Disposition of the Claims
In response to applicant’s amendment received on 08/19/2026, all requested changes to the claims and specification have been entered.
Claim(s) 1-13 were previously pending.
No Claim(s) have been added.
Claim(s) 13 have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-12 are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
Title of the Invention
The examiner acknowledges the amendment to the title now more thoroughly conveys the field of endeavor of the present application. The objection to the title has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 9 which removes reference to a calculation unit and instead recites the calculation operation directly. The objection to claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
Applicant has amended the claims to no longer have placeholder language that invokes 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), and has provided sufficient structure in the form of a processor and memory. Claims 1-12 are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) and are now interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification of the present application.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant has amended claims 1 & 12 to no longer recite a plurality of “users”. While this does cure deficiencies for distinguishing which users are referenced, this fails to cure deficiencies for which specific users are being referenced further in the claim language. Claims 1-12 still stand rejected for a lack of clarity for which users are being referred to across the claim language and is further detailed below.
Applicant has also amended claims 1 & 12 to no longer recite the “data processing unit” and “extraction unit”, which were previously indicated to unclear for either a lack of sufficient structure or disclosed algorithm when interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). These claims no longer recite a “data processing unit” and “extraction unit” and thus the rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) for reciting these units has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
Applicant has amended claims 1-12 to no longer recite functional language that invokes 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), and the heighten written description standard to means-plus-function claiming is no longer applied to the “data processing unit” and “extraction unit”. The rejections of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant has cancelled claim 13 without prejudice and the rejection of claim 13 is now moot. Applicant has amended claims 1-12 to no longer recite means-plus-function language that invokes 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), which now have a broader scope. A new ground of rejection for claims 1-12 are detailed below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of a minor spelling mistake in Fig. 1. The examiner believes element 80 is intended to be labeled as “Store Entrance/Exit” as opposed to the current “Tore Entrance/Exit”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 & 12 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 & 12 both recite “a sets of processor-executable instructions”. This is syntactically incorrect. The examiner believes this was meant to recite either “a set of processor-executable instructions” or “one or more sets of processor executable instructions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 & 12, a user is first introduced in similar limitations of “acquiring a first captured image in which a user alighting from the parked vehicle is imaged” / “imaging a user alighting from the parked vehicle”. This establishes the antecedent basis for any subsequent recitations of “the user” further in the claims. The claims then similarly recite “acquiring a second captured image in which a user passing along a path…” which conflicts the antecedent basis already established by the first recitation of “a user”. This also causes confusion with the “extracting a user, which is captured in the second captured image…”, which is later referred to as “the extracted user” in claim 2. The examiner believes the multiple recitations of “a user” and “the user” are subsequently unclear as it’s difficult to ascertain whether these are all intended to be the same user, or, more likely, to be distinct users, given that the condition for some of these claims trigger only when the recited “user” between images matches. The examiner recommends clearly defining specifying and differentiating between any distinct recitations of a “user”, such as using the terms “first user”, “second user”, etc., and to ensure that the antecedent basis of these distinct users is propagated further down through each dependent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ueno teach An information processing device (server 30, in coordination with drone 10, user terminal 20, and vehicle 40 [¶0046; Figs. 1 & 3]) comprising:
a memory that stores a sets of processor-executable instructions (main storage unit 32, which can be a RAM or a ROM [¶0051-52; Fig. 3]); and
a hardware processor device (processor 31 [¶0051; Fig. 3]) configured to execute the sets of processor-executable instructions to cause the hardware processor device to perform operations comprising:
acquiring a parking position of a vehicle parked in a parking lot (camera 15 of drone 10 takes an image or series of images of a vehicle parked in parking slot 110A and determines its position via image analysis [¶0056 & 66; Figs. 2-4]);
acquiring a first captured image in which a user alighting from the parked vehicle is imaged (after a vehicle is parked in parking slot 110A, the camera 15 of drone 10 takes an image of the face of a user as part of the “alighting information” [¶0056 & 66; Figs. 2 & 3]);
storing the detected position and the user in a storage device (the face of a user in association with the position of parking slot 110A (alighting information) is transmitted to the server 30, which contains a main (32) and auxiliary (33) storage unit [¶0056, 60 & 66; Figs. 2 & 3]);
acquiring a second captured image in which a user passing along a path along which the user is able to move to the parking lot is imaged (drone 15 also takes an image of the face of a user coming out from the store 100 through doorway 100A (i.e., a path) and transmits this image as “exit information” to server 30 [¶0056 & 67; Figs 2 & 3]);
extracting a user, which is captured in the second captured image and captured in the first captured image, with reference to the storage device (command unit 302 of the server 30 compares faces of images from the exit information and compares them with each face image stored in the alighting information DB 311 [¶0073; Fig. 6]); and
causing a display device to display availability information on the basis of the extraction result (command unit 302 predicts when parking slot 110A will be available in the near future, and a first parking information of about first parking slot 111A (the parking slot 110A where a first user has parked) is displayed on display 25 for when the parking slot is predicted to become vacant [¶0073-74, 101-0102; Figs. 8-12]).
Considering claim 3, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (outlined above), wherein acquiring the second captured image comprises acquiring the second captured image in which a path along which a user is able to move to only the parking lot is imaged (the face of a person is acquired via drone 10 (i.e., a second captured image) as they leave the store 100 into the parking lot 100 via the doorway 100A (i.e., a path) [¶0048; Fig. 2] – the examiner notes that a person is only able to travel to the parking lot 110 when exiting the store 100 through the doorway 100A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Watanebe; Kosuke (JP 2020/030486 A), hereinafter referred to as “Watanebe”.
With respect to claim 2, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (previously described), wherein the operations further comprises:
wherein causing the display device comprises causing the display device to display availability information on the display device on the basis of a relationship between the time based on the calculation result and the parking position (Ueno: command unit 302 predicts when parking slot 110A will be available in the near future, and a first parking information of about first parking slot 111A (the parking slot 110A where a first user has parked) is displayed on display 25 for when the parking slot is predicted to become vacant [¶0073-74, 0101-0102; Figs. 8-12]) command unit 302 of the server 30 compares faces of images from the exit information and compares them with each face image stored in the alighting information DB 311 [¶0073; Fig. 6]).
While Ueno factors in the position of a user when exiting based on their route to their vehicle, they fail to explicitly recite calculating a time based on the position a user is imaged. Watanabe, however, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor to the present application and disclose device for determining whether a vehicle in a parking lot will park or exit to notify users of parking availability. More specifically, Watanabe teach calculating a time over which the extracted user moves from a position at which the user has been captured in the second captured image to the parking position at which the vehicle from which the user has alighted has been parked, (Watanabe: beacon B installed near the exit of a target facility F detects when a user passes to acquire behavior information indicating a user leaving the facility towards the car park P to calculate a timing based on the position of beacon B [¶14-20; Fig. 1A]).
Watanabe further discloses that their detection process allows the device to more accurately predict a timing for when a parking lot has available space [¶21-23]. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the timing calculation of Watanabe with the imaging system outlined by Ueno to arrive at the present invention of the instant application. This would thus enable a more accurate and granular prediction of parking availability.
As for claim 12, Ueno teach A display system (Ueno: user terminal 20 with a display, in coordination with drone 10, user terminal 20, and vehicle 40 [¶0046; Figs. 1 & 3]) comprising:
a memory that stores a sets of processor-executable instructions (Ueno: main storage unit 22, which can be a RAM or a ROM [¶0051-52 & 60; Fig. 3]); and
a hardware processor device (Ueno: processor 21 [¶0051 & 60; Fig. 3]) configured to execute the sets of processor-executable instructions to cause the hardware processor device to perform operations comprising:
detecting a parking position of a vehicle parked in a parking lot (Ueno: camera 15 of drone 10 takes an image or series of images of a vehicle parked in parking slot 110A and determines its position via image analysis [¶0056 & 66; Figs. 2-4]);
imaging a user alighting from the parked vehicle (Ueno: after a vehicle is parked in parking slot 110A, the camera 15 of drone 10 takes an image of the face of a user as part of the “alighting information” [¶0056 & 66; Figs. 2 & 3]);
storing the detected position and the user into a storage device (Ueno: the face of a user in association with the position of parking slot 110A (alighting information) is transmitted to the server 30, which contains a main (32) and auxiliary (33) storage unit [¶0056, 60 & 66; Figs. 2 & 3]);
imaging a user passing along a path along which the user is able to move to the parking lot (Ueno: drone 15 also takes an image of the face of a user coming out from the store 100 through doorway 100A (i.e., a path) and transmits this image as “exit information” to server 30 [¶0056 & 67; Figs 2 & 3]);
extracting a user imaged, with reference to the storage device (Ueno: command unit 302 of the server 30 compares faces of images from the exit information and compares them with each face image stored in the alighting information DB 311 [¶0073; Fig. 6]);
causing a display device to display a relationship between the time based on the calculation result and the position of the parking lot (Ueno: command unit 302 predicts when parking slot 110A will be available in the near future, and a first parking information of about first parking slot 111A (the parking slot 110A where a first user has parked) is displayed on display 25 for when the parking slot is predicted to become vacant [¶0073-74, 0101-0102; Figs. 8-12]) command unit 302 of the server 30 compares faces of images from the exit information and compares them with each face image stored in the alighting information DB 311 [¶0073; Fig. 6])).
While Ueno factors in the position of a user when exiting based on their route to their vehicle, they fail to explicitly recite calculating a time based on the position a user is imaged. Watanabe, however, teach calculating a time over which the extracted user moves from a position at which the user has been imaged to the parking position at which the vehicle from which the user has alighted has been parked; (Watanabe: beacon B installed near the exit of a target facility F detects when a user passes to acquire behavior information indicating a user leaving the facility towards the car park P to calculate a timing based on the position of beacon B [¶14-20; Fig. 1A]).
Watanabe further discloses that their detection process allows the device to more accurately predict a timing for when a parking lot has available space [¶21-23]. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the timing calculation of Watanabe with the imaging system outlined by Ueno to arrive at the present invention of the instant application. This would thus enable a more accurate and granular prediction of parking availability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Watanebe; Kosuke (JP 2020/030486 A), hereinafter referred to as “Watanebe”, further in view of Oh et al (US 2020/0175870 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Oh”.
Turning to claim 4, Ueno in view of Watanebe teach The information processing device according to claim 2 (detailed above), however, neither Ueno, nor Watanabe disclose displaying a time along with availability information for each section included in the parking lot.
Oh, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a system for providing information regarding departure times for cars in different parking lots. Oh teach wherein causing the display device to display the availability information comprises causing the display device to display availability information on the display device along with a time based on the calculation result for each section included in the parking lot (Oh: a terminal 200 displays parking availability information according to expected departure time for vehicles in different sections of the parking lot [¶0087; Fig. 5] – the examiner notes that Oh’s parking sections are analogous to the ones described in the ¶0032 & Fig. 5 of the instant application).
Oh goes on to explain that the by displaying anticipated departure times for each area of the parking lot, a driver is aware of both when and what sequence of parking spaces will become free, saving the driver time and enabling them to park in a particularly desired space [¶0089-90]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the time display for parking sections taught by Oh with the base parking management system taught by Ueno in view of Watanebe to arrive at the invention of the instant application. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that combining the teachings of Oh with Ueno in view of Watanebe would have been predictable, and only serve to provide more information of the state of the parking lot to a driver to improve overall user experience provided by the parking management system.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Yoo et al (US 6,107,942 A), hereinafter referred to as “Yoo”.
As for claim 5, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (as previously discuss), however the terminal display described by Ueno is only installed in once location, rather at positions corresponding to each section in the parking lot.
Yoo, per contra, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and describe a parking guidance system with availability displays installed across a parking facility. Yoo teach wherein causing the display device to display the availability information comprises causing the display device to display availability information on the display device of a display device installed at a position corresponding to each section included in the parking lot (Yoo: section displays 20 are provided to depict space availability in each section 10 of a parking facility [col. 5, ln. 20-42; Figs. 1 & 6]).
Furthermore, Yoo describes that their invention uses graphical displays at various locations across a parking facility to thoroughly inform a user of the locations of parking space to avoid wasting a driver’s time and fuel searching for available spaces [col. 1, ln. 37-56]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the present application to utilize the section displays described by Yoo and configuring them by known and predictable methods to convey with the camera-based parking spot prediction information taught by Ueno to conveniently relay parking availability in large parking facilities, thus arriving at the invention of the instant application.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Barlow et al (US 2014/0326887 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Barlow”, further in view of Oh et al (US 2020/0175870 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Oh”.
Concerning claim 6, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (as previously taught), wherein the operations further comprises:
acquiring a third captured image in which a user moving in a direction in which the user moves away from the parking lot on the path along which a user is able to move to the parking is imaged (Ueno: the camera 15 of drone 10 takes an image of the face of a user as they leave the parking lot 110 into the store 100 [¶0056 & 66; Figs. 2 & 3]), wherein acquiring the second captured image comprises acquiring the second captured image in which a user moving to the parking lot is imaged (Ueno: drone 15 also takes an image of the face of a user coming out from the store 100 through doorway 100A (i.e., a path) and transmits this image as “exit information” to server 30 [¶0056 & 67; Figs 2 & 3]), and
when a user included in the second captured image acquired is included in the third captured image acquired (Ueno: the face of a user exiting the store 100 is compared to alighting information DB311 to see if it matches the face of a user associated with a parked vehicle [¶0066-68, 72-73; Fig. 6]).
Ueno actively tracks users using a drone taking images as users enter and exit a store to predict parking availability, however they fail to describe changing the display of availability information to account for a when a person originally seen leaving the store is observed heading back into the store (i.e., away from the parking lot). Barlow, however, is analogous art in the same technical realm as Ueno and detail modulating a display based on the proximal location of a user. Barlow teach wherein causing the display device comprises causing the display device not to display (Barlow: a lighted sign utilizes the distance of a person to determine when to turn off the sign if a person has moved far way enough [¶0044]).
Barlow further explains that their invention utilizes proximity sensors working to modulate the activation of a light fixture within a configurable range, deemed an activation range, to ensure activation only occurs under particular proximity conditions [¶0003-6]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would recognize that the proximity activation step taught by Barlow can be incorporated into the teachings of Ueno to instead modulate the information on a display when a driver for a particular vehicle is sensed to be entering or leaving an activation range (i.e., a parking lot), thus arriving at the invention of the instant application.
While Barlow generally teach modulating a display based on the presence or absence of a user in a particular range, they fail to explicitly recite that their display turning off was originally displaying a time. Oh, per contra, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a system for providing information regarding departure times for cars in different parking lots. Oh teach the displayed time (Oh: a terminal 200 displays parking availability information according to expected departure time for vehicles in different sections of the parking lot [¶0087; Fig. 5]).
Oh goes on to explain that the by displaying anticipated departure times for each area of the parking lot, a driver is aware of both when and what sequence of parking spaces will become free, saving the driver time and enabling them to park in a particularly desired space [¶0089-90]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to thus incorporate the time display of Oh with the modulation of display based on the proximity of a recognized person taught by Ueno in view of Barlow to arrive at the invention of the instant application. This would, in turn, enable users to be aware of anticipated departure times for a particular space, while also accounting for situations in which the departure time may need to be updated or removed for when a user of a particular vehicle is no longer predicted to be returning when heading back into the store.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Alneghaimish; Abdulelah Dharan (US 2018/0283894 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Alneghaimish”.
Regarding claim 7, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (As previously taught), wherein causing the display device comprises causing the display device to display information indicating that a position of the parking lot at which a vehicle has been parked is available (Ueno: command unit 302 predicts when parking slot 110A will be available in the near future, and a first parking information of about first parking slot 111A (the parking slot 110A where a first user has parked) is displayed on display 25 for when the parking slot is predicted to become vacant [¶0073-74, 0101-0102; Figs. 8-12]) when a user has not been extracted from the second captured image acquired (Ueno: the face of a user exiting the store 100 is compared to alighting information DB311 to see if it matches the face of a user associated with a parked vehicle [¶0066-68, 72-73; Fig. 6] – the examiner notes that, by default, this comparison step would account for when a user has not been extracted from a second captured image).
Ueno, however, fails to track vehicles themselves as they enter and exit the parking lot, relying on the face or characteristics of a user to determine parking availability. Alneghaimish, however, is analogous art pertinent to the realm of parking management and disclose tracking vehicles entering and exiting a parking lot. Alneghaimish teach and the vehicle has exited the parking lot (Alneghaimish: the occupancy status of parking spaces may be tracked via sensors 104 and/or cameras tracking license plate information, and a parking space is marked unoccupied in the database 108 once the vehicle associated with it exits the parking structure 106 [¶003-34]).
Alneghaimish further explain that parking lots can have complex designs, particular those with large capacities, which may run into issues with traffic flow as drivers spend time trying to find available parking. Their invention aids a driver’s decision-making process by presenting drivers with how many free spaces are available, keeping real-time data to update parking availability when spots become occupied [¶0003-5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to thus utilize the vehicle tracking technology of Alneghaimish with the parking management system of Ueno that already utilizes facial recognition to track users as they leave the store to predict upcoming parking availability. Alneghaimish’s vehicle tracking enable Ueno’s parking management system to now account for times when a vehicle may leave the parking spot in the circumstance the driver of that car is not captured leaving the store and approaching their car, thus arriving at the invention of the instant application.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Barlow et al (US 2014/0326887 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Barlow”.
Regarding claim 8, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (described previously), wherein causing the display device comprises causing the display device to display the availability information when the extracted user approaches the parking lot (Ueno: command unit 302 predicts when parking slot 110A will be available in the near future, and a first parking information of about first parking slot 111A (the parking slot 110A where a first user has parked) is displayed on display 25 for when the parking slot is predicted to become vacant when a user heads towards the parking lot 110 from the store 100 [¶0073-74, 101-0102; Figs. 8-12]),
wherein causing the display device comprises causing the display device to display the availability information on the display device when the extracted user approaches the parking lot through the path, (Ueno: command unit 302 predicts when parking slot 110A will be available in the near future, and a first parking information of about first parking slot 111A (the parking slot 110A where a first user has parked) is displayed on display 25 for when the parking slot is predicted to become vacant when a user heads towards the parking lot 110 from the store 100 through the doorway 100A (i.e., a path) [¶0073-74, 101-0102; Figs. 8-12]), and
moves away from the parking lot through the path (Ueno: the camera 15 of drone 10 takes an image of the face of a user as they leave the parking lot 110 into the store 100 [¶0056 & 66; Figs. 2 & 3])
causing the display device comprises causing the display device not to display the availability information any more when the extracted user moves away (Barlow: a lighted sign utilizes the distance of a person to determine when to turn off the sign if a person has moved far way enough [¶0044]).
Barlow further explains that their invention utilizes proximity sensors working to modulate the activation of a light fixture within a configurable range, deemed an activation range, to ensure activation only occurs under particular proximity conditions [¶0003-6]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would recognize that the proximity activation step taught by Barlow can be incorporated into the teachings of Ueno to instead modulate the information on a display when a driver for a particular vehicle is sensed to be entering or leaving an activation range (i.e., a parking lot), thus arriving at the invention of the instant application.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Kagiwada et al (JP 2021128430 A), hereinafter referred to as “Kagiwada”.
With respect to claim 9, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (as previously taught), wherein the operations further comprises acquiring settlement information indicating that prior settlement of a parking fee has been performed using a prior settlement machine, (Ueno: a second payment machine 100B located inside the store generates payment information associated with a particular parking slot [¶110-116; Fig. 14]).
While Ueno teaches tracking settlement information to determine when a parking space may become available, they fail to disclose calculating a time for a user to move between a settlement machine and their associated parking spot. Kagiwada, however, is analogous art pertinent to the realm of endeavor of the present application and disclose predicting parking space availability by utilizing payment completion information. Kagiwada teach calculating a time over which a user moves from the prior settlement machine to the position of the parking lot at which the vehicle for which there has been prior settlement has been parked when the settlement information is acquired (Kagiwada: in step S80, a parking prediction unit 128 predicts waiting times for a parking spot associated with a particular ticket and calculates the travel time from the payment location at store terminal 40 (i.e., a prior settlement machine) to the parking location to predict a wait time [¶0078]).
Kagiwada further explain that by tracking completion of payment by users of parked cars, users looking for parking spaces will be aware of expected availability before the user of the parked car arrives. They further explain that their system acts in real-time, which aids overall prediction accuracy [¶0015]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would recognize that incorporating the teachings of Kagiwada with the parking management system of Ueno would ultimately improve Ueno’s base invention which already leverages settlement information to predict parking availability. The teachings of Kagiwada merely refine the parking prediction by now estimating a time a space would be available via payment confirmation to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, in view of Watanebe; Kosuke (JP 2020/030486 A), hereinafter referred to as “Watanebe”, further in view of Lees et al (WO 2006/086831 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lees.
Turning to claim 10, Ueno in view of Watanebe teach The information processing device according to claim 2 (as previously taught), wherein causing the display device comprises causing the display device to display a relationship between the time based on the calculation result and the position of the parking lot on the display device (Ueno: command unit 302 predicts when parking slot 110A will be available in the near future, and a first parking information of about first parking slot 111A (the parking slot 110A where a first user has parked) is displayed on display 25 for when the parking slot is predicted to become vacant [¶0073-74, 0101-0102; Figs. 8-12]) command unit 302 of the server 30 compares faces of images from the exit information and compares them with each face image stored in the alighting information DB 311 [¶0073; Fig. 6]).
Neither Ueno, nor Watanabe, however, describe utilizing an availability ratio in a parking for modulating a display. Lees, however, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a parking availability indicator that can be configured to change how it is displayed based on various predetermined requirements. Lees teach when an availability ratio in the parking lot is less than a predetermined value (the availability indicator changes color when availability of space falls below a predetermined value [pg. 3, ln. 4-6], this availability is calculated via the ratio of green (available) to unavailable (red) spaces [pg. 7, ln. 32-36]).
Lees explain that the advantages of providing parking guidance systems for communicating parking availability to customers, citing increased overall car park occupancy and customer satisfaction from a reduced time in finding a suitable parking space [pg. 1, ln. 127-36]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would be able to readily incorporate the parking availability indicator of Lees with the overall parking management system of Ueno in view of Watanebe to arrive at the invention of the instant application. This would serve to increase customer awareness of an overall parking situation, as a change in a display based on availability would better communicate to customers how busy or free a parking spot may be.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al (US 2022/0089147 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ueno”, further in view of Pace et al (US 7,075,427 B1), hereinafter referred to as Pace”.
As for claim 11, Ueno teach The information processing device according to claim 1 (as previously described), however, Ueno is silent on the placement of their display being positioned at the entrance gate of a parking lot.
Pace, in contrast, describe a traffic warning system that details the configuration of signage around parking lots to communicate different information to drivers as they enter the parking lot. Pace teach wherein the display device is provided at an entrance gate of the parking lot (Pace: a sign 7616 positioned at the entrance of the parking lot provides information to drivers entering such as “LOT FULL”, “PARKING AVAILABLE”, “PARKING AVAILABLE ON LEVEL 2 ONLY” [col. 33, ln. 19-44; Figs. 27A & B]).
Pace further explain that their invention provides a novel system to actively alert and update motorists and pedestrians, consisting of display signs that actively update to provide vacancy information for a parking lot, utilizing sensors to detect the presence of a vehicle to enhance sign visibility as it approaches the lot [col. 5, ln. 17-41]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to utilize the parking signs taught by Pace with the base parking management system provided by Ueno to arrive at the invention of the present application. This would enable the overall parking management system to communicate the state of a parking lot to a motorist before they enter a lot, aiding motorists to make informed decisions on whether or not to pull into a parking lot if there’s sufficient vacant spots open.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M SOFRONIOU/Examiner, Art Unit 2661
/JOHN VILLECCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661