DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2023-0112797, filed on 08/28/2023 in Korea.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 08/09/2024; 03/10/2025; and 09/02/2025 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 08/09/2024 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koga [US 2010/0126754], in view of GU et al. [US 2023/0100675].
Regarding claim 1, Koga discloses an electronic device (figures 1-12) comprising:
a housing (10, figure 1);
a circuit board (11, figures 1 and 8-12) disposed inside the housing;
at least one electrical component (12, figures 1 and 8-12) disposed inside the housing (figure 1); and
a flexible connection member (15, figures 1-12) electrically connected to the circuit board and the at least one electrical component (15, figures 1 and 8-12), wherein the flexible connection member includes:
an insulation layer (111, figure 4),
a signal line (112, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer,
a first ground line (G1, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer,
a second ground line (G2, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer and spaced apart from the first ground line (G1 // G2, figure 5),
a ground sheet (114, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer,
a first connection line (an above connection 115a connected to the G1, figures 4-5) electrically connected to the first ground line and the ground sheet and at least partially extending along a first direction (a horizontal direction, figures 4-5), and
a second connection line (a lower connection 115a, figures 4-5) electrically connected to the second ground line and the ground sheet, and at least partially extending along the first direction (figure 5).
Koga discloses the claimed invention except for at least partially extending along a second direction different from the first direction and crossing the first connection line, and wherein at least a portion of the second connection line contacts at least a portion of the first connection line.
GU et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-21) comprising at least one
flexible connection member (850, figure 8) structure, wherein the flexible connection member is connected between a circuit board (820, figure 8) and at least one component (830, figure 8), and wherein the flexible connection member comprises a first ground-connection line (GND#1, as 850a, figure 8, paragraph 0145) and a second ground-connection line (GND#2, as 850b, figure 8, paragraph 0146).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a flexible connection member including a plurality of flexible ground-connection lines therein, for a flexible connection member of an electronic device of Koga, as suggested by GU et al., in order to provide multiple ground-connections including various connection directions for a flexible connection member to a ground sheet or at the intersection of a first ground connection line a second ground connection line on a ground sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein each of the first ground line (G1, figures 1 and 8-12) and the second ground line (G2, figures 1 and 8-12) is electrically connected to a ground of the circuit board (P5 and P8, figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the first direction is inclined with respect to a direction in which the first ground line extends, and wherein the second direction is inclined with respect to a direction in which the second ground line extends.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the first direction is inclined with respect to a direction in which the first ground line extends, and the second direction is inclined with respect to a direction in which the second ground line extends in a flexible connection member of Koga, in view of GU et al., in order to provide various configurations for ground connections to a ground sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Koga discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a portion, where the first connection line and the second connection line cross each other, contacts the ground sheet.
GU et al., further disclose wherein the flexible connection member comprises a first ground-connection line (GND#1, as 850a, figure 8, paragraph 0145) and a second ground-connection line (GND#2, as 850b, figure 8, paragraph 0146).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange a first connection line and a second connection line cross each other at a portion on a ground sheet of an electronic device of Koga, in view of GU et al., in order to increase the ground connection to a ground sheet of a flexible connection member.
Regarding claim 5, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the insulation layer includes a first insulation layer (111, figure 4) and a second insulation layer (113, figure 4) spaced apart from the first insulation layer, and wherein the first ground line (G1, figures 4-5) and the second ground line (G2, figures 4-5) are disposed on the first insulation layer.
Regarding claim 6, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein each of the first ground line and the second ground line is disposed on the first insulation layer (figure 4).
Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein each of the first ground line and the second ground line is disposed in a recess which is formed to be recessed in the first insulation layer.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set each of the first ground line and the second ground line being disposed in a recess which is formed to be recessed in the first insulation layer of the flexible connection member of Koga, in view of GU et al., in order to reduce a thickness of a flexible connection member in an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the ground sheet (114, figure 4) is stacked on the second insulation layer (113, figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the first connection line includes a first connection portion (a left portion which is connected to a G1, figures 4-5) disposed on the first ground line and a first extension portion (a right portion which is continuously connected from the first connection portion, figures 4-5) extending from the first connection portion, and wherein the second connection line includes a second connection portion (a left portion which is connected to a G2, figures 4-5) disposed on the second ground line and a second extension portion (a right portion which is continuously connected from the second connection portion, figures 4-5 ) extending from the second connection portion.
Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein at least part of the first extension portion contacts at least part of the second extension portion.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set at least part of the first extension portion contacted at least part of the second extension portion in a flexible connection member of Koga, in view of GU et al., in order to provide various configurations for ground connections to a ground sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 14, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the signal line includes:
a first signal line (S4, figure 5); and
a second signal line (S2, figure 5) spaced apart from the first signal line and located between the first ground line (G1, figure 5) and the second ground line (G2, figure 5).
Regarding claim 15, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the flexible connection member includes a flexible flat cable (FFC 115, see abstract, figures 1-15).
Regarding claim 16, Koga discloses a flexible connection member (15, figures 1-12) comprising:
an insulation layer (111, figure 4),
a signal line (112, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer,
a first ground line (G1, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer,
a second ground line (G2, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer and spaced apart from the first ground line (G1 // G2, figure 5),
a ground sheet (114, figures 4-5) disposed on the insulation layer,
a first connection line (an above connection 115a connected to the G1, figures 4-5) electrically connected to the first ground line and the ground sheet and at least partially extending along a first direction (a horizontal direction, figures 4-5), and
a second connection line (a lower connection 115a, figures 4-5) electrically connected to the second ground line and the ground sheet, and at least partially extending along the first direction (figure 5).
Koga discloses the claimed invention except for at least partially extending along a second direction different from the first direction and crossing the first connection line, and wherein at least a portion of the second connection line contacts at least a portion of the first connection line.
GU et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1-21) comprising at least one
flexible connection member (850, figure 8) structure, wherein the flexible connection member is connected between a circuit board (820, figure 8) and at least one component (830, figure 8), and wherein the flexible connection member comprises a first ground-connection line (GND#1, as 850a, figure 8, paragraph 0145) and a second ground-connection line (GND#2, as 850b, figure 8, paragraph 0146).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a flexible connection member including a plurality of flexible ground-connection lines therein, for a flexible connection member of an electronic device of Koga, as suggested by GU et al., in order to provide multiple ground-connections including various connection directions for a flexible connection member to a ground sheet or at the intersection of a first ground connection line a second ground connection line on a ground sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 17, The flexible connection member of claim 16, wherein a portion, where the first connection line crosses the second connection line contacts the ground sheet.
GU et al., further disclose wherein the flexible connection member comprises a first ground-connection line (GND#1, as 850a, figure 8, paragraph 0145) and a second ground-connection line (GND#2, as 850b, figure 8, paragraph 0146).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange a first connection line and a second connection line cross each other at a portion on a ground sheet of an electronic device of Koga, in view of GU et al., in order to increase the ground connection to a ground sheet of a flexible connection member.
Regarding claim 18, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the insulation layer includes a first insulation layer (111, figure 4) and a second insulation layer (113, figure 4) spaced apart from the first insulation layer, and wherein the first ground line (G1, figures 4-5) and the second ground line (G2, figures 4-5) are disposed on the first insulation layer.
Regarding claim 19, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the ground sheet (114, figure 4) is stacked on the second insulation layer (113, figure 4).
Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein each of at least a portion of the first connection line and at least a portion of the second connection line is disposed in a recess formed to be recessed in the second insulation layer.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set at least a portion of the first connection line and at least a portion of the second connection line being disposed in a recess in the second insulation layer of the flexible connection member of Koga, in view of GU et al., in order to reduce a thickness of a flexible connection member in an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 20, Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose wherein the first connection line includes a first connection portion (a left portion which is connected to a G1, figures 4-5) disposed on the first ground line and a first extension portion (a right portion which is continuously connected from the first connection portion, figures 4-5) extending from the first connection portion, and wherein the second connection line includes a second connection portion (a left portion which is connected to a G2, figures 4-5) disposed on the second ground line and a second extension portion (a right portion which is continuously connected from the second connection portion, figures 4-5 ) extending from the second connection portion.
Koga, in view of GU et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein at least part of the first extension portion contacts at least part of the second extension portion.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set at least part of the first extension portion contacted at least part of the second extension portion in a flexible connection member of Koga, in view of GU et al., in order to provide various configurations for ground connections to a ground sheet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claim 9 discloses the combination features of “wherein the first connection portion is at least partially located between the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer, wherein the first extension portion is at least partially located between the second insulation layer and the ground sheet, wherein the second connection portion is at least partially located between the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer, and wherein the second extension portion is at least partially located between the second insulation layer and the ground sheet.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 8, 6, 5 and 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records. Claims 10-13 depend on the allowed claim 9.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/Hung S. Bui/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
01/15/2026