CTFR 18/799,105 CTFR 98092 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is a final office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below. The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 22, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Response to Arguments In light of applicant’s arguments and the filed amendment, see Remarks pg.8, filed 02/15/2026, with respect to the claim interpretation of claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 10 under 35 U.S.C 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim interpretation of claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 10 has been withdrawn. In light of applicant’s arguments and the filed amendment, see Remarks pg. 8-9, filed02/18/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. As discussed in the interview, the examiner agreed that integration of initiating automatic berthing control of the ship through the limitation, “start the automatic pilot for berthing the ship…” as recited by the independent claims would overcome the current 101 rejection of record and integrate the abstract idea into practical application. As such, the rejection has been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim. 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Miyazawa Hajime et al. (JP20220114274A), hereinafter referred to as Hajime in view of Ishii Takahiro et al. (US20210070407A1), hereinafter referred to as Takahiro, in further view of Yamazaki Takayoshi et al. (US20200080846A1), hereinafter referred to as Takayoshi, in further view of Akuzawa Shu et al. (US20190308713A1), hereinafter referred to as Shu. Regarding claim 1, Hajime discloses: a control device mounted on a ship, comprising a control unit including a processor (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0008]-[0010], [0033] which discloses a control unit that controls movement of the ship), the processor configured to : the control unit is configured to set a first water area in which automatic pilot for berthing the ship at a berthing location for the ship is able to start when the berthing location is selected (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-5; ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0018]-[0020], which discloses the setting of of a target point to plan the ship’s approach and determination of whether a first setting condition is met, and automatic berthing will only begin when the ship is inside the zone, this means that the control unit is configured to set a first water area in which automatic pilot for berthing the ship at a berthing location for the ship is able to start when the berthing location is selected) the control unit is configured to display the berthing location and the first water area on a display screen provided in the ship together with map information (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-3; ¶¶ [0017], [0035], which discloses the output unit responsible for outputting information necessary for controlling the ship to a display including the berthing location, first water area alongside the map information (environment/surrounding information) onto a display screen) Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Takahiro teaches: acquire information on a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship using a sensor (see at least Takahiro, ¶¶ [0044]-[0045], [0139]-[0141] which discloses steps where the ship docking processor acquires samples of feature points, the position of the ship body relative to the docking target (bow direction, stem direction) using sensor information, this means acquire information on a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship using a sensor) calculate the first water area based on the acquired information and the berthing location (see at least Takahiro, ¶¶ [0044]-[0045], [0056], [0140]-[0141] which discloses the calculation of a target water area based on the acquired information in step S involving samples of feature points, the position of the ship body relative to the docking target (bow direction, stem direction) using sensor information, which means calculate the first water area based on the acquired information and the berthing location) start the automatic pilot for berthing the ship when the ship enters a predetermined water area, including the first water area (see at least Takahiro, ¶¶ [0044]-[0045], [0056], [0140]-[0142], which discloses controlling the propulsion unit which performs automatic pilot using the output ship information obtained in step S, this means start the automatic pilot for berthing the ship when the ship enters a predetermined water area, including the first water area) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hajime to include: acquire information on a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship using a sensor, calculate the first water area based on the acquired information and the berthing location, and start the automatic pilot for berthing the ship when the ship enters a predetermined water area, including the first water area as taught by Takahiro. Incorporating the teachings of Takahiro would allow for an improvement to the base invention of more efficient assistance of the approaching operation to detect relative locations of the ship body at a front portion of the ship body. Regarding claim 2, Modified Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Takayoshi discloses: the processor is configured to extract based on the information, one or more registered locations at which the ship is able to be berthed (see at least Takayoshi, Fig.4, ¶¶ [0039]-[0041] which discloses extracting one or more registered locations that the ship is able to be berthed) the control unit is configured to display the one or more registered locations on the display screen (see at least Takayoshi, Fig.4, ¶¶ [0042]-[0043] which discloses displaying docking point candidates on the display screen) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change modified Hajime to include the control unit is configured to extract based on the information, one or more registered locations at which the ship is able to be berthed and the control unit is configured to display the one or more registered locations on the display screen as taught by Takayoshi. Incorporating the teachings into Hajime would allow for an added improvement to the base device that uses the latest position information and azimuth information of the ship to narrow down, or classify docking points. Regarding claim 3, modified Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Takayoshi discloses: the control device according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to accept that the berthing location is selected when one of the one or more registered locations is selected as the berthing location for the ship (see at least Takayoshi, ¶¶ [0042]- [0045] which discloses the ability for each docking point (berthing location) to be selected as the candidate and the control system is configured to accept the selection after calculating the route) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change modified Hajime to include the control device according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is configured to accept that the berthing location is selected when one of the one or more registered locations is selected as the berthing location for the ship as taught by Takayoshi. Incorporating the teachings into Hajime would allow for an added improvement to the base device that uses the latest position information and azimuth information of the ship to narrow down, or classify docking points. Regarding claim 4, Hajime discloses: the control device according to claim 1, wherein: the first water area is a water area defined such that, when a first circle is equally divided into two semicircles by a line parallel to a stem direction of the ship berthed on a starboard side or on a port side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, ¶¶ [0029]-[0030], which discloses a first water area with a first circle (red arrow), divided into two semicircles (blue arrows) by a line parallel to the stem (bow) direction of the ship berthed) a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two semicircles on a sea side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2) the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location that is a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, which discloses the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location that is a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location) the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction of the ship berthed on the starboard side or on the port side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2 which discloses the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction) Note: The examiner has provided the figure below for reference with annotations. PNG media_image1.png 348 617 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 5, modified Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Shu teaches: the control device according to claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to: set a second water area when an obstacle is detected in the first water area (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0085]-[0086] which discloses when an obstruction is present between the first target position TP 1 and the current position, the controller determines the second target position TP 2 so as to avoid the obstruction, this means set a second water area when an obstacle is detected in the first water area) the second water area is obtained by removing a region in which the obstacle is present from the first water area (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0086] which discloses when an obstruction is present, the controller determines the target navigation route Ph 1 by excluding the grid within the predetermined range from the object recognized as the obstruction, this means the second water area is obtained by removing a region in which the obstacle is present from the first water area) the processor is configured to display the set second water area on the display screen in place of the first water area (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0086] which discloses the determined target navigation route Ph 1 is displayed on the environment map and the controller calculates and updates the target navigation route Ph 1 in real time, which means the control unit is configured to display the set second water area on the display screen in place of the first water area) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change modified Hajime to include set a second water area when an obstacle is detected in the first water area, the second water area is obtained by removing a region in which the obstacle is present from the first water area, and the control unit is configured to display the set second water area on the display screen in place of the first water area as taught by Shu. Incorporating these teachings would allow for an improvement to the base device that applies known obstacle-avoidance techniques to improve navigational safety. Regarding claim 6, further modified Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Shu teaches: the control device according to claim 5, wherein: the obstacle is an artificial structure, a region in which berthing is topographically or legally not allowed, or an object that is detected by a sensor provided in the ship and that obstructs navigation of the ship; and the artificial structure includes a pier, a quay, or a buoy displayed on the display screen (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0055]-[00557] which discloses the obstacle as an artificial structure obstructs navigation of the ship (i.e., piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, etc.) which is displayed) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change further modified Hajime to include the control device according to claim 5, wherein: the obstacle is an artificial structure, a region in which berthing is topographically or legally not allowed, or an object that is detected by a sensor provided in the ship and that obstructs navigation of the ship; and the artificial structure includes a pier, a quay, or a buoy displayed on the display screen as taught by Shu. Incorporating these teachings would allow for an improvement to the base device that applies known obstacle-avoidance techniques to improve navigational safety. Regarding claim 7, Hajime discloses: the control device according to claim 5, wherein: the processor is configured to set a part of the first water area or a part of the second water area as a third water area in which the automatic pilot is started (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-5; ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0018]-[0020], which discloses the setting of a target point to plan the ship’s approach and determination of whether a first setting condition is met, and automatic berthing will only begin when the ship is inside the zone, this means that the control unit is configured to set a first water area in which automatic pilot for berthing the ship at a berthing location for the ship is able to start when the berthing location is selected) the part of the first water area or the part of the second water area is determined according to a stem direction of the ship with the ship berthed (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0015]-[0018], [0024] which discloses acquisition of sensor information regarding the position of the ship and bow (stem) direction to ensure the positional relationship matches the target point) the processor is configured to display the third water area on the display screen in place of the first water area or the second water area (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-3; ¶¶ [0017], [0035], which discloses the output unit responsible for outputting information necessary for controlling the ship to a display including the berthing location, final water area alongside the map information (environment/surrounding information) onto a display screen) Regarding claim 8, Hajime discloses: the control device according to claim 7, wherein: the third water area is a water area defined such that, when a fourth water area is equally divided into two quadrants by a line segment, a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two quadrants on a stern side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, ¶¶ [0029]-[0030], which discloses the third water area is a water area defined such that, when a fourth water area is equally divided into two quadrants by a line segment, a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two quadrants on a stern side) the fourth water area is a water area defined such that, when a first circle is equally divided into two semicircles by a line parallel to the stem direction with the ship berthed on a starboard side or on a port side, a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two semicircles on a sea side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, which discloses the fourth water area is a water area defined such that, when a first circle is equally divided into two semicircles by a line parallel to the stem direction with the ship berthed on a starboard side or on a port side, a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two semicircles on a sea side) the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location; the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction (see at least Hajime, Fig.2 which discloses the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location; the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction) the line segment passes through the berthing location and is orthogonal to the stem direction with the ship berthed, with the ship berthed on the starboard side or on the port side (see at least Hajime Fig.2 which discloses the line segment passes through the berthing location and is orthogonal to the stem direction with the ship berthed) Regarding claim 9, Hajime discloses: the control device according to claim 7, wherein the third water area is determined according to whether the ship is berthed at the berthing location on a starboard side or on a port side (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0015]-[0018], [0024] which discloses wherein the third water area is determined according to whether the ship is berthed at the berthing location on a starboard side or on a port side) Regarding claim 10, Hajime discloses: the control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to display the position of the ship and the stem direction of the ship on the display screen together with the map information (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0015]-[0018], [0024] which discloses display a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship on the display screen together with the map information) Regarding claim 11, Hajime discloses: a control method executed by a control device mounted on a ship (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0008]-[0010], [0033] which discloses a control unit that controls movement of the ship), comprising: setting a first water area in which automatic pilot for berthing the ship at a berthing location for the ship is able to start when the berthing location is selected (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-5; ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0018]-[0020], which discloses the setting of a target point to plan the ship’s approach and determination of whether a first setting condition is met, and automatic berthing will only begin when the ship is inside the zone, this means that the control unit is configured to set a first water area in which automatic pilot for berthing the ship at a berthing location for the ship is able to start when the berthing location is selected) displaying the berthing location and the first water area on a display screen provided in the ship (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-3; ¶¶ [0017], [0035], which discloses the output unit responsible for outputting information necessary for controlling the ship to a display including the berthing location, first water area alongside the map information (environment/surrounding information) onto a display screen) Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Takahiro teaches: acquire information on a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship using a sensor (see at least Takahiro, ¶¶ [0044]-[0045], [0139]-[0141] which discloses steps where the ship docking processor acquires samples of feature points, the position of the ship body relative to the docking target (bow direction, stem direction) using sensor information, this means acquire information on a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship using a sensor) calculate the first water area based on the acquired information and the berthing location (see at least Takahiro, ¶¶ [0044]-[0045], [0056], [0140]-[0141] which discloses the calculation of a target water area based on the acquired information in step S involving samples of feature points, the position of the ship body relative to the docking target (bow direction, stem direction) using sensor information, which means calculate the first water area based on the acquired information and the berthing location) start the automatic pilot for berthing the ship when the ship enters a predetermined water area, including the first water area (see at least Takahiro, ¶¶ [0044]-[0045], [0056], [0140]-[0142], which discloses controlling the propulsion unit which performs automatic pilot using the output ship information obtained in step S, this means start the automatic pilot for berthing the ship when the ship enters a predetermined water area, including the first water area) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hajime to include: acquire information on a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship using a sensor, calculate the first water area based on the acquired information and the berthing location, and start the automatic pilot for berthing the ship when the ship enters a predetermined water area, including the first water area as taught by Takahiro. Incorporating the teachings of Takahiro would allow for an improvement to the base invention of more efficient assistance of the approaching operation to detect relative locations of the ship body at a front portion of the ship body. Regarding claim 12, Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Takayoshi discloses: extracting, based on the information, one or more registered locations at which the ship is able to be berthed (see at least Takayoshi, Fig.4, ¶¶ [0039]-[0041] which discloses extracting one or more registered locations that the ship is able to be berthed) displaying the one or more registered locations on the display screen (see at least Takayoshi, Fig.4, ¶¶ [0042]-[0043] which discloses displaying docking point candidates on the display screen) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hajime to include the control unit is configured to extract based on the information, one or more registered locations at which the ship is able to be berthed and the control unit is configured to display the one or more registered locations on the display screen as taught by Takayoshi. Incorporating the teachings into Hajime would allow for an added improvement to the base device that uses the latest position information and azimuth information of the ship to narrow down, or classify docking points. Regarding claim 13, modified Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Takayoshi discloses: the control method according to claim 12, further comprising accepting that the berthing location is selected when one of the one or more registered locations is selected as the berthing location for the ship (see at least Takayoshi, ¶¶ [0042]-[0045] which discloses the ability for each docking point (berthing location) to be selected as the candidate and the control system is configured to accept the selection after calculating the route) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hajime to include wherein the control unit is configured to accept that the berthing location is selected when one of the one or more registered locations is selected as the berthing location for the ship as taught by Takayoshi. Incorporating the teachings into Hajime would allow for an added improvement to the base device that uses the latest position information and azimuth information of the ship to narrow down, or classify docking points. Regarding claim 14, Hajime discloses: the control method according to claim 11, wherein: the first water area is a water area defined such that, when a first circle is equally divided into two semicircles by a line parallel to a stem direction of the ship berthed on a starboard side or on a port side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, ¶¶ [0029]-[0030], which discloses a first water area with a first circle (red arrow), divided into two semicircles (blue arrows) by a line parallel to the stem (bow) direction of the ship berthed) a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two semicircles on a sea side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2) the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location that is a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, which discloses the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location that is a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location) the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction of the ship berthed on the starboard side or on the port side (see at least Hajime, Fig.2 which discloses the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction) Note : The examiner has provided the figure below for reference with annotations. Regarding claim 15, further modified Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Shu teaches: the control method according to claim 11, further comprising: setting a second water area when an obstacle is detected in the first water area (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0085]-[0086] which discloses when an obstruction is present between the first target position TP 1 and the current position, the controller determines the second target position TP 2 so as to avoid the obstruction, this means set a second water area when an obstacle is detected in the first water area) displaying the set second water area on the display screen in place of the first water area (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0086] which discloses the determined target navigation route Ph 1 is displayed on the environment map and the controller calculates and updates the target navigation route Ph 1 in real time, which means the control unit is configured to display the set second water area on the display screen in place of the first water area) wherein the second water area is obtained by removing a region in which the obstacle is present from the first water area (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0086] which discloses when an obstruction is present, the controller determines the target navigation route Ph 1 by excluding the grid within the predetermined range from the object recognized as the obstruction, this means the second water area is obtained by removing a region in which the obstacle is present from the first water area) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change further modified Hajime to include set a second water area when an obstacle is detected in the first water area, the second water area is obtained by removing a region in which the obstacle is present from the first water area, and the control unit is configured to display the set second water area on the display screen in place of the first water area as taught by Shu. Incorporating these teachings would allow for an improvement to the base device that applies known obstacle-avoidance techniques to improve navigational safety. Regarding claim 16, further modified Hajime is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Shu teaches: the control method according to claim 15, wherein: the obstacle is an artificial structure, a region in which berthing is topographically or legally not allowed, or an object that is detected by a sensor provided in the ship and that obstructs navigation of the ship; and the artificial structure includes a pier, a quay, or a buoy displayed on the display screen (see at least Shu, ¶¶ [0055]-[00557] which discloses the obstacle as an artificial structure obstructs navigation of the ship (i.e., piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, etc.) which is displayed) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change further modified Hajime to include the control device according to claim 5, wherein: the obstacle is an artificial structure, a region in which berthing is topographically or legally not allowed, or an object that is detected by a sensor provided in the ship and that obstructs navigation of the ship; and the artificial structure includes a pier, a quay, or a buoy displayed on the display screen as taught by Shu. Incorporating these teachings would allow for an improvement to the base device that applies known obstacle-avoidance techniques to improve navigational safety. Regarding claim 17, Hajime discloses: the control method according to claim 15, further comprising: setting a part of the first water area or a part of the second water area as a third water area in which the automatic pilot is started (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-5; ¶¶ [0011]-[0012], [0018]-[0020], which discloses the setting of a target point to plan the ship’s approach and determination of whether a first setting condition is met, and automatic berthing will only begin when the ship is inside the zone, this means that the control unit is configured to set a first water area in which automatic pilot for berthing the ship at a berthing location for the ship is able to start when the berthing location is selected) displaying the third water area on the display screen in place of the first water area or the second water area (see at least Hajime, Figs. 2-3; ¶¶ [0017], [0035], which discloses the output unit responsible for outputting information necessary for controlling the ship to a display including the berthing location, final water area alongside the map information (environment/surrounding information) onto a display screen) wherein the part of the first water area or the part of the second water area is determined according to a stem direction of the ship with the ship berthed (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0015]-[0018], [0024] which discloses acquisition of sensor information regarding the position of the ship and bow (stem) direction to ensure the positional relationship matches the target point) Regarding claim 18, Hajime discloses: the control method according to claim 17, wherein: the third water area is a water area defined such that, when a fourth water area is equally divided into two quadrants by a line segment (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, ¶¶ [0029]-[0030], which discloses the third water area is a water area defined such that, when a fourth water area is equally divided into two quadrants by a line segment, a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two quadrants on a stern side) a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two quadrants on a stern side; the fourth water area is a water area defined such that, when a first circle is equally divided into two semicircles by a line parallel to the stem direction with the ship berthed on a starboard side or on a port side, a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two semicircles on a sea side; (see at least Hajime, Fig.2, which discloses the fourth water area is a water area defined such that, when a first circle is equally divided into two semicircles by a line parallel to the stem direction with the ship berthed on a starboard side or on a port side, a range of the water area occupies an inside of one of the two semicircles on a sea side) the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location; the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction (see at least Hajime, Fig.2 which discloses the first circle is a circle having a predetermined radius and centered at a location a predetermined distance away in a first direction from the berthing location; the first direction is a direction on the sea side and orthogonal to the stem direction) the line segment passes through the berthing location and is orthogonal to the stem direction with the ship berthed with the ship berthed on the starboard side or on the port side (see at least Hajime Fig.2 which discloses the line segment passes through the berthing location and is orthogonal to the stem direction with the ship berthed) PNG media_image1.png 348 617 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 19, Hajime discloses: the control method according to claim 17, wherein the third water area is determined according to whether the ship is berthed at the berthing location on a starboard side or on a port side (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0015]-[0018], [0024] which discloses display a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship on the display screen together with the map information) Regarding claim 20, Hajime discloses: the control method according to claim 11, wherein the control device displays the position of the ship and the stem direction of the ship on the display screen together with map information (see at least Hajime, ¶¶ [0015]-[0018], [0024] which discloses display a position of the ship and a stem direction of the ship on the display screen together with the map information) Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS whose telephone number is (571)272-7442. The examiner can normally be reached Monday: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm, 6:00-8:00 pm (+ with flex). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rachid Bendidi can be reached at (571) 272-4896. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664 /RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 2 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 3 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 5 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 6 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 7 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 8 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 9 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 10 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 11 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 12 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 13 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 14 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 15 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 16 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 17 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 18 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 19 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 20 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 21 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/799,105 Page 22 Art Unit: 3664