DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are pending under examination.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the provisional application 63/532,229, filed on 8/11/2023. The priority date of 8/11/2023 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 5/20/2025 (two on this date) are under consideration. Any strikethrough is owed to a lack of a copy of the document in the file wrapper.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 and 8-12 are objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested, but not required, that Applicant amend each recitation of “the reference sequence” to “the reference polypeptide” for improved clarity and consistency with what is recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “a polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence … selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1-52” (emphasis added). This claim is being interpreted as a peptide or protein encompassing or containing the entirety of one of SEQ ID NO: 1-52 meets the limitation of the claim. Conversely, smaller fragments encompassed by SEQ ID NO: 1-52 (i.e., dipeptides) are being interpreted as not meeting the limitations of the claim. The recitation of “an amino acid sequence” in claims 2-4 and 7 are being interpreted in the same manner.
Claim 1 further recites that the polypeptides are sequence-specific DNA-binding polypeptides, which is being interpreted as an inherent characteristic of the polypeptides imparted by their amino acid sequences.
Additionally, the claimed polypeptides are being interpreted based upon what is listed in the Sequence Listing.
Examiner’s Note
A rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for written description was considered for claims 1-19 but ultimately not rendered for the following reasons: The instant specification provides sufficient data for a person skilled in the art to be able to derive polypeptides with at least 50% sequence identity capable of binding DNA. Table 1 depicts the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1-52, including the critical residues (bolded) and the residues that constitute the binding interface with the target DNA sequence (underlined). Tables 1 and 2 further indicate the nucleotide sequences that are recognized by each of SEQ ID NO: 1-52.
Each of SEQ ID NO: 1-52 is approximately 50 or more amino acids in length. Most binding interfaces are 15 amino acids or shorter. Thus, one skilled in the art seeking to derive a polypeptide with at least 50% sequence identity to one of SEQ ID NO: 1-52 would necessarily recognize to avoid substitutions in the binding interface, which constitutes less than 50% of the total sequence length. Further, one skilled in the art would be able to use the information included in Tables 4-19 to further modify any region of SEQ ID NO: 21-23, 25, 26, 30, 31, 34, 36, 38, 44, 49, 1, 2, 4, 15, and 50-52 as each of Tables 4-19 describe in detail the best and tolerable substitutions at each position within the peptide sequence as well as ideal insertion sites.
For these reasons, the claims have been found to meet the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence at least 50% identical, not including any amino acid insertions at identified insertion sites (i.e., any insertions are not considered when determining percent identity to the reference polypeptide), to the amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1-52, wherein the polypeptide is a sequence-specific DNA-binding polypeptide. The scope of this claim is indefinite for three reasons.
The first reason is that SEQ ID NO: 1-52, as listed in the Sequence Listing, do not indicate any amino acid insertions or insertion sites. Consequently, it is unclear what the limitation “not including any amino acid insertions at identified insertion sites” refers to.
The second reason is that it is unclear whether what is recited in the parentheses “(i.e., any insertions are not considered when determining percent identity to the reference polypeptide)” is part of the scope of the claim.
The third reason is the phrase of “i.e.,” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted as a polypeptide comprising at least 50% identity to any one of SEQ ID NO: 1-52 as listed in the Sequence Listing meets the limitations of the claim.
Further, by virtue of their dependency on claim 1, claims 2-19 are also hereby rejected for this same reasoning.
Claim 5 is further rejected as being indefinite for two reasons.
The first reason is that the claim recites the polypeptide of claim 1 wherein the residues in bold font are conserved (i.e., identical relative to the reference sequence). The polypeptides listed in the Sequence Listing do not possess any bolded residues; thus, this limitation renders the scope of claim 5 indefinite.
The second reason is the phrase of “i.e.,” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Additionally, claim 6 recites the polypeptide of claim 1 wherein underlined residues are conserved relative to the reference sequence. The polypeptides listed in the Sequence Listing do not possess any underlined residues; thus, this limitation renders the scope of claim 6 indefinite.
Additionally, claims 8-11 each recite limitations in reference to Tables 4-19 of the instant specification. The claim is indefinite because tables can be readily incorporated into the claim and reference to the specification is improper. Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant's convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993)." MPEP 2173.05(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to a judicial exception.
The Supreme Court has given a three-part test for patent eligibility (see flowchart of MPEP 2106(III)):
Are the claims drawn to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
2a) If the claims pass the first test, are the claims drawn to a judicial exception (a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature), or an abstract idea)?
2b) If a judicial exception applies, do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Applying the three-part test to the instant claims:
Regarding 1), the claims are drawn to peptides, which are compositions of matter.
Regarding 2a), the peptides claimed read on products of nature. The claims are drawn to polypeptides with at least 50% sequence identity to any one of SEQ ID NO: 1-52 and nucleic acids encoding said polypeptides. Polypeptides with at least 50% identity reads on the following naturally-occurring products:
SEQ ID NO: 7
UniProt ID A0ABY8G021_9SPHN
SEQ ID NO: 33
UniProt ID A0ABW5JJ26_9BACT
SEQ ID NO: 36
UniProt ID A0ABV6SKF7_AZOPA
UniProt ID C1DIF0_AZOVD
UniProt ID A0ABN6MU63_9BACT
SEQ ID NO: 40
UniProt ID A0ABX7LHX2_9BACL
UniProt ID A0ABN8GSP1_9BACL
*Other not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 41
UniProt ID A0A928Z1E2_9CYAN
UniProt ID A0A2A9E752_9MICO
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 42
UniProt ID K1JL72_9BURK
UniProt ID A0A379AQP9_AVIAV
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 43
UniProt ID A0ABV3SFH5_9HYPH
UniProt ID A0A1L3SVK7_9HYPH
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 44
UniProt ID A0A9X3N3X7_9ACTN
UniProt ID A0A6H9Z2A6_9ACTN
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 45
UniProt ID A0ABP7AV50_9ACTN
UniProt ID A0A0N8GNQ2_9CHLR
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 46
UniProt ID A0A0D0P6Z8_KITGR
UniProt ID A0A2T4UH37_9ACTN
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 47
UniProt ID A0A318NIF2_9ACTN
UniProt ID A0A919J8S2_9ACTN
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 48
UniProt ID A0ABV3J1E6_9ACTN
UniProt ID A0ABW6U561_9ACTN
*Others not listed here
SEQ ID NO: 49
UniProt ID A0A668T3D8_OREAU
UniProt ID A0A669BRD4_ORENI
*Others not listed here
Regarding 2b), there is nothing significantly more recited in the claims that would distinguish the claimed polypeptides from the natural products described above; the nucleic acids encoding said polypeptides, as recited in claim 15, would also be indistinguishable from the naturally-occurring genes encoding said natural products. As such, the claims do not contain elements added to the judicial exception to render the claims significantly more than the exception.
In sum, the claims are drawn to patent ineligible subject matter and are rejected here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A polypeptide with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, 41-43, and 47
Claim(s) 1, 7, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US20090215168A1, published 8/27/2009).
Lee teaches isolated and/or purified polypeptides and nucleic acid sequences encoding polypeptides from Alicyclobacillus acidocaldarius (Abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Lee teaches SEQ ID NO: 994, which exhibits 49.6% (rounding to 50%) sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 1:
;
SEQ ID NO: 992, which exhibits 53.5% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 2
and also exhibits
52.9% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 41
;
SEQ ID NO: 989, which exhibits 51.7% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 42
;
SEQ ID NO: 1877, which exhibits 52.7% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 43
; and
SEQ ID NO: 993, which exhibits 55.7% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 47
(Sequence Listing).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches variants of the invention may consist of producing a recombinant polypeptide fused to a carrier protein (chimeric protein; fusion protein; [0267]).
Regarding claims 15-17, Lee teaches nucleic acids, expression vectors, and host cells expressing said vectors of the invention; the vector may contain a promoter ([0252-0253]).
A polypeptide with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 44, 46, and 48
Claim(s) 1, 7, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pompejus et al. (US20050153402A1, published 7/14/2005).
Pompejus teaches isolated nucleic acid molecules, designated MR nucleic acid molecules, which encode novel MR proteins from Corynebacterium glutamicum. The invention also contemplates recombinant expression vectors containing MR nucleic acid molecules, and host cells into which the expression vectors have been introduced as well as fusion proteins (Abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Pompejus teaches SEQ ID NO: 142, which exhibits 54.3% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 44
50.7% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 46
; and
49.5% (rounding to 50%) sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 48
(Sequence Listing).
Regarding claim 13, Pompejus teaches fusion proteins (Abstract).
Regarding claims 15-17, Pompejus teaches nucleic acids, expression vectors encoding said nucleic acids, and host cells encoding said expression vectors (Abstract). The expression vectors can comprise promoters ([0081]).
A polypeptide with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 45
Claim(s) 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Selber (US20130302855A1, published 11/14/2013).
Selber teaches the DNA-sequence of the wild type genome of Actinoplanes utahensis as well as all genetic modifications introduced into the wild type-and further developed strains (Abstract; [0001]).
Regarding claim 1, Selber teaches SEQ ID NO: 15314, which exhibits 49.5% (rounding to 50%) sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 45
(Sequence Listing).
Regarding claim 15, as stated above, Selber teaches DNA-sequences of the invention (nucleic acid encoding said polypeptide; Abstract).
A polypeptide with at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 49
Claim(s) 1, 7, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (US20030105002A1, published 6/5/2003).
Murray teaches the invention relates to the discovery of novel genes encoding RGS polypeptides. Therapeutics, diagnostics and screening assays based on these, molecules are also disclosed (Abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Murray teaches SEQ ID NO: 25, which exhibits 54.6% sequence identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 49
(Sequence Listing).
Regarding claim 13, Murray teaches chimeric molecules (e.g., fusion proteins) ([0014]).
Regarding claim 15, Murray teaches nucleic acids of the invention (see, for instance, [0007]).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Murray further teaches expression vectors further comprising a promoter as well as host cells comprising the expression vector ([0010]).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/SARA E KONOPELSKI SNAVELY/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/Melissa L Fisher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658