DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's arguments filed 8/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 11-16, and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 30-31 have been newly added.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/22/2025 is again acknowledged.
Claims 17, 19-20, and 22-29 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 21, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0362655, of record).
Wang et al. discloses anti-CD122 (i.e. anti-IL2Rb)/anti-IL2Rγ (also referenced as CD132) binding molecules that cause multimerization. Bispecific and bivalent antibodies are disclosed. See at least paragraphs [0006, 0012-0013, 0049, 0171]. The anti-CD122 and anti-IL2Rγ components of the binding molecules can be tandem dAb/VHH. See at least paragraphs [0185 and 0198]. They can be connected by linkers of 2-50 amino acids. See at least paragraph [0200]. Wang et al. does not require a particular order and so both orders are fairly encompassed as in instant claims 9-10. Pharmaceutical compositions are disclosed. See at least paragraphs [0165 and 0291].
Applicant’s argument that the term “tandem dAb/VHH” is unclear because it is not defined or explained in the Kontermann reference that is cited in Wang paragraph [0198] is unpersuasive. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the phrase “tandem dAb/VHH” included tandem VHH. Figure 2, box 3, of Brinkmann et al. (2017) discloses tandem dAb/VHH where each of the antigen binding module symbols used in Figure 2, box 3, indicates dAb, Nb, VHH, or IgNAR as shown in Figure 1. See also section of bispecific single-domain antibody fusion proteins (page 185, right column). Brinkmann et al. provides a more detailed explanation of the structures disclosed in Kontermann et al. (2012, of record).
The disclosure of Wang et al. fairly discloses tandem VHH (i.e. VHH fused to VHH) as required by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 21, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0362655, of record) in view of Brinkmann et al., Ignatovich et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0271663), De Creus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0303777).
Wang et al. is applied as above.
Figure 2, box 3, of Brinkmann et al. (2017) discloses tandem dAb/VHH where each of the antigen binding module symbols used in Figure 2, box 3, indicates dAb, Nb, VHH, or IgNAR as shown in Figure 1. See also section of bispecific single-domain antibody fusion proteins (page 185, right column). Brinkmann et al. provides a more detailed explanation of the structures disclosed in Kontermann et al. (2012, of record).
Ignatovich et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0271663) disclose that a VHH is defined as being a type of single domain antibody (also known as a dAb). This is acknowledged by the instant specification at least at paragraphs [0035 and 0093].
De Creus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0303777) discloses making bivalent antibodies by fusing two single domain antibodies such as VHH with or without a linker. See at least paragraphs [0038-0042]. Paragraph [0018] discloses targets that include CD122 (i.e. IL2Rb in the instant claims) and CD132 (i.e. IL2Rγ in the instant claims).
It would have been obvious to make a bivalent antibody by fusing a first single domain antibody VHH against IL2Rb (also known as CD122) with a second single domain antibody VHH against IL2Rγ (also known as CD132) with or without a linker. Wang and De Creus et al. suggest such a bivalent antibody. This would have been a well known antibody structure as evidenced by Brinkmann et al. and Ignatovich et al. The first and second VHH could have been fused in either order. Wang et al. indicates that linkers of 2-50 amino acids would have been suitable. Wang et al. discloses formulating pharmaceutical compositions. One would have been motivated to produce the tandem VHH antibody as Wang et al. discloses that bispecific antibodies would have been useful and the format would have been conventional as evidenced by Brinkmann et al. and De Creus et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 14, 17-22, 24-24, 27, and 33 of copending Application No. 18/260,709 (8/2/2024 claim set; same inventors and applicant as instant application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending application is a 371 application of PCT/US2022/012055 and is a CIP of PCT/US21/44853. It has a different priority claim than the instant application. Double patenting is not prohibited.
Co-pending claims 1-11, 14, 17-22, and 24-27 are directed to IL2 receptor (IL2R) binding proteins that specifically bind to IL2Rβ (i.e. IL2Rb in the instant claims) and IL2Rγ comprising an anti-IL2Rβ VHH antibody and an anti-IL2Rγ VHH antibody (see co-pending claim 1). These binding proteins meet the limitations of instant claims 1, 4, and 9-10. Note that sdAbs include VHH. (See instant claim 1 and at least paragraph [0092] of application 18/260,709.) The limitations of instant claims 9-10 are met by co-pending claims 18 and 20. The linker limitation of instant claim 1 is met by co-pending claims 22 and 24. The binding proteins of SEQ ID NOS: 65-289 in co-pending claim 24 meet the linker limitations of instant claims 1 and 4. See for example the linker GGGS at amino acids 123-126 of SEQ ID NO: 65. Co-pending claim 33 is directed to a pharmaceutical composition (see instant claim 21). The multimerizing activity recited in instant claim 1 would be inherent to the co-pending binding proteins as evidenced by the constructs of the instant specification.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 51-60 of copending Application No. 18/019,042 (2/14/2025 claim set; same applicant as instant application; common inventors Kastelein, Lupardus, and Rokkam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending application is a 371 application of PCT/US2021/044730. It has a different priority claim than the instant application. Double patenting is not prohibited.
Co-pending claims 51-54 and 59-60 are directed to IL2 receptor (IL2R) binding proteins comprising an anti-CD122 (i.e. anti-IL2Rβ) VHH antibody and an anti-CD132 (i.e. IL2Rγ) VHH antibody (see co-pending claim 51) meeting the limitations of instant claim 1. See paragraph [0109] of the co-pending application with respect to the naming conventions. The binding protein linker limitations of instant claims 1 and 4 are met by co-pending claims 52-53. The multimerizing activity recited in instant claim 1 would be inherent to the co-pending binding proteins as evidenced by the constructs of the instant specification. See at least co-pending claim 54. The co-pending claims do not require any particular order and fairly include either order as recited in instant claims 9-10. Co-pending claims 55-58 are directed to methods of treatment by administering therapeutically effective amounts of the binding proteins. This clearly suggests formulation with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier as in instant claim 21.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 21, and 30-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,077,594 in view of Wang et al. and Brinkmann et al. (2017).
Claim 22 of the ‘594 patent is directed to an IL2Rg (i.e. IL2Rγ) binding molecule wherein the sdAb of claim 1 is linked to a second binding molecule that specifically binds to the extracellular domain of a second cell surface molecule. Note that Table 1 in the specification indicates that SEQ ID NOS: 1, 5, 9, 13, and so forth are IL2Rg (i.e. IL2Rγ) VHH sequences. See claim 2 of the ‘594 patent. Note that Table 3 in the specification indicates that SEQ ID NOS: 116, 120, 124, and so forth are IL2Rg (i.e. IL2Rγ) VHH sequences. See claim 4 of the ‘594 patent.
Wang et al. is applied as above.
Figure 2, box 3, of Brinkmann et al. (2017) discloses tandem dAb/VHH where each of the antigen binding module symbols used in Figure 2, box 3, indicates dAb, Nb, VHH, or IgNAR as shown in Figure 1. See also section of bispecific single-domain antibody fusion proteins (page 185, right column). Brinkmann et al. provides a more detailed explanation of the structures disclosed in Kontermann et al. (2012, of record).
It would have been obvious to use the IL2Rγ sdAb/VHH of the ‘594 claims in the bispecific IL2Rb/IL2Rγ tandem VHH constructs suggested by Wang et al. to arrive at binding molecules and pharmaceutical compositions of the instant claims. Wang et al. discloses linkers of 2-50 amino acids and pharmaceutical compositions. Issued claim 22 encompasses linking in either order.
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 21, and 30-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 12,234,291 in view of Wang et al. and Brinkmann et al. (2017).
Claim 37 of the ‘291 patent is directed to an IL2Rb binding molecule wherein the sdAb of claim 1 is linked to a second binding molecule that specifically binds to the extracellular domain of a second cell surface molecule. Note that Table 1 in the specification indicates that SEQ ID NOS: 1, 5, 9, 13, and so forth are IL2Rb VHH sequences. See claim 2 of the ‘291 patent. Note that Table 3 in the specification indicates that SEQ ID NOS: 41, 45, 49, 53, and so forth are VHH sequences. See claim 4 of the ‘291 patent.
Wang et al. is applied as above.
Figure 2, box 3, of Brinkmann et al. (2017) discloses tandem dAb/VHH where each of the antigen binding module symbols used in Figure 2, box 3, indicates dAb, Nb, VHH, or IgNAR as shown in Figure 1. See also section of bispecific single-domain antibody fusion proteins (page 185, right column). Brinkmann et al. provides a more detailed explanation of the structures disclosed in Kontermann et al. (2012, of record).
It would have been obvious to use the IL2Rb sdAb/VHH of the ‘291 claims in the bispecific IL2Rb/IL2Rγ tandem VHH constructs suggested by Wang et al. to arrive at binding molecules and pharmaceutical compositions of the instant claims. Wang et al. discloses linkers of 2-50 amino acids and pharmaceutical compositions. Issued claim 37 encompasses linking in either order.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buyse et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0121399) discloses bivalent and trivalent single domain antibodies (VHH) fused with peptide linkers. Suitable linkers include 9GS, 30GS or 35GS linkers. See at least paragraphs [0002, 0082-0085, 0349, 0362-0370, 0436, 0473, and 0793]; Figures 9B and 22-30; and legends under tables (such as Table AA) with respect to linkers.
Yu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0071420) disclose tandem di-VHH antibodies. The VHH are connected by linkers. See at least Examples 1 and 2 (paragraphs [0082] and [0092]); SEQ ID NOS: 1 and 2; Figures 1 and 3; and page 4, embodiments #17 and #20.
Conclusion
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa