DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 07 June 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202421317302.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner suggests amending claim 1 p. 1 line 8 to “pass through a hair bundle”.
Examiner suggests amending claim 6 p. 2 line 10 to “an end face of the first air duct”.
Examiner suggests amending claim 7 p. 2 line 20 to “and an end of the hollow connection tube”.
Examiner suggests amending claim 8 p. 2 line 23-24 to “and an end of the hollow connection tube”.
Examiner suggests amending claim 9 p. 2 line 28 to “and a surface of the hair guide opening”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "one ends of the first blowing part and the second blowing part" in p. 1 lines 5-6. This limitation is unclear as it is unclear how many ends are being referred to, as “one” suggests that the limitation refers to one end of each of the first blowing part and the second blowing part, however “ends” suggest that multiple ends of each of the parts are being referred to. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation of claim 1 lines 5-7 as, and suggests amending to, “one end of each of the first blowing part and the second blowing part near the hollow connection tube is connected to the hollow connection tube” and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "one ends of the first blowing part and the second blowing part" in p. 1 lines 9-10. This limitation is unclear as it is unclear how many ends are being referred to, as “one” suggests that the limitation refers to one end of each of the first blowing part and the second blowing part, however “ends” suggest that multiple ends of each of the parts are being referred to. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation of claim 1 lines 9-10 as, and suggests amending to, “one end of each of the first blowing part and the second blowing part far away from the hollow connection tube is provided with a hair guide opening”
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a guide groove configured to penetrate the guide columns” in p. 2 lines 24-25. This limitation is unclear as it is unclear how a groove is able to penetrate a column. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation of claim 8 p. 2 lines 24-25 as referring to the guide grooves mating with the guide columns and suggests Applicant amend to clarify.
Claims 2-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for their dependence on one or more rejected base and/or intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purnell et al (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0064190 A1, hereinafter “Purnell”) in view of Li et al (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0089872 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Purnell discloses a hair dryer head for straightening hair (Figs. 1-5, para. 0001), comprising a blowing shell (blowing shell in annotated Fig. 5, paras. 0093-0094) and a hollow connection tube (30 in Fig. 5, para. 0094 and 0102, air generating device in handle portion therefore 30 allows airflow between handle 32 and blowing shell) capable of being connected with a blowing host (32 in Fig. 5, para. 0094 and 0102),
wherein the blowing shell comprises a first blowing part and a second blowing part (1st and 2nd blowing part in annotated Fig. 5); one end of each of the first blowing part and the second blowing part (1st part end 1, and 2nd part end 1, in annotated Fig. 5) near the hollow connection tube is connected to the hollow connection tube (Fig. 5); a hair clip cavity (cavity in annotated Fig. 5) capable of passing through a hair bundle is provided between the first blowing part and the second blowing part (Figs. 4A-5, para. 0104); one end of each of the first blowing part and the second blowing part (1st part end 2, and 2nd part end 2, in annotated Fig. 5) far away from the hollow connection tube is provided with a hair guide opening (opening in annotated Fig. 5) that is capable of introducing the hair bundle and connect with the hair clip cavity (Figs. 4A-5, para. 0104); opposite sides of the first blowing part and the second blowing part are respectively provided with a first internal blowing port (1st port in annotated Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B and para. 110) and a second internal blowing port (2nd port in annotated Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B and para. 110); an interior of the first blowing part is provided with a first air duct (air duct 1 in annotated Fig. 4A) that is connected to the first internal blowing port (para. 0098); an interior of the second blowing part is provided with a second air duct (air duct 2 in annotated Fig. 4A) that is connected to the second internal blowing port (para. 0098).
Purnell does not disclose a side of the first blowing part is provided with a first external blowing port, a side of the second blowing part is provided with a second external blowing port on the same side as the first external blowing port; that the first air duct is connected to the first external blowing port and that the second air duct is connected to the second external blowing port; and that air inlets of the first air duct and the second air duct are both facing the hollow connection tube.
Li teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-15) wherein a side (side 1 in annotated Fig. 10) of a first blowing part (part 1 in annotated Fig. 10) is provided with a first external blowing port (external port 1 in annotated Fig. 10), a side (side 2 in annotated Fig. 10) of a second blowing part (part 2 in annotated Fig. 10) is provided with a second external blowing port (external port 2 in annotated Fig. 10) on the same side as the first external blowing port (Fig. 10); that a first air duct (air duct 1 in annotated Fig. 6) is connected to the first external blowing port (para. 0068) and that a second air duct (air duct 2 in annotated Fig. 6) is connected to the second external blowing port (para. 0068); and that air inlets (inlet 1 and inlet 2 in annotated Fig. 6) of the first air duct and the second air duct are both facing a hollow connection tube (29 in Figs. 1, 2 and 11).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hair dryer head of Purnell by adding a first external blowing port on a side of the first blowing part, adding a second external blowing port on a side of the second blowing part on the same side as the first external blowing port, and specifying that the first air duct is connected to the first external blowing port and that the second air duct is connected to the second external blowing port and that air inlets of the first and second air ducts are both facing the hollow connection tube as taught by Li in order to allow for increased contact area between the hair and the air to improve the efficiency of hair drying (Li para. 0062).
In regard to claim 2, Purnell in view of Li discloses the invention of claim 1. Purnell further discloses wherein blowing directions of the first internal blowing port (1st port in annotated Fig. 4A) and the second internal blowing port (2nd port in annotated Fig. 4A) are respectively inclined to a plane (planes along surface 1 and surface 2 of annotated Fig. 4A, respectively) where it is located (Fig. 4B, para. 0110, when in clamped position); airflow directions blown out by the first internal blowing port (Fig. 4B), the second internal blowing port (Fig. 4B) are all in the same direction (Fig. 4B, direction of arrows A, downwards).
Purnell does not disclose that the airflow directions blown out by the first external blowing port and the second external blowing port are all in the same direction.
Li teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-15) wherein the airflow directions blown out by the first external blowing port (external port 1 in annotated Fig. 10) and the second external blowing port (external port 2 in annotated Fig. 10) are all in the same direction (Fig. 13, downwards).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second external blowing ports of Purnell in view of Li by specifying the airflow directions blown out by the first external blowing port and the second external blowing port are all in the same direction as taught by Li in order to allow for increased contact area between the hair and the air to improve the efficiency of hair drying (Li para. 0062).
In regard to claim 3, Purnell in view of Li discloses the invention of claim 1. Purnell further discloses wherein opposite surfaces (surface 1 and surface 2 in annotated Fig. 4A) of the first blowing part and the second blowing part are mutually parallel planes (Fig. 4A, when in unclamped position, para. 0104).
In regard to claim 4, Purnell in view of Li discloses the invention of claim 1. Purnell does not disclose wherein blowing directions of the first external blowing port and the second external blowing port are inwardly inclined at an angle in directions opposite to each other.
Li teaches further teaches wherein blowing directions of the first external blowing port (external port 1 in annotated Fig. 10) and the second external blowing port (external port 2 in annotated Fig. 10) are inwardly inclined at an angle (angle 1 and angle 2 in annotated Fig. 10) in directions opposite to each other (annotated Fig. 10).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second external blowing ports of Purnell in view of Li by specifying they are inwardly inclined at an angle in directions opposite to each other as taught by Li in order to allow for increased contact area between the hair and the air to improve the efficiency of hair drying (Li para. 0062).
In regard to claim 5, Purnell in view of Li discloses the invention of claim 1. Purnell further discloses wherein there are at least two first internal blowing ports (1st port and additional ports in annotated Fig. 5, paras. 0098-0100) and at least two second internal blowing ports (2nd port in annotated Fig. 4a, Fig. 5, paras. 0098-0100). Purnell does not disclose that there are at least two first external blowing ports; the first air duct is provided with a first arc-shaped air guide plate having a number consistent with the number of first external blowing ports; there are at least two second external blowing ports, the second air duct is provided with a second arc-shaped air guide plate having a number consistent with the number of the second external blowing ports.
Li teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-15) wherein there are at least two first external blowing ports (1st, 2nd and 3rd external ports 1 in annotated Fig. 14); the first air duct (air duct 1 in annotated Fig. 6) is provided with a first arc-shaped air guide plate (plate 1, 2, and 3 in annotated Fig. 6) having a number consistent with the number of first external blowing ports (Fig. 6, para. 0068); there are at least two second external blowing ports (1st, 2nd and 3rd external ports 2 in annotated Fig. 14), the second air duct (air duct 2 in annotated Fig. 14) is provided with a second arc-shaped air guide plate (plates 4, 5, and 6 in annotated Fig. 6)having a number consistent with the number of the second external blowing ports (Fig. 6, para. 0068).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second external blowing ports and first and second air ducts of Purnell in view of Li by specifying there are at least two first external blowing ports and that the first air duct is provided with a first arc-shaped air guide plate having a number consistent with the number of first external blowing ports, and there are at least two second external blowing ports, and the second air duct is provided with a second arc-shaped air guide plate having a number consistent with the number of the second external blowing ports as taught by Li in order to allow for a homogenous air flow rate reduction in the head loss of air flow, and increased airflow speed and rate while decreasing the noise produced by head loss (Li para. 0068).
In regard to claim 6, Purnell in view of Li discloses the invention of claim 5. Purnell does not disclose wherein an end face of the first air duct away from the second air duct is provided with a first arc-shaped boosting slope; a volume of the first air duct decreases from one end of the first arc-shaped boosting slope in a direction of the first external blowing port; an end face of the second air duct away from the first air duct is provided with a second arc-shaped boosting slope; a volume of the second air duct decreases from one end of the second arc-shaped boosting slope in a direction of the second external blowing port.
Li teaches wherein an end face of the first air duct (air duct 1 in annotated Fig. 6) away from the second air duct is provided with a first arc-shaped boosting slope (slope 1 in annotated Fig. 6); a volume of the first air duct decreases from one end of the first arc-shaped boosting slope in a direction of the first external blowing port (Fig. 6, para. 0068); an end face of the second air duct (air duct 2 in annotated Fig. 6) away from the first air duct is provided with a second arc-shaped boosting slope (slope 2 in annotated Fig. 6); a volume of the second air duct decreases from one end of the second arc-shaped boosting slope in a direction of the second external blowing port (Fig. 6, para. 0068).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second air ducts of Purnell in view of Li by adding a first arc-shaped boosting slope to an end face of the first air duct away from the second air duct and specify that a volume of the first air duct decreases from one end of the first arc-shaped boosting slope in a direction of the first external blowing port; and add a second arc-shaped boosting slope to the end face of the second air duct away from the first air duct and specify that a volume of the second air duct decreases from one end of the second arc-shaped boosting slope in a direction of the second external blowing port as taught by Li in order to allow for a homogenous air flow rate reduction in the head loss of air flow, and increased airflow speed and rate while decreasing the noise produced by head loss (Li para. 0068).
In regard to claim 9, Purnell in view of Li discloses the invention of claim 1. Purnell further discloses wherein the hair guide opening (opening in annotated Fig. 5) and the hair clip cavity (cavity in annotated Fig. 5) are combined in a Y-shaped structure (Fig. 5). Purnell does not disclose wherein a surface of the hair guide opening is a smooth arc-shaped structure.
Li teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-15) wherein a surface (surface in annotated Fig. 15) of the hair guide opening (opening in annotated Fig. 15, para. 0068) is a smooth arc-shaped structure (Fig. 15).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hair guide opening of Purnell in view of Li by specifying a surface of the hair guide opening is a smooth arc-shaped structure as taught by Li in order to allow for the hair in the opening (Li para. 0068) to have an increased contact area between the hair and the blown air to improve the efficiency of hair drying (Li para. 0062).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purnell in view of Li and Salguero (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0285055 A1).
In regard to claim 7, Purnell in view of Li discloses the invention of claim 1. Purnell further discloses wherein an outer periphery of the blowing shell is fixedly installed with an outer shell (26 in Fig. 4B). Purnell does not disclose wherein an inner wall of one end of the outer shell near the hollow connection tube is provided with at least two positioning blocks; and an end of the hollow connection tube near the outer shell is provided with a locking tooth configured to be clamped into the positioning block.
Salguero teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-16) comprising a shell (700 in Fig. 14), an inner wall of one end of the shell near a hollow connection tube (125 and 205 in Fig. 8) is provided with at least two positioning blocks (705 in Fig. 14); and an end of a hollow connection tube near the shell is provided with a locking tooth (tooth in annotated Fig. 2) capable of being clamped into the positioning block (Figs. 14 and 15B, para. 0060).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer shell and hollow connection tube of Purnell in view of Li by specifying an inner wall of one end of the shell near the hollow connection tube is provided with at least two positioning blocks; and an end of the hollow connection tube near the shell is provided with a locking tooth configured to be clamped into the positioning block as taught by Salguero in order to allow for mating of the parts while preventing rotation of the attachment on the appliance (Salguero, para. 0062).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purnell in view of Li and Salguero and Menzies et al (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0245184 A1, hereinafter “Menzies”).
In regard to claim 8, Purnell in view of Li and Salguero disclose the invention of claim 7. Purnell further discloses a blowing shell (blowing shell in annotated Fig. 5). Purnell does not disclose wherein an inner wall of one end of the outer shell near the hollow connection tube is provided with at least two guide columns; and an end of the hollow connection tube near the outer shell is provided with a guide groove capable of mating the guide columns, the hollow connection tube and the blowing shell are locked together by a screw.
Salguero teaches the hollow connection tube (125 and 205 in Fig. 8) and the blowing shell (210, 215, and 220 in Fig. 7) are locked together by a screw (para. 0041).
Menzies teaches wherein an inner wall of one end of the outer shell (40 in Fig. 7) near a hollow connection tube (18 in Figs. 6-7) is provided with at least two guide columns (64 in Fig. 6, para. 0075-0076); and an end of the hollow connection tube near the outer shell is provided with a guide groove (68 in Figs. 6-7) capable of mating the guide columns (paras. 0075-0076).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hairstyling appliances.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hollow connection tube and blowing shell of Purnell in view of Li and Salguero by specifying the hollow connection tube and the blowing shell are locked together by a screw as taught by Salguero in order to allow for attachment and mating of the parts (Salguero, para. 0041).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer shell and hollow connection tube of Purnell in view of Li and Salguero by specifying an inner wall of one end of the outer shell near a hollow connection tube is provided with at least two guide and an end of the hollow connection tube near the outer shell is provided with a guide groove capable of mating the guide columns as taught by Menzies in order to allow for attachment and retention of the parts at the necessary angular position (Menzies para. 0076).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY N HUYNH/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772