CTNF 18/799,388 CTNF 85276 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a ) as being anticipated by Sharma Neha et al (US 2022/0302994) [R1] . For claim 1, R1 discloses making an L3 scheduling determination that identifies a traffic-receiving sub-cluster from the plurality of sub-clusters and an active base station (a-BS) in the traffic-receiving sub-cluster (paragraphs 53-58,82,100-105); and sending, to the cluster of base stations, the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 2, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination is triggered based on feedback from the UE (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 3, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination is triggered based on a change to radio link control (RLC) synchronization used among the cluster of base stations (paragraphs 53-58,82,90-116). For claim 4, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination is triggered based on receiving any of: a first request to add a base station to the traffic-receiving sub-cluster; a second request to remove a base station from the traffic receiving sub-cluster; a third request to use a base station as the a-BS; and a fourth request to use a base station as an inactive base station (i-BS) (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 5, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination is sent to the cluster of base stations by an L3 scheduling time advance value prior to an L3 scheduling window that is for communicating the traffic between the UE and the cluster of base stations according to the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 6, R1 discloses the CCF sends the L3 scheduling determination to the cluster of base stations by sending the L3 scheduling determination to a transporter base station for the cluster of base stations (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 7, R1 discloses the CCF sends the L3 scheduling determination to the cluster of base stations by sending the L3 scheduling determination to a transporter base station group for the cluster of base stations (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 8, R1 discloses receiving, from a clustering control function (CCF) of the wireless communication system, an L3 scheduling determination that identifies the first sub-cluster as a traffic-receiving sub-cluster and the base station as an active base station (a-BS) (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116); configuring a protocol stack of the base station according to the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116); and routing the traffic according to the protocol stack (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 9, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination further identifies a second sub-cluster of the cluster of base stations as a non-traffic-receiving sub-cluster (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116 traffic load of the cluster). For claim 10, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination further identifies an inactive base station (i-BS) in the first sub-cluster (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116 determine traffic load). For claim 11, R1 discloses the base station is a transporter base station for the cluster of base stations, and further comprising sending, to another base station of the cluster of base stations, the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 12, R1 discloses the base station is a member of a transporter base station group for the cluster of base stations, and further comprising sending, as part of the transporter base station group, to another base station of the cluster of base stations, the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 13, R1 discloses receiving, from the first base station, an L3 scheduling determination that identifies the first sub-cluster as a traffic-receiving sub-cluster and the first base station as a first active base station (a-BS) (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116); configuring a first protocol stack of the UE that is for the first base station according to the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116); and routing the traffic according to the first protocol stack (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 14, R1 discloses a second protocol stack of the UE that is for a second base station of the cluster of base stations according to the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 15, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination identifies the second base station as a second a-BS, and wherein the UE configures the second protocol stack with an active medium access control (MAC) entity and an active physical (PHY) layer entity (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 16, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination identifies the second base station as an inactive base station (i-BS) (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116), and wherein the UE configures the second protocol stack with an inactive medium access control (MAC) entity and an inactive physical (PHY) layer entity (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 17, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination further identifies a second sub-cluster of the cluster of base stations as a non-traffic-receiving sub-cluster (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 18, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination further identifies an inactive base station (i-BS) in the first sub-cluster (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 19, R1 discloses sending, to a clustering control function (CCF), through the first base station, one or more of: a first request to add the first base station to the traffic-receiving sub-cluster; a second request to remove first the base station from the traffic receiving sub-cluster; a third request to use the first base station as the first a-BS; and a fourth request to use the first base station as an inactive base station (i-BS) (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116). For claim 20, R1 discloses the L3 scheduling determination is received from the first base station prior to an L3 scheduling window that is for communicating the traffic between the UE and the cluster of base stations according to the L3 scheduling determination (paragraphs 53-58,82,92-116) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Ben Rached et al (US 20220007218) discloses base station clusters . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON whose telephone number is (571)270-3678. The examiner can normally be reached 10AM-4PM ET M-Th. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached at (571)272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/799,388 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/799,388 Page 3 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/799,388 Page 4 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/799,388 Page 5 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/799,388 Page 6 Art Unit: 2463