Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/8/2026 has been received; Claims 1-26, 37-46 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12, 37 & 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meir (US 2020/0375317).
Regarding Claim 1, Meir discloses an article of footwear (Figures 12 & 13, Para. 4, 5 & 55-56), comprising: a sole structure (1300); and a knitted upper (1200) secured to the sole structure (Figure 13), the knitted upper comprising: a first knit zone (1st, see annotated Figure 12 below) extending in a forefoot region (Figure 12), wherein the first knit zone extends a greater distance towards a heel region on a lateral side of the knitted upper than a medial side of the knitted upper, the first knit zone (Figure 12) comprising: a first knit layer (104) located on an outer-facing surface of the knitted upper (Figure 1), a second knit layer (112) located on an inner-facing surface of the knitted upper (Figure 1), and a third thermoformed layer (120) substantially contained between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Figure 1), and a second knit zone (2nd, see annotated Figure 12 below) extending longitudinally from the first knit zone toward the heel region, wherein the second knit zone extends within a greater surface area of the medial side than the lateral side (Figure 12), the second knit zone comprising: the first knit layer (104), the second knit layer (112), and a first plurality of inlaid yarns (132) at least partially positioned between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Meir discloses the first plurality of inlaid yarns comprises a thermoplastic material (Para. 37 & 54).
Regarding Claim 3, Meir discloses a third knit zone (3rd, see annotated Figure 12 below) comprising: the first knit layer (104); the second knit layer (112); and a second plurality of inlaid yarns (120) at least partially positioned between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Figures 9E-9G), wherein the third knit zone extends longitudinally from the second knit zone to extend through the heel region (Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 7, Meir discloses the first plurality of inlaid yarns comprises either one or two yarn ends inlaid along each of a plurality of knit courses in the second knit zone (Figure 1 & 2, Para. 37).
Regarding Claim 8, Meir discloses the second plurality of inlaid yarns comprises either one or two yarn ends inlaid along each of a plurality of knit courses in the third knit zone (Figures 9E-9G, Para. 44) .
Regarding Claim 9, Meir discloses the first plurality of inlaid yarns and the second plurality of inlaid yarns are maintained in a non-melted state (Para. 35-44, Figures 1, 12 & 13).
Regarding Claim 12, Meir discloses the third thermoformed layer forms a substantially water-resistant or water-proof barrier (Para. 47, 54, 62).
Regarding Claim 37, Meir discloses an article of footwear (Figures 12 & 13, Para. 4, 5 & 55-56), comprising: a sole structure (1300); and a knitted upper (1200) secured to the sole structure (Figure 13), the knitted upper comprising: a first knit zone (128) comprising: a first knit layer (104) located on an outer-facing surface of the knitted upper (Figure 1), a second knit layer (112) located on an inner-facing surface of the knitted upper (Figure 1), and a thermoformed layer (120) substantially contained between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Figure 1), wherein the first knit zone extends from forefoot region and into a midfoot region on a lateral side (Figures 1, 12 & 13), wherein the first knit zone extends a greater distance toward a heel area of the knitted upper on the lateral side compared to a medial side of the knitted upper (Figures 1, 12 & 13), wherein the thermoformed layer is not exposed by the first knit layer (Figures 1, 12 & 13) and wherein a remaining portion of the knitted upper extending from the first knit zone remains in a non-melted state (Para. 35-44, Figures 1, 12 & 13). )
Regarding Claim 43, Meir discloses the thermoformed layer is formed by melting one or more inlaid yarns between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Para. 37-40 & 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 10, 11, 13-26 & 38-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meir (US 2020/0375317) in view of Cox (USPN 12,252,819).
Regarding Claim 4, Meir does not specifically disclose wherein in the second knit zone, the first knit layer comprises a first plurality of openings having a first size, and wherein in the third knit zone, the first knit layer comprises a second plurality of openings having a second size smaller than the first size. However, Cox discloses a second knit zone (2nd, see annotated Figure 5A below) with inlaid yarns, the first knit layer comprises a first plurality of openings (openings, see annotated Figure 5A below) having a first size, and wherein in a third knit zone (3rd, see annotated Figure 5A below) with inlaid yarns, the first knit layer comprises a second plurality of openings having a second size smaller than the first size (66 & 68, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include openings, as taught by Cox, to the knit zones of Meir, in order to provide an appealing visual appearance.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose at least a portion of the first plurality of inlaid yarns is visible by way of the first plurality of openings in the first knit layer (as modified, Cox, Figure 5A).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose at least a portion of the second plurality of inlaid yarns is visible by way of the second plurality of openings in the first knit layer (as modified, Cox, Figure 5A).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose wherein approximately 50% of a surface area of the second knit zone comprises the first plurality of inlaid yarns visible by of the first plurality of openings (as modified, Cox, Figure 5A).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose wherein approximately 50% of a surface area of the third knit zone comprises the second plurality of inlaid yarns visible by way of the second plurality of openings (as modified, Cox, Figure 5A).
Regarding Claim 13, Meir discloses an article of footwear (Figures 12 & 13, Para. 4, 5 & 55-56), comprising: a sole structure (1300); and a knitted upper (1200) secured to the sole structure (Figure 13), the knitted upper comprising: a first knit zone (1st, see annotated Figure 12 below) extending in a forefoot region (Figure 12), wherein the first knit zone extends a greater distance towards a heel region on a lateral side of the knitted upper than a medial side, the first knit zone (Figure 12) comprising: a first knit layer (104) located on an outer-facing surface of the knitted upper (Figure 1), a second knit layer (112) located on an inner-facing surface of the knitted upper (Figure 1), and a third layer of thermoplastic material (120) substantially contained between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Figure 1); and a second knit zone (2nd, see annotated Figure 12 below) extending from the first knit zone toward the heel region, wherein the second knit zone extends a shorter distance toward the heel region on the lateral side tan the medial side (Figure 12), the second knit zone comprising: the first knit layer (104), the second knit layer (112), and a first plurality of inlaid yarns (132) at least partially positioned between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Figure 1). Meir does not specifically disclose the first knit layer comprising a first plurality of openings and at least a portion of the first plurality of inlaid yarns being visible by way of the first plurality of openings in the first knit layer. However, Cox discloses a first knit layer (60) comprising a first plurality of openings (68, 66 & openings, see annotated Figure 5A below) and at least a portion of the first plurality of inlaid yarns being visible by way of the first plurality of openings in the first knit layer (Figure 5A, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include openings, as taught by Cox, to the knit zones of Meir, in order to provide an appealing visual appearance.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the third layer in the first knit zone comprises a thermoformed layer (Meir, Para 37 & 54); wherein the thermoformed layer comprises the thermoplastic material that has been softened and re-solidified between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Para. 35-44, Figures 1, 12 & 13).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the third layer is not visible in the first knit zone (Meir, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose each opening of the first plurality of openings has a length dimension and a width dimension, the length dimension being greater than the width dimension (Cox, Figures 5A & Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the first plurality of inlaid yarns comprises a thermoplastic material (Meir, Para. 37 & 54).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the first plurality of inlaid yarns comprises either one or two yarn ends inlaid along each of a plurality of knit courses in the second knit zone (Meir, Figures 1, 12 & 13).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose wherein approximately 50% of a surface area of the second knit zone comprises the first plurality of inlaid yarns visible by of the first plurality of openings (as modified, Cox, Figure 5A).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the first plurality of inlaid yarns maintained in a non-melted state (Meir, Para. 35-44, Figures 1, 12 & 13).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the first knit zone does not include openings (Meir, Figures 1, 12 & 13)
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the second knit zone is integrally knit with the first knit zone such that the second knit zone seamlessly extends from the first knit zone (Meir, Figures 1, 12 & 13).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose comprising a third knit zone (3rd, see annotated Figure 12 below, Meir, Figures 9E-9G) comprising: the first knit layer (Meir, 104) having a second plurality of openings (Cox, 68, 66 or openings, see annotated Figure 5A below); the second knit layer (Meir, 112); and a second plurality of inlaid yarns (Meir, 120) at least partially positioned between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Meir, Figures 9E-9G), at least a portion of the second plurality of inlaid yarns being visible by way of the second plurality of openings in the first knit layer (Cox, Figure 5A); wherein the third knit zone extends from the second knit zone and to the heel region (Figure 12)
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the first plurality of openings (Cox, openings, see annotated Figure 5A below) in the second knit zone comprises a first size, and wherein the second plurality of openings in the third knit zone comprises a second size smaller than the first size (Cox, 66 & 68, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the second plurality of inlaid yarns maintained in a non-melted state (Meir, Para. 35-44, Figures 1, 12 & 13).
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the third knit zone is integrally knit with the second knit zone such that the third knit zone seamlessly extends from the second knit zone (Meir, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 38, Meir discloses comprising a second knit zone (130) comprising: the first knit layer (104); the second knit layer (112); and a first plurality of inlaid yarns (132) at least partially positioned between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Figure 1) wherein the portion of the first plurality of inlaid yarns remain in a non-melted state (Meir, Para. 35-44, Figures 1, 12 & 13). Meir does not specifically disclose the first knit layer comprising a first plurality of openings and at least a portion of the first plurality of inlaid yarns being visible by way of the first plurality of openings in the first knit layer. However, Cox discloses a first knit layer (60) comprising a first plurality of openings (68, 66 &/or openings, see annotated Figure 5A below) and at least a portion of the first plurality of inlaid yarns being visible through the first plurality of openings in the first knit layer (Figure 5A, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include openings, as taught by Cox, to the knit zones of Meir, in order to provide an appealing visual appearance.
Regarding Claim 39, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose further comprising a third knit zone (Meir, Figures 9E-9G) comprising: the first knit layer (Meir, 104) with a second plurality of openings (68, 66 &/or openings, see annotated Figure 5A below); the second knit layer (Meir, 112); and a second plurality of inlaid yarns (Meir, 120) at least partially positioned between the first knit layer and the second knit layer (Meir, Figure 1), at least a portion of the second plurality of inlaid yarns being visible through the second plurality of openings in the first knit layer (Cox, Figure 5A, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3) partially positioned between the second knit layer and the second knit layer (Meir, Figure 1) wherein the portion of the first plurality of inlaid yarns remain in a non-melted state (Meir, Para. 35-44, Figures 1, 12 & 13). .
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the second knit zone extends from the first knit zone and to the third knit zone (Meir, Figure 12), wherein the second knit zone extends a shorter distance toward the heel area on the lateral side than on the medial side (Meir, Figure 12), and wherein the third knit zone extends from the second knit zone and in the heel area (Meir, Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 41, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose a length dimension of the first plurality of openings is smaller than a length dimension of the second plurality of openings (Cox, Figure 5A, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3).
Regarding Claim 42, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the first plurality of openings comprise a first uniform size and the second plurality of openings comprise a second uniform size (Cox, Figure 5A, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3).
Regarding Claim 44, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the second knit zone extends within a greater surface area of the medial side than the lateral side (Meir, Figure 12)
Regarding Claim 45, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose the first knit zone and the second knit zone are integrally knitted (Meir, Figures 1, 12 & 13).
Regarding Claim 46, the combination of Meir and Cox disclose yarns forming the first knit layer comprise a first color, and wherein the first plurality of inlaid yarns comprise a second color different from the first color (Cox, Figure 5A, Col. 8, line 30- Col. 9, line 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732