DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the application filed on August 9, 2024, having claims 1-12 and drawing figures 1-3.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on 11 August 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on 29 September 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
5. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The acronyms AI/ML, CSI, and ID must be defined the first time they are recited in the abstract.
The phrase “is computed” (abstract, line 7) must be replaced by the phrase “are computed” to conform with English grammar rules.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
6. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 1-3, 5 and 10-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The acronyms AI/ML, CSI, and ID must be defined the first time they are recited in claims 1 and 12.
The acronym UE must be written as “user equipment (UE)” the first time it is recited in claim 2.
The phrase “and/or” recited in line 2 of claim 3 must be replaced by the phrase “at least one of” to render the claim affirmative.
The acronym ID recited in claim 5 must be written as “identifier (ID)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
The phrase “models/parameters/data” recited in line 2 of claim 10 must be written as “at least one of models, parameters, and data” to render the claim definite.
The acronyms NW and UE must be written as “network (NW)” and “user equipment (UE)” respectively in claim 10.
The acronym UE must be written as “user equipment (UE)” the first time it is recited in claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2026/0291578 A1).
For claims 1 and 12, Kim discloses a user equipment (Fig 1A, UE 110 or Fig 1B, apparatus 180) comprising: a processor (Fig 1B, processor 120); and a memory (Fig 1B, memory 125) coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform:
transmit an initial capability report to a base station (Fig 7, step 1, UE reports its capabilities to the base station);
receive an initial network configuration from the base station (Fig 7, step 2 and 720, UE receives RRC configuration from base station);
transmit an AI-specific AI/ML CSI capability report to the base station (Fig 7, step 1, the reported UE capabilities comprise its ML-based CSI reporting scheme(s));
receive a CSI report configuration consisting of AI/ML model specific configuration parameters and CSI reporting parameters (Fig 7, step 3 and 730, UE receives Model ID and other CSI report configuration parameters from the base station);
receive CSI-Reference signals from the base station (Fig 7, step 4, UE receives CSI-related reference signals from the base station);
compute AI-CSI parameter based on the CSI report configuration (Fig 7, step 5, preparation of CSI feedback; Fig 7, 740, CSI measurements and AI-encoded PMI with associated eigenvalues); and
transmit a CSI report,
wherein the CSI report configuration is transmitted according to an information element (IE) consisting of a pairing ID (Fig 7, 730, the CSI configuration information comprises a Model ID (pairing ID)), and the AI- CSI parameter is computed based on AI/ML model indicated by the pairing ID and other CSI reporting parameters included in the CSI report configuration (Fig 7, 740, CSI measurements and AI-encoded PMI with associated eigenvalues).
For claim 2, Kim discloses the initial capability report indicates: the capability of a UE to support the AI/ML assisted CSI feedback compression; and information about the factors supporting AI/ML assisted CSI feedback compression, wherein the factors may include at least environment, frequency-domain, antennas, variables pertaining to model development (Fig 7, 720, the UE capabilities include AIML feedback CSI compression).
For claim 3, Kim discloses receiving, from the base station, configurations for the AI/ML capabilities and/or model IDs or model parameters or any other data for updating AI/ML models (Fig 7, 730, the configurations from the BS comprises Model ID, feedback payload size, eigenvector values, etc.).
For claim 4, Kim discloses the AI/ML model specific configuration parameters include at least one of the following parameters: • Model ID indicating identified model (Fig 7, 730, the CSI configuration information comprises a Model ID (pairing ID)); • Model input type indicating raw channel or eigenvector; • Model input size such as Tx antenna ports, Sub-band size; • Compression ratio; • Quantization type; and • Additional Quantization parameters depending on the quantization type.
For claim 5, Kim discloses the pairing ID indicates the most compatible model out of a plurality of AI/ML models (Fig 7, 730, the CSI configuration information comprises a Model ID (pairing ID)).
For claim 6, Kim discloses the pairing information is generated based on the type of training method adopted for a two-sided model (Fig 7, 750, the pairing information is generated based on two-sided model training phase).
For claim 7, Kim discloses the pairing information is generated from training dataset or dataset ID in Type 3 training method ([0057] type 3 training method; [0061] table showing RAN1#110 agreement).
For claim 8, Kim discloses the pairing information is generated from joint training information and joint training instance in in Type 1 and Type 2 training methods ([0055] type 1 and type2 training methods; [0061] table, joint training for types 1 and 2).
For claim 10, Kim discloses the pairing information is generated during exchange of models/parameters/data between NW and UE (online collaboration) (Fig 7, 750, collaboration between UE and NW/gNB to exchange generated parameters, models, and other data).
For claim 11, Kim discloses generating the pairing information during exchange of models or parameters or data between base station and UE (Fig 7, 750, collaboration between UE and NW/gNB to exchange generated parameters, models, and other data).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471