DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, feature (b), it is unclear whether the recitation “bonded directly to one of said amide groups” means that just one of the antecedently recited amide groups (ii) has the bonded ester groups.
In claims 4, 6, 11, 13 and 14, the membership of the recited Markush groups is indefinite in that it is unclear what is meant by the “chemical analogs thereof” species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by CN 105367785 (Qian) abstract and machine translation.
Qian discloses a prepolymer obtained by reacting a branched alkyl diamine with an oxalic acid diester. Illustratively, Qian sets forth exemplary prepolymers (e.g., Examples 1 and 2) obtained by reacting (2,2,4- and 2,4,4-) trimethyl hexamethylene diamine (meets Applicants’ branched aliphatic hydrocarbon reactant per claim 4) and oxalic acid dibutyl ester (meets Applicants’ dialkyl oxalate reactant per claim 6).
As to claim 1, inasmuch as Qian’s exemplary prepolymers are produced from the same reactants used to prepare the presently claimed polyoxalamide prepolymer, it would be expected that the former would inherently possess the latter’s structural segments (a) and end groups (b) having -N-C(=O)-C(=O)-O- sequences. Where the claimed and prior products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness is proper, In re Best 195 USPQ 430. Specifically, Qian’s reaction of a trimethyl hexamethylene diamine and oxalic acid dibutyl ester is equivalent to Applicants’ reaction scheme per Fig. 1 below, but wherein the Priamine 1074 diamine is replaced with trimethyl hexamethylene diamine
.
That is, Qian's resulting prepolymer would comprise bracketed segments (defined by x) containing units derived from trimethyl hexamethylene diamine/dibutyl oxalate with amide groups at the ends (meets Applicants’ segments (a)) and end groups containing ester groups bonded directly to the amide groups to form -N-C(=O)-C(=O)-O- sequences (meets Applicants’ end groups (b)).
As to claims 2-4, given that (2,2,4- and 2,4,4-) trimethyl hexamethylene diamines
are expressly listed in present claim 4, such would necessarily meet the presently
claimed features inclusive of branching degree and molecular weight.
As to claims 5 and 6, Qian discloses dibutyl oxalate.
As to claim 7, Qian’s prepolymer obtained by reacting trimethyl hexamethylene diamine and dibutyl oxalate would not contain ether bonds.
As to claim 8, Qian’s prepolymer obtained by reacting trimethyl hexamethylene diamine and dibutyl oxalate, as described hereinabove, would not contain additional ester bonds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012020571 A (Nakamura) abstract and machine translation.
Nakamura discloses a multi-layered laminated tube comprising as layer (D) a polyoxamide obtained by reacting a dicarboxylic acid component containing ≥ 60 mol% oxalic acid ester and an aliphatic diamine component containing ≥ 60 mol% C9-13 aliphatic diamine inclusive of branched diamines such as 2,2,4-/2,4,4-trimethyl hexamethylene diamine, 2-methyl-1,8-octanediamine, etc. (e.g., abstract, pages 18, 20-24, 35, 36, examples). Nakamura expressly sets forth polyoxamide (d2-1) (page 35) produced by reacting dibutyl oxalate with a diamine mixture comprising unbranched 1,9-nonanediamine and branched 2-methyl-1,8-octanediamine, wherein the terminal group can be (ester) alkoxy groups.
As to claim 1, it is within the purview of Nakamura’s inventive disclosure, and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to prepare a polyoxamide by reacting an oxalic acid ester such as dibutyl oxalate solely with a branched diamine as the diamine component. Specifically, said reaction would be equivalent to Applicants’ per Fig. 1 as below, but wherein the Priamine 1074 diamine is replaced with a branched diamine such as 2,2,4-/2,4,4-trimethyl hexamethylene diamine or 2-methyl-1,8-octanediamine
.
That is, Nakamura’s resulting polyoxamide would comprise bracketed segments (defined by x) containing units derived from branched diamine/dibutyl oxalate with amide groups at the ends (meets Applicants’ segments (a)) and end groups containing ester groups bonded directly to the amide groups to form -N-C(=O)-C(=O)-O- sequences (meets Applicants’ end groups (b)).
As to claims 2-4, given that Nakamura clearly discloses the use of the same presently claimed branched trimethyl hexamethylene diamines (per claim 4), it would be expected that the resulting polyoxamide would necessarily comprise the same degree of branching and molecular weight.
As to claims 5 and 6, Nakamura expressly uses dibutyl oxalate in the production of polyoxamide (d2-1).
As to claim 7, Nakamura’s polyoxamide obtained by reacting a branched diamine and dibutyl oxalate would not contain ether bonds.
As to claim 8, Nakamura’s polyoxamide obtained by reacting a branched diamine and dibutyl oxalate would not contain additional ester bonds.
As to claim 9, Nakamura does not expressly set forth a working example further comprising a triamine or polyamine. Nakamura, however, clearly teaches that a polyamine having a functionality of 3 or more, e.g., triamines or tetraamines (pages 7 and 23), can be further added “after polymerization” of the polyoxamide. Notably, Nakamura discloses adjusting the terminal groups by “melt-kneading in the presence of amines after polymerization” and that “amines can be added at any stage…after polymerization”.
As to claim 10, Nakamura’s method of producing the polyoxamide comprises the same steps of reacting an oxalic acid ester with a branched diamine under polycondensation conditions, optionally in the presence of a solvent, to generate the polyoxamide and further reacting with a polyamine having a functionality of 3 or more, (e.g., pages 22-23).
As to claims 11, Nakamura clearly discloses the use of the same presently claimed trimethyl hexamethylene diamines.
As to claims 12 and 13, Nakamura expressly uses dibutyl oxalate in the production of polyoxamide (d2-1).
As to claim 14, Nakamura discloses, and renders obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, the use of polyamines inclusive of tetraethylenepentamine (page 7).
Double Patenting
Claims 10-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,091,544. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to a method comprising the same reactants and reaction steps (a)-(d) wherein a crosslinker is used in step (d).
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765