2. Claims 1-20 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0386386) in view of Blalock et al. (US Patent 6,441,829).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ng discloses a display (Figure 2 display system 100.) comprising:
a pixel array (Figures 2-3 208) configured to radiate light in color channels (Figure 4 LEDs 410+412, 426, and 438 described in paragraphs [0040]-[0042] to be red, green, and blue respectively.), the pixel array including:
pixels (400+402+404) organized into clusters (Figures 3-4 clusters 300), the clusters arranged in rows and columns (Figures 3-4 reference matrix arrangement of clusters 300.) and each pixel in a cluster is configured to radiate one of the color channels (400: red LEDs 410+412, 402: green LED 426, 404: blue LED 438.);
a plurality of bit-lines (Figure 2 214 detailed in Figures 3-4 302) corresponding each column (Paragraph [0035] describes each column of clusters 300 is connected to respective set of three data lines 302 for communicating a data bit of a data word.), wherein each bit-line corresponds to at least one of the color channels of a respective column (Figure 4 data lines 302 correspond to bits of red, green, and blue.); and
a plurality of word-lines corresponding to each row (Figure 2 216 detailed in Figures 3-4 304), wherein at least one of the plurality of word-lines of each row is coupled to multiple color channels of the respective row (Figure 7 of the current application defines “a row” as reference numeral 702. This describes the depicted word line 731, for R and X colored pixels, and word line 732, for G and B colored pixels, to be considered “on the same row”. In light of the specification, prior art Ng figure 3 depicts a first word line 3041, for cluster 300 (m,1) comprising RGB colored pixels, and word line 3042, for cluster 300 (m,2) also comprising RGB colored pixels. The row designators (m, 1) and (m, 2) are interpreted as belonging to the same row in the same manner as applicant’s figure 7 702.); and
a display controller (Figure 2 controller 202) configured to:
[ ]; and
address pixels corresponding to the [ ] color channels to display an image received at the display (Figures 2-3 206 described in paragraph [0034] to address each cluster 300 of pixels 400, 402, and 404 to display a video/series of images.).
Ng does not specifically disclose to determine which color channels are active (The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [0019] describes a pixel as “active” when it is illuminated, lit. Paragraph [0028] describes active color channels are “i.e., active-color-channel pixels” implying that active color channels regards active pixels or pixels which are illuminated.) color channels; and address pixels corresponding to the active color channels to display an image received at the display.
Blalock discloses to determine which color channels are active color channels; and address pixels corresponding to the active color channels to display an image received at the display (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes monochrome mode to be set (determined color being black and white) and a low-power mode set such that only pixels which a new digital input value is received/addressed only when the digital input value changes/active.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng’s display with the known technique of determining which color channels are active color channels; and address pixels corresponding to the active color channels to display an image received at the display yielding the predictable results of reducing power as disclosed by Blalock (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50).
Regarding claim 2, Blalock discloses the display according to claim 1, wherein the display controller is further configured to:
determine which of the color channels are inactive color channels (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes pixels which a new digital input value is received/addressed only when the digital input value changes/active describing pixel values that do not change to be inactive.); and
not address the pixels corresponding to the inactive color channels to reduce a power consumed by the display while displaying the image (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes a low power mode pixels which a new digital input value is received/addressed only when the digital input value changes/active describing pixel values that do not change to be inactive and are not addressed.).
Regarding claim 3, Blalock discloses the display according to claim 1, wherein the active color channels are based on the image received at the display (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes the illumination/brightness/active pixel is set based on the digital input value (image).).
Regarding claim 4, Blalock discloses the display according to claim 1, wherein the display controller is further configured to:
detect that the image is part of a video stream (Column 18 lines 28-32 describes a low power mode can optionally be used when the digital video signal is other than a full-motion video signal.); and
determine that all of the color channels are the active color channels based on the detection (Column 18 lines 28-62 describes when displaying video, not monochrome, each color component (all) is displayed.).
Regarding claim 5, Blalock discloses the display according to claim 1, wherein the active color channels are based on a power mode of the display (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes the low power mode for monochrome display (reduced colors). Video display (all colors) operates by constantly consuming substantial power (high power mode).).
Regarding claim 10, Ng discloses the display according to claim 1, further comprising:
a bit plane sequencer configured to output a sequence of bit planes for each color channel based on the image received at the display (Figures 7-8 and paragraphs [0067] and [0074] describes the driven output sequence for an 8 bit system along an exampled four rows (plane).).
Regarding claim 12, Ng discloses the display according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of bit-lines for each column (Figure 2 214 detailed in Figures 3-4 302) include:
a bit-line corresponding to at least one color channel of the display, the bit-line coupled to the pixels in each cluster of a column (Paragraph [0035] describes each column of clusters 300 is connected to respective set of three data lines 302 for communicating a data bit of a data word.) that correspond to the at least one color channel (Figure 4 data lines 302 correspond to bits of red, green, and blue and paragraph [0033].).
Regarding claim 13, Ng and Blalock discloses the display according to claim 12, further comprising:
a plurality of bit-line drivers (Ng: Figures 2-3 204) coupled to groups of bit-lines (Ng: 302 subgroups 1 through m) (Ng: Depicted single buffer 204 is connected to multiple groups 1 through m and considered to operate as a plurality of drivers.), each group of bit-lines (302) corresponding to a color channel of the display (Ng: Figure 4 data lines 302 correspond to bits of red, green, and blue), wherein only bit-line drivers of the active color channels are addressed to reduce a power consumed by the display (Blalock: Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes monochrome mode to be set (determined color being black and white) and a low-power mode set such that only pixels which a new digital input value is received/addressed only when the digital input value changes/active.).
Regarding independent claim 15, Ng discloses a method (Figure 10) comprising:
receiving an image (1004) at a display (Figure 2 display system 100.) including clusters (Figures 3-4 clusters 300) of pixels (400+402+404) configured to radiate light in color channels (Figure 4 LEDs 410+412, 426, and 438 described in paragraphs [0040]-[0042] to be red, green, and blue respectively.);
[ ] pixels in each cluster as [ ] color-channel pixels [ ] (Paragraph [0078] describes to designate colored bit data to particular pixels.);
addressing the clusters of pixels by word-lines (Figure 2 216 detailed in Figures 3-4 304) corresponding to the [ ] color-channel pixels to couple the [ ] color-channel pixels to respective bit-lines (Figure 4 depicts word line 304 to enable each color circuit 400, 402, 404 via node 414. In other words, corresponds to three color channels of a respective row.), wherein each row includes a plurality of word lines and at least one of the plurality of word lines is coupled to multiple color channels of the respective row (Figure 7 of the current application defines “a row” as reference numeral 702. This describes the depicted word line 731, for R and X colored pixels, and word line 732, for G and B colored pixels, to be considered “on the same row”. In light of the specification, prior art Ng figure 3 depicts a first word line 3041, for cluster 300 (m,1) comprising RGB colored pixels, and word line 3042, for cluster 300 (m,2) also comprising RGB colored pixels. The row designators (m, 1) and (m, 2) are interpreted as belonging to the same row in the same manner as applicant’s figure 7 702.); and
writing (1018) image data to the active-color-channel pixels via the respective bit-lines to display the image (Figure 7 described in paragraph [0067] to write the frame of [image] data to a display.).
Ng does not specifically disclose designating pixels in each cluster as active (The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [0019] describes a pixel as “active” when it is illuminated, lit. Paragraph [0028] describes active color channels are “i.e., active-color-channel pixels” implying that active color channels regards active pixels or pixels which are illuminated.) -color-channel pixels or inactive-color-channel pixels; addressing the clusters of pixels by word-lines corresponding to the active-color-channel pixels to couple the active-color-channel pixels to respective bit-lines; and writing image data to the active-color-channel pixels via the respective bit-lines to display the image.
Blalock discloses to designating pixels in each cluster as active-color-channel pixels or inactive-color-channel pixels; addressing the clusters of pixels by word-lines corresponding to the active-color-channel pixels to couple the active-color-channel pixels to respective bit-lines; and writing image data to the active-color-channel pixels via the respective bit-lines to display the image (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes monochrome mode to be set (determined color being black and white) and a low-power mode set such that only pixels which a new digital input value is received/addressed/written only when the digital input value changes/active.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng’s display with the known technique of designating pixels in each cluster as active-color-channel pixels or inactive-color-channel pixels; addressing the clusters of pixels by word-lines corresponding to the active-color-channel pixels to couple the active-color-channel pixels to respective bit-lines; and writing image data to the active-color-channel pixels via the respective bit-lines to display the image yielding the predictable results of reducing power as disclosed by Blalock (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50).
Regarding claim 16, Blalock discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein designating the pixels in each cluster as the active-color-channel pixels or the inactive-color-channel pixels is based on the image (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes the illumination/brightness/active pixel is set based on the digital input value (image).).
Regarding claim 17, Blalock discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein designating the pixels as the active-color-channel pixels or the inactive-color-channel pixels includes:
selecting a power mode of the display; and
designating the active-color-channel pixels or the inactive-color-channel pixels based on the power mode (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes the low power mode for monochrome display (reduced colors). Video display (all colors) operates by constantly consuming substantial power (high power mode).).
4. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng-Blalock in view of Cho et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0014022), herein after referred to as Cho.
Regarding claim 6, Blalock discloses the display according to claim 5, wherein the active color channels include:
all of the color channels when the power mode is a high-power mode; and
one color channel when the power mode is a low-power mode (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes the low power mode for monochrome display (reduced colors). Video display (all colors) operates by constantly consuming substantial power (high power mode).), [ ].
Blalock does not specifically disclose wherein the high-power mode and the low-power mode are based on a battery level of a device into which the display is integrated.
Cho discloses wherein the high-power mode and the low-power mode are based on a battery level of a device into which the display is integrated (Paragraph [0093] describes a full color YUV format of processing of the input image when the power level of the battery is full. When the battery is considered low the processing unit 242 may determine the color format of the input image as a monochrome format without color difference component.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng-Blalock low and high-powered mode with the known technique of wherein the high-power mode and the low-power mode are based on a battery level of a device into which the display is integrated yielding the predictable results of efficiently utilizing the power stored in the battery as disclosed by Cho (paragraph [0093]).
5. Claim(s) 7-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng-Blalock in view of Beatty et al. (US Patent 5,091,718), herein after referred to as Beatty.
Regarding claim 7, Blalock discloses the display according to claim 1.
Blalock does not specifically disclose wherein the active color channels are based on a light condition of the display.
Beatty discloses wherein the active color channels are based on a light condition of the display (Column 6 lines 38-58 and column 8 lines 43-52 describes a mode controller to select a monochrome display mode, from a full color mode, for low ambient light viewing conditions.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng-Blalock monochrome and color display with the known technique of wherein the active color channels are based on a light condition of the display yielding the predictable results of increased resolution of display in low ambient light level conditions as disclosed by Beatty (column 2 lines 59-62).
Regarding claim 8, Beatty discloses the display according to claim 7, wherein the active color channels include:
all of the color channels when the light condition is above a bright light threshold; and
one of the color channels when the light condition is below the bright light threshold (Column 6 lines 38-58 and column 8 lines 43-52 describes a mode controller to select a monochrome display mode, from a full color mode, for low ambient light viewing conditions. Describing a low light viewing condition is inherently including a threshold for determining ambient light to be considered “low” or not.).
Regarding claim 18, Blalock discloses the method according to claim 17.
Blalock does not specifically disclose measuring a light condition of an environment of the display; and selecting the power mode of the display based on the light condition.
Beatty discloses measuring a light condition of an environment of the display; and selecting the power mode of the display based on the light condition (Column 6 lines 38-58 and column 8 lines 43-52 describes a mode controller to select a monochrome display mode, from a full color mode, for low ambient light viewing conditions. Describing a low light viewing condition is inherently including a threshold for determining ambient light to be considered “low” or not.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng-Blalock monochrome and color display with the known technique of measuring a light condition of an environment of the display; and selecting the power mode of the display based on the light condition yielding the predictable results of increased resolution of display in low ambient light level conditions as disclosed by Beatty (column 2 lines 59-62).
6. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng-Blalock in view of Gettemy et al. (US Patent 6,603,469), herein after referred to as Gettemy.
Regarding claim 9, Blalock discloses the display according to claim 1.
Blalock does not specifically disclose wherein the active color channels are based on a user input.
Gettemy discloses wherein the active color channels are based on a user input (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Blalock with the known technique of wherein the active color channels are based on a user input yielding the predictable results of increasing battery life as disclosed by Gettemy (abstract).
7. Claim(s) 6 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng-Blalock in view of Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0098307), herein after referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 14, Ng discloses the display according to claim 1, wherein the pixels (Figure 4 400, 402, 404) each include:
a micro-LED (410, 426, 438).
Ng does not specifically disclose wherein the pixels each include: a micro-LED; and a static random access memory (SRAM) cell, wherein an ON/OFF state of the micro-LED is based on a state of the SRAM cell..
Li discloses disclose wherein the pixels (Figure 2A 200) each include: a micro-LED (235); and a static random access memory (SRAM) cell (201), wherein an ON/OFF state of the micro-LED is based on a state of the SRAM cell (209 Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng-Blalock with the known technique of disclose wherein the pixels each include: a micro-LED; and a static random access memory (SRAM) cell, wherein an ON/OFF state of the micro-LED is based on a state of the SRAM cell yielding the predictable results of lower voltage and reduced noise as disclosed by Li (paragraphs [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding independent claim 19, Ng discloses a [ ] display (Figure 2 display system 100.), the [ ] display comprising:
clusters of pixels (400+402+404) arranged in rows and columns (Figures 3-4 reference matrix arrangement of clusters 300.), each cluster including at pixels for color channels of the [ ] display, each pixel including a micro-LED configured to radiate light in one of the color channels of the [ ] display (400: red LEDs 410+412, 402: green LED 426, 404: blue LED 438.) according to a state of [ ] each pixel (406, 422, 434);
a plurality of word lines corresponding to each row, wherein at least one of the plurality of word lines is coupled to multiple color channels of the respective row (Figure 7 of the current application defines “a row” as reference numeral 702. This describes the depicted word line 731, for R and X colored pixels, and word line 732, for G and B colored pixels, to be considered “on the same row”. In light of the specification, prior art Ng figure 3 depicts a first word line 3041, for cluster 300 (m,1) comprising RGB colored pixels, and word line 3042, for cluster 300 (m,2) also comprising RGB colored pixels. The row designators (m, 1) and (m, 2) are interpreted as belonging to the same row in the same manner as applicant’s figure 7 702.); and
a display controller (202) configured to:
[ ]; and
render an image using the pixels of the color channels [ ] (Paragraph [0034] describes displaying/rendering video/images.).
Ng does not specifically disclose to deactivate the pixels of one or more of the color channels to conserve power or render an image using the pixels of the color channels that have not been deactivated.
Blalock discloses to deactivate the pixels of one or more of the color channels to conserve power or render an image using the pixels of the color channels that have not been deactivated (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50 describes monochrome mode to be set (determined color being black and white) and a low-power mode set such that only pixels which a new digital input value is received/addressed only when the digital input value changes/active.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng’s display with the known technique of deactivate the pixels of one or more of the color channels to conserve power or render an image using the pixels of the color channels that have not been deactivated yielding the predictable results of reducing power as disclosed by Blalock (Column 4 lines 50-57 and Column 18 lines 28-50).
Ng does not specifically disclose a static random access memory (SRAM) display.
Li discloses a static random access memory (SRAM) display wherein the pixels (Figure 2A 200) each include: SRAM cell (201), wherein an ON/OFF state of the micro-LED is based on a state of the SRAM cell (209 Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Ng-Blalock with the known technique of an SRAM display yielding the predictable results of lower voltage and reduced noise as disclosed by Li (paragraphs [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 20, Ng and Li discloses the SRAM display according to claim 19, further comprising: a bit plane sequencer configured to output a sequence of bit planes for each color channel based of the image received at the SRAM (Li: Figure 2A 201) display (Ng: Figures 7-8 and paragraphs [0067] and [0074] describes the driven output sequence for an 8 bit system along an exampled four rows (plane).);
a plurality of word-lines for each row of the SRAM display (Ng: Figure 2 216 detailed in Figures 3-4 304. Li: 202), each word-line of a row corresponding to one or more of the color channels of each cluster of the row (Ng: Figure 4 depicts word line 304 to enable each color circuit 400, 402, 404 via node 414. In other words, corresponds to three color channels of a respective row.); and a plurality of bit-line drivers (Ng: Figures 2-3 204), each bit-line driver corresponding to a color channel of the SRAM display (Ng: Figure 4 data lines 302 correspond to bits of red, green, and blue).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Ng discloses the display according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of word-lines for each row (Figure 2 216 detailed in Figures 3-4 304).
However, neither Ng or any other cited art discloses a first word-line coupled to the blue and green pixels in each cluster of the row; and a second word-line coupled to a first red pixel and a second red pixel in each cluster of the row.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues newly amended subject matter. Newly amended subject matter states a plurality of word lines of each row is coupled to multiple color channels of the respective row. Figure 7 of the current application defines “a row” as reference numeral 702. This describes the depicted word line 731, for R and X colored pixels, and word line 732, for G and B colored pixels, to be considered “on the same row”.
In light of the specification, prior art Ng figure 3 depicts a first word line 3041, for cluster 300 (m,1) comprising RGB colored pixels, and word line 3042, for cluster 300 (m,2) also comprising RGB colored pixels. The row designators (m, 1) and (m, 2) are interpreted as belonging to the same row in the same manner as applicant’s figure 7 702. It is not until the defined colored pixel arrangement of claim 11 that said details are found to overcome the prior art.
This action is final necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Usui et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0243028) paragraph [0073] discloses driving is only executed in subfield excluding light off subfields.
Hwang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0189045) paragraph [0023] describes determining whether an image represented by input image data is a single color image such that only one of the first through third color sub-pixels emits light or a low gray image.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621