Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 2, line 9, “transitions” should read “transitioned”
On page 2, lines 10 and 15, “positioned” should read “position”
On page 4, line 23, “real axle” should read “rear axle”
On page 4, line 28, “real axle (104)” should read “rear axle (134)”
On page 5, line 5, “handle (104)” should read “handle (102)”
On page 5, line 10, “As further shown Figure 3” should read “As further shown in Figure 3”
On page 5, line 14, “continuing” should read “containing”
On page 5, line 16, “collection zone (154)” should read “collection zone (A)”
On page 7, line 27, “chassis (4)” should read “chassis (104)”
On page 8, line 14, “impeller (146)” should read “impeller (156)”
On page 8, line 24, “to accomplish an ball collection apparatus” should read “to accomplish a ball collection apparatus”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 12, 17, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, line 2, “an disk slot” should read “a disk slot”
In claim 12, line 1, “each of the pivot arms is secured” should read “each of the pivot arms are secured”
In claim 14, line 2, “a rubber ball, a volleyball,” should read “a rubber ball, or a volleyball.”
In claim 17, line 2, “an disk slot” should read “a disk slot”
In claim 26, line 3, “each of the pivot arms is secured” should read “each of the pivot arms are secured”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 14-18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zimmermann, et. al. (CH 662058 A5, hereinafter “Zimmermann”).
Regarding claim 1, Zimmermann teaches a self-powered ball collection device (Fig. 1) comprising: a movable chassis (Fig. 1); a pair of collection arms secured to the front portion of the chassis and extending approximately parallel to the ground and forming an angled collection zone (Fig. 1, collection arms 11 forming an angled collection zone); a collection assembly positioned at the terminal end of the angled collection zone (Fig. 2), the assembly comprising: a front axle rotatably coupled to at least one wheel (Fig. 1, axis 4); an impeller comprising a pair of rotatable disks positioned on either side of a collection pathway (Figs. 2 and 4, beam 31 functions as an impeller with drum disks 33 on either side of a collection pathway) and securing at least one pair of crossbars positioned perpendicular to the pathway (Fig. 2, conveyor blades 32); wherein the impeller is responsive to the front axle, such that forward rotation of the at least one wheel causes the impeller to rotate within the collection pathway (Figs. 3-4 showing forward rotation of the at least one wheel causing the impeller to rotate); and wherein a ball is guided via the collection arms to the collection pathway where it is captured by the crossbars of the impeller and transmitted through the pathway to a guide channel on the chassis (Fig. 5, showing balls captured by crossbars of an impeller and transmitted through the pathway to a guide channel).
Regarding claim 2, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 1, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses comprising a receptable secured to the chassis and configured to receive the ball from the guide channel (Figs. 1 and 5, collection basket 7).
Regarding claim 6, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 1, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein said front axle is rotatably coupled to at least one wheel via an adaptor (Annotated Fig. 4, below, showing an axle coupled to wheel via adaptor).
Regarding claim 7, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 6, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein said adaptor is secured to the front axle via an adaptor pin secured to the front axle and positioned within an adaptor slot (Annotated Fig. 4, above, showing an adaptor secures to the front axle).
Regarding claim 8, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 1, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein each rotatable disk is coupled to the front axle via a disk pin secured to the front axle and positioned within a disk slot (Annotated Fig. 4, above).
Regarding claim 14, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 1, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein said ball is selected from: a golf ball, a tennis ball, a soccer ball, a baseball, a rubber ball, or a volleyball (Abstract, collection of tennis balls).
Regarding claim 15, Zimmermann teaches a self-powered golf ball collection device (Fig. 1) comprising: a movable chassis (Fig. 1) securing a pair of collection arms extending outward from the chassis (Fig. 1, collecting arms 11), the arms forming an angled collection zone (Fig. 1, collection arms 11 forming an angled collection zone); a collection assembly positioned at the terminal position of the angled collection zone (Fig. 2), the assembly comprising an impeller rotatably coupled to a front axle (Figs. 2 and 4, beam 31 functions as an impeller), wherein the forward movement of the chassis causes the impeller to rotate within the collection pathway (Figs. 3-4, showing forward movement of the chassis causing the impeller to rotate); and wherein a golf ball is guided via the collection arms to the collection pathway where it is captured by the impeller and transmitted through the collection pathway to a guide channel on the chassis (Fig. 5, showing balls captured by crossbars of an impeller and transmitted through the pathway to a guide channel).
Regarding claim 16, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 15, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein said impeller comprises a pair of rotatable disks positioned on either side of the collection pathway (Figs. 2 and 4, beam 31 functions as an impeller with drum disks 33 on either side of a collection pathway) and securing at least one pair of crossbars positioned perpendicular to the pathway (Fig. 2, conveyor blades 32).
Regarding claim 17, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 16, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein each rotatable disk is coupled to the front axle via a disk pin secured to the front axle and positioned within a disk slot (Annotated Fig. 4, above).
Regarding claim 18, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 15, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses a receptable secured to the chassis and configured to receive the ball from the guide channel (Figs. 1 and 5, collection basket 7).
Regarding claim 22, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 15, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein said front axle is rotatably coupled to at least one wheel via an adaptor (Annotated Fig. 4, above, showing an axle coupled to wheel via adaptor).
Regarding claim 23, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 22, as noted above. Zimmermann further discloses wherein said adaptor is secured to the front axle via an adaptor pin secured to the front axle and positioned within an adaptor slot (Annotated Fig. 4, above, showing an adaptor secures to the front axle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11-12, 19, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmermann (CH 662058 A5), in view of Zhang, et.al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0424355 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 3, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 1, as noted above. Zimmermann does not teach a restriction bar positioned at the front portion of the collection pathway. However, Zhang teaches a restriction bar positioned at the front portion of the collection pathway (Annotated Fig. 1, below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a restriction bar disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent unwanted balls from entering the collection device.
Regarding claim 11, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 1, as noted above. Zimmermann does not teach wherein each of the collection arms are rotatably secured to the front portion of the chassis via a pivot arm. However, Zhang teaches wherein each of the collection arms are rotatably secured to the front portion of the chassis via a pivot arm (Fig. 9, movable arm 247). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a pivot arm disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to control and facilitate the collection of balls, as suggested by Zhang (Paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 12, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 11, as noted above. Zimmermann does not teach wherein each of the pivot arms are secured to the chassis via a pivot joint, and wherein each of the collection arms can be medially rotated while secured to the pivot arm and retracted via the pivot joint rearwards towards the body of the chassis. However, Zhang teaches wherein each of the pivot arms are secured to the chassis via a pivot joint (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to secure to the chassis in Fig. 1), and wherein each of the collection arms can be medially rotated while secured to the pivot arm (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to rotate medially in Fig. 1) and retracted via the pivot joint rearwards towards the body of the chassis (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to retract rearwards towards the body in Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a pivot arm that secures to the chassis, rotates medially, and retracts, as disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to control and facilitate the collection of balls, as suggested by Zhang (Paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 19, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 15, as noted above. Zimmermann does not teach further comprising a restriction bar positioned at the front portion of the collection pathway. However, Zhang teaches a restriction bar positioned at the front portion of the collection pathway (Annotated Fig. 1, above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a restriction bar disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent unwanted balls from entering the collection device.
Regarding claim 26, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 15, as noted above. Zimmermann does not teach wherein each of the collection arms are rotatably secured to the front portion of the chassis via a pivot arm, wherein each of the pivot arms is secured to the chassis via a pivot joint, and wherein each of the collection arms can be medially rotated while secured to the pivot arm and retracted via the pivot joint rearwards towards the body of the chassis. However, Zhang teaches wherein each of the collection arms are rotatably secured to the front portion of the chassis via a pivot arm (Fig. 9, movable arm 247), wherein each of the pivot arms are secured to the chassis via a pivot joint (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to secure to the chassis in Fig. 1), and wherein each of the collection arms can be medially rotated while secured to the pivot arm (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to rotate medially in Fig. 1) and retracted via the pivot joint rearwards towards the body of the chassis (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to retract rearwards towards the body in Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a pivot arm that secures to the chassis, rotates medially, and retracts, as disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to control and facilitate the collection of balls, as suggested by Zhang (Paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 29, Zimmermann teaches an adjustable golf ball collection device (Fig. 1) comprising: a movable chassis (Fig. 1) securing a pair of collection arms extending outward from the chassis (Fig. 1, collection arms 11), the arms forming an angled collection zone (Fig. 1, collection arms 11 forming an angled collection zone); a collection assembly positioned at the terminal position of the angled collection zone (Fig. 2), the assembly comprising an impeller rotatably coupled to a front axle (Figs. 2 and 4, beam 31 functions as an impeller), wherein the forward movement of the chassis causes the impeller to rotate within the collection pathway (Figs. 3-4, showing forward movement of the chassis causing the impeller to rotate); and wherein a golf ball is guided via the collection arms to the collection pathway where it is captured by the impeller and transmitted through the collection pathway to a guide channel on the chassis (Fig. 5, showing balls captured by crossbars of an impeller and transmitted through the pathway to a guide channel). Zimmermann does not teach wherein each of the collection arms can be medially rotated while secured to the chassis via a pivot arm and retracted rearwards towards the body of the chassis. However, Zhang teaches wherein each of the collection arms can be medially rotated while secured to the chassis via a pivot arm (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to rotate medially and retract rearward toward the body in Fig. 1) and retracted rearwards towards the body of the chassis (the movable arm of Fig. 9 is shown to retract rearwards towards the body in Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a pivot arm that secures to the chassis, rotates medially, and retracts, as disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to control and facilitate the collection of balls, as suggested by Zhang (Paragraph 0035).
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmermann (CH 662058 A5), in view of Leyco et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0064631 A1, hereinafter “Leyco”).
Regarding claim 4, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 1, as noted above. Zimmermann does not teach further comprising a tractable restraint positioned at the terminal portion the collection pathway. However, Leyco teaches a tractable restraint positioned at the terminal portion the collection pathway (Fig. 5, springs 74). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a tractable restraint disclosed by Leyco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow movement and allow balls to pass through (Paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 20, Zimmermann teaches the self-powered ball collection device of claim 15, as noted above. Zimmermann does not teach further comprising a tractable restraint positioned at the terminal portion the collection pathway. However, Leyco teaches a tractable restraint positioned at the terminal portion the collection pathway (Fig. 5, springs 74). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-powered ball collection device of Zimmermann by using a tractable restraint disclosed by Leyco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow movement and allow balls to pass through (Paragraph 0024).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 2017/0189769 A1) teaches a ball collecting device with adjustable arms.
Ray (US 4844527 A) teaches a ball collecting device with collection arms and an angled collection zone.
Hong (CN 111298395 A) teaches a ball collecting device with collection arms and an angled collection zone.
/Alexander P. Giommi/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3651
7/13/2026
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651