CTNF 18/799,287 CTNF 76810 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Claim 15 recites: “A method of operating a system for optical communication and weather measurement, the method comprising: positioning a shared telescope for at least one of communications with a satellite and taking an atmospheric measurement; using the shared telescope when transmitting communication laser beams and receiving communication laser beams from the satellite when using an optical communication system for the communications; and using the shared telescope to capture scattered laser light scattered off of atmospheric molecules and aerosols and focus the captured scattered laser light to LiDAR weather instruments when taking the atmospheric measurement with a weather LiDAR system.” The phrase “ at least one of ” in the limitation “positioning a shared telescope for at least one of communications with a satellite and taking an atmospheric measurement” presents an alternative such as: the telescope is either positioned for communications with a satellite or the telescope is positioned for taking an atmospheric measurement” Interpretating the claim to the broadest reasonable interpretation, the alternatives are presented separately. For the limitation, “positioning a shared telescope for communications with a satellite”, the following limitations are considered: A method of operating a system for optical communication and weather measurement, the method comprising: positioning a shared telescope for at least one of communications with a satellite [ and taking an atmospheric measurement ]; using the shared telescope when transmitting communication laser beams and receiving communication laser beams from the satellite when using an optical communication system for the communications ; and [ using the shared telescope to capture scattered laser light scattered off of atmospheric molecules and aerosols and focus the captured scattered laser light to LiDAR weather instruments when taking the atmospheric measurement with a weather LiDAR system ]. For the limitation, “positioning a shared telescope for taking an atmospheric measurement”, the following limitations are considered: A method of operating a system for optical communication and weather measurement, the method comprising: positioning a shared telescope for at least one of [ communications with a satellite and ] taking an atmospheric measurement; [ using the shared telescope when transmitting communication laser beams and receiving communication laser beams from the satellite when using an optical communication system for the communications; and ] using the shared telescope to capture scattered laser light scattered off of atmospheric molecules and aerosols and focus the captured scattered laser light to LiDAR weather instruments when taking the atmospheric measurement with a weather LiDAR system. The following rejections are based on the two alternatives: For the limitation, “positioning a shared telescope for communications with a satellite”, the following rejection is presented: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Cunningham et al (US Pub. No. 2007/0031151 A1) . Regarding claim 15, Cunningham et al teaches a method of operating a system for optical communication, the method comprising: positioning a shared telescope for at least one of communications with a satellite [ and taking an atmospheric measurement ] (Cunningham et al: para [0018]; “Laser communication terminal 100 is designed to operate in a laser communication system with moving platforms, where the relative positions of terminals change over time. The system can include, for example, terminals mounted on airborne platforms, satellites, ships, watercraft, or ground vehicles, as well as stationary terminals that communicate with terminals mounted on moving platforms (e.g., combinations of air-to-air and air-to-ground links).”; para [0020]; “Referring again to FIG. 1, a telescope 104 is mounted on gimbal 102 for transmitting data laser beams toward a far-end terminal and receiving data laser beams from the far-end terminal to effect two-way communication.”); and, using the shared telescope when transmitting communication laser beams and receiving communication laser beams from the satellite when using an optical communication system for the communications (para [0018]; “Laser communication terminal 100 is designed to operate in a laser communication system with moving platforms, where the relative positions of terminals change over time. The system can include, for example, terminals mounted on airborne platforms, satellites, ships, watercraft, or ground vehicles, as well as stationary terminals that communicate with terminals mounted on moving platforms (e.g., combinations of air-to-air and air-to-ground links).”; para [0020]; “Referring again to FIG. 1, a telescope 104 is mounted on gimbal 102 for transmitting data laser beams toward a far-end terminal and receiving data laser beams from the far-end terminal to effect two-way communication.”) [“ using the shared telescope to capture scattered laser light scattered off of atmospheric molecules and aerosols and focus the captured scattered laser light to LiDAR weather instruments when taking the atmospheric measurement with a weather LiDAR system ”]. Regarding claim 18, splitting the received communication laser beams so that a portion of each received optical communication laser beam is directed to an acquisition and tracking sensor; and acquiring and tracking the communication satellite based on acquisition and tracking sensor information from the acquisition and tracking sensor (para [0022]; “A beamsplitter 112 directs the beacon laser beam from the common optical axis to a position detector sensor 114, which can be a quad cell detector. The output signals from the position detector sensor are supplied to a beacon receiver 116, which determines the angle of arrival of the beacon signal, indicating the angular direction of the far-end terminal. This position information is supplied to the laser communication controller 110 and an acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 responsible for controlling the process of initially acquiring remote terminals and maintaining track on a far-end terminal during two-way communication.”). For the limitation, “positioning a shared telescope for taking an atmospheric measurement”, the following rejection is presented: 07-15 AIA Claim s 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Cates et al (US Pub. No. 2011/0043785 A1). Regarding claim 15, Cates et al teaches a method of operating a system for optical communication, the method comprising: positioning a shared telescope for [ at least one of communications with a satellite and ] taking an atmospheric measurement (para [0019]; “The multifunction LIDAR system can detect and identify regions of weather hazards such as lightning storms, aircraft wake vortex, clear air turbulence, and wind shear. The multifunction LIDAR system may also be configured to measure aircraft air and ground speed in multiple dimensions as well as aircraft altitude. Since light sources, such as lasers, may have shorter wavelengths than the radio signals used in radar, LIDAR systems may be sensitive to smaller particles, such as aerosols, ice, clouds, dust, and small raindrops. The motions of such small particles may be sensed by the LIDAR, and used for wind speed detection and the detection of atmospheric phenomena.”); and, [“ using the shared telescope when transmitting communication laser beams and receiving communication laser beams from the satellite when using an optical communication system for the communications ”] using the shared telescope to capture scattered laser light scattered off of atmospheric molecules and aerosols and focus the captured scattered laser light to LiDAR weather instruments when taking the atmospheric measurement with a weather LiDAR system (para [0023]; “The telescope 140 may also serve to collect scattered beams reflected back from the object or area for measurement.”; para [0019]; “The multifunction LIDAR system can detect and identify regions of weather hazards such as lightning storms, aircraft wake vortex, clear air turbulence, and wind shear. The multifunction LIDAR system may also be configured to measure aircraft air and ground speed in multiple dimensions as well as aircraft altitude. Since light sources, such as lasers, may have shorter wavelengths than the radio signals used in radar, LIDAR systems may be sensitive to smaller particles, such as aerosols, ice, clouds, dust, and small raindrops. The motions of such small particles may be sensed by the LIDAR, and used for wind speed detection and the detection of atmospheric phenomena.”). Regarding claim 17, Cates et al teaches periodically taking the atmospheric measurements (para [0021]; “The multifunction LIDAR system can support identification of weather hazard regions for aircraft. Prior warning may be provided prior to flying into weather events or other atmospheric phenomena. The warning may be provided 30 seconds, or more, prior to reaching the weather phenomena. Other warning periods, such as less than 30 seconds, may also be support with the multifunction LIDAR system.”; since weather varies over time, it is inherent that the measurement is taken periodically in order to asses weather condition at desired time) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 1-14 are allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 1, Cunningham et al (US Pub. No. 2007/0031151 A1) teaches a system for optical communication, the system comprising: an optical communication system including, an optical communication transceiver including a communication laser configured to generate transmit communication laser beams, and optical communication beam steering optics configured to steer the generated transmit communication laser beams to a communication satellite (para [0018]; “Laser communication terminal 100 is designed to operate in a laser communication system with moving platforms, where the relative positions of terminals change over time. The system can include, for example, terminals mounted on airborne platforms, satellites, ships, watercraft, or ground vehicles, as well as stationary terminals that communicate with terminals mounted on moving platforms (e.g., combinations of air-to-air and air-to-ground links).”; para [0020]; “Referring again to FIG. 1, a telescope 104 is mounted on gimbal 102 for transmitting data laser beams toward a far-end terminal and receiving data laser beams from the far-end terminal to effect two-way communication.”; para [0023]; “Coarse pointing of telescope 104 is accomplished by acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 controlling the azimuth and elevation of gimbal 102. A gimbal position sensor 124 reports the gimbal position to acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118, which provides positioning control signals to a gimbal controller 126 to drive the gimbal to a desired angle based on feedback from beacon receiver 116.”). Cates et al (US Pub. No. 2011/0043785 A1) teaches a system for weather measurement, the system comprising: positioning a telescope for taking an atmospheric measurement (para [0019]; “The multifunction LIDAR system can detect and identify regions of weather hazards such as lightning storms, aircraft wake vortex, clear air turbulence, and wind shear. The multifunction LIDAR system may also be configured to measure aircraft air and ground speed in multiple dimensions as well as aircraft altitude. Since light sources, such as lasers, may have shorter wavelengths than the radio signals used in radar, LIDAR systems may be sensitive to smaller particles, such as aerosols, ice, clouds, dust, and small raindrops. The motions of such small particles may be sensed by the LIDAR, and used for wind speed detection and the detection of atmospheric phenomena.”; interpreting the claim to the broadest reasonable interpretation the term “at least one of communications with a satellite and taking an atmospheric measurement” has been interpreted to only read on one of the limitations which is “taking an atmospheric measurement” However, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach: a system for optical communication and weather measurement, the system comprising: a shared telescope to at least collect and focus laser beams; the optical communication beam steering optics further configured to steer received communication laser beams from the shared telescope to the optical communication transceiver; and a weather LiDAR system including, a LiDAR laser to generate transmit weather laser beams, LiDAR beam steering optics configured to direct the generated transmit weather laser beams, and LiDAR weather instruments configured to process scattered laser light captured by the shared telescope to determine environmental information. Regarding claim 13, Cunningham et al (US Pub. No. 2007/0031151 A1) teaches a system for optical communication, the system comprising: an optical communication system including, an optical communication transceiver including a communication laser configured to generate transmit communication laser beams, and optical communication beam steering optics configured to steer the generated transmit communication laser beams through the shared telescope to a communication satellite (para [0018]; “Laser communication terminal 100 is designed to operate in a laser communication system with moving platforms, where the relative positions of terminals change over time. The system can include, for example, terminals mounted on airborne platforms, satellites, ships, watercraft, or ground vehicles, as well as stationary terminals that communicate with terminals mounted on moving platforms (e.g., combinations of air-to-air and air-to-ground links).”; para [0020]; “Referring again to FIG. 1, a telescope 104 is mounted on gimbal 102 for transmitting data laser beams toward a far-end terminal and receiving data laser beams from the far-end terminal to effect two-way communication.”; a beam splitter positioned to split the received communication laser beams from the optical communication beam steering optics (para [0022]; “A beamsplitter 112 directs the beacon laser beam from the common optical axis to a position detector sensor 114, which can be a quad cell detector. The output signals from the position detector sensor are supplied to a beacon receiver 116, which determines the angle of arrival of the beacon signal, indicating the angular direction of the far-end terminal. This position information is supplied to the laser communication controller 110 and an acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 responsible for controlling the process of initially acquiring remote terminals and maintaining track on a far-end terminal during two-way communication.”); an acquisition and tracking sensor positioned to receive a portion of the received communication laser beams from the beam splitter (para [0022]; “A beamsplitter 112 directs the beacon laser beam from the common optical axis to a position detector sensor 114, which can be a quad cell detector. The output signals from the position detector sensor are supplied to a beacon receiver 116, which determines the angle of arrival of the beacon signal, indicating the angular direction of the far-end terminal. This position information is supplied to the laser communication controller 110 and an acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 responsible for controlling the process of initially acquiring remote terminals and maintaining track on a far-end terminal during two-way communication.”); a telescope scanning mount configured to move the telescope assembly housing (para [0023]; “Coarse pointing of telescope 104 is accomplished by acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 controlling the azimuth and elevation of gimbal 102. A gimbal position sensor 124 reports the gimbal position to acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118, which provides positioning control signals to a gimbal controller 126 to drive the gimbal to a desired angle based on feedback from beacon receiver 116.”); a controller configured to selectively position the telescope scanning mount based at least in part on acquisition and tracking information from the acquisition and tracking sensor (para [0023]; “Coarse pointing of telescope 104 is accomplished by acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 controlling the azimuth and elevation of gimbal 102. A gimbal position sensor 124 reports the gimbal position to acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118, which provides positioning control signals to a gimbal controller 126 to drive the gimbal to a desired angle based on feedback from beacon receiver 116.”); and a memory to store operating instructions implemented by the controller (it is inherent that there exist memory for storing instructions implemented by the controller). Cates et al (US Pub. No. 2011/0043785 A1) teaches a system for weather measurement, the system comprising: positioning a telescope for taking an atmospheric measurement (para [0019]; “The multifunction LIDAR system can detect and identify regions of weather hazards such as lightning storms, aircraft wake vortex, clear air turbulence, and wind shear. The multifunction LIDAR system may also be configured to measure aircraft air and ground speed in multiple dimensions as well as aircraft altitude. Since light sources, such as lasers, may have shorter wavelengths than the radio signals used in radar, LIDAR systems may be sensitive to smaller particles, such as aerosols, ice, clouds, dust, and small raindrops. The motions of such small particles may be sensed by the LIDAR, and used for wind speed detection and the detection of atmospheric phenomena.”; interpreting the claim to the broadest reasonable interpretation the term “at least one of communications with a satellite and taking an atmospheric measurement” has been interpreted to only read on one of the limitations which is “taking an atmospheric measurement” However, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach: a system for optical communication and weather measurement, the system comprising: a shared telescope to at least collect and focus laser beams; the optical communication beam steering optics further configured to steer received communication laser beams from the shared telescope to the optical communication transceiver; a weather LiDAR system including, a LiDAR laser to generate transmit weather laser beams, LiDAR beam steering optics configured to direct the generated transmit weather laser beams, and LiDAR weather instruments configured to process scattered laser light captured by the shared telescope to determine environmental information; and, a telescope assembly housing containing at least the shared telescope, the optical communication beam steering optics, the LiDAR laser, and the LiDAR beam steering optics . 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 16, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vorontsov et al (US Patent No. 7,197,248 B1) is cited to show adaptive correction of wave-front phase distortions in a free-space laser communication system . Tegge (US Pub. No. 2005/0100339 A1) is cited to show free-space optical satellite communications. Shapira et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0168161 A1) is cited to show atmospheric turbulence data optical system. Panas et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0096639 A1) is cited to show system for adaptable LIDAR imaging. Saathof (US Pub. No. 2020/0244360 A1) is cited to show optical satellite communication comprising wavefront sensor. Erkmen et al (US Pub. No. 2024/0106545 A1) is cited to show optical tracking module chip for wireless optical communication terminal. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DALZID E SINGH whose telephone number is (571)272-3029. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9-5 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DAVID PAYNE can be reached at 571-272-3024. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. DALZID E. SINGH Primary Examiner Art Unit 2635 /DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 2 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 3 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 4 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 5 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 6 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 7 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 8 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 9 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 10 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 11 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 12 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 13 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 14 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/799,287 Page 15 Art Unit: 2635