10, correction value information decided beforehand by, for example, measuring signal strengths. The information processing device 10 (“a portable apparatus”) can download from the server device 30 the signal strength correction value information that has been set by model. The information processing device 10 sends the correction value information it has downloaded from the server device 30 to the vehicle 20 (“a mobile body”). The vehicle 20 executes the operating area determination process using the correction value information sent from the information processing device 10. Fig. 7, [0069]: FIG. 7 is a diagram showing an example of correction value information by model of the information processing device 10 held by the server device 30. The correction value information is, for example, stored as RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indicator) correction values as shown in FIG. 7.), wherein
radio wave strength corrected by using the correction information is used to determine whether or not to cause a control target device to execute a prescribed operation, the control target device being mounted on the mobile body ([0026]: the information processing device 10 acquires the correction value information corresponding to its own model from the server device 30 and sends the correction value information it has acquired to the vehicle 20, whereby the information processing device 10 can allow the vehicle 20 to accurately execute the operating area determination process. [0039]: the transmission unit 102 executes a process to send information to the vehicle 20. Specifically, the transmission unit 102 sends the correction value information corresponding to its own model stored in the storage unit 103 to the vehicle 20. Fig. 5, [0060]: the vehicle 20 has, as functional configurations, an acquisition unit 201 and a process execution unit 202. These functional configurations are realized by the CPU 21A reading and executing the information processing program stored in the ROM 21B. [0023]: the vehicle 20 pertaining to the present embodiment performs near-field wireless communication with the information processing device 10 functioning as a digital key for the vehicle 20 and executes a process pertaining to the digital key. As the process pertaining to the digital key, the vehicle 20 judges whether or not the information processing device 10 utilizable as a digital key for the vehicle 20 is within a predetermined distance from the vehicle 20. The vehicle 20 determines whether or not the information processing device 10 is within the predetermined distance from the vehicle 20 using the signal strength of radio waves sent by the information processing device 10. Whether or not the information processing device 10 is within the predetermined distance is, in the present embodiment, also called an operating area determination process. [0057]: although FIG. 4 shows a configuration where the one ECU 21 controls the devices of the vehicle 20, the disclosure is not limited to this example. For example, different ECUs may also control the door locks 25 and the ignition switch 26.)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuke in view of Woo et al. (US 2017/0249791 A1)(hereinafter “Woo”).
Regarding claim 3, Fuke discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Fuke discloses wherein an application including the program and a correction value obtained from the correction table stored in the server is installed in the portable apparatus, and the program controls download of the updated application from the server ([0022]: the information processing device 10 is a mobile device such as a smartphone, for example, and is a device utilizable as a digital key for unlocking the doors of the vehicle 20 and starting the engine. The information processing device 10 becomes utilizable as a digital key for the vehicle 20 by downloading and installing an application for allowing the information processing device 10 to function as a digital key. In the present embodiment, “the information processing device 10 becomes utilizable as a digital key for the vehicle 20” means that the information processing device 10 holds key information for the vehicle 20. [0025]: the information processing device 10 can download from the server device 30 the signal strength correction value information that has been set by model. The information processing device 10 sends the correction value information it has downloaded from the server device 30 to the vehicle 20.).
Fuke does not clearly disclose wherein an application including the program and the correction table is installed in the portable apparatus. However, Woo discloses wherein an application including the program and the correction table is installed in the portable apparatus (Fig. 11, [0199]: in operation 1152 according to various example embodiments, the electronic device 1100 may perform an operation of storing RF characteristic data and key information received from the server 1110. For example, the RF characteristic data may be an antenna gain/axis, an antenna ID, an RSSI-location matching table, or the like. Herein, the RSSI-location table may be a table (e.g., a look-up table) indicating a distance between the electronic device 1100 and the smart key module 1120 on the basis of an RSSI value, and the electronic device 1100 may transmit the information to the smart key module 1120 as vehicle RF characteristic change data. [0215]: the electronic device 1300 according to various example embodiments may correct the RSSI value of the RF signal as an RSSI value of −50 dBm by referring to the reference mapping table provided from the server. The electronic device 1300 may transmit the RF signal indicating the corrected RSSI value of −50 dBm to the smart key module 1310. [0293]: the corrected RSSI value transmitted to the vehicle 2210 may be a value corrected on the basis of an RF characteristic data table as RSSI correction information or deviation information of an RF characteristic (e.g., reception sensitivity) between the smart key of the vehicle 2210 and the electronic device 2200. [0302]: the electronic device may correct an RSSI value for the signal of the vehicle on the basis of a pre-stored RF characteristic data table.).
Therefore, it would have been would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal strength correction value information that has been set by model downloaded and stored by the information processing device 10, as taught by Fuke, to include a correction table downloaded from the server, as taught by Woo. Doing so allows for the correction value to be the adapted according to changing RF characteristics between the mobile body and the portable apparatus (See Woo [0175], [0198-0202]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qiao et al. (US 2024/0051499 A1) – Vehicle Control Method, On-Board Terminal and Storage Medium – discloses obtaining a target mapping relationship matching a device model of a mobile terminal, where the target mapping relationship includes a mapping relationship between a RSSI value and a distance between the mobile terminal and a vehicle.
Han et al. (US 2023/0289334 A1) – Method and Apparatus For Managing Vehicle Calibration Database, and Storage Medium – discloses managing a vehicle calibration database including RSSI calibration values for a vehicle key.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463