DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0260959 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Xu teaches a method performed by a first node in a wireless communication system (a method performed by a source BS in a wireless communication system, Fig. 24-29, provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 24-29) and a first node in a wireless communication system (the source BS in the wireless communication system, Fig. 24-29, provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 24-29), the first node comprising:
a transceiver (the source BS comprises the antennas and/or TX processing and RX processing, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [208-210], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [193-195] and Fig. 15); and
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to (and an processor coupled to the antennas and/or TX processing and RX processing, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [208-210], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [193-195] and Fig. 15):
transmit, to a second node (transmit to a target base station, Fig. 24-29, provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 24-29), a handover request message (a handover request message, Fig. 24-29, provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 24-29) comprising first information on a protocol data unit (PDU) set associated with quality of service (QoS) parameters (comprising information related to PDU set(s), paragraphs [279, 303-304], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261, 285], which is associated with QoS parameters, paragraphs [271-273, 284-288], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [268, 270, 280, 290-292]),
receive, from the second node, a handover request acknowledge message (the source base station, i.e. BS1, receives a handover request response/acknowledge message from the target base station, i.e. BS2, paragraphs [292, 296, 298-299, 301, 317-319], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261-263, 285-286]), identify whether second information indicating support of a PDU set based handling is included in the handover acknowledge message (specifying whether to support a handling of the PDU set(s), paragraphs [293, 297, 301, 318-320], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [280-283, 299-301]), and
in case that the second information indicating the support of the PDU set based handling is included in the handover acknowledge message, generate a data to be forwarded including third information on the PDU set (the source base station generates a data to be forwarded based on the PDU set(s), paragraphs [279, 303-304], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261, 285], based on the supporting information in the handover response message, paragraphs [301-302], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [283-284]).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Xu further teaches wherein the second information is transmitted by the second node to an access and mobility management function (AMF) (wherein the handover acknowledge/response message is transmitted by the target base station to the source base station, via an AMF, Fig. 27 and paragraph [292], provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 27 and paragraph [260]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Xu teaches a method performed by a second node in a wireless communication system (a method performed by a target BS in a wireless communication system, Fig. 24-29, provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 24-29), and a second node in a wireless communication system (the target BS in the wireless communication system, Fig. 24-29, provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 24-29), the second node comprising:
a transceiver (comprising antennas and/or TX processing and RX processing, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [208-210], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [193-195] and Fig. 15);
and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to (and an processor coupled to the antennas and/or TX processing and RX processing, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [208-210], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [193-195] and Fig. 15):
receive, from a first node, a handover request message (receive from a first base station/BS1, a handover request message, Fig. 24-29, provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 24-29) comprising first information on a protocol data unit (PDU) set associated with quality of service (QoS) parameters (comprising information related to PDU set(s), paragraphs [279, 303-304], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261, 285], which is associated with QoS parameters, paragraphs [271-273, 284-288], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [268, 270, 280, 290-292]), and
transmit, to the first node, a handover request acknowledge message (the target base station transmits, to the first base station/source base station, a handover request response/acknowledge message, paragraphs [292, 296, 298-299, 301, 317-319], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261-263, 285-286]),
wherein, in case that second information indicating support of a PDU set based handling is included in the handover acknowledge message, third information on the PDU set is included in a data to be forwarded by the first node (the source base station generates a data to be forwarded based on the PDU set(s), paragraphs [279, 303-304], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261, 285], based on the supporting information in the handover response message, paragraphs [301-302], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [283-284]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu further teaches transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF), the second information (wherein the handover acknowledge/response message is transmitted by the target base station to the source base station, via an AMF, Fig. 27 and paragraph [292], provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 27 and paragraph [260]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0260959 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2025/0330876 A1 to Luo et al. (hereafter refers as Luo) and S2-2307177 to Lenovo et al. (hereafter refers as Leveno).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 9 and 13, Xu further teaches wherein the first information comprises PDU set QoS parameters information element (information related to PDU set(s), paragraphs [279, 303-304], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261, 285], which is associated with QoS parameters, paragraphs [271-273, 284-288], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [268, 270, 280, 290-292]).
However, Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the third information comprises “PDU set information container”.
Luo teaches the information comprises PDU set information container (transmitting PDU set information in an PDU set information container in an GTP-U header, paragraphs [80, 136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the information comprises PDU set information container as taught by Luo, with the teachings of transmitting third information comprising PDU set information as taught by Xu, for a purpose of allowing the teachings to be compatibility with a wireless standard(s), by allowing the PDU set information to be transmitted in the PDU set information container (see Luo, paragraphs [80, 136]).
However, the combination of Xu and Luo does not explicitly teach wherein the second information comprises PDU set based handling “indicator” information element.
Lenovo teaches the second information comprises PDU set based handling indicator information element (target NG-RAN determines whether to support PDU set based QoS handling and transmits information comprising PDU set based handling indicator based on whether supporting PDU set based QoS handling, see section 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of PDU set based handling indicator information element as taught by Lenovo, with the teachings of PDU set based handling as taught by combination of Xu and Luo, for a purpose of allowing the teachings to be compatibility with a wireless standard(s) (TS 23.502), by using the PDU set based handling “indicator” information element for the second information (see Luo, paragraphs [80, 136]).
Claims 3, 7, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0260959 A1 to Xu et al. (hereafter refers as Xu) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2024/0015612 A1 to Velev et al. (hereafter refers as Velev).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Xu further teaches transmitting the data with the third information on the PDU set (the source base station forwarding the data with the PDU set(s), paragraphs [279, 303-304], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [261, 285], based on the supporting information indicated in the handover response message, paragraphs [301-302], provisional 63/422,306, paragraphs [283-284]).
Xu does not explicitly teach the data with the third information on the PDU set is “transmitted to the second node”.
Velve teaches transmitting, to a second node, the data with the third information on the PDU set (in response to receiving handover response indicating supporting information related to PDU session(s), a source RAN node, forwards data with information on the PDU session to a target RAN node, paragraphs [84-88, 104-109, 111] and Fig. 2b, step 3, 3A-3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmitting, to a second node, the data with the third information on the PDU set as taught by Velve, with the teachings of transmitting the data with the third information on the PDU set as taught by Xu, for a purpose of increase efficiency in the wireless communication by allowing the source base station/first node to begin handover the data to the second node by forwarding the data with the third information on the PDU set to the second node in response to the second information (see Velve, paragraphs [84-88, 104-109, 111] and Fig. 2b, step 3, 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 7, Xu further teaches transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF), the second information (wherein the handover acknowledge/response message is transmitted by the target base station to the source base station, via an AMF, Fig. 27 and paragraph [292], provisional 63/422,306, Fig. 27 and paragraph [260]).
However, Xu does not explicitly teach “receiving, from the first node,” the data with the third information on the PDU set.
Velve teaches receiving, from a first node, the data with the third information on the PDU set (in response to receiving handover response indicating supporting information related to PDU session(s), a source RAN node, forwards data with information on the PDU session to a target RAN node, paragraphs [84-88, 104-109, 111] and Fig. 2b, step 3, 3A-3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving, from the first node, the data with the third information on the PDU set as taught by Velve, with the teachings of the data with the third information on the PDU set as taught by Xu, for a purpose of increase efficiency in the wireless communication by allowing the source base station/first node to begin handover the data to the second node by forwarding the data with the third information on the PDU set to the second node in response to the second information (see Velve, paragraphs [84-88, 104-109, 111] and Fig. 2b, step 3, 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 14, Xu does not explicitly teach “receive, from the first node,” the data with the third information on the PDU set.
Velve teaches receive, from a first node, the data with the third information on the PDU set (in response to receiving handover response indicating supporting information related to PDU session(s), a source RAN node, forwards data with information on the PDU session to a target RAN node, paragraphs [84-88, 104-109, 111] and Fig. 2b, step 3, 3A-3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving, from the first node, the data with the third information on the PDU set as taught by Velve, with the teachings of the data with the third information on the PDU set as taught by Xu, for a purpose of increase efficiency in the wireless communication by allowing the source base station/first node to begin handover the data to the second node by forwarding the data with the third information on the PDU set to the second node in response to the second information (see Velve, paragraphs [84-88, 104-109, 111] and Fig. 2b, step 3, 3A-3B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0392550 A1 discloses base station broadcast message including a N1 SM container comprising PDU set QoS parameter (see paragraphs [113, 133, 229, 247]).
US 2025/0358672 A1 discloses a source NG-RAN node transmits handover request message to a target NG-RAN, wherein the handover request message comprising a PDU set QoS parameters (paragraphs [112-114]) and the source NG-RAN node receives handover request acknowledge message from the target NG-RAN (paragraph [122]).
US 2026/0150151 A1 discloses a source base station transmits SN status transfer and data to a target base station in response to receiving a handover request response (Fig. 2 and paragraphs [74-81]), the source base station transmits a handover request, including PDU set associated with QoS parameters, from the target base station (paragraphs [74, 109, 322, 323, 327]) and the handover request response message specifying whether supporting the PDU set (paragraph [288]).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 June 26, 2026